Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Duck Dreamer - Lakefront House 5 Minute To Downtown Charleston

Sleeps8
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms2
Space 1,700 sq. ft.
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 nights

Overview

About the property

Convenient location between downtown and beach

Duck Dreamer is a perfect choice if you want to spend time in the city and time in the beach. Less than $10 Uber taxi to go to downtown. The house is only 4 miles away from the historic Charleston downtown and 8 miles from Folly beach. College of Charleston, The Citadel, Medical University of SC, South Carolina Aquarium… are just short drive from the house. Nearby places that you will enjoy: Fort Moultrie, Isle Of Palms beach, Kiawah beach, Edisto beach, Botany Bay, Bull Island, historic Summerville...

Duck Dreamer offers a tranquil view of a well maintained lake. From the windows of bedrooms and the kitchen, you will enjoy watching the happy ducks and geese swimming in the water. Boat, paddles, fishing poles are available for you if you want to do fishing. You can bring your own Kayak or canoe as well.

Activities for you in Charleston: Weekend Farmers' Market in downtown Charleston. Tanger Outlet for big brand name shopping. King Street in downtown Charleston for dining and shopping. Dolphin watching from The Battery in Charleston. Pier fishing at Mount Pleasant pier or Folly Beach. Dolphin watch, oyster harvest and hiking trip in Bull Island. Visit Middleton Plantation and Magnolia Plantation to see a piece of history of Charleston. Visit Botany Bay Plantation in Edisto Island to enjoy a great wildlife area.

*NOTE: If you happen to see a 2 night slot available between bookings, please contact us about discount for 2-night stay.

Check in is usually after 4 pm and Check out is usually by 11:00 am.

Fireplace is not working. Hunting is not allowed on the property.

More Details

Owner
Bob Yancey
Member since: 2014
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
June 21, 2017

About Bob Yancey

We are nature lovers. We appreciate the tranquil feeling that Duck Dreamer offers us so we want to share the peaceful feeling and comfort of the home to you.

Why Bob Yancey chose Charleston Area

Being in the middle of the downtown and the beach brings you more choice to discover and enjoy the area.

What makes this house unique

Southern charm welcome you immediately after you come inside the house. Then, discovering the life in Charleston with tons of festivals, activities, plantations, wild life, historic beauties will make your trip memorable.

Amenities

Charleston House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1700 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 8
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome ...
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Lake View ...
  • Lakefront ...
  • Water View
  • Waterfront
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Spa
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 8 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Downstairs Bathroom - toilet , tub
    Upstairs Bathroom - toilet , tub
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king , 32'' TV and DVD Player
    Bedroom 2 - 1 king , 32'' TV and DVD Player
    Bedroom 3 - 1 king , 32'' TV and DVD Player
    Library Room - 1 sleep sofa /futon , Queen sleeper sofa. 42'' TV and DVD Player
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
  • Toys
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Boat ...
  • Lawn / Garden
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Attractions:
  • arboretum
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • festivals
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • live theater
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • synagogues
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • horseback riding
  • horseshoes
  • outlet shopping
  • paddle boating
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • golf privileges optional
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • kayaking
  • pier fishing
  • racquetball
  • rafting
  • roller blading
  • sailing
  • sound/bay fishing
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
- Bedding sheet and towels are supplied. - Toilet tissue, paper towel, dish detergent...are provided enough for you to start with. Please bring your own toilet tissue, paper towels, handwash detergent... during your stay.

Reviews

Excellent! 4.4/5 -
(18 traveler reviews)

Duck Dreamer - Lakefront House 5 Minute To Downtown Charleston
average rating of 4.4444447 based on 18 reviews
Stone Mountain, Georgia
4

nice place

  • 4 of 5

The house and property was not as big as it appeared to be on the website but it was adequate. Some of the growth around the pond needs to be trimmed back for fishing.

The only issues we had were that the key for the back doors was missing so we had to go through the laundry room. Also the handle on the oven door fell off . Lastly, the upstairs bedrooms were hot. There was a window air-conditioner in one room, but not in the other. We had to buy a fan for the couple staying up there.

The location was great. Close to the highway to get to Charleston, and not far from Folley.

  • Submitted: Jun 2, 2017
  • Stayed: May 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Perfect Name for This Amazing Property

  • 5 of 5

We visited the Duck Dreamer in May for my husband's graduation at MUSC and it was the perfect choice. It is near to everything: downtown Charleston, MUSC, Magnolia Plantation, Sullivan's Island, Folly Beach, and the list goes on. We were shocked at the ease of getting around.

The house is perfect: clean, well-equipped, relaxing, and comfortable.

The backyard is fenced in and perfect for kiddos. We used the boat every night to enjoy the nature in the backyard lake. We played corn hole and tag...it was great! The neighbors are very friendly and loved the kids.

The owners are great to work with and we had no issues with anything.

I highly recommend this venue for its price, customer service, cleanliness, accessibility, and everything else that I'm forgetting to put into this review so you can feel confident in booking this place. :)

Thank you again for allowing us to be guests in your home. <3

  • Submitted: Jun 1, 2017
  • Stayed: May 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Lovely retreat

  • 5 of 5

We were there from Thursday evening to Sunday morning. We found everything in good order. We were quite comfortable. With a busy wedding schedule we didn't have much time for lounging but we hope to return in the future for just that. We had a great stay there and the ducks are just too cute!

  • Submitted: Apr 20, 2017
  • Stayed: Apr 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Great house. We had a great week

  • 5 of 5

Nice setting for a family and 4 lots of space and room to stretch out.

  • Submitted: Apr 20, 2017
  • Stayed: Apr 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Nice house to stay

  • 5 of 5

I truely appreciated the three king-sized beds. They are all comfort and we all sleep well. All three bedrooms are in decent sizes. The kitchen has almost everything that we needed. If the owner can add a couple of serving-sized bowls, that will be perfect! I found the rice cooker is extremely useful. Plenty bath towels! Kids enjoyed the DVDs. Last but not the least, I want to thank Quyen again for his prompt coordinating effort to help us get our laptop power adapter back after we already checked out.

  • Submitted: Apr 17, 2017
  • Stayed: Apr 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Atlanta, Ga. area
2

Read my note below.

  • 2 of 5

House was pretty much as represented, however a few things need attention: 1. no back up toilet paper could be found. Had to purchase toilet paper. 2. No outdoor furniture or grill for cooking outside. Den carpet is very dirty and needs replaced or cleaned. Last problem: contacted owner after we vacated (5 days) later about my security deposit that had NOT been refunded. His response: It has been refunded Lee, give it to this Friday. Today is Friday and its been 11 days and no refund as of 10:18 a.m. Friday 3/31 Please check this out w/ owner. Thanks Lee Bixler

  • Submitted: Mar 31, 2017
  • Stayed: Mar 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Dear Lee Bixler, It was nice to host you and your family. We only provide 1 extra toilet paper, 1 extra paper towel for guests and you have to provide more if you use more (which is already said in the Welcome Email). Before you book and after booking confirmation, you had contacted us 5 times to ask if there is any grill and we answered many times that there is no grill for outdoor cooking. About the deposit, you got the emails twice confirmed that it is refunded (one from VRBO, one we forwarded to you when you asked. VRBO does say on their site that it takes up to 7 business days for the refund to show up in your account. Hope you all the best. Owner of Duck Dreamer
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Nearest Airport
15 Miles
Charleston International Airport
Nearest Barpub
0.5 Miles
Latabella
Nearest Ferry
9 Miles
Fort Sumter Ferry
Nearest Golf
3.5 Miles
Charleston City Golf Academy
Nearest Motorway
3 Miles
I26 Interstate
Nearest Restaurant
2 Miles
Melvin's Legendary Bar-B-Que
Nearest Beach
8 Miles
Folly Beach
Car: necessary

Activities for you in Charleston: Weekend Farmers' Market in downtown Charleston. Tanger Outlet for big brand name shopping. King Street in downtown Charleston for dining and shopping. Dolphin watching from The Battery in Charleston. Pier fishing at Mount Pleasant pier or Folly Beach. Dolphin watch, oyster harvest and hiking trip in Bull Island. Visit Middleton Plantation and Magnolia Plantation to see a piece of history of Charleston. Visit Botany Bay Plantation in Edisto Island to enjoy a great wildlife area.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Charleston House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
Summer 2017
Apr 28 2017 - Sep 5 2017
3 night minimum stay
$195
From
$205
Fri,Sat
$1,270
 
Notes: Rates are based on 6 guests; add $10 per night, per additional guest
 
Fall 2017
Sep 6 2017 - Nov 22 2017
3 night minimum stay
$195
 
 
Thanksgiving 2017
Nov 23 2017 - Nov 26 2017
3 night minimum stay
$259
 
 
Winter 2017
Nov 27 2017 - Dec 21 2017
3 night minimum stay
$195
 
 
Christmas 2017
Dec 22 2017 - Dec 25 2017
3 night minimum stay
$259
 
 
New Year 2018
Dec 26 2017 - Jan 2 2018
3 night minimum stay
$195
From
$259
Fri,Sat,Sun
 
 
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay
$195
From
$205
Fri,Sat
$1,300
$4,000
 
Notes: Rates are based on 6 guests; add $10 per night, per additional guest

Additional information about rental rates

Protection Fee $49
Refundable damage deposit $100
Cleaning Fee $145

Cancellation fee is applied to any cancellation.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
Contact Owner
Available
Unavailable

You might like these similar properties