check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit

Tahoe Sugar Shack w/ Hot Tub

Sleeps6
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms1
Half Baths1
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 - 3 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the VRBO checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more

Overview


Details
Property
house
Sleeps
6
Bedrooms
3
Bathrooms
1
Half Baths
1
Minimum Stay
2 - 3 nights

About the property

The Tahoe Sugar Shack is a sweet and cozy cabin that is just right for unwinding after a busy day in Tahoe. With lots of beautiful woodwork and plush furnishings, you're guaranteed to feel relaxed in our luxurious cabin during your Tahoe vacation. The living area features a gas fireplace with lots of windows giving the home a warm and bright sunny feel. The fully stocked kitchen is open to the living and dining areas. The master bedroom has a cozy king-sized bed with deluxe bedding. The second bedroom has a comfy queen-sized bed with an attached half bath and kitschy cabin Tahoe decor. The third bedroom has a full and twin bunk bed perfect for the kiddos. Outside you’ll find a huge fenced backyard with lots of room for picnics and play. Winter or summer, the private, covered hot tub will be the perfect spot to relax after all your Tahoe activities.

This three bedroom, one and a half bath home comfortably sleeps six people.

The Tahoe Sugar Shack is minutes minutes from Heavenly Valley Ski Resort, great restaurants, casinos, and shopping. Don't miss Emerald Bay for another great day or Camp Richardson where you can sip on a rum runner on the beach at the Beacon Restaurant. Outdoor activities in Lake Tahoe include boating, skiing, kayaking, hiking, biking, snow shoeing…the list is endless! You will never run out of things to do. The Tahoe Island Drive area is especially convenient for Bay area visitors and is located just off US HWY 50. Towels and linens are provided in this rental along with TV, cable, and WIFI. There is no garage parking at this home.

No air conditioning, but with our great Tahoe summers, its rarely needed!

More Details

Property Manager
Kathy
Member since: 2009
Speaks: english
Manager indicates their response time is:
Within an hour
Calendar last updated:
January 18, 2017

What makes this house unique

Sweet as Sugar! You will love the comfort of this home. It is just like the movies, family time or romantic time. Your vacation has begun, sit back relax and enjoy your stay at the Tahoe Sugar Shack.

Reviews

3.6/5 -
(7 traveler reviews)

Tahoe Sugar Shack w/ Hot Tub
average rating of 3.5714285 based on 7 reviews
2

Place was great. Unfortunately the rental agent is too obsessive and controlling.

  • 2 of 5

I understand how some guests can be disrespectful and trash a property, but I think paying the high price for this modest location should give the renter the benefit of the doubt until they prove unworthy. I really dont appreciate automated emails full of threats in the middle of my stay, when there has been no cause for concern and no complaints. If the house is too precious to let your guests relax, perhaps it shouldnt be on the market.

  • Submitted: Nov 28, 2016
  • Stayed: Nov 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi Neil, Thank you so much for writing a review about this darling home! I agree, it seems that I am a little over the top on the garbage and some items. I wish everyone was as kind as you are and took the garbage out to the bear box so the bears won't break into this lovely home from so much garbage being left. Reality is its not a hotel and we have issues with animals getting in and breaking in and hurting peoples property. Just that weekend we had 2 bears break into the garage and left the hot tub covers open. Pretty much destroyed the inside of the garage and ruined the hot tub cover and destroyed the inside of the hot tub. Renters don't live here and they really don't think it will happen up here in Tahoe. The cost of repair was a little over $10,000 so you can see why I am so careful with these peoples properties and their hard earned money to make sure people respect and know what can happen in the Mountains where bears and other wild animals live and would love to eat your left overs. We hope you did enjoy your stay and hope to see you again someday! Happy Holidays to you and your family.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 1
4

nice home, conveniently located, for short or extended stay in South Lake Tahoe

  • 4 of 5

-listing description is totally accurate, great location, cute house, very functional

-clean and well-maintained

-management responds fast

on the negative, guidelines are a tad controlling and could be formulated in a more consumer friendly way. Weird sewer odor in the toilet of the room in the back.

  • Submitted: Aug 29, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
2

Renter Beware

  • 2 of 5

As it says in the description, there is no air conditioning, in addition the 5 windows in the living room don't open and there is no screen door on the front door so there is no way to so there is no way to get any of the Tahoe air in. The living room / kitchen is all one room, yes cozy, but when you are cooking dinner on a typical Tahoe evening it makes for sauna like conditions. My wife and 3 college age kids were not happy.

Be aware that the neighbor's house, specifically their kitchen window, sits 3 feet from the fence line, is higher, and looks right down into the hot tub, deck, and BBQ area.

As a previous reviewer mentioned, the BBQ was out of propane but it was winter. I emailed the agent multiple times prior to our arrival asking to make sure the BBQ worked, it didn't, out of gas (summer time).

There is a beautiful wood island to eat your meals at, even though the house is for 6, there are only 4 bar stools. We took turns standing up so we could eat our meals together.

Great location!

  • Submitted: Aug 8, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you Dave for writing your review for the rental we call Sugar Shack. To respond back to you about the air conditioning. No we don't need air conditioning, nor do most of the homes here in Tahoe have air conditioning. That is why it states it to you on your rental agreement. Windows in kitchen and living room open up for the fresh mountain fresh air. I know it was a beautiful 40's in the evenings and high 70's during the day. Few things, The tank was freshly filled, When you called me on it AFTER you left, we took it in and the valve was not working, or it had been turned so hard it was broken. Then you called me for not being able to turn the TV on at 11 pm at night when you arrived, I gave you instructions and a phone number to call as Charter is great about teaching people how to turn on the tv's with their remote. Hot tub you complained it was old, when in fact it is less then a year old and with a new deck surrounding it. The pictures are exactly how the house is. Its a sweet smaller cabin in the woods. I'm sorry you don't seem to be mechanical if you can't turn on a tv, pushed all my buttons on the hot tub to turn it completely off, and turned a valve so hard on a propane tank to breaks it. And the windows and doors open up in this cabin! We hope you find happiness in your next stay at another location!
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
4

Sugar Shack a sweet success

  • 4 of 5

What a positive experience! From the tasteful decor to the convenient amenities, we found the Sugar Shack to be a wonderful setting for our first vacation in several years. The bed was comfortable, the hot tub relaxing, the kitchen well-stocked, and the fenced backyard great for our dogs. Nothing is perfect, but we found very little to criticize. About the only things that could have been improved was lighting (bathroom, kitchen, and living room) and the comfort of the sectional. Thank you so much for sharing this property with us, and we would love to book again next year!

  • Submitted: Jun 13, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Lovely Cabin, Nice Amenities!

  • 4 of 5

This place was cozy yet modern and had great amenities - hot tub, fireplace, Nest thermostat, top notch washer/dryer, plenty of towels and blankets. Nice big back yard. There was a lot of paperwork but everything worked out fine. Rate was high but we booked really late, so I understand why. Overall a great stay!

  • Submitted: Feb 26, 2016
  • Stayed: Feb 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
San Carlos, CA
4

Quaint and Cozy Cabin For Small Group

  • 4 of 5

Overall we enjoyed our stay and the cabin itself. There were some things left to be desired, but the good things definitely outweighed the bad. Would definitely recommend it.

Pros:

- location (close proximity to Heavenly, casinos, stores, the lake itself)

- comfortable furniture (beds, couches, chairs)

- gas fireplace and easy-to-use temp control

- nice hot tub

- tastefully updated interior

Cons:

- kitchen stocked with basics only (minimal kitchen tools and supplies, bring your own if you plan on doing any heavy cooking)

- outdoor grill was out of propane (i know it's winter, but still)

- extremely small trash cans (not practical for any group larger than 2)

  • Submitted: Jan 15, 2016
  • Stayed: Jan 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi Nick, Thank you for your review. It is a darling cabin in the woods with easy access to all locations. I guess we should put a note on the BBQ not for use in the winter. :) Hope to see you again soon!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Car: recommended

Photos

Rates & Availability

Notes

  • Rates are subject to change.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Contact Me Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Tallac Village House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Floor Area:
  • 1200 sq. ft.
General:
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Parking
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • 1 Half Bath
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • 1 King, 1 Bunk, 1 Full, 1 Queen
Entertainment:
  • Satellite / Cable
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio
  • Outdoor Grill
Suitability:
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub
Attractions:
  • cinemas
  • playground
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • gambling casinos
  • shopping
Local Services & Businesses:
  • hospital
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hot air ballooning
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • parasailing
  • skiing
  • snowboarding
  • swimming
  • tennis

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties