Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call VRBO Booking Assistance: 888-829-7076
Book Online or call VRBO Booking Assistance: 888-829-7076

2BR/1.5BA Charming House Off South Congress, Downtown Austin, Sleeps 6

Bedrooms 2
Half Baths1
Space 1,000 sq. ft.
Property type townhome
Minimum Stay 2 - 4 nights


About the property

2 Bedrooms, 1.5 Baths, Sleeps 6

Your 2BR/1.5BA charming, Spanish-inspired, stucco garden home is perfectly situated a few blocks from South Congress Avenue, the hippest strip in downtown Austin, with eclectic shops, restaurants, boutiques, antiques, music venues and galleries. Guests enter into the comfortable, open living space with its warm country feel. The living room has a comfortable couch, flat screen TV, DVD, and speaker system. The couch pulls out to create a bed for extra sleeping space. The fully-equipped kitchen has everything a guest would need to cook a family style meal or make snacks for Zilker Park. There is a wall of windows overlooking the courtyard which brings in an abundance of natural light to the interior living space. The two bedrooms are located down the hallway. The first guest bedroom has a queen bed and private access to the courtyard through a sliding glass door. The second guest bedroom has two twin beds and dark hardwood flooring. The master half bathroom comes with a private toilet, sink and vanity mirror with a connecting door that attaches to the adjacent, standard full bathroom with shower/tub combo. This property has a beautiful private center-courtyard which connects to dining area, family room and master bedroom.

This little hideaway is perfectly located in the beautiful Travis Heights neighborhood, just a couple of blocks from vibrant South Congress Avenue (“SoCo”) and its many restaurants, boutique shops, and premier live music venues. You’re also minutes by car, bike, cab, bus, or foot from the center of downtown and the 6th Street, Warehouse (4th Street) and 2nd Street entertainment districts, the Texas State Capitol, and the University of Texas. The Congress Avenue “Bat“ Bridge, which marks the edge of downtown, is just over a mile away and the Long Performing Arts and Palmer Event Centers, the hike-and-bike trail, Barton Springs and Zilker Park (site of the Austin City Limits Music Festival and the Trail of Lights) are at your doorstep. Heights Hideaway is across the street from Stacy Park, a Travis Heights landmark that practically connects the property with Lady Bird/Town Lake, and which has a great year-round free pool. Whether you’re coming to experience the “Third Coast’s” world-class music and art scene, participate in Austin's abundant outdoor activities, or simply to explore the great restaurants, shopping, and funky vibe that make Austin a top-rated travel destination and place to live, Heights Hacienda is your perfectly-Austin "home away from home."

For larger groups you can rent our sister property next door. The listing number is 657090!

Maximum capacity with the two units together is 16.

OL # 2013-024966 OL

Our property is TurnKey Rental Certified. All photos and amenities have been verified by TurnKey staff. Our calendar and rates are 100% accurate. We strive to make it as easy as possible to stay at our property - you just drive right up and enter via our secure electronic lock. No more keys and no more security concerns with a unique code that works for your reservation only. We will notify you proactively when early check-in / late check-outs are possible and you'll receive the comforts of a luxury home when you arrive like a starter supply of shampoo, soaps, paper products and hotel-quality towels and linens. In addition, when you book we will send you our mobile app with property directions, details, unlock code and instructions. And if you need us, we are available 24 hours each day with live help. TurnKey Vacation Rentals uses the industry's most trusted brand of software to securely store all guest data - HomeAway Software for Professionals. All TurnKey Vacation Rentals follow local and state tax rules. Each reservation includes applicable taxes, a cleaning fee and a Property Damage Protection Program.

More Details

Property Manager
TurnKey Vacation Rentals
Speaks: english
Manager indicates their response time is:
Within an hour
Calendar last updated:
June 28, 2017

Guestbook comments from the manager

My husband and our children spent the month of December at the Heights Hideaway and made wonderful memories that we will always cherish. The owner is so kind and helpful, and it was such a pleasure getting to know him. The house is precious and was just was we needed for that month. Even though we were not at "home" the holidays were very special, because of how comfortable and charming the Heights Hideaway is. Our kids call in our "Austin Home". We look forward to staying there again in the future.
Nov 2010
  • 1 of 11


South River City Townhome Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • townhome
Floor Area:
  • 1000 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 6
  • pets considered
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Downtown
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator
  • Toaster
  • 1 Bathroom
  • 1 Half Bath
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • 1 Queen bed, 2 Twin beds
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Deck / Patio
  • Outdoor Grill
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool
  • arboretum
  • botanical garden
  • cinemas
  • library
  • live theater
  • museums
  • recreation center
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • outlet shopping
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • golf


Very Good! 4.1/5 -
(16 traveler reviews)

2BR/1.5BA Charming House Off South Congress, Downtown Austin, Sleeps 6
average rating of 4.0625 based on 27 reviews
Santa Monica

Just fine

  • 3 of 5

When we arrived, the code I had been sent didn't work, so I had to spend some time on the phone to get in. Once in, we were surprised to find a lot of dead cockroaches and some vomit on a wall. One or two bugs could have happened after cleaning, but it was many.

The location is pretty good, but hard to manage if you don't have a car. It's also directly adjacent to another unit, so if you're planning on a private party, you might want to rent both (the back unit is bigger and comes with a yard too).

All in all, everything was fine, but they could use some more thorough cleaning.

  • Submitted: May 23, 2017
  • Stayed: May 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi Jack, Thank you for taking the time to leave us this feedback, and we are so sorry to hear if your experience staying with us was not as great as it should have been. It does appear as if you called our guest hotline for assistance with the key code, and we were able to create a new one that worked for you. We wish we had known about the other issues that came up so that we could have helped while you were still at the property. Please be assured we are checking on the pest and cleanliness issues and will make sure the Housekeeping Team is aware as well as a special treatment being scheduled from our pest control team. We thought you were perfect guests, and if there is anything else we can still do, please reach out anytime and let us know. -The TurnKey VR Team
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Decent for Area

  • 3 of 5

we killed a couple of bugs but other than that, it really was just an average place. I was surprised at how small the living room tv was and there was no tv in either bedroom. Not a big deal for us, as we were only there in the evenings to sleep - but hard to watch as a group in the living room, when we tried. The beds were decent. I think for the price, this is probably a good spot - but there is nothing great about this rental - in my opinion. Location is the BEST part of this rental.

  • Submitted: Apr 25, 2017
  • Stayed: Apr 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi Gail, Thank you so much for taking the time to leave a review and share your experience. We do apologize if some inconveniences occurred, and wish we had known during your stay so that we could have helped out. Here at TurnKey, it is our highest priority to make sure each guest has the best experience possible, and our 24/7 guest hotline is always available to help if anything comes up. Please know that we will have our regular pest control team conduct a special treatment for any bug activity. With regards to the living room and TV size, all of the photos and listing description for our property are 100% accurate and TurnKey Rental certified. We will definitely pass on the suggestion for more/bigger TVs to the Homeowner, though. By the way, you were absolutely perfect guests, and we are hopeful to hear from you again! -The TurnKey VR Team
Did you find this review helpful?
0 1

comfortable home

  • 4 of 5

convenient location for us - a short walk or even shorter drive to South Congress. Beds were comfortable, house was clean, kitchen had plenty of pots,, plates, glasses. Really liked the little courtyard

  • Submitted: Oct 26, 2016
  • Stayed: Oct 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Nice quiet house

  • 4 of 5

More than adequate, quiet and comfortable. Communal pool not so great. driveway wierd

  • Submitted: Aug 3, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


  • 4 of 5

It was everything ok. Cleaning, security and location were perfect for our needs. The following by Turnkey was excelent.

  • Submitted: Apr 19, 2016
  • Stayed: Apr 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Nice place in Austin

  • 5 of 5

Rating Details:

The property manager was very helpful.

The vacation rental was spotless.

I was very happy with the location.

I was very satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.

Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:

We were very happy with our stay and wish we could have stayed longer!

  • Submitted: Jan 26, 2016
  • Stayed: Jan 2016
  • Source: TurnKey Vacation Rentals
Owner's Response: Thanks Breon! We look forward to hearing from you again soon! -The TurnKey VR Team
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0



Rates & Availability


  • All TurnKey Vacation Rentals follow local and state tax rules. City and state taxes will be added to all reservation rates. Each reservation also requires a cleaning fee, and the standard Property Damage Protection policy.
Contact Manager

You might like these similar properties