Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Secluded mountain retreat NEWLY FURNISHED with hot tub, pool table, wi-fi

Bedrooms 4
Space 2,619 sq. ft.
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 - 5 nights


About the property

4 bed, 3 bath spacious modern mountain home minutes from world class skiing

New listing with brand new furnishings. The home is designed by a South Lake Tahoe interior designer. See photos and don't forget to click the link to 360 degree panoramic pictures! WEEKLY RENTAL RATES ARE DISCOUNTED.

Please note - WHOEVER SIGNS THE RENTAL AGREEMENT MUST BE 32 (THIRTY TWO) years of age or older.

You will love this newly furnished luxurious, spacious, well-maintained, wood framed, split-level mountain home. This home nestles amongst tall majestic pine trees in a quiet and beautiful part of South Lake Tahoe, tucked away from the city's hustle and bustle, but yet within a few minutes driving of Lake Tahoe's numerous attractions. This home has been tastefully furnished just this winter by a Tahoe area interior designer. There are two patios - one with a grill - and a huge backyard.

World class skiing, golfing, biking, hiking, water activities, casinos, restaurants, shopping are only a few minutes away.

The large, bright, great room with a high ceiling and hard wood floors has an open concept with the living, dining and kitchen areas all being part of it. The great room is spacious enough for your entire group to hang out. The dining table seats 8; a separate, long granite counter area seats an additional 4 on counter stools. The comfortable living area has sofas, a gas fireplace and a HDTV with satellite/blu-ray player with some movies and games. The well stocked kitchen is equipped with an Italian espresso maker and other standard appliances such as rice maker, blender, micro-wave and conventional ovens, toaster, dish washer, etc.

The great room leads to a spacious outside deck that extends from the great room all the way to the master bedroom. Relax in the hot tub in the patio or have a good time with friends cooking on the BBQ grill. The patio's seating area is furnished with comfortable patio furniture. Stairs from this patio lead down to a huge backyard with a well-maintained, large expanse of green lawn and tall pine trees. There is plenty of lawn for kids to run around and have fun.

This home sleeps a total of 12 guests in 4 spacious bedrooms. The master bedroom has a comfortable king bed, gas fireplace, a patio with seating, cozy chairs, HDTV with satellite and a spacious bathroom with a jacuzzi tub and shower. Two other bedrooms are furnished with comfortable queen beds and chair. The made-for-kids bunk bedroom has twin-twin and queen-twin bunk beds for kids to feel cozy in. The living room sofa can be converted to a pull out sleeper sofa. There are two other spacious full baths with showers.

In the game room downstairs, enjoy a game of pool with family and friends while watching a movie or a game on the HDTV. Or play music from your phone/iPod on the Bose music player. Turn on the gas fire place for some extra warmth on a chilly evening. Or just walk out to the downstairs patio and the lawn with a glass of wine while chatting with friends.

The home is equipped with high-speed Internet with very good wi-fi coverage in the entire home. You can surf the Internet, stream movies, or watch satellite TV on any of the 3 HDTVs. The living area has a selection of movies and games for your enjoyment.

Heavenly, Sierra-at-Tahoe, Kirkwood ski resorts are just a few minutes away. So are restaurants, casinos (in Stateline, NV), golf courses, Lake Tahoe, biking, hiking trails, etc. Heavenly resort has plenty of apres ski activities such as dining, ice skating, shopping and art stores. Lira's super market and Freel Perk coffee shop are within a couple of miles from the home. South Lake Tahoe's Y area with many more shops, restaurants, pizzerias is just a few minutes away.

Use Pioneer Trail (off Hwy 50) to get to Heavenly resort; use N Upper Truckee Road and Lake Tahoe Blvd to get to the Y area and avoid the crowded Hwy 50.

More Details

Property Manager
Veena Rao
Member since: 2014
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
June 14, 2017

About Veena Rao

We live the bay area, but love the beautiful S Lake Tahoe area very much.

Veena Rao purchased this house in 2014

Why Veena Rao chose South Lake Tahoe

We bought this property because of its mountain/forest setting and how well the house/yard were maintained. We looked at over 40 properties before settling on this one.

What makes this house unique

The great room opening out to a patio and a spectacular backyard sold us on the home.

Guestbook comments from the manager

Our stay at your home was fantastic!! You home is beautiful and accommodated everyone comfortably. Everyone loved the wood trim, it gave the house a warm cabin feel. The house was very clean and ready for us when we got there. If you find any issues or concerns please let me know. Thank you again for letting us stay. I am thinking of bringing my family back in the summer. :)

Warm Regards,

Jan 2015
  • 1 of 2


North Upper Truckee House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 2619 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 12
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace ...
  • Garage ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher ...
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 8 people
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower , jetted tub , Master bathroom with fireplace.
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Bathroom 3 - toilet , shower
  • Starter supply of soap/shampoo and laundry items provided.
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 12
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 3 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 4 - 2 bunk bed , 2 sets of bunk beds - twin-twin, queen-twin.
  • Comfortable linens and comforters provided.
  • DVD Player
  • Game Room
  • Games
  • Pool Table
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • Video Library
  • Bicycles
  • Boat
  • Deck / Patio
  • Golf
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Ski & Snowboard
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub
  • cinemas
  • festivals
  • marina
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • water parks
Leisure Activities:
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • horseback riding
  • paddle boating
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cross country skiing
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • golf
  • golf privileges optional
  • hiking
  • ice skating
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • rock climbing
  • roller blading
  • sailing
  • ski lift privileges
  • ski privileges optional
  • skiing
  • snowboarding
  • snowmobiling
  • swimming
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing
Garage has some sleds for kids to enjoy.


Excellent! 4.7/5 -
(24 traveler reviews)

Secluded mountain retreat NEWLY FURNISHED with hot tub, pool table, wi-fi
average rating of 4.7083335 based on 26 reviews

Beautiful property

  • 5 of 5

I spent many hours (6+?) researching homes in South Lake Tahoe for a family vacation before choosing this one. It was beautiful online and even moreso in person. It's updated, clean, well-equipped, very bright, and has a functional layout for more than one family spending time together with bedrooms up and downstairs. My favorite feature is all the warm knotty pine interior and big windows allowing you to enjoy the beautiful views of nature regardless of what you are doing - i.e. Eating, watching TV, etc. The master suite in particular is really nice with the fireplace and jacuzzi tub in front of a big picture window.

The owner and property management company are very nice and responsive.


1) Sawmill Pond is nearby for free sledding.

2) Lira's Market is close by - closer than major grocery stores.

We will likely book here again for future trips Tahoe.

  • Submitted: Mar 26, 2017
  • Stayed: Mar 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Good house. Need real caring and service

  • 2 of 5

Very good house and is as per it stated in the website. Some of the shortcomings are below.

1. The driveway was not cleaned. We had to shovel snow for 40 min in the night to get 2 cars parked in driveway

2. Television is not good. With several dots even playing from DVD player

3. Water heater capacity only for 2 guests. When complained, answer was please pan out 2 people per hour. With 12 member facility, should we plan to take bath for 6 hours?

4. Bose speakers were installed. But, wont work

5. Only 4 dishwasher capsules given. Dont even think about toiletries. Bring your own.

6. Very bad game room with pool table which can be played only from two sides. Other two sides are too narrow to use the cue

Needs serious improvements to make it as a pleasant experience.

  • Submitted: Feb 21, 2017
  • Stayed: Feb 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: This group left the house in a terrible mess (our property management company sent us a long list of things to cleanup with pictures and charged us more than twice what they normally do) because of which we had to hold back a part of the deposit. Hence the sour grapes. Of course, more than 2 people can shower in an hour! Bose speakers are not advertised because we have not wired them up. Starter supplies of soaps and dishwasher capsules are provided.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 1

Great Place

  • 4 of 5

Loved our experience, can't wait to get back

  • Submitted: Feb 11, 2017
  • Stayed: Feb 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

great spot, perfect for families

  • 4 of 5

We went on a south lake vacation with two other couples and their kids. The property was in a great location and had enough amenities to just stay at the house the entire time (we did wander off on occasion). Great big backyard, nicely appointed rooms, all the basics were supplied as advertised. Rooms were clean and functional. They even supplied a baby gate for the stairs and port a crib.

The only downsides were very minimal and mostly due to the weather. The driveway to the property is obviously not stripped of snow so ensure you bring chains on rough days. There was such a great pack of snow that many of the outdoor amenities were covered in feet of snow. The property has some minor TLC things which were noted to the property management company (fireplace in master inoperable, cracked window, missing microwave plate, etc). But again, this is just me being nitpicky; the property had everything we needed and then some. great vacation

  • Submitted: Jan 29, 2017
  • Stayed: Jan 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Sean, The driveway and the stairs are cleaned once/day. When you have the kind of snow we had this winter (several feet/day), some accumulation will happen. Even our excellent snow plough person - who has not a missed a day - needs the road to be cleaned by the county to have access to the property. About the window crack - this happened because of the weight of the snow on the roof! The window is dual paned and the crack is on the outside pane, the home is still well insulated. We have an estimate, we will have it fixed when we accumulate some reserves since it is an expensive repair. One of our guests broke the microwave table and did not inform us. After reading your review, we have ordered a replacement table. Thanks for choosing our home, hope to have you back.
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
Milpitas, CA

Wonderful place!

  • 5 of 5

We've rented many houses in Tahoe over the years and this one is definitely one of our favorites! This place is wonderful- modern, clean, comfortable and in a great location. There was plenty of space for all 9 of us and the kids really enjoyed having their own bunk bed room. The hot tub was a big hit and so was the pool table. We also really liked being able to use the fireplaces to help heat up the rooms in addition to the central Nest heating. The owner is very responsive and wonderful to deal with- Veena gets back you very quickly with any questions. We look forward to coming back here again!

  • Submitted: Jan 5, 2017
  • Stayed: Dec 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: hi Wendy, It was a pleasure hosting your group. I am really glad you liked our home. Looking forward to hosting you again. Regards, Veena
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Beautiful Experience!

  • 5 of 5

We absolutely loved it! The cabin and location is beautiful inside and outside. Fully stocked with everything you need, appliances and furniture clean and neat. Beds, linen's and everything about this cabin clean and high quality. Having a nice green lush backyard was a plus for my children and everyone to enjoy. Felt right at home and will be coming back! The owners were very helpful and pleasant to work with. Highly recommend this place!

  • Submitted: Jun 26, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


Nearest Motorway
1 Miles
Highway 50
Nearest Beach
8 Miles
Lake Tahoe
Car: necessary


Rates & Availability

North Upper Truckee House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Manager accepts payment in:
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
Jun 15 2017 - Sep 4 2017
3 night minimum stay
Juy 4th
Jun 30 2017 - Jul 4 2017
5 night minimum stay
Flat fee
Labor Day
Sep 1 2017 - Sep 3 2017
3 night minimum stay
Flat fee
Nov 22 2017 - Nov 25 2017
4 night minimum stay
Flat fee
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $400
Cleaning fee $325 + Tax
Tax Rate 10.0%

If you want to secure your reservation by paying a deposit, the amount of deposit required is 50% of the rent. Please see attached rental policy.

Some weekends in winter and summer time have 3 nights minimum stay. Please check with owner.

Manager's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
Contact Manager