Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call VRBO Booking Assistance: 888-829-7076
Book Online or call VRBO Booking Assistance: 888-829-7076

Bluff Cottage, Exhilarating Panorama Yaquina Head Lighthouse To Otter Crest

Sleeps8
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms2
Space 760 sq. ft.
Property type cottage

Overview

About the property

2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, 8 Sleeps

Cozy 2-bedroom/2-bath home sleeping 8. You can join the ranks of our regulars, that report their enthusiasm about Pop's Cottage in our journal - One repeat guest wrote: 'We arrived last night and smiles spread across both our faces--what a great place. . . .I couldn't wait to read the latest journal entries. . . . I've always said it would be fun if the walls could talk. And, in such a place as this, with years of loving family and visitors--young and old, from near and far--writing in these journals, the walls almost DO talk!' Dog deposit is $100, $80 refunded upon satisfactory inspections of cottage & yard following stay.

While cozy for just a couple, our 2-bedroom 2-bath, 760 SF cottage can sleep up to 8. Main bedroom has queen. There is a queen futon in the living room. The 2nd bedroom, with queen bed & bunks, is down a breezeway from the main cottage, so not suited to bedding young children without supervision there. Kitchen is fully furnished, including fridge, range. small microwave, dishwasher, coffee grinder & coffee-maker--no need to bring your own coffee beans, as we provide organic, fair-trade beans recently roasted by Pop's granddaughter, Mary Lowry,

Wi-Fi/Internet, cable TV, DVD. While you can enjoy the view from the living room, the deck has an even more expansive panorama.

More Details

Owner
John
Member since: 2014
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
90%
Calendar last updated:
October 13, 2017

About John

My grandfather, Pop, built the cottage in his 70s. I am a retired social worker, still a landlord in Tacoma, WA. Tacoma, WA. We also have other vacation rentals.

Why John chose Central Coast

Pop and Grandma had most of a decade together there. Pop died in 1968. Grandma never learned to drive, but with frequent family visits and the devotion of her dog, Lady, she enjoyed several more years there. At age 89, she moved to a daughter’s home in Portland. She lived to 102.

Grandma and Pop’s daughter and her husband, Eldora and Vern Lowry, purchased the cottage from Grandma. Aside from a short time when their daughter Mary lived there, they rented out the cottage. In 1982, Vern, then residing in Sandpoint, Idaho, lamented the hassles of absentee property management to his son, John, who proposed changing to a vacation rental, thus permitting family use. Vern and Eldora had no interest in such a venture, readily sold the place to John and his wife, Lucy.

Since 1983, our second year, the logs have chronicled the joys of visitors. Many put Beverly Beach on their annual "must do" lists.

What makes this cottage unique

With directions to the cottage, I will share with you my list of favorite things to do in the area.

Amenities

Newport Cottage Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cottage
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 760 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 4:00 PM
  • /
  • Check-out: 12:00 PM
  • Max. occupancy: 8
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Non smoking only
General:
  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Living Room
  • Parking ...
  • Wood Stove ...
  • Free Wifi
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave ...
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , tub
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen , 1 bunk bed
  • Full futon in living room.
Entertainment:
  • Books ...
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo
  • Television ...
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Golf ...
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill ...
Suitability:
  • limited accessibility

Reviews

3.8/5 -
(4 traveler reviews)

25% Complete
25% Complete
50% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
Bluff Cottage, Exhilarating Panorama Yaquina Head Lighthouse To Otter Crest
average rating of 3.75 based on 4 reviews
United States
5

Great place to stay!

  • 5 of 5

We've been to the Oregon Coast for many summers, right in the same area. This house is very clean, open and airy, with a fantastic view. You can see from Moolack to Beverly State Park. While not peak whale watching season, we did see quite a few from the picture window.

Our dog CiCi was allowed to come with us, and we were very happy about that. She sure loved the beach! Look forward to staying here again.

  • Submitted: Jul 22, 2017
  • Stayed: Jul 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Oregon city
3

Awesome view...dissapointed in the floor plan

  • 3 of 5

This view was the best view we have ever had. Like amazing! We saw a ton of whales from the back porch! So cool!!!! Here's the bummer: The listing said 2 bedrooms 2 bathrooms. It did not mention-until I received our checkin directions-that the bedroom that I was planning on putting my 4yr old in (bunk beds), and the 2nd bathroom aren't in the main house. You have to go out the main door and into another building (attached to the main house by a covered walkway). Obviously I can't put a 4yr old out there alone and my husband and I couldn't sleep out there and leave her in the main house. So my daughter and I slept in the queen size bed in the main room and my husband slept on the pull out sofa in the living room. For us, this was a 1 bedroom, 1 bath and I wouldn't have rented it had I known the 2nd bedroom wasn't attached. Other than that, the kitchen was fully stocked and it was conveniently located. We brought our own towels, sleeping bags and pillows so we didn't have to pay extra. If you have kids-this would be great, and probably super fun, if they are old enough to sleep in the 2nd bedroom that is not in the main house.

  • Submitted: Sep 16, 2016
  • Stayed: Sep 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: 'Sorry for my oversight--I have added a comment to cottage description--about 2nd bedroom being separate from the main cottage, not suitable for youngsters without accompanying older sleeper. John
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
4

Beautiful ocean view. Clean and spacious.

  • 4 of 5

Ocean view was worth our stay. We were able to whale watch from the deck. House was very clean and well kept for an older home. Toaster had been noted broken several visits before ours but had not been replaced.

  • Submitted: Aug 20, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We have replaced the toaster--'Sorry we were slow to respond to the guest feedback. John (Pop's grandson)
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Portland Oregon
3

Had high hopes

  • 3 of 5

Rented with family for 5 nights. Everything was great until we left. There was a note that said please let us know if anything isn't working. I left a note that said the bathroom faucet was leaking non stop and both toilet seats were loose. The lawn had not been mowed and the weeds were up to my knees. We did love the view and although it is very small it is a cute cabin. We brought are own towels and bedding and only used two wash cloths of theirs to clean with at the end of our stay, We did spill some coffee on a rug and we had a dog that I guess we were to have no trace of that dog even being there as we had to pay extra for some cleaning as there was dog hair on the couch.I was told I destroyed the couch but all we did was sit on it and we are not heavy people. What I learned from this rental is to always take a video of the place after you have cleaned it so you can prove to the owner that yes you did clean it very well. Maybe less trow rugs might help with laundry issues as their were 2 -3 in each room. The location is perfect. Too bad it worked out this way.

  • Submitted: Jun 30, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: My actual feedback: "Michelle, I live in Washington & must rely on caretaker reports. The one following your stay wasn't favorable--dog hair on blankets, area rugs very dirty, sofa-sleeper messed up. I am paying caretakers for extra laundry & cleaning time. While these caretakers have only been with us since the beginning of 2016, they have only reported in a similar negative way about one other guest (we have about 8 - 10/month, so they've had about 50 turnovers). I am sending you $50 instead of the usual $80 dog deposit refund, to cover that added caretaker expense. John"
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0

Map

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $50
Pet Fee $100
Cleaning $70

Rates are housekeeping--guests bring linens & bath towels. Or, we will provide linens and bath towels:
+ $20 for 1 or 2 guests (1 bed);
+ $30 for 3 or 4 guests (2 beds);
+ $40 for 5 or 6 guests (3 beds).
Otherwise, you bring your own linens & bath towels--Queen bed main bedroom, full bed & twin bunks 2nd bedroom,
$80 of dog deposit refunded following favorable cottage & yard inspections.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.