Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Fun family vacation!

Sleeps18
Bedrooms 5
Bathrooms3
Space 2,500 sq. ft.
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 - 7 nights

Overview

About the property

4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, bonus room, Sleeps 18

Try the superb SHANGRI LA! Just 240 yards to beach access, SHANGRI LA greets you with beautiful interiors and all the room you need to spread out after a day of fun and sun in the Outerbanks! This house offers lots of natural light and two large decks with great views. Enjoy this spacious and comfortably furnished vacation paradise with many amenities for a wonderful vacation.

This majestic home proudly features 4 bedrooms as well as a great room and bonus room! Wi-Fi is available throughout the home. The upstairs open and airy great room is a vacation charmer with tall ceilings and a kitchen well equipped for large families. Prepare great meals in the kitchen and serve them with panache at the breakfast bar, 8-person dining table or the outside deck. Also, the propane grill located on the back porch is a nice amenity for cooking seafood or your favorite cut of meat.

SHANGRI LA is its own resort! With games, bicycles, hot tub and basketball hoop, the family fun never stops! As the sun goes down lay back and enjoy the millions of stars as they light up the night’s sky from one of the many spacious decks. And later, enjoy a few games while relaxing in the Great Room.

Property Bedding: 3 Queen; 2 Twin Beds; 4 Bunk Sets

Upper Level: Great room with flat screen TV with CABLE & DVD player, Kitchen, Dining area, Covered Deck, Master suite with queen bed and full bathroom.

Mid Level: Large covered deck, Master suite with queen bed and full bathroom, 1 Queen bedroom, 2 Twin Bedroom, Bonus Room with Game Table and TV with CABLE & DVD player.

Ground Level: Main entry, Laundry room with washer and dryer.

Outside (Front): Basketball Hoop, Garage with Games and Bicycles, Large Parking Area.

Outside (Back): Large Backyard for Corn Hole games, Private Outside Shower, Covered Deck and Porch with Hot Tub, Outdoor Chairs, Picnic Table, and Gas Grill.

Bring the whole family to beautiful SHANGRI LA and enjoy a relaxing vacation where you have fun. Because of the quality of the home and amenities it offers, its proximity to the beach and local attractions the family-friendly vacation home is perfect for the Outer Banks vacation of a life time!

This home is located just a little more than a block from the beach. Positioned between the main highway and beach road, you will away from the hustle of the main roads, but only steps away from the sand and sea. When you arrive on the beach you will be delighted to find there is a life guard stand at the beach access!

Located at MP 9.5, this home is conveniently located near dining, galleries and family activities such as mini golf and kayak rentals. These offer perfect daily activities to keep you and your family active on a week-long vacation. Head over to the dunes and have fun climbing up and down. You can even stop by Kitty Hawk Kites and pick out kites to enjoy. If you’re feeling adventurous, you can even book a hang gliding lesson, an unforgettable experience! You are also close to the world famous Wright Brothers Memorial.

More Details

Property Manager
Patrick Lowry
Member since: 2015
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a day
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
August 25, 2017

Map

Wright Brothers National Memorial
Car: necessary

Amenities

Kill Devil Hills House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Housekeeping:
  • Housekeeper Included
Floor Area:
  • 2500 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 18
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Spa
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Garage ...
  • Heating
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Telephone
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Free Wifi
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 12 people
Bathrooms:
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Bathroom 3 - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Bathroom 4 - shower , outdoor shower
  • 3 Full Bathrooms PLUS enclosed outdoor shower
Bedrooms:
  • 5 Bedrooms, Sleeps 18
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 3 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 4 - 2 twin/ single
    Bedroom 5 - 1 sleep sofa /futon , Pull Out Sofa Bed located in Great Room
    Bedroom 6 - 1 double , 3 bunk bed , bonus room with bunk beds sleeps up to 8
  • 4 Bedrooms, 1 Sleep Sofa & Bonus Room with bunk beds Please note that linens and towels are not provided, however, can be rented at an additional cost.
Entertainment:
  • DVD Player ...
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television ...
Outside:
  • Balcony ...
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Lanai / Gazebo ...
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
Suitability:
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool ...
  • Hot Tub
Attractions:
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • festivals
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • boating
  • miniature golf
  • outlet shopping
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • golf
  • golf privileges optional
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • paragliding
  • parasailing
  • pier fishing
  • rafting
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • sound/bay fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • water skiing
  • water tubing
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
Property includes a large bonus room with a game table the width of the house! Perfect for families and children!

Reviews

Excellent! 4.6/5 -
(21 traveler reviews)

71% Complete
23% Complete
0% Complete
4% Complete
0% Complete
Fun family vacation!
average rating of 4.6190476 based on 21 reviews
2

Property needs better maintenance

  • 2 of 5

The property is in need of repair. The back fence is down, the closet shelf collapsed on me and upon closer look I could see it wasn't the first time. Seals around the shower were in very poor condition. There wasn't a door for the bedroom with the bunk beds. This was inconvenient for the guests staying in that room. It would be nicer if each bedroom had a fan. General overall maintenance was poor. On a positive note, the kitchen worked well, the location is very convent and the property has a a washer and dryer. There is plenty of parking.

  • Submitted: Aug 8, 2017
  • Stayed: Jul 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your input. We have fixed the shelf earlier this season. We will replace it. We'll address the fence as well. When the owner was visiting in early July, the fence was not down. Thanks again.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 1
4

Property was clean and in a great location. Easy walk to the beach. House needs some maintenance.

  • 4 of 5

We had a great time. Layout of the house is nice. Needs some maintenance and new window blinds. A tv in each bedroom would be nice. Overall it was a great experience. The kids room with all the bunk beds was perfect. The house was very conveniently located to everything we needed.

  • Submitted: Aug 6, 2017
  • Stayed: Jul 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Great vacation!

  • 5 of 5

We had a great week. The house was spacious and comfortable. The balconies/decks were great for relaxation after the beach. I liked that they were partially covered too so we could get out of the sun. There were also some great chairs out there. The beach access was an easy walk away and so were restaurants and shops. The owner let us know that they just got new bikes so we had a nice bike ride one day. We had a pretty big group and it was so nice to have a bed for everyone. The weather was wonderful too. I definitely relaxed and everyone had a fun week.

  • Submitted: Jul 18, 2017
  • Stayed: Jul 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Las Vegas, Nevada
5

Just near perfect!!!!

  • 5 of 5

Close to a great beach access. We drove around and noticed other vacation rentals near standing ditch water, but not here!!! The weather was beautiful and we had an amazing time touring the area and returning 'home' to very comfortable accommodations! We will definitely stay here again! It was great having a washer and dryer! Can't wait for next summer to stay here again...and perhaps for a whole week next time. NO negatives to report!

P.S. this was my first experience using a vacation rental so for other newbies out there, please be prepared to being toiletries which includes TP, and hand soap (a little was left over from prior tennants?)! Also paper towels are a must as well as plastic garbage bags. Two were provided but we needed more for our large family. Nice dinnerware is provided, but we mostly used disposables which we brought with us. ... it is a vacation, afterall!

  • Submitted: Jun 4, 2017
  • Stayed: May 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0
4

Decent experience

  • 4 of 5

Good location a block from the beach. Needs some minor repairs, lights not working outside and stuff like that. No soap or toilet paper in the bathrooms. No extra trash bags. Overall it was a decent experience. Good communication with the owner. I would stay here again.

  • Submitted: May 30, 2017
  • Stayed: May 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Great house!

  • 5 of 5

I love this house. I would definitely rent it again. The place was very spacious, plenty of parking and the hot tub was great! It was close to everywhere I wanted to be.

  • Submitted: May 25, 2017
  • Stayed: May 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $200
Damage Deposit $300

Manager's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.