Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Lake Columbia 3 Bed / 1.5 Bath Ranch Open Floorplan With Large Wraparound Deck

Sleeps8
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms2
Space 1,800 sq. ft.
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 - 7 nights

Overview

About the property

3 Bedrooms, 1.5 Bathroom, Sleeps 6-8

Lake Columbia is a PRIVATE all-sports lake about 1.5 hrs from Detroit and 1 hr or less from Ann Arbor and Lansing.

Boat rental is not available and there is no public launch site but we do have a canoe for your enjoyment.

The house is about 1800 square feet featuring 8 door walls that provide nice views of the main lake. It has an open layout with newer refrigerator and quiet dishwasher with a rather unique vaulted ceiling in the connected kitchen / living room. We generally get a nice breeze but in those instances when there is no breeze or it's very hot the house does have central air and fans in each room.

The house itself is only about 25 feet from the shore and the lake floor has a fairly gradual slope.

There is a deck that wraps around the house on the main level and the basement has a walkout onto a cement patio for those who want more shade yet still be close to the water. Often times the kids play ping pong, ladder ball, video games at the lower level while the adults soak up the views (and their favorite beverage) from the main level.

Picturesque sunsets, main lake views (not on canal), and country feeling yet grocery stores, restaurants and 2 golf courses are nearby.

The 4th of July fireworks are shot off directly in front of the house - is a pretty cool sight and you'll have front row seats!!!

This house is special to us. Please treat it and our neighbors as you would your own.

About 5-6 people can sleep in the beds and a few more can sleep on the couch or cots that we've provided. We don't want more than 9-10 people staying here out of respect to our neighbors.

We have a 50' tv with basic cable and NO WIFI (who needs it as you're at the lake trying to get away)!! The house is furnished with all of the basic necessities.

Enjoy it and never forget that the water should always be respected.

More Details

Owner
Diane
Member since: 2015
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a day
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
May 23, 2017

About Diane

We purchased our lake house about 11 years ago and absolutely love it. We won't be able to use it much for the next several years and decided to rent it to others.

Diane purchased this house in 2003

What makes this house unique

The house is on a culdesac and a very small nature park (just some land with a picnic table next to the water) is about 30 yards away from house for those who want to step away for more tranquility. Please stay to the left of the wooden fence as the land between the 2 wooden fences is private property.

Amenities

Brooklyn House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1800 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 8
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome
Location Type:
  • Lakefront
  • Waterfront ...
Theme:
  • Family
  • Sports & Activities
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room
  • Parking ...
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher ...
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster ...
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 2 - toilet , shower , Sink
    Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower
  • Master bath with stand up shower (no tub).
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Bedroom 2 - 1 double , Has a doorwall that provides lake views and deck access.
    Bedroom 1 - 1 queen , Master has large window overlooking the lake.
    Bedroom 3 - 2 twin/ single , Limited to no lake view has window but faces street.
  • Master has 5' foot window with side panes that can be cranked open overlooking the lake. There is also a doorwall that connects to the deck (we rarely use it).
Entertainment:
  • DVD Player
  • Game Room ...
  • Games ...
  • Ping Pong Table
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • Toys
Outside:
  • Boat ...
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Golf ...
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Tennis ...
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Attractions:
  • churches
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • bird watching
  • gambling casinos
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • laundromat
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cross country skiing
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • golf
  • snorkeling
  • swimming
  • tennis
Notes:
There is a garage on site but is not available for use Only for personal use

Reviews

4.4/5 -
(5 traveler reviews)

Lake Columbia 3 Bed / 1.5 Bath Ranch Open Floorplan With Large Wraparound Deck
average rating of 4.4 based on 5 reviews
Walbridge, Ohio
5

Loved this property!

  • 5 of 5

Beautiful Lake front home! Clean, comfortable and a fantastic location, a great view from every room! The kitchen is fully equipped with plenty of storage space. The deck and lower porch are great. We spent all of our time outside. Diane is wonderful to rent from and we will be renting here again. We were here over the 4th of July and the view of the fireworks were amazing. Oh and the sunsets!!! Can't say enough about this property...we really enjoyed our stay here. Thank you for sharing your home.

  • Submitted: Jul 11, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Kay, thank you for such a kind review. very happy to have you stay again. look forward to working with you in the future.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Dearborn
5

Amazing! Great property!

  • 5 of 5

This property is a gem. Clean, comfortable, very well maintained. The house is spacious and beautiful, offers everything one could need for a great vacation. Water sports, dining, golfing, tennis courts. It could accommodate a family or be a romantic getaway. Fully equipped kitchen if you wanted to cook or great places to eat nearby. The golf course is only 5 min from the property and is simply stellar. Everything exceeded our expectations and we wish we could stay longer. We absolutely loved everything about it.The sunsets from the beautiful deck were stunning. Will rent this property as soon as we could!

  • Submitted: Aug 18, 2015
  • Stayed: Aug 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Allen Park
5

Relaxing and Peaceful

  • 5 of 5

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The Home is well maintained, beautiful view of the lake, close to town and many antique shops, as well as MIS! comfortable furnishings, games and ping pong table for game night was a big plus! peaceful lake during the week, busier on weekend but so much fun watching the boats pull tubers around the lake. Charcoal Grill available for s'mores in the evening, propane grill on the deck for bbq-ing, microwave also available. Big plus was full kitchen of pots and pans, dishes and utensils! Washer and dryer too. Would definitely rent again and have already recommended to others. Marco's Pizza was quite good and will deliver! Randy's BBQ on US 12 is to die for! in fact we drove back up this weekend just to get Randys! The owner is super easy to work with and very personable. Property manager was very helpful as well Highly recommend this rental you will not be disappointed!!

  • Submitted: Aug 17, 2015
  • Stayed: Jul 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your detailed responds. Your review really touched on how we have enjoyed our cottage for several years. It was a pleasure working with you and I think this will certainly help future renters visualise the lake house and all the comforts of home it offers . Have a good rest of your summer. Diane
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
3

dianel95@hotmail.com

  • 3 of 5

We were to take posession at noon on Sunday but they forgot we were coming so they were there till 3:30. I realize they were leaving for a very long trip later that day but they should have rented it out on Monday then. There is not a table so we took turns sitting at the counter.

  • Submitted: Jul 22, 2015
  • Stayed: Jul 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your response . We will take that into consideration and find a solution for the table. We general sit on the deck with our meals as often as we can with the spectacular view. Then use the counter top for breakfast and rainy days. A long trip consisted of relocating my family to London for 3 years. Not an easy task. Please forgive me for mixing up the times as I was quite overwhelmed with the move and was still trying to make the lake house the best it could be even when our flight left Detroit that evening. Hope you still had a relaxing stay after we left. It was nice meeting you. Diane
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Lambertville, MI
4

Relaxing and quiet.

  • 4 of 5

Quiet and relaxed in this clean home. Windows are large and plentiful, providing a great lake view. Beautiful sunsets 3 nights out of the 4 we stayed. Negatives are no microwave or hair dryer. Grill is charcoal not gas. Still waiting for deposit return after leaving the rental in excellent condition.

  • Submitted: Jul 8, 2015
  • Stayed: Jun 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: thank you for your response. Good advice. We have since placed a microwave in kitchen. Yes , you did leave the cottage in wonderful shape, thank you so much for treating it like your own. Just a reminder-The deposit was taken care of the day after you left per our conversation. Have a good summer. Diane
Did you find this review helpful?
1 1

Map

Nearest Airport
73 Miles
Detroit Metro airport
Nearest Barpub
3 Miles
Ocean beach bar
Nearest Golf
2 Miles
Clark lake golf course
Nearest Motorway
5 Miles
Us 127
Nearest Beach
4 Miles
Clark lake public beach
Car: recommended

Photos

Rates & Availability

Brooklyn House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
Summer Standard peak
May 1 2017 - Oct 1 2017
6 night minimum stay
$350
$1,850
$8,000
 
 
Memorial weekend
May 26 2017 - May 28 2017
3 night minimum stay
$1,200
Flat fee
 
 
NASCAR WEEKend
Jun 16 2017 - Jun 18 2017
3 night minimum stay
$1,200
Flat fee
 
 
4th of July week
Jul 2 2017 - Jul 7 2017
6 night minimum stay
$2,100
Flat fee
 
 
NASCAR WEEK
Aug 7 2017 - Aug 13 2017
7 night minimum stay
$2,300
Flat fee
 
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
$200
From
$250
Fri,Sat
$1,200
$3,000
 
Notes: Rates are based on 7 guests; add $50 per night, per additional guest

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning fee $150
Refundable damage deposit $500

Event stay (e.g. 4th of July and race weeks) duration is 6 nights not 7 as indicated in the rates above.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.

Enter dates for accurate pricing

Send a Message Send a Message
Available
Unavailable

You might like these similar properties