check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit

Ocean Front Villa 41 - Bald Head - BHI Club Membership available

Bedrooms 4
Half Baths1
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 - 7 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the VRBO checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more


Half Baths
Minimum Stay
3 - 7 nights

About the property

Ocean Front Villa, 3 Bedrooms, 2.5 Baths, Sleeps 8, 2 Carts (6&4 Seat), BHI Club

Villa 41 is an ocean front villa that sleeps 8, and has panoramic ocean views! A Bald Head Island Country Club membership is available, which will allow guests access to the pool (kids and adults), fitness center, tennis, croquet, playgrounds, casual and fine dining and, of course, the George Cobb designed award winning 18-hole golf course. With unobstructed views of the ocean, you can spend your days hunting for shells on the beach or playing in the surf. Take in a round of golf or lounge at the resort style pool. All are within walking distance of this Villa.

Villa 41 includes 2 golf carts (NEW 6-seater golf cart purchased Dec 2016, AND a 4-seater golf cart) which allows transportation and flexibility for larger parties and families.

Villa 41 was upgraded and redesigned in May 2014 and Winter 2017 (new appliances, flooring, decking, furnishings, and more), and includes spectacular colors, furnishings and ambiance. Coupled with the majestic ocean views, this is truly a complete vacation home that provides everything for your well-deserved vacation.

There are 2 master bedrooms (both Kings) with each having its own full bath. The upstairs enclosed loft is the 3rd bedroom and has 4 twins beds (2 twin beds, and a bunk bed with a twin on bottom, and twin on top) and a 1/2-bath. This is an ideal layout to accommodate a family, or 2 couples with children who are looking for the perfect getaway.

Bald Head Island is only accessible by boat or by a ferry, which departs frequently out of Southport, NC. Southport is 35 minutes from the Wilmington, NC (ILM) airport. The mood is set during the 20 minute ferry ride off the mainland. You will see lighthouses and occasionally dolphins during your ride to the island marina. A tram ride to the villa is included with your ferry ticket. Visitors and residents travel around the island by golf cart, bike or by foot.

This is a great island for cycling, running, bird watching, star gazing, and fishing. Wave riding is popular on the East side of the island. Enjoy paddle boarding, canoeing, and kayaking in the creeks of the middle island. These items can all be rented on the island. An upscale grocery market, spa, and shopping area are a short golf cart ride away. Discover the Bald Head Island Conservancy at the end of South Beach, where you can learn about the island’s wildlife. Sign up for classes, including the popular evening “turtle walks” to search for and observe nesting Loggerhead Turtles and if your timing is right even watch their hatchlings heading to the ocean for the first time!

The Villa includes the following:

• 2 king bedrooms

• 2 full baths

• 1: 4-twin bedroom

• 1 half bath

• Fully stocked and equipped Kitchen

• 2 Refrigerators for extra food storage

• 3 Flat screen TV’s

• 6-seater golf cart (NEW 2017)

• 4-seater golf cart

• Bald Head Island Club temporary membership available

• 4 beach chairs

• Beach and pool toys

• Gas grill (new 2017)

• Collection of games, books (for adults & kids) and magazines

• High-count linens, towels (with extra sheets and blankets)

• High Chair

• Pack & Play Crib

• Dishwasher

• Arrival & departure cleaning

• Washer & Dryer

• Cable TV

• Free WiFi

• Outdoor shower

More Details

Read Patterson
Member since: 2015
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few days
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
January 22, 2017


Very Good! 4.2/5 -
(12 traveler reviews)

Ocean Front Villa 41 - Bald Head - BHI Club Membership available
average rating of 4.1666665 based on 12 reviews

Heavenly Getaway!

  • 5 of 5

What a great escape, so close yet allows you to feel so far away. Bald Head Island is a divine retreat location to Recharge your batteries and Rejuvenate your Soul. Hooper has done an amazing job with the furnishings and design, it feels elegant but like Home. I loved it and can't wait to go back again soon. The proximity to everything is fantastic and all of the necessary amenities are there! Thank you so much for being so accommodating and quick to respond. I highly recommend reserving with the Patterson family!

  • Submitted: Jan 11, 2017
  • Stayed: Dec 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Can't wait to go back!!

  • 5 of 5

My fiance and I spent several days at this villa and we LOVED it! Every room in the villa is decorated nicely and it is very bright and clean. The master bed was so comfortable and the kitchen was equipped with everything we needed to cook meals. Incredible views of ocean from the main living area and deck. Feels like you are at the beach even when you come back to the villa. We spent every evening on the deck watching the sunset over the ocean sipping wine. Bliss!! The villa is oceanfront with easy access to the beach and with two golf carts we had no trouble getting around and exploring the whole island. We felt totally at home and did not want to leave, we appreciated the owners local suggestions and answers to any questions we had. We can't wait to return, have already booked for 2017! Also, this villa would be perfect for two couples with children as there is plenty of room and an upstairs loft with bunk beds and its own TV.

  • Submitted: Jan 3, 2017
  • Stayed: Nov 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Great location but house itself needs a little TLC...

  • 3 of 5

We LOVED our time on Bald Head Island and were so happy we got to spend a week there! That's being said, the house worked for us for many reasons: good view of the water, close proximity to Bald Head Club and pool, Loft area setup was perfect for kids, having 2 golf carts was great. However, for the price we paid the home was pretty run down with a fridge that took 2 days to finally cool down, cracks and paint peeling in many spots, missing pieces of cabinetry, and the outdoor shower that needs some attention. Also, we suggest getting an umbrella for the deck so people can enjoy being outside without roasting.

I did reach out to the owner about the Airconditioning and fridge on the first day and he was very quick to respond which we appreciated. The only other thing that I suggest is to have a "welcome book" to give a map and some info about island as well as suggestions of restaurants and things to do during our stay. Overall it was a decent place but I think we would look for other options next year.

  • Submitted: Aug 27, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Great Vacation!

  • 5 of 5

This was our first time to BHI and we can't wait to return. This villa was perfect for our family getaway. Great location to club and beach. Beautiful views of the ocean and the sunsets were simply incredible. This villa is decorated beautifully and equipped with everything we needed to make this the perfect family vacation. The two golf carts are a huge bonus to making this island fun. The owners were extremely helpful and kind and went out of their way to make our vacation special. I would highly recommend this Villa!

  • Submitted: Jul 21, 2016
  • Stayed: May 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Wonderful Island...not thrilled with the accommodations.

  • 2 of 5

I must first say that I loved BHI...already booked our week for next year and we can't wait to go back. With that being said, there were some concerns with Villa 41. I must say that when concerns were brought to the owner, he did respond very quickly and worked to resolve all issues for us. That was appreciated. He even offered a refund for the remaining days of our stay if we chose to leave. However, this was our vacation we looked forward to it for so long, no one wanted to go home! Some concerns that arose: the AC unit could not cool the house below 79 during the day/evening. Although it was serviced while we were there and they said it was working 100% it never cooled the way it should. We were in other villas throughout the week and this was not a concern in those properties. The bugs were quite an issue. Again, owner sent someone quickly, but for the entire week we constantly killed what some like to call palmetto bugs, but what are still roaches. And I mean there were a lot of them. I have stayed in many coastal rentals, and although roaches occasionally make an appearance, I have never seen it infested like this. Overall, disappointed in the appearance and condition of the property. Pictures do not accurately represent the condition.

I have never given a negative review of a product, property, etc., and I truthfully feel bad about doing so now. However, when dealing with this amount of money, and the time people take to chose the perfect vacation spot, I feel I have no choice but to express my concerns honestly.

  • Submitted: Jul 20, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: We always try to provide the best possible experience for our guests, as customer service and satisfaction is of the utmost importance to us. We lived up to this commitment during this guest's stay. Additionally, Villa 41 is one of the finest OCEAN FRONT villas available on BH, and for the money, nothing else compares (heck, where else can you get an ocean front week long vacation in the summer for $3k?!)! The interior furnishings are lavish, and the property recently received countertop, flooring, and bathroom renovations. This guest's complaints were: 1. The AC doesn't works -- HVAC TECH VISITED AND TESTED THE UNIT THE NEXT DAY AND SAID IT WAS PERFECT... 2. The refrigerator doesn't works -- THIS WAS COMPLETELY INACCURATE, AND BESIDES, WE HAVE ANOTHER FRIDGE IN THE GARAGE... 3. The front door won't look -- ANDERSEN DOORS HAVE TO BE "PULLED UP" TO INITIATE THE LOCKING SEQUENCE...AFTER THAT WAS EXPLAINED, THIS WAS NO LONGER AN ISSUE... 4. We have had to kill 7 roaches - I HAD THE EXTERMINATOR OUT THE NEXT DAY, BUT ROACHES ARE VERY COMMON ON BALD HEAD...IN FACT, MYSELF AND MY FAMILY SATYED IN THE VILLA THE WEEK PRIOR AND THERE WERE NO BUG ISSUES OUT OF THE ORDINARY...THIS WAS THE GUESTS FIRST TRIP TO BH... This guest also damaged our golf cart, twice, which we fixed, without hesitation and no questions asked, as well as not seeking monetary damages! Furthermore, this guest exceed the maximum capacity of 8 guests during their stay, which we "over-looked". In the end, we remain committed to providing a great product, with great service, but as is true in life, we can't please everyone all the time, despite our diligence and steadfast efforts.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
North Carolina

Awesome Vacation !!!!!

  • 5 of 5

Our family had a great time staying here. The Villa is beautiful and had everything we needed to enjoy our week there. The living room is comfy with plenty of room for a large family to sit around and play games in the evening. The kitchen had everything we needed for the few nights we chose to cook in. The Maritime Market was a cute place to shop each day.

The ocean views were perfect while relaxing on the deck. The location was superb. Quick 1 minute golf cart ride to beach. We were able to set up our Beach Canopy each morning and leave it there all day as our Villa was directly in front of beach. It was also a quick to walk to the Bald Head Island Club. Membership came with rental. We enjoyed swimming each afternoon after a day at the beach and our granddaughter fell in love with the Splash Pad over there.

If you are looking for a fun, relaxing stress free vacation I highly recommend Bald Head Island and staying at this Villa

Read was so helpful with all of our questions and made us really feel welcome. On our next visit to the Island we will definitely stay here.

  • Submitted: Sep 24, 2015
  • Stayed: Jun 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0



Rates & Availability

Bald Head Island House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
Winter 2016
Jan 2 2017 - Mar 25 2017
3 night minimum stay
Mar 26 2017 - May 20 2017
3 night minimum stay
May 21 2017 - Aug 26 2017
7 night minimum stay
Value Summer
Aug 27 2017 - Sep 16 2017
3 night minimum stay
Fall 2015
Sep 17 2017 - Nov 4 2017
Changeover Day: Saturday
3 night minimum stay
Winter 2 - 2016
Nov 12 2017 - Jan 3 2018
3 night minimum stay
My Standard Rate
7 night minimum stay

Additional information about rental rates

Property Damage Protection $99
Cleaning Fee $150
Tax Rate 7.0%

BHI Club Temporary Membership is available for $25/day!

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 0% refund if canceled at least 0 days before arrival date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Contact Me Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)


Bald Head Island House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
  • Guests provide their own meals
  • Housekeeper Included
Floor Area:
  • 1100 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Beach View
  • Beachfront
  • Golf Course View
  • Near The Ocean ...
  • Ocean View
  • Oceanfront
  • Resort
  • Village
  • Waterfront
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Garage
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher ...
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave ...
  • Oven ...
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower , shower
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , combination tub/shower , tub , shower
    Bathroom 3 - toilet
    Bathroom 4 - shower
  • 2 full baths off each Master Bedroom, 1/2 Bath off upstairs bedroom
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king
    Bedroom 2 - 1 king
    Bedroom 3 - 2 twin/ single , 2 bunk bed
    Bedroom 4 - 1 sleep sofa /futon
  • 2 Master Bedrooms with king beds, 1 Upstairs bedroom with 2 twins and a bunk bed...the Living Room couch is a large L couch too!
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • Balcony
  • Bicycles ...
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Golf
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Tennis
  • Water Sports Gear
  • 4 bicycles
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool
  • churches
  • festivals
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • live theater
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • ruins
  • water parks
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • horseshoes
  • outlet shopping
  • paddle boating
  • photography
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • golf privileges optional
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • roller blading
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • sound/bay fishing
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • water tubing
  • wind-surfing
2 Carts are included with Villa 41 -- a 6 seater and a 4 seater!

Partner Offers