Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call VRBO Booking Assistance: 888-829-7076
Book Online or call VRBO Booking Assistance: 888-829-7076

Peaceful Jungle hideaway at Better in Belize Eco Village

Bedrooms 2
Space 1,200 sq ft
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 nights


About the property

Wonderful 2 bedroom ,one double bed and one bedroom with two twin beds, jungle off grid house.Full kitchen. 2 bathrooms. Large deck with great view.Bird lovers paradise.The eco village is located on a river with splendid waterfalls ,birds and luscious plants and flowers.There is a waterfall tour available.Horse back riding is available at the property next door.Lucy ,a neighbor is available to cook local dishes if desired.The property is in the jungle so a four wheel drive car is necessary.Please look at the Better in Belize website. Please be aware there are bugs, spiders and monkeys in the jungle

sue waite
Member since: 2015
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few days
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
July 25, 2018

Guestbook comments from the owner

Guests were surprised that there are bugs in the jungle and wanted refund for something property owner can not control. Thete are mosquito nets over the bad .There is little danger.There will always be some risk going to the jungle.
Mar 2016
  • 1 of 1


Belize House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
  • Guests provide their own meals
  • Housekeeper Optional
Floor Area:
  • 1200 sq ft
House Rules:
  • Check-in: Flexible / Check-out: Flexible
  • Max. occupancy: 4
  • pets considered
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
  • Internet ...
  • Linens Provided
  • Parking
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Kitchen ...
  • Oven ...
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
  • I double bed one bedroom with 2 twin beds
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 4
  • Video Library ...
  • Boat ...
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Onsite Services:
  • Private Chef
  • duty free shops
  • ruins
Leisure Activities:
  • bird watching
  • eco tourism
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • wildlife viewing
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • hiking
  • swimming


3.7/5 -
(3 traveler reviews)

66% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
33% Complete
Peaceful Jungle hideaway at Better in Belize Eco Village
average rating of 3.6666667 based on 4 reviews
Western N.Y.

BEWARE/DANGER!! Do not stay at this house!!

  • 1 of 5

Beware, this house is infested with scorpions!! The following is correspondence between myself and the owner regarding our stay at the property. I did rate the experience as poor, not because of the house but more for the owner's response.

Dear Sue,

We made it to your lovely place and went down to see the river-breathtaking. Upon our return we made salad and had dinner. While taking dishes into house a very large 6 inch scorpion was found in the kitchen. We were unable to get him he crawled in a hole very fast. After that we checked all the rooms and found several more. The total at this time is seven. Half dead and half still roaming the residence. We are feeling very unsafe and will leave if we are able to as we are trying to find a place to go at this late hour. We will be leaving ASAP but may have to spend the night, never the less we would very much appreciate a complete refund. It is now 10 pm and will not bother Jorge tonight. If we are still here in the morning we will stop in to see him.

-Sue: Well that is life in the JUNGLE .SORRY no refund because you don't lke

bugs,spiders and monkeys.There are resorts in Belize.

-Kurt: Sue, this is not acceptable. Monkeys and spiders are fine but a house full of scorpions is absolutely not. Again I am asking you to do the right thing and refund our money. We actually loved your place and if it weren't for the scorpions taking over the house after dark we would have had a totally different experience. The entire circumstance is unfortunate but I would like to see it resolved amicably.

-Sue: Sorry you knew the house is in the jungle in Belize.Not a 5 star resort.When I have stayed at other places in Belize there have been scorpions. They are not aggressive and they are not fatal. Maybe you are not the adventurous sort.

- Kurt: Wrong answer and I am totally shocked by your attitude considering you are in the customer service business. I feel we were misled by you, if there was a chance there we would see scorpions in the house it should be disclosed in the ad. I will be sure to put that in the review I write regarding our stay at your property as well as my complaint to vrbo will also be asking my credit card company for a refund and letting them know your house is unsafe to be occupied.

-Sue: I will send you $25 because you complain.20% went to the website$.59.00

was for insurance and $50 went to Jorge .Next time get a high end resort

and not in the jungle

  • Submitted: May 10, 2016
  • Stayed: April 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Kurt I am not in the customer service business.I rent my house out so others might enjoy the adventure that the jungle brings.There are mosquito nets over the beds.Scorpions will not attack or chase you. You should research a place before you go there to see what you migjt encounter.
Did you find this review helpful?
5 1

A little piece of heaven!

  • 5 of 5

I would highly recommend Sue's place to anyone who is looking for something different and exciting. It is nothing like the boring and generic "all inclusive" holidays you find in Mexico and the rest of the Caribbean. The location is breathtaking, peaceful and full of nature and there are many activities in and around the Cayo district. We would wake up to the sound of howler monkeys and tropical birds every morning with our cup of coffee. The sun comes up just after 6 am and goes down just after 6 pm, so you want to get an early start (and the howler monkeys can operate as your Belize alarm clock). A 4x4 is mandatory and we had a diesel Toyota Hilux from Avis that was just perfect (we had no issues). The roads are very steep as the village is on the side of a mountain with over 500 feet of elevation from river to mountaintop, so be prepared for some exercise if you plan on walking everywhere. The road from Benque to BIB is pretty rough and takes about 30 minutes. My husband found it to be more of a fun daily challenge and the 4x4 truck handled it just fine. There is a fully equipped kitchen to prepare your meals including propane appliances that Jorge (property manager) will show you how to operate. Jorge was very helpful and will answer any questions you have about the cabin and the area. I would recommend going to the San Ignacio market on Saturday morning to buy your organic fruit, veggies, meats and spices, as that is when it has the most merchants. You can also buy packaged stuff at the numerous Chinese stores around Benque and San Ignacio as well as Crystal bottled water. There are lots of interesting Critters around the property that my boys were fascinated with. Nothing to worry about, as we used mosquito nets over our beds that kept everything out. If you are looking for an excellent family vacation experience in Belize, look no further than Sue's Peaceful Jungle hideaway! Thank you Sue!

  • Submitted: Apr 4, 2016
  • Stayed: March 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

The most relaxing vacation ever !

  • 5 of 5

Sue ... We had a fantastic time . Right from the start the care taker met us and showed us to the house . Everything was set for us at the house just right . We had a great time horseback riding with Joe . The inflatable kayaks are a really useful thing to use to see the waterfall ... The monkeys were really neat to see and hear at night ... We look forward to staying here again in the future ... Thanks again Sue

  • Submitted: Feb 17, 2016
  • Stayed: February 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0


Car: necessary


Rates & Availability

Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Property Damage Protection $59

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 7 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 14 days before arrival date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.