Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Cabin Hideaway in Historic Bluffton... New! ..Unbelievable Setting!

Sleeps4
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms2
Space 1,800 sq. ft.
Property type cabin
Minimum Stay 2 nights

Overview

About the property

Great Couples Retreat......Ambience is Incredible!

Half of the house is the open floor plan of the great room/kitchen combination with stainless steel appliances, gas cook top, dish washer, disposal, microwave, oven, large french door refrigerator. Soft close Kraftmaid cabinets with pantry. Gorgeous granite countertops and island, with all cooking utensils fully furnished.

The great room includes the fireplace, round handmade walnut dining table, smaller card table, desk and chair, two matching couches and large coffee table, two bookcases full of good reading and several drawers containing many games for your use.

Our two bedrooms are each open to the views of the front and the back and side yards viewing the huge live oak trees or the marshland. Our two full baths are ultra modern with a 5 x 6 porcelain Master shower. Washer and dryer for your convenience in the 2nd bath.

This house is a total renovation and all appliances, bathrooms, flooring, etc. is new and modern inside the rustic outside.

*NOTE: Renting age minimum for adults is 25.

* You can use "Book It Now" option if you leave your phone number on right hand column ...so I can quickly get in touch.

I want to speak to you before I rent.

More Details

Owner
Peg Welch
Member since: 2015
Speaks: english, I will use Google Translator if needed
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
80%
Calendar last updated:
September 20, 2017

About Peg Welch

Two retired people wanted to invest in a secondary place to play...and we found a 'PIECE OF GOLD'. We love our primary home but we ADORE this Cozy Accommodation. We find ourselves wanting to be there all the time. The surrounding habitat of nature and birds and deer 'takes us somewhere' every time we stay there. The tides come in twice a day in our back yard lowland which opens to the Okatee River across the way.

We are from Tennessee and I am a retired teacher and my husband is retired from the Engineering Department of Norfolk Southern Railroad.

Peg Welch purchased this cabin in 2014

Why Peg Welch chose South Carolina

The 1.6 acre land our cabin sits on is a rarity in this area. I think it will long become a place to talk about by anyone who stays in the 'hideaway'. The front yard is huge and the back yard opens to the 'marshland' and the exotic bird sanctuary. I hope my family will enjoy this for generations to come.

What makes this cabin unique

This home is located 1/2 mile off the main highway 278 into Hilton Head and yet allows us the unique lifestyle of quaint Bluffton. You can read about it on the webpages I have designated. You will not be bothered by crowds or held up with sitting in traffic going onto the HH Island on check in day. You can be in and settled before everyone else even gets to the bridge. And when you want to go to the beach, you plan the time of day and the kind of traffic you want to deal with. It is YOUR choice.

Guestbook comments from the owner

Sara,

Thanks for the plug for my Hideaway Cabin. However, I must say you were the 5 * guests. Please come back any time!



Peg
May 2016
  • 1 of 1

Amenities

Hardeeville Cabin Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cabin
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Housekeeping:
  • Housekeeper Optional
Floor Area:
  • 1800 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 3:00 PM
  • /
  • Check-out: 11:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 4 ...
  • Max. adults: 4
  • Min. age of primary renter: 25 ...
  • Parties/events not allowed ...
  • Pets not allowed
  • Non smoking only ...
  • I do not rent this home as a gathering place for friends or party venue. I strictly rent to people listed on your contract.
Location Type:
  • Water View ...
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Romantic
  • Spa
  • Sports & Activities
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher ...
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave ...
  • Oven ...
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster ...
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 12 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , combination tub/shower , New modern one side oval tub and door
  • Master Bath is 5x6 porcelain tiled with two shower heads/hand held. Long bench seat across back. Has Vessel sink and the new dual-flush Kohler toilet.
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 4
  • Bedroom 2 - 1 queen , 12x 12 with walk in closet
    Bedroom 1 - 1 king , 12x14 Master ensuite with walk in closet
  • Kingsize bed in Master with walk in closet. Views of the water. Queen bed in 2nd room has walk in closet. i Views of the Live Oak trees and surrounding nature from each bedroom.
Entertainment:
  • Books ...
  • DVD Player ...
  • Games ...
  • Music Library ...
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo ...
  • Television ...
  • Video Games
  • Video Library ...
Outside:
  • Bicycles ...
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Golf ...
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Water Sports Gear ...
  • 2 bicycles
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • wheelchair inaccessible ...
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool ...
Onsite Services:
  • Massage
Attractions:
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • festivals
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • live theater
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • ruins
  • synagogues
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • horseback riding
  • miniature golf
  • outlet shopping
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • golf
  • golf privileges optional
  • hiking
  • kayaking
  • parasailing
  • pier fishing
  • sailing
  • snorkeling
  • sound/bay fishing
  • swimming
Notes:
843-540-4708 is the phone number of a personal massage therapist who is only a mile away. Alina... Call early to arrange an appointment before your stay.

Reviews

Wonderful! 4.8/5 -
(25 traveler reviews)

92% Complete
4% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
4% Complete
Cabin Hideaway in Historic Bluffton... New! ..Unbelievable Setting!
average rating of 4.8 based on 26 reviews
Charlotte
5

You'll Love it Here!

  • 5 of 5

The Hideaway Cabin is a special place! The marsh location lets you experience the natural ebb and flow of the tides, an abundance of birds to watch and even deer. The wondrous ancient mossy oaks give it a majestic feel. The beauty follows you inside with a modern stunning kitchen that’s meant for a cook. The bathrooms are elegant and beautiful. We came for a relaxing weekend after a conference in Hilton Head. It was close by and easy to get to. My favorite areas were the front porch swing and the back screened in porch sipping coffee and watching the marsh. This cabin will not disappoint you. My only regret is that we didn’t get to stay longer. We will definitely be back! Thank you Peg & Lloyd for sharing your little piece of heaven with us!

  • Submitted: May 15, 2017
  • Stayed: May 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: It's always a relief to have great renters who take care of your home... That's number one.. But to know they loved being there is a satisfying feeling. We aim to please! Thank you, The Stikeleather family!
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
1

RENTERS BEWARE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • 1 of 5

This lovely cabin has many hidden glitches. Let me begin by stating I rented this property for a weekend to celebrate my grandson's first birthday. 1st, I apparently was restricted to the amount of guests that could attend his celebration. This was a 2 hour party with cake and ice cream. Apparently, I was watched on camera as to the amt. of people that attended. I was told there were too many people in the house by the owner who showed up at 8:45 p.m. The birthday was from 2 to 4. There certainly was no disclaimer that I was being filmed.What type of rental checks on customers to see how many people were in her home, I was under the impression that this was a VACATION RENTAL. It was also made clear that the home better be left the way we found it. 3 adults were overnite guests and 1 baby, my GRANDSON. It was made very clear by the owner that I misrepresented my intention by telling me "THIS IS NOT A PARTY HOUSE!!!!!! 2) The house was left immaculate...not so much as a bag of trash was left behind. We cleaned more than necessary, though I paid a cleaning fee . On her evening visit , the owner relayed to me that SHE was the cleaning woman. Well, clean it yourself and keep the money or hire someone to clean it for you...YOU WERE PAID for that service. I would never recommend this property to anyone unless you meet these qualifications. You cannot enter the home without removing your shoes, absolutely no children, you don't mind being on camera and if you intend to have a good time, the owner might appear unannounced at the door to check things out. RENTERS BEWARE !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! My weekend was ruined, I hope it does not happen to you. I have to give my rating as a 1 star because there is nothing lower.

  • Submitted: Jul 30, 2017
  • Stayed: Jul 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: All things addressed negatively by this tenant were listed in my rental agreement and house rules and signed. The contract was breached. Why bother with a contract if the plan is to ignore it? It is very disappointing that one of our beautiful couch cushions is having to be recovered as a result of too many people and no one paying attention to what was going on with this crowd of 20 or more. This is very costly and will be impossible to find the material as it was a special order. Respect for homes you rent is desired by all home owners. Renters want to get the best their money can buy. I strive to give this to each renter. That's why I take care of my own property. It gets extra special attention. You can read ALL my other reviews to see what others have said. Request for parties in anyone's home should be addressed up front to decide if this is the rental for you. You should obtain permission, otherwise rent a different place. Every owner should have a security camera, especially in a secluded area. They should not threaten renters who have nothing to hide. And remember, these are homes.... not party venues. You pay extra for that in a separate building like Macdonalds or Chucky Cheese, especially for 12 children or more. Otherwise, you are taking advantage of the owners who tried very hard to please you.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Fantastic home with all amenities . Couldn't have wished for more, so comfortable and great placemen

  • 5 of 5

We stayed with family to visit our son at Beaufort with the RN?

Peg and Lloyd are fantastic, there if you need them whatever the time answering emails re recommendations for food, visits etc

A home from home with plenty of space around indoors and out with deer,armadillo and wildlife in the garden

  • Submitted: Jul 9, 2017
  • Stayed: Jun 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Loved 'chatting' with my new British friends. It was a pleasure to deal with their needs and get to talk some more about the Royal Navy. Thanks for the great housekeeping. Peg and Lloyd
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Carnesville GA
5

Beautiful!

  • 5 of 5

I travel a lot to different places far and wide and this is by far the most beautiful rental I have ever stayed at. Conveniently between Savanna, Beaufort, and Hilton Head Island. Very comfortable and relaxing surroundings. How secluded is what I absolutely loved about this property, great to come back to after a long day of sightseeing. Peg was very helpful and so nice! If you are traveling to this area I Highly recommend staying in the beautiful cabin!!

  • Submitted: Jun 19, 2017
  • Stayed: Jun 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Nashville, TN
5

Charming property!

  • 5 of 5

The property was absolutely delightful, a hidden gem for sure. The large front porch with swing and rocking chairs were wonderful as well as the large living/kitchen space. Peg is a wonderful host as well. Rent this property and you will not be disappointed!

  • Submitted: Jun 16, 2017
  • Stayed: Jun 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: This was a house full and I would never have known it.. Such great renters!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Wonderful luxury Cabin Hideaway

  • 5 of 5

Extremely well appointed and situated. Cabin on the outside but luxury inside. The property is private​ and tranquil. The owner was responsive and accommodating. She is very easy to work with.

  • Submitted: Jun 4, 2017
  • Stayed: Jun 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you, Dave. You get my Excellent Renter award!👏
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Tanger Outlets
"There are two Tangers a mile apart with every store imaginable. Who needs a Big City?"
Joe Loves Lobster Rolls
"2915 Okatie Highway is the address of a restaurant receiving great reviews. Phone 843-645-77..."
The Upper Crust
"For People who love PIzza that tastes 'Freshly made'. They also serve great salads and other..."
Outback Steakhouse
"I haven't found a burger anywhere better that Outback's. The affordable prices of their ste..."
Arts Center of Coastal Carolina
""Broadway of South Carolina"...If you check their venue online, you may catch a great show a..."
Driessen Beach Park
"Only 15 minutes to get to the bridge to cross over onto Hilton Head Island and great parking..."
Harbour Town Lighthouse
"Great place to view beautiful boats in the harbour, eat great local food, and shop for those..."
Sun City Hilton Head Golf Maintenance
"Golfing in Sun City is a real treat because it is so close...1 mile. You can ask me about ho..."
Hilton Head Island-Bluffton Chamber of Commerce
"This is where the History Buffs need to check. I always think it is just an amazing referenc..."
Folly Field Beach
"Love this beach because it is the closest one to cabin with good parking. And one street fa..."
Nearest Airport
17 Miles
Savannah, GA
Nearest Barpub
0.5 Miles
Okatie
Nearest Ferry
14 Miles
Savannah, GA
Nearest Golf
1 Miles
Sun City
Nearest Train
17 Miles
Savannah, GA
Nearest Motorway
0.5 Miles
278
Nearest Restaurant
0.5 Miles
Cracker Barrell, Wendy's, Zaxby's, Burger King
Nearest Beach
14 Miles
Bradley Beach
Car: necessary

There are interesting places to visit in Beaufort, 21 miles farther north along the coast. I would recommend a visit to that beautiful, old town, full of history. Tour on horse drawn carriages and hear the history of the Civil War. And to the West of us is Historic Savannah,GA, only 17 miles away. Visit the old train station or take a tour of the main downtown on open air trolleys. Charleston in only 1 1/2 hours but Hilton Head and Blluffton will keep you busy and coming back for more.

A Savannah Bananas Minor League Baseball Game is a must if you love the sport..summer months.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $100
Additional Guest Fee $25 per person per night
Damage Deposit $300

This house has privacy of two full bathrooms which allows couples to have their own space.... with 1860 sq. feet and open floor plan. Bedrooms have big closets. The third room in this house is a bedroom/study but has twin trundle beds. With the privacy and ambience of this "hideaway", it really is a perfect setting for those who enjoy being in the outdoors, viewing the birds and deer and hiking all around the acreage. The sunrising and setting is beautiful here.
Prices: 1-3 people $225 night
4 adults $275 night
5-6 adults $325 night
If you rent for 7 nights, I will offer the 7th night FREE! I only charge $75 cleaning fee for one couple.
DAMAGE DEPOSIT is refunded same day you leave back onto your credit card.

*This cabin is intended for couples only and with permission, older children (16 and up) of same guests.

**If you have entertained in my cabin, that is more wear and tear and you will be charged a party fee of $200. You may be subject to being asked to check out early.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.