Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Pirates Beach - Spacious, Family Friendly Home with Beach Access and Water Views

Bedrooms 5
Space 2,610 sq. ft.
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 - 4 nights


About the property

5 BR * 3 BA * SLEEPS 17 / 525 ft walk to Beach Access or 281 Steps on my Fit Bit

Sleeps 17 in beds, with 5 single beds and 12 in Queens or Kings. Coastal finishes, thoughtful furnishings, and the beach make this Galveston rental property the perfect choice for your next family vacation. An open floor plan on the main level feels bright and airy with white bead board walls, cool beach colors, and wood floors. Enjoy a movie on the large flat screen television with your friends and family in the comfortably furnished and spacious living area. The kitchen easily accommodates more than one cook with plenty of counter space for preparation and serving of fresh Gulf seafood. After a full day in the sun and sand you can look forward to relaxing in one of five bedrooms - a king size master, two bedrooms with queen beds, and a twin bunk bedroom with a trundle. You will find another twin size bed hidden in a nook off the living room, and the ground level features a bedroom with a private entrance, queen bunk bed, television, and private bath. Looking to do some more socializing before drifting off to sleep? Relax on either of the two levels of deck.

Cable TV in each bedroom and the Living room (total of 6 TVs)

Wireless Internet Access

Open/Covered Decks

Ice Maker, dishwasher, washer/dryer, and Microwave

Central Air/Heat with a separate unit for the downstairs bedroom/bath

Dishware, cookware, and linens provided

You may choose to visit the Galveston Country Club with access to Tennis, Golf, and the Pool based on Social Membership rate. Also, check out their lunch, dinner, and to-go order menus. They are closed on Monday.

More Details

Debra Dorn
Member since: 2015
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
July 25, 2017

About Debra Dorn

Galveston has been my playground since before I remember when my Great Aunt Letha had a beach house on Crystal Beach. I am a Native Texan, living most of my life on the southern side of Houston. I love the small town charm of Galveston with its history, the people, and the salt. Galveston is one of the saltiest seaside areas in the USA. I enjoy this beach side community all seasons - Winter, Spring, Summer, and Fall. I especially enjoy the migratory birds that show up in March/April and October/November. Please feel free to discuss with me things that will make your visit more enjoyable.

Debra Dorn purchased this house in 2014

Why Debra Dorn chose Galveston

I bought this property because it is closer to the surf than my home on the Bay side of the Island, and to have available for my family when we gather.

What makes this house unique

The spacious family room is conducive for families to hang together when not outside enjoying the seaside environment. The many sleep areas allow for lots of family to gather under one roof.


Pirates Beach House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 2610 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 4:00 PM
  • /
  • Check-out: 10:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 20
  • Min. age of primary renter: 25
  • Pets not allowed
  • Non smoking only
  • No parking in the Street. Extra parking is at the beach access area.
  • City of Galveston has a strict noise ordinance, and neighbors may call police. Day (7am-10pm) max is 75 dB(A) Night (10pm-7am) max is 70 dB(A)
  • Garbage needs to be taken to the curb Sunday night or early Monday morning
Location Type:
  • Water View ...
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking ...
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • Private Bath-Down - toilet , shower
    Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower , Serves Level 1
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , combination tub/shower , Serves Level 2
    Outside - shower
  • 5 Bedrooms, Sleeps 20
  • Master - 1 king , 15 x 11
    Queen 1 - 1 queen , 13 x 12
    Queen 2 - 1 queen , 12 x 12
    Bunk Room - 1 child bed , 1 bunk bed , Twin Bunk Bed and Trundle
    Private Room-Down - 2 queen , Queen Bunk Bed and Private Bath
    Harry Potter Room - 1 twin/ single , Under the Stair
    Living Room - 1 twin/ single , 1 sleep sofa /futon , Double and Single Sleeper Sofas
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
  • Toys ...
  • Balcony ...
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Golf ...
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Tennis ...
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool ...
  • arboretum
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • museums
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • theme parks
  • water parks
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • eco tourism
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • golf privileges optional
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • pier fishing
  • sailing
  • snorkeling
  • sound/bay fishing
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • wind-surfing
Access to Galveston Country Club as a Social Member's Guest


Excellent! 4.5/5 -
(26 traveler reviews)

76% Complete
11% Complete
3% Complete
3% Complete
3% Complete
Pirates Beach - Spacious, Family Friendly Home with Beach Access and Water Views
average rating of 4.5384617 based on 26 reviews


  • 5 of 5

This was my children and grandchildrens summer vacation. We all stayed there. The house was large enough and had everything we needed. Debra the owner was so kind and made sure we were well taken care of. It was close to the beach and the neighborhood was very quiet and the kids could play outside and we loved that. As well as the porches for everyone. There were so many get away spots for everyone if you needed to read , relax or just take a nap! We truly loved it. We would have stayed another couple of nights if it had been available! Thank you Debra for giving us a memorable family vacation!

  • Submitted: Jul 8, 2017
  • Stayed: Jul 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Dear DeeAnna, I am so pleased you enjoyed your family vacation. You mentioned the best features of my rental: proximity to the beach, quiet family neighborhood, lots of places to gather or be alone, and large enough for extended family vacations. I will remember your crafty idea for the grandchildren picture frame decorating. Thank you for choosing my rental, and I hope you and your family enjoy many more vacations together. Sincerely, Debra
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Disappointing Owner Response - Dirty House in Disrepair - Cheap Owner

  • 1 of 5

I don’t have enough characters to give all the detail of this situation. I highly recommend you AVOID this rental. Find another one. You may not have the exact same issue as we did, but if you have any issue, you are dealing with a below par property and an Owner who is interested in doing things as cheaply as possible at the expense of the guest.

The house was just generally very bottom of the line and dirty/dingy. This house apparently is a full time rental, or is treated like one. The linens were sparse and extremely bottom of the line. The dishes/pots/pans were terrible, beaten up, and in general disrepair. The grill was so rickety I was afraid it would collapse and start a fire. The rod in the closet fell off immediately as soon as my father in law tried to hang something up. The outdoor shower was finicky and not enclosed. The deck tables and chairs were filthy.

We were extremely disappointed with the response of the Owner to the air conditioning going out during our stay, which could have been prevented had she been more proactive and willing to spend a little bit more money instead of gambling with our vacation to try to milk the AC units until after we were gone. She gambled, it went out, and we lost. It was leaking coolant and she decided NOT to have it refilled to make sure to get us through our stay. We had a terrible night that involved me spending two hours on the phone trying to find an emergency repair technician, my 3 year old up crying at midnight in a pool of sweat, my entire family of four in a small room together without AC, and a bird waking us up at 6:10am because a door was open trying to get air into the room. It was miserable and so was the next day with two exhausted kids and parents.

After we got back, we asked for a refund of one night (I think we would have been entitled to more). She ignored my email for a while, and then sent me an email saying she was traveling and would be available to talk to me about this in 3 WEEKS! She tried to make it look like an auto reply, but it wasn’t and didn’t come for a while after I sent my email (automatic replies are almost instant). My guess is that she was trying to string me along so that I would be outside the allotted time to leave a review and I would have no recourse.

Lots more. Out of characters for the review. Stay away from this property and this owner.

  • Submitted: May 29, 2017
  • Stayed: May 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Fake news...This guest complained even before arrival with lists of things he expected to be available at the rental. The AC did get recharged with freon as I waited for the proper replacement equipment to arrive. The renter was advised that the AC was being replaced. Knowing this, I would not wait until 7:48 PM to notify the owner. I have record of the time it took to call me back (less than one hour), and I did approve paying for an after hours AC repair, only they would not come that night as advertised. I wonder if this customer is pursuing them as well. The second paragraph is hogwash except for the grill which I wasn't aware of being rickety. It has since been replaced. I could not find the broken closet. I have plenty of linens in the bathroom closets. The outdoor shower is not enclosed, never has been and will not be. Deck chairs get sandy as Galveston beaches are breezy. I have never had a COMPLAINT about the dishes I provide nor the abilities of my cleaning crew. This guy exemplifies the renter who always gives a one star rating when others give five stars. I would have given him a refund, if I hadn't been threatened on numerous emails including being told he was writing this bad review. I did go on a wonderful vacation to Peru, Bolivia, and Chile. It was enjoyable, and while I was away, thankfully, my guests enjoyed their stays. The AC has been rescheduled for replacement on June 21, and up to now is still working fine.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 4

Very nice and accommodating

  • 5 of 5

Amazing spot very good for groups

  • Submitted: May 16, 2017
  • Stayed: May 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your review. I hope you guys enjoyed your time together.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


  • 5 of 5

Our group of 14 had a fantastic time! The house was perfect, and the weather was beautiful. Plenty of rooms and sleeping spaces to subdivide our group. Debra was a joy to work with. We will definitely keep this house in mind for our next child's prom group!

  • Submitted: May 10, 2017
  • Stayed: May 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you, Lesah, for you and your well-behaved young adults. it was my pleasure, Wishing all of you the best, Debra
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Cute home with PLENTY of space for a large group

  • 4 of 5

Only had five of us staying, but there was much room to spare! Comfortable beds and lots of sunshine. Just a quick walk down the street to the beach. A true opportunity to get away and disconnect from the busyness of life. Thanks for everything, Debra!

  • Submitted: Mar 27, 2017
  • Stayed: Mar 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Tanya, thanks for your review and kind words. You and yours were great guests. Come again with more family and friends, Debra
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Bad start but decent end.

  • 2 of 5

This is our second time to rent from Debra. We returned because of our good experience the first time. Unfortunately, we didn't have the same experience. Upon entering the house I found dirty sheets, beds without sheets, rooms that had been used but not cleaned, dirty dishes, cigarette butts on the porch, and trash in trashcans throughout the house. Some of the trash included pills of some sort and empty beer cans. This was especially disappointing because we were renting the house for a youth church retreat. Once I checked the house I called the number given by Debra since she was out of the country. The person contacted the housekeeper who said that they were not made aware of someone renting before our group, which is why it was not clean. Perhaps a miscommunication between Debra and the housekeeper? The housekeeper said they could come the next day to clean and I told them we need bedding first and foremost. Thankfully, they were willing to come that evening to get sheets on the beds. But the house was still dirty and was not thoroughly cleaned. It was disappointing because we had to wait two hours after we arrived to do anything scheduled. It was a late night to say the least.

One thing I teach my students is to always leave a place cleaner than it was when you arrived. This was not a hard task. I hope to hear back from Debra on our experience and to receive at least a partial refund for staying in a dirty home.

The house itself is great. Awesome location. Just hope future guests don't get the same experience that we did at the start.

- Jeremy

  • Submitted: Oct 26, 2016
  • Stayed: Oct 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Dear Jeremy, Thank you for being fair in your assessment of what I agree is unacceptable. I am truly sorry for the failure on my part to have the house prepared for you and the youth. I will not be fishing the Amazon next October which does present me with challenges with my property. I hope you give me another chance next year to make it up to you. Sincerely, Debra PS. My cleaners did come over when contacted and did what was asked of them by Jeremy.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0



Rates & Availability

Pirates Beach House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
Summer 2017
Jun 1 2017 - Aug 10 2017
4 night minimum stay
Late Summer
Aug 11 2017 - Aug 31 2017
3 night minimum stay
Labor Day
Sep 1 2017 - Sep 5 2017
3 night minimum stay
Early Fall
Sep 6 2017 - Oct 31 2017
2 night minimum stay
Lonestar Rally
Nov 1 2017 - Nov 6 2017
2 night minimum stay
Late Fall 2017
Nov 7 2017 - Nov 16 2017
2 night minimum stay
Nov 17 2017 - Nov 30 2017
3 night minimum stay
Late Fall
Dec 1 2017 - Dec 21 2017
2 night minimum stay
Christmas/New Year
Dec 22 2017 - Jan 2 2018
3 night minimum stay
January 2018
Jan 3 2018 - Feb 1 2018
2 night minimum stay
Mardi Gras
Feb 2 2018 - Feb 14 2018
2 night minimum stay
Winter 2018
Feb 15 2018 - Feb 28 2018
2 night minimum stay
Spring Break
Mar 1 2018 - Apr 2 2018
3 night minimum stay
Prom 2018
Apr 3 2018 - May 24 2018
2 night minimum stay
Memorial Day
May 25 2018 - May 29 2018
3 night minimum stay
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning $175 + Tax
Refundable damage deposit $500
Tax Rate 15.0%

Check-in 4 PM. Check-out 10 AM
If you cancel you reservation at least 30 days prior to your scheduled arrival, your money is refunded less $50 handling fee.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 14 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
Contact Owner

You might like these similar properties