Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call VRBO Booking Assistance: 888-829-7076
Book Online or call VRBO Booking Assistance: 888-829-7076

Charming 2BR Sugar House Cottage!

Sleeps4
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms1
Space 800 sq. ft.
Property type house

Overview

About the property

This newly remodeled downstairs apartment is conveniently located just 10 minutes from downtown Salt Lake and 20 from seven major ski resorts! With its cozy atmosphere, this cottage will be perfect for anyone, whether you're looking for a nice, quiet getaway or a place filled with opportunities and adventure.

The neighborhood is in a nice quiet location and also just minutes from the freeway, shopping centers, restaurants, bars, Sugar House park, and more!


Owner
Sharlee Holland
Member since: 2015
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
July 20, 2017

About Sharlee Holland

I am an outgoing person who loves adventure. I grew up in Utah experiencing all the amazing activities it has to offer. I love to cook, shred the mountain, and travel!

Why Sharlee Holland chose Salt Lake City

This cozy cottage is in such a great location for anything you may be up to in both summer and winter, fitting up to 4 people!

Amenities

Canyon Rim House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 800 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: Flexible / Check-out: Flexible
  • Max. occupancy: 4
  • children welcome
  • pets not allowed ...
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Mountain View
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Heating ...
  • Internet
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 -
  • Bathroom is 3/4 bath, has shower but no tub.
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 4
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 2 - 1 bunk bed , two twin beds
Entertainment:
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television ...
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Attractions:
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • museums
  • playground
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • water parks
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • bird watching
  • outlet shopping
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • shuffleboard
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cross country skiing
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • golf
  • golf privileges optional
  • hiking
  • hot air ballooning
  • hunting
  • ice skating
  • jet skiing
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • rafting
  • rock climbing
  • roller blading
  • ski lift privileges
  • skiing
  • snowboarding
  • snowmobiling
  • swimming
  • tennis

Reviews

Excellent! 4.3/5 -
(11 traveler reviews)

54% Complete
27% Complete
9% Complete
9% Complete
0% Complete
Charming 2BR Sugar House Cottage!
average rating of 4.2727275 based on 11 reviews
4

It was perfect!

  • 4 of 5

The Sugar House Cottage was in a perfect location (nice and quiet) and was great for our little family. The bunk beds were perfect for our toddler and he had plenty of space to play with his toys. The Queen bed was comfortable and the room offered a nice desk and dresser as well as a closet, a lot of storage if you needed it. Overall the whole space was clean and comfortable, very accommodating. I loved the shower and couches!! We would stay again or recommend it to our friends traveling to SLC.

  • Submitted: Jul 10, 2017
  • Stayed: Jul 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
2

Very uncomfortable sleeping accommodations, a variety of bugs

  • 2 of 5

Cons: biggest issue--apt sleeps 4 but two of the beds were a metal bunk bed , and the matresses were no more than cot matresses. We had to stack the two to find even remote comfort, which meant I slept with my 5 yo on a twin sized bed. You can find very comfy memory foam twin matresses for around $100--there's no excuse for not biting the bullet here.

There were also more bugs in this apt than I saw during my entire stay in SLC. Cockroaches, earwigs, beetles, and tons of bees just outside the entry (which they sprayed for but they were back days later.

Be aware that this is a basement apt and the noise from upstairs is quite loud. Additionally, none of the windows in the apt are egress.

Finally, the overall cleanliness and condition of the apt (carpet stains, broken toilet seat) were minor issues but don't meet the standards of even an inexpensive hotel.

Pros: Renters were friendly and responded to questions. The AC was very cool, almost cold, but good for us. The kitchen had lots of dishes etc. to do any kind of cooking.

We are appreciative the renters for providing a place to stay. This review isn't meant to be rude but to encourage a bit more investment in their property to make it actually worth the rate they charge.

  • Submitted: Jul 6, 2017
  • Stayed: Jun 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Belinda, I am sorry you had such a bad experience at our home. All of the details regarding the rental are on the listing and when we spoke before your arrival I encouraged you to read them so you knew what to expect. The last thing I want is people to have an unpleasant experience and I did speak with you about that as well. I did tell you we had animals and that the home is older and we live in the upstairs of the unit. I told you that you can hear noises and you responded that you were fine with that. The rental is a basement and at this time of year we do have bugs, which I just had sprayed for prior to your arrival so that is why you saw them on the floor. I highly encourage you to study your bugs as we DO NOT have cockroaches in our home and I do pride myself on the cleaning so this is very disappointing to hear. I live directly upstairs and would have appreciated a call immediately if you did see a cockroach as I have never seen one in the 2 and a half years I have lived there. Plus would never live in accommodations or want people renting one that did have them! The cleaning supplies and vacuum were available to you in the laundry room. You did not mention the bugs which I would have been more than happy to come and clean up if you would have informed me. Also, I spoke with your mother about the cool air and none of you let me know that it was too cold for you which could have been solved with a simple text. The listing states that the bunk room is small and I warned you that it was in fact bunk beds in that room, which you said you were fine with. You guys left the rental dirty and with dirty dishes out which I ask renters to do before they leave. It is discouraging to me that you had so many cons that could have been taken care of immediately upon a simple phone call, text or if you had come up stairs. I would have been more than happy to accommodate or refund if you were that unhappy. Once again I apologize and wish you would have spoken up during your stay.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Adirondack Park
3

Pretty re-do

  • 3 of 5

Pros: Apt. well furnished. Beds comfy. Kitchen pretty well stocked with equipment.

Cons: Basement apt. with one egress only; did not appear to have any combustion air to the furnace which made us nervous. Stairs steep for older folks.

  • Submitted: Feb 15, 2017
  • Stayed: Jan 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Great Place!

  • 5 of 5

The house and the owner was nice. It had a kitchen and two bedrooms with a bath which was sufficient for us. The place was quiet and there were no issues. We would definitely come back!

  • Submitted: Sep 7, 2016
  • Stayed: Sep 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
4

It was cute and in a quiet neighborhood

  • 4 of 5

The property owner is very friendly. Overall, we had a good stay and we enjoyed it. The place was very clean and well kept. I gave it a 4 because you can hear noises from above re: people and dogs walking around.

  • Submitted: Mar 21, 2016
  • Stayed: Mar 2016
  • Source: Vacation Rentals, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Cozy English Basement

  • 5 of 5

My daughter and stayed here during a 10 day ski trip. Excellent location, about 35 minutes from Snowbird. The surrounding neighborhood is very nice and quiet. Very reasonable price, and a nice kitchen for those who prefer cooking over going out to eat.

  • Submitted: Mar 18, 2016
  • Stayed: Feb 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Nearest Airport
10.6 Miles
Salt Lake International
Nearest Barpub
0.4 Miles
SugarHouse Pub
Nearest Golf
1 Miles
Forest Dale Golf Course
Nearest Train
2.2 Miles
UTA Trax Station
Nearest Restaurant
0.3 Miles
There are multiple restaurants in Sugar House!
Nearest Ski
21.6 Miles
Snowbird
Car: recommended

Photos

Rates & Availability

Canyon Rim House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Thanksgiving
Nov 20 2017 - Nov 26 2017
1 night minimum stay
$125
$800
 
 
Winter Holidays
Dec 22 2017 - Jan 4 2018
1 night minimum stay
$145
$900
 
 
Sundance
Jan 18 2018 - Jan 28 2018
1 night minimum stay
$145
$900
 
 
My Standard Rate
1 night minimum stay
$95
$575
 

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $50

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 14 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
Contact Owner
Available
Unavailable

You might like these similar properties