check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit

Family-sized Contemporary Lakefront Home in Private Setting

Sleeps12
Bedrooms 6
Bathrooms4
Half Baths1
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 - 7 nights

Overview


Details
Property
house
Sleeps
12
Bedrooms
6
Bathrooms
4
Half Baths
1
Minimum Stay
3 - 7 nights

About the property

6 bedrooms, 5 bathrooms, sleeps 10 - 12, wood-fired pizza oven, private dock

Located in the woods, on the shores of a pristine quiet lake, this 15 year old home includes a cozy modern kitchen built around a wood-fired pizza oven, comfortable living room, large dining room. screen porch, game room with pool table, workout area with treadmill, laundry room, 2 bedrooms with private baths, and 4 more bedrooms that share 2 other baths. Lots of space inside and out for family activities. A private dock is 50 feet from the back door with shaded space to relax and enjoy the water.

White Oak Pond is a 300 acre lake located close to Squam Lake in Holderness. Perfect for swimming, kayaking and canoeing, the lake has a 7.5 hp motor limit.

The heart of the kitchen is a wood fired pizza oven. For an additional fee, the owners will host a pizza party for our guests. Details available on request.

More Details

Owner
Janet and Rich Cocchiaro
Member since: 2015
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within 2 days
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
December 30, 2016

Why Janet and Rich Cocchiaro chose Lakes Region

We built this house to provide a space for our extended family to gather and for our growing children to share with their friends. The children have grown and moved away but still return regularly with their friends for reunion weekends. We love to share this beautiful natural space with all who visit us here.

What makes this house unique

Pizza Party Night!

The heart of the kitchen is a wood fired pizza oven. For an additional fee, the owners will host a pizza party for our guests including a personal pizza for each person with toppings of their choice. Appetizers and dessert are included. Beverages are the responsibility of the attending guests.

Reviews

Good! 3.8/5 -
(6 traveler reviews)

Family-sized Contemporary Lakefront Home in Private Setting
average rating of 3.8333333 based on 6 reviews
New York
5

The House in The Pines

  • 5 of 5

We spent a week at this house by the lake in August 2015. If I had to sum it up in only one word - MAGICAL.

First of all the surroundings - The house is right on a secluded lakefront with an absolutely stunning lake steps from the back of the house. The rural New Hampshire feel is just the perfect oposite of our crazed city living. So order of the day was lake, more lake, hiking swimming Bbq'ing and just having a great time with our two families 6 kids . The House - was absolutely magnificent, extremely well furnished and maintained and frankly speaking there is absolutely nothing to fault even slightly . Pool table, video systems, canoes, and a beautiful library with a lake view to die for. There must be at least 6 or 7 spacious bedrooms (i didnt count and would be hard pressed to find them all!!)

Rich and Janet were exceedingly welcoming and frendly , and helped with everything we needed, including local tour advice and more.

In short this is one rental that will definitely exceed your expectations by far. without a doubt we will be back for more.!!

  • Submitted: Dec 15, 2015
  • Stayed: Jul 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Holderness NH USA
5

A Wonderful Wedding Weekend Setting

  • 5 of 5

We were married at the House in the Pines in September 2016. Our children and grandchildren gathered around as we exchanged our vows just before sunset on the dock that extends into the calm waters of White Oak Pond. The setting was quiet and magical.

All 13 of us (some who had never met!) spent a long weekend enjoying each other's company. The house was the perfect place for that to happen. We were all able to gather around the large dining room table to share meals. The owners even brought a kiddie table and chairs for the little ones in our group. We spent a lot of time hanging out in the well-appointed kitchen, which was supplied with everything we needed and looked out over the pond. A large deck and a separate screened in porch adjoin the kitchen and, since the weather was warm, both got a lot of use.

Everyone had complete privacy in their separate bed and bathrooms, all of which were large, clean and comfortable. On Saturday afternoon, after dips in the pond and lounging in the sun, we gathered in the lower level family room for a pool tournament.

Saturday night the owners put on a pizza party for us, using the wood-fired pizza oven in the kitchen. Everyone had the opportunity to put on a chef's hat and make their own pizzas. If you have never eaten your own pizza, cooked in a genuine Italian wood-fired oven, you have to do this!

White Oak Pond is a hidden NH treasure and there is no better place to enjoy it than the House in the Pines. We would give it 6 stars if we could!

  • Submitted: Oct 30, 2016
  • Stayed: Sep 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Two great summer vacations at House in the Pines

  • 5 of 5

My family of 6 has stayed at this house twice; for one week in 2015 and for two weeks in 2016. Both times we had a great experience with the house, the owners, and in Holderness. The owners where responsive, but not intrusive, when we needed more paper products or lightbulbs. They either drop off at the front door or rang the bell. They were always friendly and sincere.

The house is great for our family - everyone can congregate in the family room, in the tv room or outside. But if someone needs some alone time, there is plenty of space for that too. The dock and pond is amazingly beautiful; my husband and I would drink our morning coffee there and afternoon cocktails. The pond itself is so quiet and peaceful. We used the canoe a few times, but also brought our own paddle board so as to explore the pond. Its a little treasure!

We love to hike, so the location was central to many mountains. We hiked nearby - the Rattlesnakes, Mt Israel, Mt Morgan, Mt Percival - but could also get to Mt Washington, Mt Osceola or Mt Tecumseh easily.

We love staying at this house and property for our vacations; it allows us to relax, hike, spend time together in a quiet, beautiful setting. We plan on returning in 2017.

  • Submitted: Sep 17, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
1

Bad experience with intrusive owner

  • 1 of 5

This is a beautiful, quiet home in a lovely location. Prior reviews correctly identify it as appropriate for larger groups. We rented it as one of two homes for a family reunion. It is well-appointed and comfortable. It is as described and pictured on VRBO.

Our stay was pleasant. We were a bit surprised when the owners came by often (one day to change light bulbs, another to replace a table). We had a pocket door in a bathroom that was not sliding well, and eventually broke. We called to report this to our hosts. My wife was stunned when our hostess interrupted her in the bathroom, while she was drying her hair after a shower, to inspect the door. We were even more surprised when we were charged $300 to repair this door and some a damaged screen door (which I never saw). My brother, who handled this rental, spoke with the owners who were adamant that this was damage from some sort of inappropriate use of the door. My brother described my wife and I (rather uncharitably, but correctly) as "middle aged physicians" and assured the owners that we had used the door as intended, ie, as a door. They were unpersuaded. Thankfully, no major appliance failed, and the roof did not leak, so we did not have to pay for further maintenance on this home.

It later came out that my brother had been pressured to pay additionally for our hosts to come to home and make a pizza dinner, which may have been quite nice, but was unnecessary. Our hostess even asked my brother if we could leave early on the Saturday when we checked out.

This is a nice home, but the owners should either turn over management to a professional company or stop renting this property.

I have rented extensively on VRBO and similar sites, and this is the first negative review I have posted. I would not recommend this property under current ownership and management.

  • Submitted: Sep 13, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We never met the person who posted this review. He is correct in saying that this is a beautiful well appointed home appropriate for a group of 12 people or less. We never entered the home without ringing the doorbell and being invited in. When we were invited in, we inspected the broken door in question with the permission of the person who answered the door. We never ever pressured anyone to have a pizza night. It is a standard invitation at an additional cost. Guests are NEVER asked to leave before the 11 am check out. Those whose plans require them to leave earlier often let us know so the house can be prepared for the next group. It was never clear to us who exactly was staying at the house. This is the first and last time we will rent to a group without the person responsible for the rent staying in the house. With the exception of this one group, our guests have been exceedingly pleased with the house, their experience and our very limited interaction with them.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Delaware USA
2

Great location, great house.

  • 2 of 5

I organized our biennial family reunion at the House in the Pines and a nearby property. I did not stay at the House in the Pines, but rather at the nearby property. The house and location were very nice and the location was ideal for three generations.

Unfortunately, the owners are irrational. When we brought issues of wear and tear to their attention, they accused my family of intentionally damaging items in what had been their family home. They withheld a portion of the deposit and were unpleasant about it. (It became apparent when I discussed the issue with the owners that they assumed my brothers, sisters and our kids to be people of such low character that we would intentionally damage something and not offer to make it right.) We have been holding reunions for 20 years and never encountered owners like these. Not surprisingly, we had the opposite experience at the other rental property which is where we all gathered together during our reunion.

It's a great house and a great location. Of course, we would not rent from them again, not so much because of the money which was minor but due to their unprofessional attitude which polluted the experience of staying there. When weighing against other options, my advice would be to treat the deposit as if it were part of the rent because the owners believe it is acceptable to use it for routine maintenance on their home.

  • Submitted: Sep 11, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We never met the person who writes this review. He is correct in saying that this is a beautiful well maintained property perfect for 3 generations to share time and experiences. We have enjoyed sharing our home with many families during the past two summers. This is only the second occasion that we have had to keep a portion of the security deposit to cover damage done. Our contractor found the pocket door in question completely off its rollers. His comment was that it would take a “major force” to do this. We have had larger and more active groups using the house without this kind of damage. This was the first and only time that we will rent to a third party (the person paying the rent was not staying on the property). We rented this property to this group as a favor to our neighbor who rented the adjacent property. After this experience we will only rent to those who are actually staying at the house.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

The House in the Pines

  • 5 of 5

We are a 3 generation family that was looking for just the right size, layout, amenities and a lake/pond, for our family get together. Well, we found it, and then some! As we were the first guests at the House in the Pines, we were holding our breath. Minutes after we arrived, we were breathing just fine. From the grounds, to the house, to the dock on the 212 acre pond, our expectations were met and exceeded. We arrived in 3 cars, at separate times,

all 3 generations. As everyone came into the house, and in from the dock, all we heard was wow, Wow, and more WOW, from all ages. I called the owners, Rich & Janet, just as we got there, and they came right over, to show us around, & where things are, and with a property of that size, and so well cared for, it certainly was time spent. Meeting the owners, was the frosting on the cake. They care very much about their guests enjoyment, and the home environment that they share, for their stay. They had a swimming/diving raft installed just before we arrived. They also brought over a portable basketball set-up, for the young and young at heart. That was a very nice touch, and much appreciated. When we could tear ourselves away from the lake, with its peace and quiet, there is much to do outside: the area is rich in many atttractions for all ages, and many good restaurants. Not to far away is Lake Winnipesaukee, Weirs Beach, Funspot, and a drive-in theater, to name a few. We all enjoyed what the house had to offer: Many windows, a large, modern eat-in kitchen, sun porch, , the large living room, the library, the downstairs family room, with pool table, large screen TV, with video equipment, a workout room, fridge and sink. Our family fit in well in this house, & we just plain enjoyed being there, together. Heard a lot of "best vacation I ever had. As we had four July birthdays,

we celebrated everyone's birthday that night. And what better way to do it than with a spectacular Pizza Party, hosted expertly by Rich and Janet. To say it was the highlight of the week, and not to be missed, is not an overstatement. The Pizza party comes complete, except for drinks, and includes desert. Which, in this case, we swapped for a cake. Everyone makes their own pizza, under the watchful eyes & instruction of our hosts. Extra charge, but well worth it. Would we return/recommend the House in the Pines? Because we feel, that nobody does it better, we can say definitly YES !

  • Submitted: Nov 11, 2015
  • Stayed: Jul 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Nearest Airport
55 Miles
Manchester-Boston Regional
Car: necessary

Located one mile from the small town of Holderness.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Holderness House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
Summer
Jun 24 2017 - Sep 2 2017
7 night minimum stay
$4,550
 
 
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay
$500
$3,000
$4,000
 

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $500
Tax Rate 9.0%

Cleaning fee of $200.00

Rates are subject to change until reservation is confirmed.
Greater than 60 days from check-in: 50% of total rental fee plus $500 security deposit due with confirmation. Remainder due 1 month prior to check-in date. Less than 60 days from check-in: full amount due with confirmation. Personal checks, bank money orders, cashiers checks and travelers checks accepted.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 7 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 14 days before arrival date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Holderness House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 3627 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Lakefront ...
General:
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace
  • Fitness Room / Equipment ...
  • Garage
  • Hair Dryer
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining Room
  • seating for 12 people
Bathrooms:
  • 4 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , on main floor of house
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , shower , jetted tub , private bath for bedroom 1
    Bathroom 3 - toilet , combination tub/shower , private bath for bedroom 2 with outside access
    Bathroom 4 - toilet , combination tub/shower , shared bath for bedroom 3 and 4
    Bathroom 5 - toilet , combination tub/shower , shared bath for bedroom 5 and 6
Bedrooms:
  • 6 Bedrooms, Sleeps 12
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen , private bath with jacuzzi tub and and private deck
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen , private bath with outdoor access
    Bedroom 3 - 3 double , shares a bathroom with bedroom 4
    Bedroom 4 - 1 double , shares a bathroom with bedroom 3
    Bedroom 5 - 1 queen , shares a bathroom with bedroom 6
    Bedroom 6 - 2 twin/ single , shares a bedroom with bedroom 5
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Pool Table
  • Television
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio
  • Kayak / Canoe
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Attractions:
  • churches
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • restaurants
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • miniature golf
  • paddle boating
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • kayaking
  • mountain climbing
  • swimming

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties