Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

AQUATIKA True Beachfront 3 BR Gated Condo near San Juan for FUN/RELAXING!

Sleeps8
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms2
Property type condo
Minimum Stay 3 nights

Overview

About the property

3 BR, 2 Bath with 5 pools, hot tub, sand soccer/volleyball, basketball & tennis

Aquatika in Puerto Rico is a wonderful place to visit, lose stress and have fun! Our Manager, Adriana, was raised in PR and is bilingual, friendly, helpful, and a wonderful asset to provide answers to your questions and and assistance in any emergencies. She is able to meet you at the airport and guide you to the complex so your visit can begin stress free and relaxing.The picture of the ocean is your view from our balcony! Enjoy your meals there as you watch the waves glide in. Aquatika is a private and gated condominium that offers 5 pools, a hot tub, basketball and tennis courts, beach volleyball and soccer, a mini golf course and beautiful grounds with tropical flowers, lizards, iguanas and more. Our condo has 3 bedrooms: the first is a king bed, the second a queen, and the third has a double over double bunk bed. The kitchen has stainless steel appliances and you can enjoy the large flat screen TV with cable in the living area with a small screen in the master BR and a VCR. Free wi-fi is provided!

While only 25 minutes from San Juan airport, you will want to rent a vehicle to see the many surrounding attractions such as the El Yunque Rain Forest, Old San Juan, the bio bays in Fajardo, the kiosks in Luquillo, Rio Camuy Cave Park, the Observatory in Arecibo and many more. A programmed GPS will be provided for your use during your stay to help get you to your chosen destinations as you will not want to miss anything!

More Details

Property Manager
Adriana Diaz
Member since: 2015
Speaks: english, spanish
Response time:
Within a few days
Response rate:
90%
Calendar last updated:
August 1, 2017

About Adriana Diaz

Hi. We are from the Washington DC area in the US. While the politics are interesting, it is extremely cold and we usually have snow, sleet and bad weather in the winters. Hello to Puerto Rico! My husband and I have four children that are marrying and expanding our family,. We are now expecting our third grandchild!

Adriana Diaz purchased this condo in 2014

Why Adriana Diaz chose Rio Grande

Why do I love my PR place? Did I mention the weather in the winter :-) My family first visited Puerto Rico at Christmas a few years ago. I fell in love with this beautiful country that still has so much I want to do but have not had the chance. Before I purchased, I viewed areas and units that would best fulfill where I wanted to stay when I came here. I chose Aquatika due to the close location to San Jun and the airport as well as all of the amenities they had to offer along with the beautiful grounds and beach and proximity to many local attractions.

What makes this condo unique

I chose my unit due to the oceanfront location and have no regrets. Why? One of my favorite things to do is sit on my balcony and stare at the ocean. I would not give up the view offered to me in my unit as there is no better in the complex except my other neighbors that overlook the beach. I hope I can share the happy feeling I get when I am sitting on my balcony with every person that visits.

Amenities

Rio Grande Condo Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • condo
  • floor 2
Building Type:
  • building
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 8
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome ...
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only ...
Location Type:
  • Beach View
  • Beachfront ...
  • Mountain View ...
  • Ocean View
  • Oceanfront ...
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Hair Dryer
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking ...
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine
  • Free Wifi
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 8 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower , tub
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , combination tub/shower , tub
  • 2 full bathrooms with bathtubs.
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Bedroom 3 - 2 double , Double over double bunk...and AC
    Bedroom 1 - 1 king , AC and TV
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen , 1 baby crib , AC
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • DVD Player ...
  • Games
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Television ...
  • Toys ...
Outside:
  • Balcony ...
  • Golf ...
  • Lanai / Gazebo ...
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Tennis ...
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool
  • Heated Pool
  • Hot Tub
Onsite Services:
  • Concierge
Attractions:
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • duty free shops
  • festivals
  • health/beauty spa
  • museums
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • water parks
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • gambling casinos
  • horseback riding
  • miniature golf
  • outlet shopping
  • paddle boating
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • golf privileges optional
  • hiking
  • kayaking
  • parasailing
  • pier fishing
  • rafting
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • sound/bay fishing
  • spelunking
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • water tubing
  • wind-surfing

Reviews

Very Good! 4/5 -
(9 traveler reviews)

44% Complete
22% Complete
22% Complete
11% Complete
0% Complete
AQUATIKA True Beachfront 3 BR Gated Condo near San Juan for FUN/RELAXING!
average rating of 4.0 based on 9 reviews
4

Exactly as shown.

  • 4 of 5

We enjoyed the property, especially being midway between San Juan and Fajardo. There was plenty of room for the 6 of us. The only issue was that the a/c in the middle bedroom did not work well - wouldn't get below 77. We reported it the day we arrived and were promised someone the next day. No one came, and we were promised someone 2 days later - no one ever showed. So, it put a crimp in plans for a "romantic" getaway in that we all kept our doors open and a fan blowing from our rooms into theirs all week. Disappointing, but otherwise, we would return.

  • Submitted: Jul 28, 2017
  • Stayed: Jul 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
3

Affordable On the Beach Condo in very quiet and deep local neighborhood

  • 3 of 5

Pros - The condo is on the beach and has amazing view! Inside amenities are good- neat kitchen, living space and decent bedrooms. Big screen TV is nice to enjoy the really quiet nights. The unit is thoughtfully and abundantly stocked with stuff for beach/pool activities. The only restaurant nearby is right outside the complex "El Parilla" and is awesome with local way of food preparation and real fresh food with friendly staff. Security is good. Budget accommodation overall.

Cons- Location! Aquatika is in a very local village-like area with not much available in nearby vicinity. We enjoyed being so deep in local neighborhood, but after few days were longing for accessibility and proximity to popular night scene. The single road that goes out to San Juan and to all attractions is beautiful but everything takes double the advertised time to reach! For e.g. San Juan is said to be 25 minutes from the property, but it always took us 40-50 minutes to reach there. A proper supermarket is 20 minutes out.

Not very Happening or Resort Like - Don't fall for the Aquatika name..its a very quiet Condo complex...they have 5 pools and numerous buildings but hardly any people there and debris in the pools. No one in the lazy river ever. We saw only may be one or two other families the whole time we were there (it was not off season..since San Juan and surrounding area was full of tourists). Sure we did not wanted to be in crowded places but this was really really empty!! Few repairs needed inside the unit - broken towel bar in master, main door does not have a proper handle to pull from outside which can get confusing.

Overall, we enjoyed our stay, and Adriana was helpful and nice.

  • Submitted: Aug 30, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
5 0
4

It was a beautiful apartment.

  • 4 of 5

Just needed a little TLC in master bathroom and internet worked half the time in the master bedroom. The private beach was in fact very close and the facility had very nice people to talk to. However the girl that greeted us could have slowed down a bit in taking us up to the apartment. I wasn't quite sure which apartment she disappeared to while trying to gather my children out of the car. I would rent from this complex again just would like a little more attention next time.

Shelly Byrd

  • Submitted: Jul 18, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
Clover, SC
5

A place worth recommending

  • 5 of 5

We stayed at this condo for a week in February/March 2016. We had a great stay and would love to come back. I can see why some people dont like the town of Loiza, it looks a little bit rundown, but we never felt unsafe. It was the perfect location for us in between San Juan and Fajardo. The resort has enough to keep you busy. Our kids loved all the pools! The condo itself was nice and adequate. It was exactly as we expected. The manager Adriana was easy to communicate with. If you can explore the island, I would recommend Old San Juan, El Yunque, and Luquillo Beach was nice and calm for small kids. The island of Culebra was gorgeous! We took a day trip there and would go back in a heartbeat. There is really no reason to hesitate on renting this unit. Unless you want to be right in the heart of San Juan and be steps away from everything like grocery stores. But if you don't mind renting a car and if you have kids and want more privacy and safety, I would stay at Aquatika. (By the way, the locals pronounce it Aqua- teeka.) The beach right outside the gate was pretty nice and private. Not the best on the island, but better than some of the beaches we went to. Thanks for a great stay!

  • Submitted: Apr 10, 2016
  • Stayed: Feb 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0
3

Good Deal

  • 3 of 5

Well, let's first start with the bad or not so good. The property is not exactly as described. This is not a resort. It may have been a resort 15-20 years ago but now has become more of a residential condo complex. Many owners have dogs. There are 5 pools, but no other resort type amenities such as a bar, fitness room, etc.. There are nice tennis courts and a basketball area. The area around Aquatika is not an area to walk around or find any shopping. The apartment is in need of a deep clean and some minor maintenance. I admit I am more picky when it comes to cleanliness, but this is not a major job to scrub brush tile and match paint for walls. We bought cleaning supplies and bleached many corners and surfaces (good for the next party coming!). The air conditioner in one of the rooms kept making noise which kept my son up and he ended up sleeping on the couch. Some other minor things were peeling bathtub, towel bar broken, and confusion over the hot water heater.

Now on the upside. The unit has good furniture that was nice and functional. The appliances and kitchen were newer and very well equipped for making food, coffee, along with basic supplies. There was other cleaning supplies- vacuum, brooms, mop, hose for outside and laundry machine. The other AC units worked great. The security is very high which is a plus. The unit is stocked with activity supplies for the beach- boogie boards, volleyball, tennis gear, chairs, mats, etc.. There is a nice outside grill. The best part of this unit is that it is right on the ocean with a great view. The beach is close and is just right for this kind of place. The location is great for getting to Loquillo beach and El Yunque National Rain Forest- both are must see places. We did surf lessons and ATV tours among other things that were great. The food at Loquillo kiosks is reasonable and fantastic as well as a cultural experience. You can go into Grand Melia resort for a good sit down restaurant too. Just a 10 minute drive for either place and 30 minutes from San Juan. If you are looking for a 3 bedroom place for a good price, this is a good deal. Don't expect 5 star resort amenities unless you are willing to pay more. We found this to be a nice place for the money. Also, having Adriana meet us at the airport was a nice touch and very helpful.

  • Submitted: Mar 31, 2016
  • Stayed: Mar 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Family Friendly Vacation Choice

  • 5 of 5

We arrived in the middle of a terrible draught is East PR. The Manager accommodated us as well as she could considering the municipality decided when and how water would be distributed. We struggled with the water schedule but, we still enjoyed the beach and the beautiful island.

Hopefully, when you plan your trip, water restrictions will be a non-issue and you can count on unrestricted water flow. If that is the case, this spot is great for a family of 5 or 6 depending on your circumstances. The pots and pans are not cook worthy - they are rusted and you will need to be carefully unless, the owners fix that before their next booking. The towels are great, but the bedding is restrictive - no top sheet in the master bedroom and no extra blankets for snuggling down for a movie after a day on the beach.

Having said that, the matresses and furnishings are great which makes the sheets, towels and pot and pans issue confusing. We used the grill and bought throws and were fine. You could do the same.

The TV and WiFi were terrific. The security is awesome. We always felt very safe. The saddest and most frustrating thing that happened is that we were in PR for my brother's wedding and had planned to have some family over for dinner before we trekked through El Yunque National Forest and at the time we booked we were told that wouldn't be a problem but, apparently due to the draught we had to un-invite our family to come over for a visit and a meal.

We had all the groceries purchased and all the meat marinating when the resort office told us that the resort owners had recently voted to prohibit visitors. Be warned.

The beaches are gorgeous and the people of Puerto Rico, including the Resort Office were gracious and poilet. Puerto Rico is an awesome place to visit. This spot might be right for you if you work through making sure your priorities can be met.

  • Submitted: Aug 19, 2015
  • Stayed: Aug 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: I am so sorry you had to arrive during the drought. We are new owners and had never experienced this before but we did try to accommodate any fixes we could with tanks and implements that would help. I really hope we do not have to go through this often. Although we are not in PR, we are here in the US with our water (too much at that time), feeling bad at the extreme rationing you are dealing with. Thank you so very much for being so understanding! To address the pots and pans; they were purchased in March 2015. I don't know if the salt water, lack of water, or using the wrong implements caused the rusting. We are going down in 2 weeks and will purchase new ones. If you visit us again and find them lacking, please let me know and I will get you at least one brand new multi-purpose pan to cook with while you are there. The beds should have a top and bottom sheet as well as a duvet or comforter. The king and queen should also have a throw blanket at the bottom that can double in the living room. I am sorry if they were not there and will check when we go down and try to fix that situation. I will also try to purchase a couple of smaller throws for the living living room. Glad you liked the security and felt safe :-) I am sorry about the situation with your family visiting. Did you ask Adriana to see if she could override the situation? It may not have been possible with the situation:-( I am so sorry that you were unable to have them over. Drought situations do not happen every year so I hope you will not have any issues like this if you visit Puerto Rico again. Mostly, I hope you enjoyed what this awesome island did have to offer. Thank you for staying with us and we will do our best to make it better if you return. Vicki
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0

Map

Nearest Airport
18 Miles
Luis Muñoz Marín Airport
Nearest Ferry
40 Miles
Fajardo
Nearest Motorway
8 Miles
Rt 66
Nearest Beach
0.2 Miles
you are on the beach
Car: recommended

Horseback riding on Paso Fino horses with evenly spaced four-beat lateral ambling gait. Bio-bays in Fajardo and Vieques Island. Authentic PR food. El Yunque rain forest. Coqui frog sounds and iguanas habiting the area. Old San Juan: forts, cemetery, dine out on Fortaleza Street, visit La Rogativa, visit art galleries; Galería Botello, Obra, Galería Sin Título, Siena. Visit lounges and try salsa dancing. Visit the home of Ponce de Leon. San Juan: gambling and chicken fights.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $70
Damage Insurance $59

During off months and dates, reduce rates may apply. Please email to inquire.

Manager's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.

You might like these similar properties