Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call VRBO Booking Assistance: 888-829-7076
Book Online or call VRBO Booking Assistance: 888-829-7076

Charmer On Lark: 3 BR / 2 BA house/cabin in Homewood, Sleeps 7

Bedrooms 3
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 - 30 nights


About the property

3 Bedrooms, 2 Baths, Sleeps 7



Urban loft luxe meets cozy mountain charm in this Scandinavian home in the Chamberlands.

Nestled in the pines on the West Shore of Lake Tahoe, Charmer on Lark features simplicity and comfort in its design and decor.

Covered front porch, wrap-deck with built-in bench, beautiful gray slate floors and industrial gray textured carpet, white walls accented with black and gray and primary colors.

Living area with gas fireplace, black L couch, flatscreen Smart TV/DVD, Sonos Radio in kitchen and living room to tune into your favorite personal music library.

Dining area with bench seats and metal chairs to sit up to 8 comfortably. 4 metal bar stools at the kitchen bar. Updated kitchen with black granite counters and stainless steel appliances, 5 burner gas range, mini fridge in the main kitchen and full fridge in the utility room with washer and dryer.

Pocket door to 3/4 bathroom and downstairs master bedroom with Queen bed and flatscreen TV.

Steep stairs to 2nd level with open corridor over living area. Bedroom with Queen bed and flatscreen TV walks through 3/4 bath to bedroom with bunkbeds (full on bottom, twin on top).

Limited access to Chambers Landing public beach (sorry no buoy or pool/tennis access), and great hiking/biking/snowshoe trails. Close to Sugar Pine Point State Park, PDQ market, and all the wonderful things the West Shore has to offer!

More Details

Property Manager
Hauserman Rental Group
Member since: 2007
Speaks: english, german
Manager indicates their response time is:
Within a day
Calendar last updated:
August 19, 2017


Chamberlands House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 7
  • pets considered
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace
  • Internet
  • Washing Machine
  • Dishwasher
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 7
  • Outdoor Grill


3.3/5 -
(3 traveler reviews)

33% Complete
0% Complete
33% Complete
33% Complete
0% Complete
Charmer On Lark: 3 BR / 2 BA house/cabin in Homewood, Sleeps 7
average rating of 3.3333333 based on 3 reviews

Ok for the ultra Minimalist

  • 2 of 5

We came to Tahoe for my sons wedding. The Rehearsal dinner at The Sunnyside and the wedding venue was The West Shore Inn&Cafe. Both were wonderful with magnificent views. Staff were great. All our guests said that it was best wedding ever.

When we first arrived the overall appearance of this property was neat, clean and seemed doable for our week in Tahoe.

A few days were fairly warm, especially without air cnditioning and not being able to open all of the Windows, due to locks or something!

It took 2 days to get internet access, apparently the owners didn't pay their bill and then the password was written wrong on the info sheet.

There were few glasses and coffee mugs so we had to continuously hand wash in order to get thru the day.

The beds were on platforms and were much harder than we are used to.

There's no yard or landscaping so I never even ventured beyond the driveway.

We were traveling with a 10 month old, therefore having a gate on the decking would have been nice.

4 plastic, red addorandeck chairs aren't very comfy for a whole week on the deck.

Walls are very thin and noise from upper bedroom to the lower was significant.

Coffeemaker wasn't working correctly

Bathrooms weren't equipped very well. I realize that owners don't have to supply us with paper, soap, etc. but more than 2 thin hotel bars of soap and 3 rolls of paper would be appreciated, especially when you've traveled cross country and getting to Tahoe city was extremely difficult, due to constant road work( allow an extra 1/2 hr when traveling downtown). Traffic only flows in one direction for miles during the week

At first we thought that all of the homes in this area were similar but then, upon visiting others, we found that our home had the least amount of amenities.

Rental office asked if they might show the property "for a quick 5 minute look" to a potential, seasonal renter on the sat that we were there. I agreed that it would probably be okay but asked them to call first. I spoke to the rental office at 10:15 on Saturday, requesting info on a nearby Urgent Care due to my daughters ongoing, 3 day Altitude HeadacheMigraine. Then they had the nerve to call me 45 minutes later, while I was in the Urgent care)..I disregarded the call. But they still came around 1:00. Turned out they weren't renters but Investors! Spent about 20 minutes talking about upgrading the house, finances, etc)?even with my daughter trying to sleep after being medicated.. Very unprofessionala

  • Submitted: Oct 9, 2016
  • Stayed: Sep 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are sorry to hear that you didn’t enjoy your stay at Charmer on Lark as much as others have. Although you may have been preoccupied with wedding plans, you would have found it helpful to read the Guest Policies document that was included with your rental contract. Had you done so, you would have known that none of our homes have air conditioning and that we provide a limited amount of paper products, soap and shampoo. There are several places to purchase these items in Tahoe City, but if the road construction traffic was too much to handle, there are also markets less than a mile away in the towns of Homewood and Tahoma. When you made the reservation, you advised that you were traveling with a baby. Although we don’t provide baby equipment, we did email you links to vendors who deliver baby equipment rentals. It’s unfortunate that you chose not to contact any of them. If you had let us know that the coffee maker wasn’t working, we could have delivered one of the spares we keep on hand. In fact, the rental contract you signed states that you will let us know ASAP if you find any broken or non-functional items. Glassware and mugs are stocked for the number of people the house accommodates, but if any were broken or missing we would have delivered more. The wifi password on the info sheet is correct, and the owners pay the bill in a timely way. The photos of the house clearly show that it’s a rural mountain home with no landscaping. If you undo the locks, the windows open. Last, there were three separate times you could have let us know you didn’t want us to come by on Saturday. When you called to ask about urgent care locations, the agent you spoke to asked if we should not come by, but you told her it was OK. You chose not to answer our next call, which we placed to see how your daughter was feeling and again to see if we should not come by. Finally, we called the other number we had on file and the gentleman who answered told us it was OK to show the house. We were in the house for less than 5 minutes, and then went out to the street to carry on our discussion. They were not investors as you assumed; they were seeking a winter ski lease. We spoke about finances because there’s a lot of money involved with a ski lease. There was no talk of “upgrading the house” but it must have been easy for you to mistake what we were saying since we were about 50 yards away from the house, out in the street.
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
San Francisco

Charmer on Lark

  • 3 of 5

total re-model, done very well but with some inconsistencies. It appeared we were the 2nd or 3rd renters. Place was CLEAN! That said, it has a few issues, some not their fault.

Beautiful BBQ (gas) but no BBQ utensils. Had to go next door to borrow a brush for the grill. Very cheap glassware. Trash compactor broken-not a huge deal. No shelving in the freezer, no ice maker set up, no ice trays ( found them later in a drawer, not in freezer).

Plusses Nice comfortable beds, nice deck, BBQ, nice bathrooms.

Biggest reason for 3 stars. NO beach or pool membership. Houses with beach rent for 1000-1500. Beach and pool 1500-2000 a week. This houses would be 2000 a week. The remodel does not make up for that

  • Submitted: Aug 3, 2015
  • Stayed: Jul 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Glad you enjoyed your stay despite these minor issues. After you left last summer, we went to the house to address all the issues you had brought up when you checked out. The glassware is fragile and can break in the dishwasher, sorry! We did find a case of BBQ utensils in the cabinet (although you're right, they should have been in a more obvious place). The trash compactor was working, but with no labeled directions. We typed up and laminated clear directions immediately after your stay, so it should be working fine for guests in the future. We are sorry to hear you were upset about the lack of an HOA membership, but we disclose that fact in our description and are always up-front about it. We believe this house is a great value, and that the public side of the HOA beach is just as beautiful (and within walking distance of the house)! Please note that VRBO listing 426802 is right next door and offers full HOA amenities.
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0


  • 5 of 5

Lake Tahoe being a favorite vacation destination for our family (two children) we absolutely loved this place. It has a great combination of modern scandinavian style with a lots of traditional features. Tahoe City is conveniently 7 - 10 min drive. It was also very easy to get to the ski resort (Northstar at Tahoe). Homewood ski resort is about 2 minutes away. For the music lovers the house has a great Sonos speaker system. Specious deck is perfect for relaxing and enjoying the tranquility Tahoe has to offer. We were absolutely happy with our stay and will be coming back.

  • Submitted: Mar 12, 2015
  • Stayed: Mar 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0



Rates & Availability

Taxes and fees are additional


  • Rates shown above do not include taxes and fees

    Charmer on Lark Cleaning Fee: $180 $6.95 $29 $75
    Charge basis: STAY

    CSA-Travel Insurance: 180% 6.95% 29% 75%
    Charge basis: AD

    Damage Protection Fee - 1500 P: $180 $6.95 $29 $75
    Charge basis: STAY

    Dog Fee - Placer: $180 $6.95 $29 $75
    Charge basis: STAY

You might like these similar properties