check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit

Ocean View Sweethearts Hideaway

Sleeps2
Bedrooms Studio
Bathrooms1
Property type cottage

Pay with confidence

When you book through the VRBO checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more

Overview


Details
Property
cottage
Sleeps
2
Bedrooms
Studio
Bathrooms
1

About the property

A place to come to for wonderful ocean views and privacy.

Be one of the 1st to stay at the Sweethearts Hideaway which is situated on the Hamakua Coast surrounded by 20 acres of rolling hills and farmland. The expansive ocean view boasts gorgeous sunrises and brightly reflects the beauty of the full moon. Crops are flourishing in the fields and cattle graze in the distant pasture lands. The view seems to be endless.

This studio has a full kitchen with a Bosch gas range and full size refrigerator to meet your culinary

desires. There’s also a gas grill on the covered lanai for cooking out while you soak in the amazing views

and fresh country air. Satellite TV can be viewed from the cozy loveseat or queen sized bed to relax at the end of a fun filled day.

The indoor shower gives you the feel of being outside, as the colorful foliage of the landscaped yard is visible through the windows.

The fully fenced yard with fish pond has an abundance of tropical trees and flowering plants.

The cottage is minutes from botanical gardens, waterfalls and zip lines, not to mention the beautiful coast line and hiking. Centrally located between Hilo and the Waipio Valley.

If you enjoy peaceful seclusion with amazing views, then this is the place for you. We look forward to

having you as our guests. Aloha and hope to see you soon.

More Details

Property Manager
Bob and Sandy Nutt
Member since: 2015
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
January 16, 2017

Reviews

Excellent! 4.5/5 -
(10 traveler reviews)

Ocean View Sweethearts Hideaway
average rating of 4.5 based on 10 reviews
5

Gardenia House/Sweethearts Hideaway

  • 5 of 5

We did not stay at the Sweethearts Hideaway. The driveway was too muddy from recent rains. We stayed at The Gardenia House instead, which was perfect for us two, a lot more roomy than Sweethearts Hideaway. We were delighted that Gardenia House came available for us. We were very comfortable, plus we could never get enough of the ocean view from the lanai! Gardenia House is a fabulous property. We've already booked it for next January. I have 2 suggestions to make Gardenia House even better: 1. It would be nice to have one more comfortable chair in the livingroom area. 2. Do the large windows in the livingroom have blinds? It would be nice and more private to have vertical blinds (like the ones in the bedrooms) on the big windows in the livingroom, especially to be able to draw them at night for privacy.

  • Submitted: Jan 17, 2017
  • Stayed: Dec 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
3

Be prepared to be rustic

  • 3 of 5

Quite a few things went wrong on our stay in this property. The road was muddy and almost impassable, we had to trade in our rental car for a Jeep just to get to the property which incurred an additional cost to us (the property managers picked up a small portion of that cost at our insistence). We had to get out of our vehicle into the mud every time we came and went to open and close a gate, which resulted in muddy shoes and clothing. The "hot" water was tepid at best. Not all the burners on the stove worked and the cell reception was nonexistent (this is mentioned in the information about the property which you get after you book and pay). The bathroom situation might be unacceptable to some, especially at night. You have to go outside a door (which you would want to lock at night for security) go a few steps and then into another door (which you might want to lock for security). There was a washer but not a dryer. Overall, I would not rent this property again just because the challenges we faced really detracted from our overall experience on the island.

  • Submitted: Jan 13, 2017
  • Stayed: Dec 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: You fail to mention that we responded to remedy every concern that you brought to our attention. We had weeks of rain so the islands had flooding which is why we brought in 32 tons of stone to address the situation for you. The Verizon cell tower is 1/2 mile away to give an excellent signal. Reception, as with anywhere depends on your carrier and is spotty all over the island due to the mountain ranges and valleys. We believe paying 1/3 of your Jeep upgrade was generous. When you are expecting amenities, like a clothes dryer, it is always a good idea to check the website. The trade winds do well in drying your laundry.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Peaceful and Comfortable Retreat

  • 5 of 5

Sweetheart's Hideaway provided the privacy and quiet we needed for a truly peaceful retreat. We began each morning with the most fantastic sunrise imaginable. The expansive view of the landscape and ocean provided a wonderful space to be mindful and let stress and worries go. After a day of Big Island adventures we looked forward to returning to our little space on the slopes of Mauna Kea for a restful and restorative evening watching the moon and stars. The home is very comfortable and clean with adequate appliances and cookware to prepare meals. Sandy was very kind and easy to work with from booking to checkout. After many vacation rentals over the years, this home ranks among our favorites.

  • Submitted: Feb 26, 2016
  • Stayed: Feb 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: To be one of your favorites is quite an honor, thank you so much. After a restful peaceful nights rest and then awaken to see the darkness slowly start to brighten from the sunrise is a wonderful way to start your day. Mahalo for describing your experience so well. Hope to have you back again some day. Aloha and Mahalo
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Quaint and very private

  • 5 of 5

We enjoyed our stay here at the Sweethearts Hideaway very much. Lot of privacy and peaceful surroundings to add to the vacation mindset! Quaint space and all the necessities for a comfortable stay. Great kitchen, a spacious lanai complete with BBQ and a fully fenced yard.

A nice place to get away from life's hustle and bustle.

Aileen and Scott

  • Submitted: Feb 23, 2016
  • Stayed: Dec 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Yes the peacefulness is so soothing here. With the pasture lands and ocean view along with the pond and seclusion, it's just what you need to unwind and fill your lungs with clean air and say 'this is just what we needed'. Most of all it's a great place to focus on each other without distractions. Hope to see you again sometime in the future. Mahalo and Aloha
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Huntsville, Alabama
5

Best honeymoon spot ever!

  • 5 of 5

I feel like no matter how much I write I won't be able to accurately describe the awesomeness of this cottage. My husband and I are more of the adventurous type, so a resort was totally out of the question. It was way more fun to live like a local of the Big Island than to be stuck at a hotel pool. This cottage is off the grid and had just enough privacy. Being city folk, we really enjoyed the morning songs of the local cows in the back yard. Oh and the sunrise... AH-mazing! Sandy and Bob answered our questions proptly and provided us with everything we need for the cottage. Even stuff we didn't think about like coffee filters and cling wrap where there for us to use. We hope to come back next year!

  • Submitted: Jan 25, 2016
  • Stayed: Jan 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We're so pleased that you not only found privacy at the cottage but also the surrounding beauty to enjoy and of course the distant sounds of the cow songs. The house is only half off-grid since it has the normal electric source but relies on the rain for the water. We never seem to get up there early enough to capture the sunrise but we keep hearing how pretty it is, I guess we need to try harder. Please come back anytime. Aloha and Mahalo
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

We loved the remote private pasture setting with the farm animal choir just out of sight.

  • 5 of 5

We loved this little bungalow and would stay there again. It takes a bit of driving to get there but in reality it's close to Hilo and especially the Hawaiian Tropical Gardens which we are huge fans of. We arose each morning around 7:00 to the choir of cows, donkeys and song birds as the sun rose over the beautiful ocean view. There are no neighbors to speak of and the 1 mile "through the pasture driveway" was a hoot.

The bungalow was clean and well appointed. We ran the floor fan each evening on our return to cool the house after our day out sight seeing. The shower required walking out to the deck and back in again but that is a very small inconvenience for such a beautiful place. The the house was clean and bug free, the yard recently mowed and beautiful with flowers and a tiny pond.

I loved setting up my camera for the clear night starry sky time lapse shots and for the sun rises coming right out of the ocean. Can't wait to see how those turned out.

A great place we would return to if and when we come back to Hawaii.

  • Submitted: Jan 20, 2016
  • Stayed: Jan 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: It's so spectacular and humbling to see the night sky there. We would love to see your photos of the sky and sunrises. We're glad that you got to experience the true Hawaii instead of a resort. We'd enjoy having you back anytime. Aloha and Mahalo
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Map

Nearest Airport
33 Miles
Hilo
Nearest Motorway
2 Miles
Route 19
Nearest Beach
6 Miles
Hakalau
Car: necessary

There are also 3 zip line companies near by.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Hakalau Cottage Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Manager accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
My Standard Rate
1 night minimum stay
$115
$735
$1,950
 

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $200
Cleaning $85 + Tax
Tax Rate 13.42%

Manager's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Contact Me Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Hakalau Cottage Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cottage
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Location Type:
  • Ocean View ...
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Budget
  • Romantic
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Internet
  • Linens Provided
  • Parking ...
  • Telephone ...
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 2 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower , Even though you are indoors, you feel like you're outside.
  • Shower in inside but feels like being outside.
Bedrooms:
  • Studio, Sleeps 2
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • DVD Player ...
  • Games
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Television
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio
  • Lanai / Gazebo
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Outdoor Grill
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • non smoking only ...
  • not suitable for children
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Attractions:
  • arboretum
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • festivals
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • live theater
  • museums
  • restaurants
  • synagogues
  • winery tours
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • horseback riding
  • luaus
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
  • wildlife viewing
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • fishing
  • hiking
  • kayaking
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • sound/bay fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties