Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Studio Apt downtown Prescott. Pet friendly, fenced yard

Sleeps2
Bedrooms Studio
Bathrooms1
Space 325 sq. ft.
Property type studio
Minimum Stay 2 nights

Overview

About the property

Studio

For a small studio....it lives LARGE! The big picture window in the main room looks out onto a grassy lawn with fenced yard and views of the Prescott National Forest and Thumb Butte. You can relax in this cozy space on the new love seat or queen sized bed (new in July 2017). The full kitchen is equipped with a full-sized range and refrigerator. The oak cabinets provide under-cabinet lighting and are fully stocked with cook ware, table ware, bake and bar ware. This kitchen has everything you need to cook a great meal on those times you feel like dining in. The quaint dining table seats 2 and is big enough to set for a complete meal.

Birch Cottage also features a walk-in closet, Wi-Fi, Direct TV, shared washer/dryer, on-site parking, a barbecue grill, patio furniture and more.

Birch Cottage, Aspen Cottage (VRBO #679470) and Cedar Cottage (VRBO #679471) are on the same property and could be used for a family reunion, or friends all attending the one of the many events Prescott has to offer. Located on arguably the prettiest residential street in the historic district, South Mount Vernon, you will enjoy walking past the gracious historic homes on the lovely tree-lined street. In fact, the Governor's Mansion is located just up the block and stands as a living monument to the days when Prescott was the capital city of the Arizona territory (1864-1867).

Let the sidewalk lead you past the homes, converted gas light street fixtures, and City Library, to Courthouse Square and the in-famous 'Whiskey Row'. Dubbed 'Whiskey Row' in the wild and woolly 1800's by the likes of Doc Holiday and The Erp Brothers, Montezuma Street today is home to several lively bars, restaurants, art galleries and boutiques. Courthouse Square is a “majestic, man-made urban forest in the heart of the historic commercial district. For more than 140 years it has served as a gathering place for celebrations, commemorations, campaign kick-offs, concerts, movies, and festivals.”* Voted in 2008 as one of the top-ten best public spaces in the United States*, The Courthouse Square is regarded as the ‘Jewel’ of our town, every year drawing visitors from all over the world.

*The American Planning Association

More Details

Owner
Mark and Laurie Temple
Member since: 2015
Premier Partner

This VRBO partner has demonstrated and is committed to fast response times, the best rates, and a great traveler experience.

Speaks: english
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
January 22, 2018

About Mark and Laurie Temple

Hello!

My name is Mark and my wife, Laurie and I bought this property in February 2015 and just recently starting managing it ourselves. I grew up in Prescott just down the street on Mt Vernon Ave. and used to deliver newspapers on this street! Laurie and I have been raising our 2 boys in this beautiful little town and now have one at U of A and one at Prescott High School. Even though I graduated from ASU and the schools are big rivals here in Arizona I really enjoy rooting for my son's school too!

We love Prescott and since we have been here for so many years we have insider info of the area and can help with most everything. The people here are wonderful and there is always something happening.

I know you will enjoy your stay here and the many things Prescott has to offer!

Mark and Laurie Temple purchased this studio in 2015

Why Mark and Laurie Temple chose Prescott

We purchased this property not just because it is located on the most historical street in Prescott but also because I grew up just down the block and have many fond memories of this area. Delivering newspapers, sledding and playing football in the street with the neighborhood kids. Everything that reminds me of a small town experience.

What makes this studio unique

What I love about this property is that it reminds me of a simpler time. Quiet, tree lined street where you can take a walk in the cool early mornings and evenings. A nice quiet area in the back that can be enjoyed by guests and their pups. Being close to the downtown area with lots of things to do and then being able to return back "home" to relax.

Amenities

Prescott Studio Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • studio
  • floor 1
Building Type:
  • cottage
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 325 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 4:00 PM
  • /
  • Check-out: 10:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 2
  • Max. adults: 2
  • Min. age of primary renter: 21
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Pets considered ...
  • Non smoking only ...
  • Cancellation policy is 90 days 100% refund minus VRBO fees. 60 days 50% refund minus VRBO fees. 30 days no refund
Location Type:
  • Downtown
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave ...
  • Oven ...
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 2 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower
  • Pedestal sink, Walk in shower, tiled floor. All updated in 2013. Plenty of linens
Bedrooms:
  • Studio, Sleeps 2
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen
  • New queen size mattress & box springs (July 2017). There is a ceiling fan with a light kit over the bed. Night tables with reading lights are on each side of the bed. The television can be viewed from the bed.
Entertainment:
  • Books ...
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo ...
  • Television ...
  • Video Library ...
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Golf ...
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Ski & Snowboard ...
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • wheelchair inaccessible ...
Attractions:
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • live theater
  • museums
  • restaurants
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • gambling casinos
  • miniature golf
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • racquetball
  • rock climbing
  • roller blading
  • tennis

Reviews

Excellent! 4.4/5 -
(20 traveler reviews)

65% Complete
25% Complete
0% Complete
10% Complete
0% Complete
Studio Apt downtown Prescott. Pet friendly, fenced yard
average rating of 4.45 based on 20 reviews
5

Great stay

  • 5 of 5

I stayed at Birch for 3 months. So it was my home as well as home-base for day and overnight trips to explore the geological wonderland that is northeastern Arizona/southeastern Utah. Prescott itself is a charming little town, and the weather was fantastic. The studio was sunny, clean and comfortable, and had everything needed for a long-term stay. Nothing was lacking. But if one needs anything, nearby highway 69 has every chain store imaginable. Mark and Laurie, the owner/managers, live only a block away, and are very nice and extremely responsive. I feel very lucky to have been able to stay there at a very good rate!

  • Submitted: Jan 4, 2018
  • Stayed: September 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Mesa, AZ
5

Perfect!

  • 5 of 5

The property was exactly as described, super clean, and perfect for our New Year's weekend away! Would definitely use this property again! It is a perfect setup for a small family reunion or two or three couples to get away, if they use the Birch, Aspen, and the Cedar.

  • Submitted: Jan 2, 2018
  • Stayed: December 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Getaway

  • 5 of 5

Excellent location, everything that you would need for your stay, owner's were great,

making sure we were happy. Had a nice short vacation.

  • Submitted: Sep 15, 2017
  • Stayed: September 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

5 Golden Stars~CHARMING~GREAT VIEW~FRIENDLY OWNERS~CLEAN~GREAT BED

  • 5 of 5

We were so happy with the Studio Apartment, simply wonderful! It was very clean & stocked with everything you could need!

The owners were friendly & answered our questions quickly!

Our dogs loved the yard~

We were all 100% Happy !

Thank you very very much! We have booked again!

  • Submitted: Sep 5, 2017
  • Stayed: August 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
2

Great Location, Fair Price, Nice Place, Horrible Bed, Non-existant Service

  • 2 of 5

My wife and I had a 4-night stay. We thoroughly enjoyed the walks into downtown, especially along the streets with beautiful older homes. Prescott has good food and great Americana culture. We attended a performance by the Phoenix Symphony Orchestra at the local college. It could have been a 5-star experience, but ...

On the first night I got into bed and immediately noticed the bed was very soft except at the edges and sagged toward the middle. It struck me as odd, since the bed was relatively new. The night was rough in that the edge was firm, but I kept slipping toward the soft and sagging middle. Same for the second night. Upon waking after the second night of a groggy fight against gravity's pull to the middle of our bowl-bed, I decided to examine the underside of the bed to see if I could see anything amiss. Along with a dust bunny or two, two of the four slats holding up the box springs were laying on the floor and a broken rail piece was laying up near the head of the bed. The two remaining slats left between the rails were positioned at the extreme ends of the bed. The slats were flimsy 3/4" thick by 3" wide. Upon replacing one of the slats on the floor and re-positioning the two end slats, the bed quality was raised to mildly-uncomfortable. (The fourth slat was not able to be used due to the broken rail piece; the rail piece was the part of the rail used to support the slats.) Just in case of any questions regarding our physical size and how that may have played a role: my wife is a size 6 and I weigh 175lb.

I called the number for the property manager and left a long detailed message explaining the bed issues and offered to fix the bed myself, asking her to call me ASAP to discuss. I immediately followed up the voicemail with a text containing pictures of the bed rails and the broken rail piece. I have yet to get her call. I rechecked the phone number to make sure I got it right. Barring some unknown tragic circumstance, I'm thinking I should have heard from her by now, this being four days after we've left.

So, deduct one star for an uncomfortable bed and two stars for no one caring.

Prescott is a wonderful town, though!

  • Submitted: Jun 4, 2017
  • Stayed: May 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: I am very glad you enjoyed Prescott and felt we had a nice rental. I am sorry the bed was uncomfortable and you were unable to get our staff to help you with your concerns. We strive to provide the best service and be available for our guests. As owners we have now taken over the management of the rentals and have replaced the mattress and box spring. We hope you stay with us again if you come back to Prescott. Best Regards, Mark and Laurie Temple Owners
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
4

Great little place

  • 4 of 5

Super cute and clean little place! Great location and it was stocked with everything we needed. Only thing, the mattress was a little saggy but still it was totally worth it to stay here, would highly recommend it if you are visiting Prescott.

  • Submitted: May 2, 2017
  • Stayed: April 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Map

The Palace
Bill's Pizza
Goldwater Lake
James S. Acker Park
Rosa's Pizzeria
Dinner Bell Cafe -- CLOSED
Iron Springs Cafe
Waffle Iron
Nearest Airport
10 Miles
Love Field, Prescott, AZ
Nearest Barpub
0.5 Miles
A whole street called Whiskey Row!!
Nearest Golf
8 Miles
Prescott Lakes Golf Club
Nearest Motorway
0.5 Miles
Highway 89
Nearest Restaurant
0.5 Miles
Many restaurants around and on the Square
Nearest Ski
120 Miles
Snowbowl, Flagstaff, AZ
Nearest Beach
413 Miles
San Diego, CA
Car: recommended

Birch Cottage is located on one of the most beautiful, historic streets in Prescott: South Mount Vernon Avenue. There are two additional cottages on the same property. All together you can sleep up to 12 people. To view the other cottages, please see VRBO 679470 and VRBO 679471.

Founded in 1864, Prescott is a small town of historic homes and quaint public places. With lots of natural outdoor activities.

A stay in Birch Cottage puts fresh air and much of what Prescott has to offer within walking distance.

Right down town, we have local art galleries, museums, art shows, and historical sites. Abundant live music venues, dancing, and great restaurants.

Nearby there is The World's Oldest Rodeo, casino, and many seasonal events.

For outdoor activities there is hiking, tennis, rock climbing, golfing, mountain biking, lakes and canoeing, horseback riding and more.

A national weapons training site at Gunsite where the CIA get trained!

4 colleges - including Embry Riddle Aeronautical University. We also have a variety of Churches and a Synagogue.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

One-time Cleaning fee $60 + Tax
Refundable damage deposit $200
Pet Fee $30 + Tax
Tax Rate 12.07%

The Cottages are STRICTLY non-smoking inside.
Check-in is after 4:00 pm. Check-out is before 10:00 am. Rates are subject to change until such time your deposit is received. Sales tax is 2%. The refundable damage deposit is doubled in case of pets. Max occupancy 2 people.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.

You might like these similar properties