Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Family friendly fun in a clean, spacious home close to the beach!

Sleeps13
Bedrooms 6
Bathrooms3
Space 2,000 sq. ft.
Property type house
Minimum Stay 5 - 10 nights

Overview

About the property

5 bedroom, 3 baths, full kitchen, 2 living areas & a great yard with pool!

This updated 5 bedroom home sits on a very quiet cul de sac road. Perfect for families with young ones- there's no through traffic or anyone trying to get away from it all. Take a short stroll to stunning Kailua beach, only 2 blocks away. The beach entrance is a private street entrance so once you get there it's easy to sprawl out and relax, no crowds! The white sands of Kailua Beach/Bay is very safe and is great for family's. It is also a mecca for windsurfing and kite surfing. You can also, surf, kayak, body surf and boogie board.

The master bedroom has a private bathroom and an enclosed lanai area. In total there are 4 queens, 1 full size, 1 twin and there is also a queen sized futon in the living room for additional guests.

There is a dinning room that opens up to the kitchen as well as the pool lanai area. The kitchen has everything you will need. The living room has a large TV with 76 channels of cable. The living room has a full size fold out futon and sleeps 2 adults or kids.

The kitchen is large and has a dishwasher, fridge, microwave, range, oven, disposal, and lots of good pots, pans, utensils, and bake-ware. The back yard has an open air deck with another covered sitting area with a picnic table. The swimming pool has recently been redone with dark blue tiles which keeps it very warm. There is a very tall pool slide for the kids and adults.

There is an attached apartment/studio to the side of the house and tenants are gone a work a lot and keep to themselves. I email them with your arrival date and departure so they know to stay even more out of the way and will not be in the pool area while you are there.

Make sure to take a look at the link below (right above the map) it has additional pictures, information and reservation form.

TAT Lic #: W 1 8 1 8 4 3 7 1 - 0 1

More Details

Property Manager
Mark
Member since: 2005
Speaks: english, german
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
May 24, 2017

About Mark

Realtor that personally owns and manages Vacation Rental properties on Oahu's Windward side.

Mark purchased this house in 2014

Why Mark chose Kailua

Great location says it all: Short walk to the beach, walk or drive to Kailua town. Local community with quiet backyard where you can kick back and relax.

What makes this house unique

This property is really fantastic for families. The outdoor living space with pool is conducive to fun in the sun! Also great for mulit family living. 3bed/2bath with full kitchen on 1 side and 2bed/1bath with kitchenette on the other side.

Amenities

Kalama Tract House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 2000 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 13
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • children welcome
Location Type:
  • Mountain View
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Garage
  • Hair Dryer
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 8 people
Bathrooms:
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • Master Bath - toilet , shower
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Bathroom 3 - toilet , shower
Bedrooms:
  • 6 Bedrooms, Sleeps 13
  • Master Suite - 1 queen , Private Bathroom and Lanai
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 3 - 1 queen
    Bunkbed Room - 1 double , 1 twin/ single
    Bedroom 5 - 1 queen
    Den - 1 sleep sofa /futon
Entertainment:
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio
  • Lanai / Gazebo ...
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill
Suitability:
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool ...
  • Private Pool ...
Attractions:
  • marina
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • luaus
  • paddle boating
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • shelling
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • paragliding
  • parasailing
  • pier fishing
  • rock climbing
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • ski lift privileges
  • skiing
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • sound/bay fishing
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • water tubing
  • wind-surfing

Reviews

Very Good! 4.2/5 -
(19 traveler reviews)

Family friendly fun in a clean, spacious home close to the beach!
average rating of 4.2105265 based on 19 reviews
Vancouver, Wa
2

Kailua House

  • 2 of 5

My extended family of 6 adults and three young children (ages 8, 6, & 4) stayed at this property for 8 nights. The distance from the beach is a bit far for children to walk, so we drove the 3-4 min to beach entrance. The house and furnishings are quite dated. The house does not have very good air flow so fans are essential. The central living area of the home was quite warm even with fans running.

However, the reasons for the two star rating have more to do with the lack cleanliness that we found when we arrived, the kitchen supplies, and the malfunctioning of various things. When we got pans out to cook, we noticed that one pan looked like it had not been cleaned of all the grease left by the previous use. Other pans were rusted and/or badly warped. We went out to purchase pan and a knife (knives were very dull) to prepare a fish dinner one night. A couple of fans were not functioning, and a burner on the front of stove worked sporadically.

I was in text communication with Mark, the manager, and Karen regarding some of the issues that came up. Mark did get someone to come and fix the newly installed refrigerator that was making a very loud noise every hour or so, loud enough to wake those of us with bedrooms on kitchen side of house. Apparently it had something to do with ice maker not being installed. Karen offered to have someone come over to wash all of the cupboard items. I declined and said I would just wash myself prior to my use.

I was told the man who rents the unit which is on the side of the house maintains the pool. I believe he did tend to the pool, as we would see a hose being placed in the pool adding water. An adult and a child both happened to get ear infections during our stay. There is, of course, no definitive proof that the ear infections were caused by the pool. However, four of the six adults are medically trained people who thought the incidence was highly suspect.

We have family in Hawaii and come about every year. I have never written a negative review before. Some things are out of control of the manager/ owners and I understand that. I do not expect an older home to necesssarily be looking like it was built last year. However, for the rental price of this home, I do expect a higher standard of cleanliness, comfort, and functionality.

  • Submitted: Nov 28, 2016
  • Stayed: Nov 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Cleanliness is of utmost importance to us. We told the guest they could come by and drop off baggage early. We had a same day turn around and thus couldn't get it done sooner. Long story short dropping off bags turned into checking in. It might seem like a simple thing but when kids are running threw the house and luggage starts getting unpacked it slows the cleaners down and distracts them. Things get missed and their normal routine is out the window. Like she said we offered to come back and redo the kitchen but they declined and didn't want the cleaners back at the house. Fridge is brand new and noise went away when the water/ice maker was connected. Stove burner were fixed while they were there. Pool pump was burning out. Still worked and were waiting for a new one. Water quality was still clean/safe but it did get a little green.. Not sure how the beach is a 3 to 4 min drive. You can get to Lanikai Beach in 5 mins. Hope this clears up any questions you have if you are reading this far :) Aloha, Mark
Did you find this review helpful?
3 1
St. Louis, MO
5

Amazing Property, Highly Recommend, Fantastic Pool Area

  • 5 of 5

This house exceeded our expectations. The new deck out back is amazing. The kids loved the pool area and the beach was just a short walk away.

My wife really enjoyed the kitchen and how it opened to the living and dining rooms. New appliances were nice and far better than what was shown in the pictures. Might be time to update those :)

Will certainly come back or stay at another one of your rentals if our group is smaller next time. Thanks for all your help and info about the area.

  • Submitted: Nov 18, 2016
  • Stayed: Oct 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 1
san diego, california
5

Ashley

  • 5 of 5

My husband, my four kids and I stayed here.The house has lots of room and the backyard is really nice a perfect place to he bbq. It was excellent my kids loved it. They pool with the slide was their favorite part. Its a perfect location,close to the beach and kailua is an excellent place to stay lots of little shops and its not crowded like wakiki.

  • Submitted: Sep 29, 2015
  • Stayed: Jun 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 1
3

Adequate

  • 3 of 5

In general the house was adequate. It's a place to lay your head. There are enough beds/futons for 15 ppl, but it would be crowded. We had 12 and it was crowded. The main refrigerator did not keep things cold enough, there is another fridge, so we used that one to keep milk and other beverages cold. The dryer only tumbled the clothes only; no heat or air to dry the clothes. When we got there, one bed did not have any bedding on it, we knew that there were renters prior to us, so we checked around for the laundry facilities, the washer and dryer were outside which is normal for Hawaii. We found the bed clothes in the washer and a dozen or so towels on the clothes line. The towels were dry, but felt like sand paper. We threw the bedding in the dryer and went exploring, upon our return, we discovered that the dryer did not dry. We put the bedding on the clothes line. The first day the pool was nice and clean, it was so warm and we had 12 people in it, it got cloudy and green fast. The pool man came out once, he told us that he was a new daddy as of Sunday and apologized for not coming out sooner, that is understandable, but there should be a backup person. The gentleman who came to service the pool, was the only person we met. Nobody else came by to see how things were going. The boogie boards and surf board that are there and any other pool/beach items are in poor condition, we had to rent the equipment. The house itself was ok, the things that need fixed or replaced would make anyone's stay much nicer. It was unseasonably warm and the house does not have a/c, also not unusual for Hawaii, there were lots of fans available. The location was great, the town has every thing you need. We were too busy to call and complain about the minor things like dryer and fridge, we had other options, so we worked it out. I would recommend this property to others, I hope that they will take care of the deficiencies.

  • Submitted: Sep 15, 2015
  • Stayed: Sep 2015
  • Source: Vacation Rentals, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Kimberly Sorry your arrival wasn't as we normally provide. We had a same day turn around and you checked in early. Which was fine...normally advance notice is appreciated. The cleaning crew found out that day the dryer element was out and thus were in the process of line drying some items. It simply couldn't keep up with washing machine. By the time they returned you were already there and settled and everything was off the line already. It took a week for the part to come in, so sorry you didn't have use of the dryer. Yes, this past year was a hot one. El Nino has brought record warm water temps which has led to less tradewinds and warmer temps.
Did you find this review helpful?
12 2
5

Excellent spot, perfect for our family vacation!

  • 5 of 5

We couldn't have picked a better place to stay! Our trip was amazing, and the house made it even better. The location was perfect...close enough to the cute little town area of Kailua to walk to dinner/shops/activities, but far enough away to avoid the noises. We loved walking to the farmers market at the school up the road! Same for the beach - it was even closer than we expected! We loved being able to use the beach accesories, and the kids loved the pool slide! The house was clean and updated, and quiet. We didn't even realize there were tenants in the side apartment until our last night there, and only because they came home from work while we were eating dinner outside on the patio by the pool. Everything about this property was perfect for us, and we would definitely recommend it to others!

  • Submitted: Aug 6, 2015
  • Stayed: Jun 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
3 2
5

Nice home to relax and hang out with family

  • 5 of 5

We all enjoyed staying here for our holiday. The pool was the center of attention and the kids like to swim early in the morning and after we return from a long day out sight seeing. The patio allowed us to grill and sit around and visit. The kitchen had everything we needed and we did cook breakfast and many of our dinners here. The beach is close by. We walked down a one way street with very few cars so it was a quick walk to the beach. I liked that there were body boards and swim toys to use at the house. The two bedrooms across the hall were nice for the kids because they could stay up later watching TV and hanging out.

  • Submitted: Feb 25, 2015
  • Stayed: Dec 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 2

Map

Nearest Airport
15 Miles
Honolulu International (HNL)
Nearest Barpub
0.5 Miles
Variety to Choose from
Nearest Golf
5 Miles
4 Courses
Nearest Motorway
2 Miles
H3
Nearest Restaurant
0.5 Miles
Wide Variety in Kailua
Nearest Beach
0.25 Miles
Kailua Beach
Car: recommended

The beaches are soo amazing that we had to list them again. Kailua just 2 blocks away. Lanikai 5 mins Waimanalo 10min drive

Photos

Rates & Availability

Kalama Tract House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Manager accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Summer Rate '17
Jun 20 2017 - Sep 7 2017
6 night minimum stay
$600
 
 
Holiday Rate '17
Dec 15 2017 - Jan 15 2018
10 night minimum stay
$800
 
 
Spring Rate '18
Jan 16 2018 - Apr 21 2018
6 night minimum stay
$600
 
 
Summer 2018
Jun 16 2018 - Sep 7 2018
6 night minimum stay
$600
 
 
Holidays '18
Dec 15 2018 - Jan 15 2019
10 night minimum stay
$800
 
 
My Standard Rate
5 night minimum stay
$450
 

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $450 + Tax
Refundable damage deposit $500
Tax Rate 13.96%

***Our fees do not include the VRBO service fee. The service fee goes to VRBO and not the property owner. Email us if you have more questions.
*Approximate Monthly rates, actual rate will depend on the days of the month you stay

We do NOT allow weddings/gatherings/parties etc. on the property. Only the guests on the reservation should be at the house. Mahalo!

Manager's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.

Enter dates for accurate pricing

Send a Message Send a Message
Available
Unavailable

You might like these similar properties