Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Viva Pura Vida - Brand new beach house (Sleeps 12-14)

Sleeps14
Bedrooms 4
Bathrooms2
Half Baths1
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 2 - 3 nights

Overview

About the property

BRAND NEW beach house

Viva Pura Vida

Fully furnished with every detail. If you love to cook; we got it. If you love to grill; we got it. If you love to play games-cornhole/bean bags, horseshoes, Bocci ball, etc; we got it. If you want to relax and just enjoy your time away from it all; this is the place! Great for families and large groups!

Highlights of the home:

• Sleeps 12 in beds, 2 on couch (for additional fee, $25 per person, per night)

• 500 ft from the beach with direct access

• Extra-large quiet balcony which faces East and South

• Plush furnishings

• Games - cornhole/bean bags, horseshoes, Bocci ball, etc;

• Fully enclosed outdoor shower

• 6 Beach chairs (must be washed and stored in the garage)

• Direct TV and WIFI throughout

• Wood grain porcelain tile and granite counter-tops

• New built in charcoal grill. 24X12. Just be sure to bring your own charcoal!

• Smoke detector system

• Full size Washer/Dryer

• Blow dryers in all 3 bathrooms

• Iron/ironing board

• Pack-n-Play available for minimal fee. Please request in advance!

• New stainless steel appliances, including French door refrigerator, dishwasher, stove/oven, microwave, Fully equipped kitchen for max guests – Calphalon cookware and cooking utensils, cookie sheets, baking dishes, set of kitchen knives and cutting boards, silverware, dishes and glasses, coffee mugs, toaster, wine, margarita and daiquiri glasses, waffle maker, coffee Pot (regular drip), blender, KitchenAid mixer, electric griddle

• Non-breakable dinnerware for children

• Electric smoker for meats and veggies

• Linens included: 2 towels per guest, sheets, pillows, quilts, 4 kitchen towels, washcloths (6 per bathroom), hand towels (2 per bathroom) beach towels

• Extras Provided: Trash bags, 2 rolls of paper towels per stay, 2 rolls of toilet paper per bathroom per stay, Dish soap, dishwasher fluid, hand soap, enough laundry detergent to wash the linens, some Ziploc bags, aluminum foil, plastic wrap, etc.

Getting around

Easy walk, golf cart or by car/truck. You can also take golf carts The Stingaree Restaurant and Downunder without getting on any major roads or HWY 87.

Check-in: 4:00pm

Check-out: 11:00am

Early check-in and late check-out is not available during busy season (May through August) as our homes book reservations back to back and we want to allow the cleaning company ample time to make the home perfect for our guests. Early check-in and late check-out is based on availability during the off-season. Please inquire a day in advance. May be subject to an additional fee.

OCCUPANCY: Max guests for rates listed is 12 in beds. Exceptions can be made for the couch for up to 2 additional guests (max of 14) and must be approved with owner. $25 per additional guest per night. No exceptions.

**Tours of the home are only available for confirmed reservations with events.

EVENT REQUIREMENTS:

ANY GATHERING SUCH AS A DAY PARTY, BBQ, PROM PARTY, BIRTHDAY PARTY, WEDDING, OR REUNION THAT EXCEEDS THE MAX OCCUPANCY FOR THE HOME (LISTED ABOVE) IS CONSIDERED AN EVENT AND REQUIRES THE FOLLOWING:

- RENTER TO SIGN AN EVENT AGREEMENT, SEPARATE FROM THE RENTAL AGREEMENT

- FURNISH A CONTRACT FOR ADDITONAL RESTROOMS

- PAY AN EVENT FEE (SEE BELOW).

THE HOUSE USES A SEPTIC SYSTEM AND HAS A MAXIMUM OCCUPANCY AND THEREFORE WHEN EXCEEDED, ADDITIONAL RESTROOMS ARE REQUIRED. IF YOU VIOLATE THIS POLICY, YOU WILL LOSE YOUR ENTIRE DEPOSIT AND PAY FOR ANY DAMAGES TO THE SEPTIC SYSTEM.

***ALL events, including prom/youth weekends require a nonrefundable event booking fee of $500 due at the time of booking. This fee covers trash pick-up, insurance, extra cleaning, and additional administration.

The maximum guests allowed for any event is 30, which includes day and overnight guests.

For any event planned outdoors which exceeds the max occupancy, a contract for a back-up plan in case of rain (i.e. tent, restaurant reservation, etc.) is required in order to complete the booking.

PROM/YOUTH Weekend Reservations require one chaperone for every four minors (anyone that does not meet our minimum renting age of 25). Each chaperone is required to provide a copy of their driver’s license along with a signed Event Agreement. All chaperones must be onsite with the minors at all times. If this policy is violated, the rental agreement is immediately terminated and you will be escorted off premises. There will be no refunds and each chaperone will be fined.

Please note that parking is limited to six vehicles, which reduces the entertainment space underneath the house. Street parking is monitored, as well as limited, so in consideration of our neighbors, we suggest buses or shuttle services from nearby towns. There are no large parking lots on the peninsula.

Please note that the home is not equipped to accommodate large parties indoors, so consider other arrangements in case of rain.

RENTING AGE: Minimum 25

WEATHER:

We do not offer travel insurance. You may choose to purchase travel insurance separately in case of unforeseen circumstances, and we highly recommend it. Example: Access America - (URL HIDDEN)

Storms: If there is a storm or hurricane, no refunds will be given unless:

•The state or local authorities order mandatory evacuations in a "Tropical Storm/Hurricane Warning area" and/or

•A "mandatory evacuation order has been given for the Tropical Storm/Hurricane Warning" area of residence of a vacationing guest.

The day that the authorities order a mandatory evacuation order in a "Tropical Storm/Hurricane Warning," area, we will refund:

•Any unused portion of rent from a guest currently registered;

•Any unused portion of rent from a guest that is scheduled to arrive, and wants to shorten the stay, to come in after the Hurricane Warning is lifted;

•Any advance rents collected or deposited for a reservation that is scheduled to arrive during the "Hurricane Warning" period.

More Details

Owner
Traci Jackson and Faith Marasco
Member since: 2012
Premier Partner

This VRBO partner has demonstrated and is committed to fast response times, the best rates, and a great traveler experience.

Speaks: english
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
November 18, 2017

About Traci Jackson and Faith Marasco

We love the beach and have been coming here for years! We decided to build our beach home close to everything we love-fishing, paddle boarding, boating and the great outdoors. We hope that you enjoy our home away from home!

Traci Jackson and Faith Marasco purchased this cottage in 2015

Map

Nearest Airport
61 Miles
Houston Hobby
Nearest Barpub
0.9 Miles
Downunder
Nearest Ferry
18 Miles
Galveston Island Ferry
Nearest Restaurant
0.9 Miles
Stingaree Resturant and Bar

Amenities

Crystal Beach Cottage Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cottage
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 4:00 PM / Check-out: 11:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 14
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • pets considered ...
  • children welcome ...
  • non smoking only ...
Location Type:
  • Beach View ...
  • Ocean View ...
  • Water View
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 12 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower , tub , Large shared bathroom
    Master bathroom - toilet , shower , Large private master bath with large glass walk-in shower
    Bathroom 3 - toilet , Accessible by all living areas
    Bathroom 4 - shower , outdoor shower , huge outdoor shower with bench seating
Bedrooms:
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 14
  • Bedroom 1 (Sleeps 2) - 1 king , Master bedroom
    Bedroom 2 (Sleeps 4) - 2 queen
    Bedroom 3 (Sleeps 2) - 1 queen
    Bedroom 4 (Sleeps 4) - 2 bunk bed , Regular twin bunk & extra long twin over extra long twin
  • Living room can accommodate 2 people on the couch (not a pullout couch), for an additional $25 per person per night.
Entertainment:
  • Games
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
Outside:
  • Balcony
  • Boat
  • Deck / Patio
  • Golf ...
  • Kayak / Canoe
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Water Sports Gear
Attractions:
  • festivals
  • restaurants
  • water parks
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • horseshoes
  • miniature golf
  • paddle boating
  • photography
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • golf
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • sailing
  • snorkeling
  • sound/bay fishing
  • swimming
  • wind-surfing

Reviews

Wonderful! 4.9/5 -
(40 traveler reviews)

92% Complete
5% Complete
2% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
Viva Pura Vida - Brand new beach house (Sleeps 12-14)
average rating of 4.9 based on 40 reviews
4

BEAUTIFUL

  • 4 of 5

The house is amazing! Very modern and beautiful. The rooms are pretty relaxing and spacious. Restooms are clean and so does thier kitchen with complete cookware. They have a decent size bbq grill and very nice bar. The parking is spacious!! But the downer of this house was some pillows had one or two hair strands on it and one of the blankets had a stain. And lasty, if you read the rules and regulations one by one you will come across the rules before you check-out and that kinda disappointed me. Because they want you to start doing the laundry (used towels, white blankets, etc) before you check-out. They mentioned the reason why they want it that way, but we paid for the cleaning service so we dont understand why they are obligating the renter to do as much laundry as possible before leaving the premise. But other than that the house is awesome!

  • Submitted: Aug 23, 2017
  • Stayed: August 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Fabulous property!

  • 5 of 5

Your place is absolutely beautiful and by far the best we've ever stayed in! Thank you for providing so many nice usable things! A real pan set, knives that cut, private outdoor shower, and plenty of towels. The beach toys were in valuable! There were so many to choose from my girls changed out every day!

The golf cart was a great way to get everyone and everything to the beach each day. Easily fit 5 people, large cooler, cooler sized tub, 3 adult chairs, 2 kid chairs, a tent, all beach toys plus all towels and other beach accessories.

House was well maintained, extremely clean and easy to keep clean. TVs in all rooms except bunk bed room, hangers provided.

Owners were exceptionally responsive. Heard back within 1-2 hrs. Very concerned that we have a good experience.

Thank you for everything! We will definitely come back to this property or one of your others next year!

  • Submitted: Aug 5, 2017
  • Stayed: August 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are so glad you had a great time and enjoyed the "extras" that we offer! We are looking forward to having you back next year!
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
3

Overall nice stay.

  • 3 of 5

Location was nice, close enough to walk easily to the beach. House was clean and perfect size/layout for families. Children friendly. Owners were extremely nice and helpful.

House shakes...a lot, especially with the washer running. The entire house shakes a significant amount. The house wasn't fully stocked when we arrived (i.e. dishwasher detergent was almost empty, dish soap was almost empty, toilet paper was scarce). The dishwasher and washing machine don't clean very well even with everything prewashed by hand. The grill was in such poor shape it was unusable.

Overall it was a very nice house, just a few minor inconveniences.

  • Submitted: Jul 23, 2017
  • Stayed: July 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Kate, We are glad that you had a great time. All the houses in this area are built on pylons/stilts and move slightly during storms. Stilt houses are built primarily as a protection against flooding. They are built this way in order to provide structural integrity. During your stay you never contacted us to inform us that you needed more dish-washing soap, hand soap or toilet paper or we would immediately brought them over. We do supply 2 rolls of toilet paper, 2 rolls of paper towels, trash bags, enough dish-washing detergent for several loads, hand soaps in all bathrooms as well as many extras. We are always available if anything else is needed. The grill has since been replaced with a built 24X12 charcoal grill. We hope to have you back again soon.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Great house with everything you need!

  • 5 of 5

5 of us stayed for 5 days and it was perfect for us! Really enjoyed the house and the vacation.

  • Submitted: Jun 22, 2017
  • Stayed: June 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you and we look forward to hosting you again soon!
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

More than we expected

  • 5 of 5

Very clean, fully furnished, plenty of room and all we could ask for.

  • Submitted: May 29, 2017
  • Stayed: May 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Happy to hear we exceeded your expectations! Hope to have you back again soon!
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Awesome time at Pura Vida

  • 5 of 5

We had a perfect stay at Pura Vida during the time of Jeep Go Topless event at the house. We had plenty of room for everyone since we only had seven including the dog of course. Which being dog friendly is awesome. Plus the fenced in back yard and giving the dog the ability access the top and porch and yard all enclosed made it easier for bathroom trips. The house is even better in person then the pictures show. The house really has everything you need for your stay....I mean everything. The amenities at the house really made it easy to stay a week. Only wish we stayed longer. Traci was wonderful to work with and made sure we were comfortable and had everything we needed. We only wish we rented the golf cart.

We will book this house again!!!

  • Submitted: May 24, 2017
  • Stayed: May 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are glad that you and your fur baby had a great time. Glad we had everything you needed and we look forward to hosting you again soon!
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Pet Fee $25 + Tax
PropertyDamageInsurance $59 + Tax
Cleaning/Sanitation fee $275 + Tax
Tax Rate 6.0%

Holidays and special events elevated rates. We have a brand new 6 seat Club Cart (golf cart) for rent with a 2 day min.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 14 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.

You might like these similar properties