Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Tranquil Condo with the Beach as your Backyard

Sleeps8
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms2
Space 1,049 sq. ft.
Property type condo
Minimum Stay 2 nights

Overview

About the property

2 Br/2 Ba Second Floor Beachfront Condo With Direct Beach Access And Gulf View

Welcome to the sparkling beaches of Destin, Florida which are second to none and where you'll find the honey-charm of the old South. What makes our place appealing is being able to walk out the door and to the shore, just as if you walked out your door to pick up a newspaper dropped in your driveway. When you hit the beach in the morning, if someone gets hungry or has to go to the bathroom, it's not a big trek -- it's not even a small trek...it's 60 seconds to walk from door to shore. It's that close.

Our complex was one of the first designed here, and as such was thoughtfully laid-out, with the visitor, not the developer in mind. We are not a densely populated high-rise where in high season visitors may be 4 cabana rows from the shore. You have a lovely balcony view, direct beach access, no road to cross, no waiting for an elevator. You're there. The Silver Dunes beach is private for the enjoyment of guests staying at the property. We have lived in the Destin area since 1967 and have watched it grow, from the 1st resort built to the 500th. Travelers may inquire about dates/pricing/booking on VRBO. You pay the VRBO service fee on line BUT you MUST call the owner make your final booking arrangements. We run your final booking through our condo complex. For questions feel free to call the owner.

What also makes our place distinctive is the landscaped courtyard. This expansive green lawn runs the center of the property from the pool to the beach enabling you to get from door to shore without shoes. In the late afternoon hours the grass is cool and you will find welcome shade from the hot setting sun of summer. It's perfect for a game of pick-up frisbee. From the balcony, you have a tranquil view of the gulf and dunes. If you have kids, you can watch them play on the lawn or in the pool. Here, your morning cup of coffee or your glass of wine at dusk, accompanied by the sound of the surf and the caress of the breeze, will, no doubt, become your favorite spot.

Inside is casually furnished with a new sofa and pair of matching cushioned chairs, plus a new glass-top dining table fashioned from bamboo which seats six. The efficient kitchen is bright white. The common areas are tiled and the bedrooms have new plank flooring.

There are 2 bedrooms and 2 bathrooms. The master bedroom has a king-sized bed, en-suite bathroom with walk-in shower, spacious closet, dresser, end tables, a flat screen TV, and ceiling fan. The second bedroom has 2 full-sized beds, spacious closet, dresser, end table, ceiling fan and a flat screen TV as well. The 2nd bathroom with tub and shower combination is off the short hall next to the bedrooms. The new living room sofa sleeps two.

The kitchen is fully equipped with appliances: oven, stove, microwave, refrigerator, dishwasher, cooking utensils, coffee-maker, tea kettle, toaster, blender, cookware, dishes, glasses, flatware, and a counter top/bar with 2 accompanying counter stools. Other amenities include: WiFi, internet, (printer is available at reception), DVD player, living room large screen cable TV, central air and ceiling fan, laundry (onsite), tennis court, BBQ grills (courtyard area), game room, shuffleboard, and fitness room. Towels and linens are provided and towel exchange is offered daily. Maid service can be arranged for long-term renters.

There is also stuff to do! Snorkel with sting rays at The Gulfarium Marine Adventure Park, Deep Sea Fish, take a Dolphin Cruise, Paddle board, Jetski, Parasail, Snuba, explore Henderson Beach State Park Nature Trail (eco-tourism), visit the Destin Fishing Museum, the USAF Armament Museum, and either a 12 minute walk (our preference) or a 3 minute drive will bring you to Big Kahuna's Water Park (summer season only). Winter is an excellent time to tee off. We have several very fine golf courses in Destin: Emerald Bay, Indian Bayou, Kelly Plantation, Regatta Bay and located on the mainland, Windswept Dunes Golf Club, in Freeport.

The Track Recreation Center offers bumper boats, go-kart racing, a large arcade, and miniature golf. Baytowne Wharf is a lively tourist village with eateries, street performers, a ropes course, zipline, laser tag, and nightclubs. Or stroll Destin's Harbor Walk, originally and still, our fishermen's marina and where there are many watersports outfitters, an art and wine festival, a mirror maze, and fireworks every Thursday night in summer.

There are numerous restaurants everywhere specializing in market-priced local fare, haut-cuisine, and comfort food at familiar chain establishments. Do be sure to try the Amberjack (blackened) and the Grouper (prepared any way). And the secret is out on crab claws, so if you can find them....delicious! You can also find good, live music nightly.

A bountiful supermarket is just up the road less than a 1/2 mile West and should you like outlet shopping -- a plethora of designer shops is 4 miles East (Silver Sands Outlet, Destin Commons). In both directions there are local novelty, art and souvenir retailers carrying the coolest swim attire outside California.

List:

On the beach/direct access

2 BR/2 BA (1 king bed, 2 full beds)

2nd floor balcony w/ side view of beach and pool (includes patio table and chairs for dining) (our favorite place for dinner!)

Fully equipped kitchen

HD flat screen TVs with cable/DVD player

Internet

BBQ area with patio seating

Pool (heated off-season), kiddie pool

Game room

Fitness room

Tennis court

Daily linen and towel exchange

Beach chair and cabana service (separate charge)

Volleyball (seasonal)

Laundry (onsite)

Gated resort/parking

No-smoking, no pets

Attractions:

Gulfarium Marine Adventure Park

Charter Fishing

Dolphin Cruises

Snorkeling

Snuba

Paddle boarding

Jet skiing

Para sailing

Big Kahuna's Water Park (summer season only)

Golfing and more

**Be sure to pick up attraction and activity brochures at reception for current discounts.**

More Details

Property Manager
Margo
Member since: 2015
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
October 22, 2017

About Margo

Since 1967 we have lived in the Destin/Fort Walton Beach area. We grew up here. Our parents bought this condo when it was among the very first developments on the beach. It has stood the test of time and remains a Destin treasure. Our grounds maintenance crew, housekeeping staff (overseen by Betty), and our beach service 'guy', George, have been with us for 30 years. They have taken care of us and will take care of you.

Margo purchased this condo in 1972

Why Margo chose Florida North West

There is simply no other property designed with the same sense of space and accessibility to the beach as Silver Dunes. Staying here is like having the beach in your backyard.

What makes this condo unique

Direct accessiblity to the beach and the courtyard lawn make Silver Dunes special. Stretching the interior of the complex from the pool to the beach is an open, green expanse. This beautiful feature lends grace and intimacy to the complex (even with children!) and it is truly one of a kind. Your balcony overlooks this landscape and you have a view of both the sea and pool. We love the tranquility, the privacy and the personableness that this place affords.

Want to be the only person strolling the shore at sunrise, in barefeet and bathrobe? You're there. Care to follow the moonlight with warm waters lapping at your toes? You're there.

Or perhaps the most beautiful thing about the place, before and after a glorious, hot-baked day on the beach, is sitting out on the balcony. As you prepare for the day or rest there after it, we're sure the muffled surf, the muted caws of the gulls, the shimmer of the sun on the water, the caress of the breeze will nourish you, as it does us, with moments of peace and paradise.

Guestbook comments from the manager

The beach is beautiful and isn't too crowded. I spent a lot of time in the pool as well. I'm European, have never been to Florida before, and was told that it would be very hot in August. Oh yes! I was getting sunburned and had to escape the heat and sun indoors, but that is blissful too, just to listen to the waves and feel the breeze on the balcony.



One night we ordered in pizza (thank you for the recommendation), invited friends and had an impromtu game night -- this seems to be an American family pastime. There were 10 - 12 of us and still there was plenty of room with people out on the balcony and others of us played a fun board game at the dining room table -- which had chairs on wheels. Now I understand this! Clever.



The weather was sunny every day. The condo unit is nice, clean and tidy. We have great memories of Florida, USA and want to come back. Someday we will!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Aug 2011
  • 1 of 1

Amenities

Destin Condo Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • condo
  • floor 2
Building Type:
  • building
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1049 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 3:00 PM
  • /
  • Check-out: 10:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 8
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Pets not allowed
  • Non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Beach View ...
  • Beachfront ...
  • Ocean View ...
  • Oceanfront ...
  • Resort ...
  • Water View ...
  • Waterfront ...
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Elevator
  • Fitness Room / Equipment ...
  • Heating ...
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 8 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 2 - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower , Ensuite to master bedroom.
  • There are two bathrooms. One is a walk-in shower en-suite to the master bedroom. The other is a shower/tub combination off the short hall next to the 2nd bedroom.
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Bedroom 2 - 2 double
    Bedroom 1 - 1 king
Entertainment:
  • Books ...
  • DVD Player
  • Game Room ...
  • Games ...
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television ...
  • Video Library ...
Outside:
  • Balcony ...
  • Bicycles ...
  • Boat ...
  • Golf ...
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Tennis ...
  • Water Sports Gear ...
  • 1 bicycles
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Heated Pool
  • Private Pool ...
Onsite Services:
  • Staff
Attractions:
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • festivals
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • marina
  • museums
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • ruins
  • theme parks
  • water parks
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • horseshoes
  • miniature golf
  • outlet shopping
  • paddle boating
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • shuffleboard
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • golf
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • parasailing
  • pier fishing
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • skiing
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • sound/bay fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • water tubing
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
Volleyball in season. Senior Aqua Aerobics Jan - Mid March.

Reviews

Wonderful! 4.8/5 -
(26 traveler reviews)

84% Complete
15% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
Tranquil Condo with the Beach as your Backyard
average rating of 4.8461537 based on 27 reviews
5

Great family friendly environment!

  • 5 of 5

The accommodations were clean, and the furnishings were new. The staff were professional and accommodating. The pool was clean and much enjoyed by the children. The beach was terrific. No complaints. Will rent again in the future.

  • Submitted: Jun 1, 2017
  • Stayed: May 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Becky, Thank you it was wonderful to have you stay with us. Glad you enjoyed everything. Looking forward to you staying with us again. Margo
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
St. Louis, MO
4

Silver Dunes

  • 4 of 5

I would give Silver Dunes 3 - 4 stars. We were not told the pool would be closed here and there while we were there for HOA parties and painting. Also we were not informed some

Areas would be under construction which made It difficult to walk to the beach since we had to walk all the way around. We still had fun but it would have been nice to know this would be happening during our stay.

  • Submitted: Oct 3, 2017
  • Stayed: Sep 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Dear Anonymous, As I mentioned to you on the phone before this posting I was extremely sorry that I did not know about this situation to let you know ahead of time. I know that buildings need to make repairs and updates to keep things nice and functional and there is never a good time for that. As for the pool being closed, again I apologize I do know that they closed it on that Friday night so the homeowners would have a place to meet. I hope that you will come back in the future and give us another try and I will make every effort to make sure that no repairs are being done on the property at that time. Sincere apologies, Margo
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Great Value! Great Service!

  • 5 of 5

My family and I really enjoyed Silver Dunes. The beach was great, the pool was nice. The room was clean and well taken care of. The owners and office were very nice and helpful. Overall it was a great value and I would go again and recommend to friends. One thing to note is to bring your own supplies not everything is provided, paper towels/shampoo/beach towels. I did not need them to provide these things but it would've been nice to know upfront.

  • Submitted: Aug 8, 2017
  • Stayed: Aug 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Alexandra, We are glad that you enjoyed your stay. I try to cover everything when I speak to potential renters but sometimes I forget. I think everything is listed in the description section but I will have to check that. As for beach towels and such we used to supply them and they would disappear and not be there the for the next guest so we stopped doing that. I am sorry if that caused you any inconvenience. We do hope you come again. Margo
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Great

  • 5 of 5

Property was great. Beachfront was awesome The king bed in our room was awful . The condo was very adequate

  • Submitted: Aug 3, 2017
  • Stayed: Jul 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: John, I hope you enjoyed your vacation time with your family? I apologize that you did not like the king bed. I will have it checked out but no one has ever mentioned it before. Thank you for your comments. Margo
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Awesome!

  • 5 of 5

Beautifully decorated condo with everything you need for a family get-away! You can see the beach from the balcony or watch the children in the pool. Love the grass area where the children can play. Very clean and beds were comfortable. We purchased chairs for the beach and it was great to be able to have shade while enjoying the waves. This condo is on the second floor but they have an elevator so no problem. I would recommend this condo and plan to go back again in the near future!

  • Submitted: Jun 29, 2017
  • Stayed: Jun 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for the review and mostly for renting from us and enjoying your visit! We are so glad you want to come back and hope others do as well. Thank you, Margo
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Carnes, Mississippi
5

Newly furnished, clean, great sevice

  • 5 of 5

This condo was great! Walk in to a beach theme just awesome! Beach is right there and the beach device by Mr George is the best I have ever had! Definitely will be booking again!

  • Submitted: Jun 25, 2017
  • Stayed: Jun 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: So glad you found our unit to your liking and we hope everyone that rents from us feels this way. We strive to make it as comfortable for everyone as we can. Yes, George at the beach service is great and a wealth of local knowledge. We hope you rent from us again soon. Thank you, Margo
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Nearest Airport
18 Miles
Northwest Florida Regional Airport (VPS)
Nearest Golf
1.5 Miles
Indian Bayou Golf Club
Car: recommended

Relax and revitalize with the sound of the surf, the warmth of the sun, a steady breeze from the sea, and the softest, finest white sand beaches in North America. But, if that is not enough, you can experience: The Gulfarium Marine Adventure Park, (Dolphin and Sting Ray encounters!), Deep Sea Fishing, Dolphin cruises, Paddle boarding, Jet skiing, Para sailing, Snorkeling, Henderson Beach State Park Nature Trail and Boardwalk, Destin Fishing Museum, USAF Armament Museum, (thank them for their service!), Big Kahuna's Water Park (summer season only), The Track Recreation Center, Geo-caching and more.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning fee $65
Tax Rate 11.0%

Check in at 3 p.m., check out 10 a.m. Let us know in advance if you will be arriving after 4:30 p.m, as property office closes at 4:30 p.m. daily. Turnover is Saturday or Sunday. Please call Margo if your travel/vacation dates fall mid-week, or you require a shorter stay.

Our unit is distinctly furnished & decorated. We appreciate your caring for it as you would your own home. Unit is professionally cleaned after each guest, which is included in the rental rate. Upon check out, unit is inspected, if damage has occurred above normal wear & tear or a deep clean is required due to excessive soiling, renter will be charged accordingly. Beach service (chairs, cabanas and umbrellas) are a separate charge and can be arranged upon arrival with George (on the beach) or at reception. We regret that we do not rent to adults under the age of 25.

Manager's Cancellation Policy

  • Canceled bookings will not receive a refund

You might like these similar properties