Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

County Cottage- Close To Fairhope, Gulf Shores, Orange Beach & Foley

Sleeps7
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms2
Space 1,500 sq. ft.
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 nights

Overview

About the property

3 BR 2 bath country home offering peace and serenity on 4 acres of land

This is a secluded quaint Country Cottage on 4 acres of farm land with beautiful shade trees. As soon as you drive up the driveway, you will feel the peace and serenity of this incredible property.

The house has 3 bedrooms (King, Queen & 2 Twins) and 2 full baths. (one person can sleep on the sofa if you have 7 in your party) This old 1936 home offers the quiet serenity of a country farm that as been remodeled and furnished professionally for comfort with all of the modern conveniences of a luxury home. All new furniture & mattresses. New washer and dryer also!

The huge back porch faces a vastness of property which claims plots for many species of trees, including multiple pecan trees and an 85’ tall Laurel Oak estimated to be around 150 years old!

Although it’s in the country, it’s just minutes away from groceries and shopping in several town centers. Just a quick 9 miles to the Bay in Fairhope and 30 minutes to the beautiful public beach area in Gulf Shores! A wonderful causal 'cajun cuisine restaurant is minutes away in nearby Silverhill.

Surrounded by nature, this is the perfect location for nature walks and relaxation.

Come and be with nature, while relieving stress and worries for a while. On a full moon night enjoy star gazing opportunities with a natural evening night show!

Dining area has seating for 8 people.

The appliances include an electric stove/range, microwave, refrigerator, dishwasher, washer, dryer and central heating/cooling.

There are 3 TVs with extended satellite channels. The Living Room has a Smart TV and the Master Bedroom has a BluRay player.

More Details

Owner
June Jackson
Member since: 2013
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
December 5, 2017

About June Jackson

Owner Ricky and friend June (Ocean House VRBO 497794) manage this property.

Ricky writes: Born and raised in the deep south of Louisiana where it was thought the world began, I then ventured to other coastal lands to experience the history and archeological stories of these regions. At Summerdale Farm, I hope that you experience this microcosm with feelings of small wonder as I do every time stepping on this property. This place assumes antiquated, for example a Laural Oak estimated to be about 150 years old stands majestically in the back quarter. We hope you enjoy your stay and please leave feedback or suggestions for a better stay next time you come for a visit! Thanks--Ricky

June Jackson purchased this house in 2014

Why June Jackson chose Summerdale

I dreamed of a retirement home that was just like my days of youth in southwest Louisiana: Farm land, pecan trees, and wooded areas. On our way to the "Frog Pond"* one autumn Sunday afternoon, we saw a hand written "For Sale" sign in the ditch along side the County Road 55. As we drove up the secluded driveway I remember saying, "This is it!" My dream home from the past. Since I'm not quit ready for full retirement, VRBO was started to share my passion with vacationers until that day for me has come. My wish is that you all enjoy this property as I do every time I visit! Ricky

What makes this house unique

*Only 4 miles from the infamous FROG POND where seasonal outdoor concerts are a unique musical experience with friendly locals and vacationers alike to enjoy Sunday afternoon treats. Pot luck style party--you should bring your folding chairs, (sun screen / bug repellant if needed) and refreshments to have a truly unique enjoyment!! We very much love going to these when we're here visiting!!!

Thanks--Ricky

Map

Nearest Airport
46 Miles
Mobile Regional Airport (MOB)
Nearest Restaurant
6 Miles
Cafe' Acadiana
Nearest Beach
18 Miles
Gulf Shores Beaches
Car: recommended

Cafe' Acadiana is just a short drive (north on CR 55) to a beautiful quaint town called Silverhill. We highly recommend checking this place out if you want to experience great 'cajun dining from a Louisiana native chef that found his way to Baldwin County, Alabama! A causal setting where you can bring your own wine or other adult beverages. Open daily except Sundays.

Amenities

Summerdale House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Housekeeping:
  • Housekeeper Included
Floor Area:
  • 1500 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 3:00 PM / Check-out: 11:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 7
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • Events Allowed
  • children welcome
  • pets not allowed ...
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Rural
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace
  • Garage ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Room
  • seating for 8 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 2 - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 7
  • Master Bedroom - 1 king
    Guest Bedroom - 1 queen
    Bedroom 3 - 2 twin/ single
Entertainment:
  • Books ...
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television ...
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill ...
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Attractions:
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • festivals
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • marina
  • restaurants
  • theme parks
  • water parks
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • outlet shopping
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing

Reviews

Wonderful! 4.8/5 -
(36 traveler reviews)

86% Complete
11% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
2% Complete
County Cottage- Close To Fairhope, Gulf Shores, Orange Beach & Foley
average rating of 4.7777777 based on 36 reviews
5

Lovely!

  • 5 of 5

I was sipping my coffee on our back porch this morning and missing our time here. This cottage is a short drive between Gulf Shore beach and Fairhope. We've never been in the area, but we knew we wanted something secluded which would also give easy access to tourist areas. This fit the bill! It's beautifully restored, has all the upgrades and amenities, and my teenage girls and their friends thought the turkeys were a trip. We loved our time here.

  • Submitted: Jul 24, 2017
  • Stayed: July 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Beach Trip with the Grandbuddys

  • 5 of 5

Hosts are timely, polite, and accurate in their communications. The farm house is very comfortable and peaceful. The perfect distance from the beach and all of its activities. Big yard for the grandkids to run in and kid friendly TV. Dinner table big enough for 6 or 7. Back porch is set up very nice. The kitchen has a small "breakfast nook" that is great for early risers to enjoy their morning coffee. Dollar General is 3 miles away. This was the perfect setup for us. Did I mention the hosts were excellent to deal with? We will be back.

  • Submitted: Jul 15, 2017
  • Stayed: July 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Amazing cottage home.

  • 5 of 5

It was an amazing home to be at for our week vacation. We were in town to visit family which they lived a few minutes away so it made it very convenient. The kitchen utensils were very useful when it came to cooking, all appliances in working condition except the dishwasher which wouldnt lock in use, all rooms are clean and organized, and property had great privacy. The location was as expected away from the tourism and just 5-10 mins from grocery stores. Also about 20-30 mins to the beach and attractions. It surely felt like home walking thru the doors.

  • Submitted: Jun 27, 2017
  • Stayed: June 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Perfect family getaway with country charm, modern comfort, and nearby attractions

  • 5 of 5

The cottage was charming, cozy, and clean. It had everything we needed. The kids had their own room, my mother had her own room and bathroom, and we had our own room and bathroom. The kitchen was well equipped for making meals and the back porch was a perfect place to enjoy the natural beauty of the property. The washer and dryer made it easy for us to keep up with laundry. The whole property was great, inside and out! We would definitely stay here again or recommend it to friends visiting the area. Thank you!

  • Submitted: Jun 11, 2017
  • Stayed: June 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Searcy, AR
5

Perfect!

  • 5 of 5

My daughter and some friends stayed at this house and their words were "It's Perfect!". They loved being close enough to go to the Hangout Festival, but far away from the "chaos". It was peaceful and beautiful. Everything was clean. They thoroughly enjoyed their stay!

  • Submitted: May 29, 2017
  • Stayed: May 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
1

Not clean and had Pest control problems. Owner was nice and said he is going to take care of issues

  • 1 of 5

The house was nice but not clean. The smell when we walked in was bad. Owner needs to hire new cleaning lady and change his Pest control company. We arrived late with our daughter, her husband ,and our two grandchildren. We had to go to Wal-Mart and purchase cleaning supplies because the place was so sorry that we didn't want the children playing on floors. Upon mopping with swiffer, we realized there were rat droppings every where. We couldn't find another rental without carpet at that time of night so we were stuck there. We cut our trip short and left early. The owner was very nice and just needs to hire some one else to clean and change his Pest control company. The place would then be a great place to stay if he will do so. We are still waiting to get confirmation on any refund at all but hopefully they will do the right thing

  • Submitted: May 8, 2017
  • Stayed: May 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: It seemed like this guest had unrealistic expectations for their visit to the country. Country living is quite a bit different from staying in a plush hotel in town and this house is definitely in the country. We have been renting this house out for 3 years and have never had the complaints that this guest had. This guest started complaining as soon as they arrived and we ended up refunding the cleaning fee as well as the cost of one night to the guest. The property had been inspected prior to their arrival and it was inspected after their departure. We never saw anything on either inspection that stood out as a major issue. They weren’t used to seeing ant beds and stickers in the yard. This property wasn’t right for them. We have a professional pest control company that comes out regularly to take care of any unwanted pests such as mice and snakes etc. but this guest was bothered by a couple of small ant beds….. they may have been better off in a condo with a concrete parking lot.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $150
Cleaning $90 + Tax
Tax Rate 9.0%

Your Damage Deposit will be refunded 7 days after check-out. It could take an additional week to show up in your account.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 14 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.