Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

County Cottage- Close To Fairhope, Gulf Shores, Orange Beach & Foley

Sleeps7
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms2
Space 1,500 sq. ft.
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 nights

Overview

About the property

3 BR 2 bath country home offering peace and serenity on 4 acres of land

This is a secluded quaint Country Cottage on 4 acres of a working farm land with beautiful shade trees. As soon as you drive up the driveway, you will feel the peace and serenity of this incredible property.

The house has 3 bedrooms (King, Queen & 2 Twins) and 2 full baths. This old 1936 home offers the quiet serenity of a country farm that as been remodeled and furnished professionally for comfort with all of the modern conveniences of a luxury home. All new furniture & mattresses. New washer and dryer also!

The huge back porch faces a vastness of property which claims plots for many species of trees, including multiple pecan trees and an 85’ tall Laurel Oak estimated to be around 150 years old!

Although it’s in the country, it’s just minutes away from groceries and shopping in several town centers. Just a quick 9 miles to the Bay in Fairhope and 30 minutes to the beautiful public beach area in Gulf Shores! A wonderful causal 'cajun cuisine restaurant is minutes away in nearby Silverhill.

Surrounded by nature, this is the perfect location for nature walks and relaxation.

This is a working farm with friendly turkeys and chickens that will entertain you with their shenanigans! Fruit trees and vegetable gardens abound.

Come and be with nature, while relieving stress and worries for a while. On a full moon night enjoy star gazing opportunities with a natural evening night show!

Dining area has seating for 6 people.

The appliances include an electric stove/range, microwave, refrigerator, dishwasher, washer, dryer and central heating/cooling.

There are 3 TVs with extended satellite channels. The Living Room has a BluRay player and the Master Bedroom has a smart TV.

More Details

Owner
June Jackson
Member since: 2013
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
May 28, 2017

About June Jackson

Owner Ricky and friend June (Ocean House VRBO 497794) manage this property.

Ricky writes: Born and raised in the deep south of Louisiana where it was thought the world began, I then ventured to other coastal lands to experience the history and archeological stories of these regions. At Summerdale Farm, I hope that you experience this microcosm with feelings of small wonder as I do every time stepping on this property. This place assumes antiquated, for example a Laural Oak estimated to be about 150 years old stands majestically in the back quarter. We hope you enjoy your stay and please leave feedback or suggestions for a better stay next time you come for a visit! Thanks--Ricky

June Jackson purchased this house in 2014

Why June Jackson chose Alabama

I dreamed of a retirement home that was just like my days of youth in southwest Louisiana: Farm land, pecan trees, wooded areas and animals about. On our way to the "Frog Pond"* one autumn Sunday afternoon, seen was this hand written "For Sale" sign in the ditch along side the County Road 55. As we drove up the secluded driveway I remember saying, "This is it!" My dream home from the past. Since I'm not quit ready for full retirement, VRBO was started to share my passion with vacationers until that day for me has come. My wish is that you all enjoy this property as I do every time I visit! Ricky

What makes this house unique

*Only 4 miles from the infamous FROG POND where seasonal outdoor concerts are a unique musical experience with friendly locals and vacationers alike to enjoy Sunday afternoon treats. Pot luck style party--you should bring your folding chairs, (sun screen / bug repellant if needed) and refreshments to have a truly unique enjoyment!! We very much love going to these when we're here visiting!!!

Thanks--Ricky

Amenities

Summerdale House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Housekeeping:
  • Housekeeper Included
Floor Area:
  • 1500 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 7
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed ...
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • Events Allowed
  • children welcome
Location Type:
  • Rural
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace
  • Garage ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Room
  • seating for 8 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 2 - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 7
  • Master Bedroom - 1 king
    Guest Bedroom - 1 queen
    Bedroom 3 - 2 twin/ single
Entertainment:
  • Books ...
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television ...
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill ...
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Attractions:
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • festivals
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • marina
  • restaurants
  • theme parks
  • water parks
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • outlet shopping
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing

Reviews

Excellent! 4.7/5 -
(31 traveler reviews)

County Cottage- Close To Fairhope, Gulf Shores, Orange Beach & Foley
average rating of 4.7419353 based on 31 reviews
1

Not clean and had Pest control problems. Owner was nice and said he is going to take care of issues

  • 1 of 5

The house was nice but not clean. The smell when we walked in was bad. Owner needs to hire new cleaning lady and change his Pest control company. We arrived late with our daughter, her husband ,and our two grandchildren. We had to go to Wal-Mart and purchase cleaning supplies because the place was so sorry that we didn't want the children playing on floors. Upon mopping with swiffer, we realized there were rat droppings every where. We couldn't find another rental without carpet at that time of night so we were stuck there. We cut our trip short and left early. The owner was very nice and just needs to hire some one else to clean and change his Pest control company. The place would then be a great place to stay if he will do so. We are still waiting to get confirmation on any refund at all but hopefully they will do the right thing

  • Submitted: May 8, 2017
  • Stayed: May 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: It seemed like this guest had unrealistic expectations for their visit to the country. Country living is quite a bit different from staying in a plush hotel in town and this house is definitely in the country. We have been renting this house out for 3 years and have never had the complaints that this guest had. This guest started complaining as soon as they arrived and we ended up refunding the cleaning fee as well as the cost of one night to the guest. The property had been inspected prior to their arrival and it was inspected after their departure. We never saw anything on either inspection that stood out as a major issue. They weren’t used to seeing ant beds and stickers in the yard. This property wasn’t right for them. We have a professional pest control company that comes out regularly to take care of any unwanted pests such as mice and snakes etc. but this guest was bothered by a couple of small ant beds….. they may have been better off in a condo with a concrete parking lot.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Atlanta, GA
5

Old-timey and sweet -- comfortable too!

  • 5 of 5

We booked the Country Cottage for an employee and his family of six and they loved every minute! With five kids, their four days in the private country setting was just what they needed for a well-deserved weekend break. Chickens and turkeys to watch and a shady yard with plenty of room to run around. The beach is only twenty minutes away and the kids enjoyed Alligator Alley and the Battleship Alabama. All in all, a great little getaway if you're looking for a quiet retreat, but with plenty of things to do close by.

  • Submitted: May 4, 2017
  • Stayed: Apr 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Cozy Cottage

  • 5 of 5

We absolutely loved our stay at Summerdale! It was the perfect place for my little boys to run around and not have to worry about bothering others. They really enjoyed "talking" to the turkeys! The beds were very comfortable and the house was just what we were looking for! Keeping this one saved as a favorite in case we are back in the area again!

  • Submitted: Apr 10, 2017
  • Stayed: Apr 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Wonderful Retreat!

  • 5 of 5

The cottage and grounds were lovely. We went with another couple and the bedroom arrangement was perfect for separation. Both of our BR's had an en suite bathroom (although the master bath also opened to the laundry room). The 3rd BR (which we did not need) had twins in it and no private bath, so if guests were considering this lodging for a 3rd couple, two of the couples would have to share a bath. If visitors are a family with children, this would be no problem at all. Bedding, towels and other provided items were comfortable and clean. The kitchen was well furnished and the dining room had a great table! You can definitely trust the photos of the VRBO site and know that the home is even better in person!

The grounds were lovely--azaleas and other spring flowers in bloom. The turkeys are very friendly and there are also guinea fowl, chickens, and horses on the property. Apparently fresh eggs are often available although we didn't have any.

The location was great to travel to various parts of Baldwin County. Our husbands played golf in Fairhope (Rock Creek Golf Club) and we antiqued and shopped. Good restaurants are not far away--we would highly recommend Jesse's in Magnolia Springs and Big Daddy's in Fairhope--both are only 4-7 miles away and are very good although very different. And don't forget to check out Silverhill Market (gifts & garden) just 5 or so miles north. We bought groceries in Robertsdale just a few miles east of the cottage. As we said, everything was very convenient. One note--the road is quite busy (not noisy at the home, just busy), and you cannot walk along it. That being said, I just wandered around the property for my "exercise" during our stay.

The cottage is a great getaway--off the beaten path, but close to everything you might want to do. We highly recommend it and plan to return!

  • Submitted: Mar 16, 2017
  • Stayed: Mar 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

A Modern Country Cottage!

  • 5 of 5

Our family lived in nearby Fairhope during the early years of our careers. We both grew up in rural areas as well. This was a trip down memory lane for us. The house is a very comfortable 1930s farm house that has been updated It sits on a 4 acre lot so there is plenty of room to walk and look. The neighbors were very quiet so we got plenty of time to talk, read and relax.

The house comes complete with chickens, guinea fowl, and turkeys. The weather was very warm for February and, as everyone knows, a young man's fancy turns to thoughts of love. So it was with the turkeys. They would gobble even for my poor hen calls.

Food was readily available at the nearby Cajun restaurant The blackened shrimp and steak was great and reasonably priced. We also ate at other restaurants in our wondering down memory lane. The Piggly Wiggly on Loxley as small but very adequate. I am a metal detectorist. The house is close to the beach for me yet far enough away to avoid the beach madness.

The house is clean and well stocked with everything we needed except a hair dryer. The WiFi was a little slow (we are heavy internet users) but that forced us to do focus on really important things. Overall this was the best house rental we have ever had and we will return often.

  • Submitted: Feb 28, 2017
  • Stayed: Feb 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Cozy, quaint and wonderful

  • 5 of 5

We absolutely loved our stay at County Cottage! We were visiting family near the cottage and arrived on December 24th after driving for two days. my family called June to decorate the cottage with a tree and other Christmas items to surprise us, and the owners & June gladly let my family decorate it on December 23rd!

The cottage is so cute and fit us perfectly. I love old houses, and the cottage had that rambling feel of old house that had been added onto here and there over time. It was absolutely wonderful! My local family also loved it, and we had Christmas and several gatherings at the cottage which fit our group of about 15 people.

My daughter and I are big animal lovers, so the turkeys, guineafowl and chickens were a highlight for us. There were horses playing in the neighboring field too, including a mini horse. Two of the male turkeys absolutely loved my daughter and I and followed us around everywhere. They were very friendly and we fell in love with our little turkey friends. The chickens gave us eggs regularly, and my daughter loved to go and check for the eggs. She had so much fun with them all!

Thank you for a wonderful location and vacation!

  • Submitted: Jan 9, 2017
  • Stayed: Dec 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Nearest Airport
46 Miles
Mobile Regional Airport (MOB)
Nearest Restaurant
6 Miles
Cafe' Acadiana
Nearest Beach
18 Miles
Gulf Shores Beaches
Car: recommended

Cafe' Acadiana is just a short drive (north on CR 55) to a beautiful quaint town called Silverhill. We highly recommend checking this place out if you want to experience great 'cajun dining from a Louisiana native chef that found his way to Baldwin County, Alabama! A causal setting where you can bring your own wine or other adult beverages. Open daily except Sundays.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Summerdale House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay
$150
$900
$3,300
 

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $150
Cleaning $90 + Tax
Tax Rate 9.0%

Your Damage Deposit will be refunded 7 days after check-out. It could take an additional week to show up in your account.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 14 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.

Enter dates for accurate pricing

Send a Message Send a Message
Available
Unavailable

You might like these similar properties