About the property
- House1800 sq. ft.
- Half Baths0
- Minimum Stay1 - 3 nights
A Pleasant, Well Thought-out Home, On A Hill With Wrap-around Decks and View
The upstairs portion of the house is 2BR/2BA home will comfortably sleep 6 for the rate listed. But if you have a big group we can open up the downstairs to sleep up to 4 more people for an additional $100/night (plus $40 cleaning fee/stay). Great views from the master bedroom, living room, kitchen and large wrap around deck. Plenty of parking, plus an adjacent unbuilt lot with a walking garden. Town is walking distance ... It's about 3/4 of a mile to main street, with its 22 wine tasting rooms, gold-rush-era construction, and quality dining.
Notes on capacity: In addition to the king and queen size beds, there is a couch that pulls out to a queen size bed. There is over-flow space available downstairs for 2-4 more people. It is one big room that has 2 twin beds and full size futon that folds out to a bed. There is a third bathroom downstairs as well that has a bath, toilet and sink (no shower at this time). For larger parties (more than 6) ask owners for more details before booking. There is additional rate for opening the downstairs and an incremental fee for cleaning. The downstairs will remain locked unless special arrangements are made with the owners.
IMPORTANT NOTE: This is a quite neighborhood, and we like to keep it that way. This house is for groups that are going to respect the neighbors and keep the noise level down. If you are looking for a party house, this is not the house for you.
- Response rate:
- Response time:
- within a few hours
- English, Spanish by email only, Spanish
- Calendar last updated:
- May 19, 2018
About Alison Bonfantine
We are 4 good friends who have spent a lot of time traveling together. We've rented a lot of homes in those travels, and know what works and what does not. Two of us live in the Bay Area, and two of us live across the river in Columbia. One of us recently quit her corporate job to pursue a Chef Certificate and work in a winery. We know a few of the local wine makers, so if there's anything extra you need to make your visit to Murphys complete, just let us know.
Alison Bonfantine purchased this House in 2015
Why Alison Bonfantine chose Murphys
We spent so much time in Murphys that we finally decided it was time to buy a house here. We've stayed in several vacation rentals in Muprhys, and when we saw this house, we knew it was for us, and we think you'll love it too. It would be a great home for a couple of couples to spend a weekend, although it will comfortably accommodate more.
What makes this House unique
This home was clearly built with love. Utilizing the best home-builder in the area, this is the home in the neighborhood that everyone asks about. Filled with wood-working details, it sits on a hill overlooking the rest of the neighborhood. From below, it looks like a plantation-style home, from within, it looks like an old-timey gold rush home. On chilly days, you can sit in front of the fire or head to the slopes; on nicer days, you can nap on the hammock on the wrap-around porch, or stroll into town for some wine tasting.
Local Services & Businesses
Sports & Adventure Activities
Not my first rodeo
This was a return visit to Apple Blossom House. It also won't be my last. Love this place!
Great location & beautiful view!
We recently had a family wedding in the area and rented the Apple Blossom house. We could not have been happier with the location. The house had everything we needed. We were a group of 9 and the house was so spacious, we never felt like we were on top of each other. The check in and out process was very easy. Linens were fresh and clean. The weather was hot and humid, but the A/C worked great.
The location was great for us as we had wedding events in Murphy's all weekend. Very quiet neighborhood and beautiful views from the large balcony. Thank you for a great weekend!
Wanted to stay there longer!
We really enjoyed our 5 days at the Apple Blossom House. It's very spacious, comfortable and well stocked. What a great location as a hub for a Gold Rush Country vacation. We day tripped around the area and came home in the late afternoon to relax with a glass of wine on the deck. We spent most of our time out there on the deck. Even ate all of our meals outside. Easy walk to town for morning coffee (try Gold Country Roasters behind Alchemy). Dog friendly dining at Rob's Place and Alchemy was a plus. Will definitely look forward to coming back next year.
The home is beautiful, spacious, comfortable with all the comforts from home and more. The owner was very pleasant to work with and will definitely be renting again!!!
Recommned this house, beautiful!
We loved this house, it was beautifully appointed and the beds were comfortable!
The only reason why it's not 5 stars is b/c it was advertised as having 4 extra beds and Wii but that was all on another floor and locked up when we arrived. I asked for reduction on price, but didn't get a reply . If you have a lot of people in your party w/ many kids, this place is a great deal. But w/ just one couple and a child, it's a bit pricey. The house overall was excellent w/ a beautiful upstairs balcony that has a pleasant view of the neighborhood below. It had a large kitchen that was well stocked w/ basics from past guests. It's only 10 min walking to downtown and in a slower street so it was safe in case our dog rushed away from us. This was a huge benefit. Loved all the antiques and wood inside the house!
I didn't like the antibacterial soaps that are now banned by the FDA that were still in the house, but hopefully after it's all used up, the Manager will not re-stock w/ these toxic pesticide soaps that contain the carcinogen Dioxin, that selects for resistant bacteria, and that do not work better than regular soap according to the FDA. It took over a decade for FDA to act even though researchers had the evidence over 15 years ago.
Thank you so much for your feedback. First off, I am happy to hear that your overall experience at the house was an enjoyable one. We take great pride in ensuring our guests have a comfortable stay. I do want to apologize for any misunderstanding regarding your request for a rate reduction. I was trying to react quickly to all your questions and make sure you were accommodated. Apparently in my scurry to get the house ready so quickly, I missed a few details and overlooked addressing this question. It was not intentional, just honest human error. But to clarify, the rate we had offered you was our discounted midweek rate and it was just for the upstairs which has 2 bedrooms. To rent the whole house there is an additional rate. This is stated at the top of our VRBO description of the house. I wanted to accommodate you the best way I could, given your current situation. I was able to provide you a place to stay within 24 hours and offered your early checkin. Our rates are actually quite competitive in Murphys for the size of house you get. I am sorry, I was not more thoughtful with my response, to make this information more clear. I will be more clear in future correspondence with renters. I do greatly appreciate the feedback on the hand soap. I was unaware of this issue, and will remove this product from the house immediately and start providing an FDA approved hand soap product going forward. Thanks again.
Beautiful home and very clean
I made my reservation at the last minute, owner was very responsive and helpful. Everything went very well arriving and departing. Very clean and everything there you could possibly need to enjoy your stay. I would definitely go back!
One of the owners works at one of the better local wineries, and is a culinary student, and she can arrange a picnic, food pairing or afternoon of bocce on the winery grounds. We can also provide heat-n-serve in-home meals, although there are plenty of great places to eat in town, as well as a large, fully stocked kitchen. Inside the house, you'll find a binder of suggested local activities, wineries, restaurants, etc.
Rates & Availability
Additional information about rental rates
The cancellation fee for cancellations more than 30 days prior to the start of the rental period is 1/2 of the rental cost (does not include insurance/deposit, cleaning and pet fees, or taxes ... just 1/2 of the rental-only amount). The fee for cancellations within 30 days is full rental cost if a subsequent renter cannot be found for the same rental period. Holiday and special event periods to be charged as weekends. 3 night minimum over these periods. Holidays and events weekends are: * President's Day/Valentine's Day/Passport Weekend * Memorial Day * July 4th * Labor Day * Irish Day, Grape Stomp, Day of the Dead * Thanksgiving, Christmas, New Year's Eve Options for Property Damage Protection: You can select the non-refundable $59 fee that will cover you up to $500 in damages. Or you can opt to put a refundable $500 deposit down instead of the $59. To do this just submit your request in email with your request for quote and the owner will modify you quote and send it back promptly.