- french, spanish, portuguese
100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
Avoid this rental
The only positive aspect of this rental are: it’s a very short walk to St Stephan’s park which is quite beautiful.
But that’s all I can say as to positive aspects. From the moment you climb the steps leading to these 2nd and 3rd floor appartements you are struck with the smell of mold. The apartments are quite old, just the kitchens and parts of the bathrooms got a makeover. Since it was stuffy, we opened windows, which in the back open onto exhaust pipes and a roof with actual garbage bags on top, and in the front open up to such a busy street you can’t hear yourself think. The noise goes on to very late. The building next door and the one after look abandoned or taken over by squatters.
My family of 5 decided to leave after the first night and opted for a hotel, which turned out to be a very pleasant alternative and at a better price. These apartments are absolutely no where near worth the price being charged.
Finally, while this rental advertises being spacious enough for 10, I assure you that that is very ambitious.
My kids aren’t particular and even they wanted to leave this place asap.
These apts are on the 1st & 2nd floors. We can not smell any mold. These apts were extensively renovated in Jan 2017 rather than a makeover as u suggest. The back of these apts looks onto roofs of neighboring buildings for sure which have pipes etc. Centrally located rentals tend to not look onto nice landscaped gardens I am afraid.
We could not see any rubbish on any of the roofs(there were renovations in motion next door so what u thought was rubbish may have been building materials.
Triple-glazed windows on the outside and soundproofing windows on the inside of this rental normally keeps noise out. I do appreciate that due to the warm summer that we just experienced(a very rare occurrence in Dublin) that u needed to have the windows open and that outside noise may have been a nuisance.This rental is located in one of the best locations in the city which is fantastic as you can walk everywhere but on the downside, there can be outside noises.
This rental is generally very quiet between the hours of 7pm to 9am Mon to Fri & all day Sat & Sun so I am sorry that u have had this experience.
The building next door is in the planning stage of redevelopment & not abandoned as u suggest, I would love to have the street that these apts are located on look pristine and beautiful all the time but I have no control of neigbouring properties I am afraid.
This rental can easily host up to 10 guests, these apts are compact for sure but with two kitchens and two bathrooms on two different floors, our previous guests have been happy with space.
Paola, I believe you may have booked the incorrect type of accommodation for you and your family. I manage numerous rentals some with landscaped gardens in very quiet neighborhoods that are within 15 minutes of the city which u could have booked instead of this rental. I am at loss as to why u only emailed me at 10pm on your 2nd night of a 3-night stay to say u were moving out with no explanation. I emailed u straight back to see what the issues were to which I received no reply. You, of course, are entitled to give feedback but if I was given the opportunity I could have moved u & your family during your stay to an alternative rental. Maybe the next time u book accommodation u may need to do more research or ask your host questions concerning the rental and its location.
If your requirement was for no noise outside at any time then I would have suggested you alternative rentals.
All the best and take care Simon
Fantastic location, excellent host, loved our stay here and would highly recommend Simon as host
We had an amazing stay in Dublin and loved experiencing the city with our adult children! Simon was very responsive and took care of everything with respect to the apartments, but also offered lots of advice on what to see and do while in Dublin. We loved the authentic city experience that this walk-up apt provided and especially loved how we had separate units for ourselves and our kids. We would highly recommend Simon and this rental property and look forward to our next visit to Ireland!
Very clean. Very nice bedding. Very easy to work with.
It was a great location. Simon and Febe were very accommodating. They gave us great information as to where to visit with detailed websites.
I would definitely stay again. 10+
Thank You again,
Fantastic accommodation. Fantastic Location. Fantastic host. What more can you say!
Like another reviewer, we had nine adults staying in the two apartments and I would highly recommend these apartments for a group of our size. The location cannot be beaten, just the other side of St Stephen's Green from Grafton St. Both the host and house manager was prompt and attentive.
A few things though:
1- Be sure that you understand how to use the combo washer / dryer if you haven't used one before. We hadn't and we didn't ask enough questions. Ask the house manager how to use them.
2- I am an early riser -- the coffee / bagel shop across the street doesn't always open super early so do yourself a favor and visit the SPAR grocery that's a short walk away, or even better head down to Beanhive for the best coffee around (Dawson St)
3- The location cannot be beaten. It seemed like we were walking distance from everything we wanted to see.
4- Beds were very comfortable. The foldaway Sofas do pull out, however they are very, very firm so we just added a doona underneath the sheet.
5- Just one warning (although Simon did warn us of this) is the diabolical parking. There is no free parking for miles. We had to park at Drumcondra near the Tolka House Pub and catch the bus back across from the Botanic Gardens.
Thanks to our host for an absolutely wonderful stay!!
Great accomodations, great location!
We had nine adults staying in the two apartments and I would highly recommend these apartments for a group of our size. The location cannot be beat and the house manager was prompt and attentive.
A couple of notes:
1- be sure that you understand how to use the combo washer / dryer if you haven't used one before. We hadn't and we didn't ask enough questions. I brought Tide pods to make my life easier but detergent was provided.
2- we are all early risers -- the coffee / bagel shop across the street doesn't always open super early so do yourself a favor and visit the SPAR grocery that's a short walk away, or Gerardo's downstairs, and have some coffee and breakfast items ready if you have early morning excursions. Both apartments have coffee makers & toasters (which is also a great way to save $$ for more important things).
3- location cannot be beat. It seemed like we were walking distance from everything we wanted to see.
4- beds were very comfortable (including the foldaway bed). Sofas do pull out but we only had one person on each so they didn't bother with pulling them out.
5- airport transportation - the 700 bus stop is less than a minute from the apartments and is very economical; 8.50 euros gets you to & from the airport. Super convenient.
Thanks to our host for an absolutely wonderful stay!!
Leeson Street Apartments
In general we enjoyed our stay and were happy with the amenities and location of the two apartments.
1) There were not enough towels provided when we arrived.
2) No bed in Apartment 1 was king size as advertised.
3) Hot water was not working in Apartment 2 when we arrived. Hot water was not available in both apartments a few times during our stay. Instructions or the hot water system would have helped.
4) Instructions for operating the washer dryer would have helped.
5) Music from the bars on the street lasted until 2 AM sometimes. A business across the street received deliveries and distributed merchandise about 4 AM. We had to keep the windows open because of the unusual hot weather.
Thank you for your review and feedback.
I am happy that you enjoyed the rental and its location in general.
Concerning your feedback I would like to respond to these issues as follows:
The number of towels that is provided is sent to you in an email prior to your arrival, there were enough towels for the number of guests but you had requested more which was not a problem. As soon as you requested more towels we delivered more without delay.
I am sorry to hear that you had issues with the hot water during your stay. I have asked my house manager and she has said that she made you aware of the booster button that can be switched on when hot water runs low.
Depending on the number of guests staying in this rental and the frequency of showers sometimes the booster button needs to be used.
The bed is not a king size in apartment 1 and on this website it notes that it is not but in other correspondence that I sent to you it suggested that it is, I have now updated all my marketing material to clarify the types of beds in this rental.
We do show all the guests how to use the washer/dryer upon check-in, however, I do appreciate like the hot water if there was a manual on how these things worked it would be much better, I am in the process of implementing this at present.
This rental has triple glazed windows on the outside and soundproofing windows on the inside of this rental which normally keeps out all outside noise, however, I do appreciate that due to the very warm summer that we just experienced(very rare occurrence) that you needed to have the windows open and that outside noise may have been a nuisance.
This rental is located in one of the best locations in the city which is fantastic as you can walk everywhere but on the downside, there can be outside noises.
The area that this rental is located in is generally very quiet so I am sorry that you have had this experience.
As you can see from my past reviews noise has not been an issue so it is unfortunate that you experienced this.
Thank you once again for your valuable feedback as this is the only way my team and I can improve our offering and make the guest experience the best it can be.
All the best and take care.
These 1st and 2nd-floor apartments are in the Leeson Street area of the city, are a 5-minute walk to Grafton Street(Dublin's premier shopping and entertaining district).
St,Stephens Green public park(9 hectares/22 acres) is only a 1 minute walk from this rental and here you will find well-maintained grounds with a lake, a playground, lunchtime concerts during the summer months and plenty of benches and the like to sit, relax and gather your thoughts and watch the world go by!
As this property is so close to the most vibrant part of Dublin for shopping and nightlife, taxi's will not be necessary for the duration of your trip.
You won't beat the location of this rental, one of the best locations in the city!