Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

White water ocean view.

Bedrooms 1
Property type condo
Minimum Stay 3 nights


About the property

Condo, 1 Bedroom, 1 Bath, Sleeps 2

We are located in Princeville, Kauai on a beautifully manicured grass knoll with views of the ocean from the lanai, living room and bedroom. Just steps away is a trail that leads to your own secluded cove. This is the perfect place to relax in the sun and snorkel along an awesome coral reef teeming with many colorful tropical fish native to the islands. Are you a golfer? The Prince and the Makai are two exciting golf courses that surround our location. Return to the condo and prepare your meals in our well equipped kitchen or if you choose, dine out at one of the many restaurants in the area. At night fall asleep to the soothing sounds of the waves breaking on the shore. In the winter season, late December thru March, watch the whales migrate right in front of our place. Paradise is closer than you think. Come visit Kauai soon.

Keywords: Condominium

More Details

Jim Grindle
Member since: 2001
Premier Partner

This VRBO partner has demonstrated and is committed to fast response times, the best rates, and a great guest experience.

Speaks: english
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
March 10, 2018

About Jim Grindle

Hi, We are the Grindle's. Jim, not pictured, Ricki and our daughter Jaimi are the owners of our Princeville condo. While Jaimi was studying to become a Nurse she lived in the condo we now own. As parents we could not believe she lived in such a wonderful area as Princeville right on the ocean. One day she called and told us that the owners of the condo asked her if she would like to buy it. We were so excited about the idea that we said, lets do it. How could you not want a place right on the ocean in Kauai. Over the next six months we put in $40.000 in up grades. A friend of mine said if you are interested in renting your place I recommend vrbo. It was the right thing to do. Now we can rent our place and go when we want to. It has worked out perfect. Ricki and I live in Dana Point, Ca. and visit as often as we can.

Jim Grindle purchased this condo in 2000

Why Jim Grindle chose Princeville

Kauai is known as the' Garden Island' and Princeville, located on the north shore, is unreal. We are right on the ocean with wonderful trade winds. At night we fall asleep listening to the waves breaking on the shore. Its paradise.


Princeville Condo Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • condo
  • Guests provide their own meals
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 3:00 PM
  • /
  • Check-out: 10:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 2
  • Max. adults: 2
  • Min. age of primary renter: 25
  • Children welcome
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Pets not allowed
  • Non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Ocean View
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Romantic
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Hair Dryer
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Parking
  • Telephone
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 -
  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 2
  • Queen size Bed
  • Books
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
  • Video Library
  • Golf
  • Lanai / Gazebo
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill
  • 2 beach chairs
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool
  • museums
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • boating
  • horseback riding
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • sailing
  • snorkeling/diving
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing
Cable , wireless internet, and CD player, Ceiling fan, Electric range, Cooking Utensils & Dishwasher, Washer/dryer, Pool, Charcoal Grill BarBQ, Secluded Beach, no pets


Wonderful! 4.8/5 -
(100 traveler reviews)

87% Complete
11% Complete
1% Complete
0% Complete
1% Complete
White water ocean view.
average rating of 4.83 based on 100 reviews

Perfect location! Condo is well stocked, clean, and in great condition!

  • 5 of 5

We really enjoyed our stay here. The morning breakfast on the patio with the waves crashing, the evenings under the stars, and the lush, well maintained facilities! We used the washer and dryer, coffee maker, stove, microwave, hair dryer etc. The bed was very comfortable and the WiFi was convenient. We will definitely stay here again on our next trip to Kauai!

  • Submitted: Nov 6, 2017
  • Stayed: October 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

What a beautiful location!!

  • 4 of 5

This was our 1st VRBO experience.

This condo is quaint, romantic & and overlooks the ocean swells. We had the windows open all evening. In the morning, we had coffee in bed staring out at the beautiful Pacific. We didn’t turn on the TV once because of the stunning views & sounds of the waves.

Also, there’s a trail head just out the back door that leads to a secluded beach and a waterfall. It’s a little treturous at first but worth the hike. While at the beach, we hung out with a Monk Seal sunning itself.

The reason for the 4 stars, and it’s minor, is we constantly ran out of hot water. We don’t take long showers, but it seemed as though we might be sharing a hot water heater with the neighbors??

Anyway, we recommend this place. If we’re ever on Kauai again, we will be sure to check if this unit is available.

P.S. if you’ve never been to Kauai like us, bring hiking shoes.

  • Submitted: Mar 10, 2018
  • Stayed: March 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: So sorry you ran out of hot water. It was a simple fix. The thematsate was tured down. Again I’m sorry. Jim.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Relaxing and beautiful

  • 5 of 5

I had a wonderful long weekend at this well appointed condo with a million dollar view!

  • Submitted: Mar 6, 2018
  • Stayed: March 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


  • 5 of 5

This property has a great view of the ocean from the lanai, living room and bedroom! It is the perfect size for 2 people and a great location in Princeville! We truly loved our 6 days there and hated to leave! There are many activities to do in the area. One of our favorites was the Princeville Botanical Gardens, a great tour! There are several beaches to drive to and the one closest to the condo was great, not crowded. The owners, Jim & Ricki respond quickly (within an hour) to any questions you may have; they're wonderful! The info they gave us was very helpful about local places to visit and good restaurants. You won't be disappointed with this rental! We certainly enjoyed our time there and watching the whales ! 😊☀️😂😎🌴

  • Submitted: Feb 28, 2018
  • Stayed: February 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Great views and responsive hosts!

  • 4 of 5

The view is amazing, we spotted whales and enjoyed watching the crashing surf on the patio. Kitchen had everything we needed and the washer/dryer was a plus. The bed was also comfortable. Pro tip: Take quick showers as hot water can be at a premium in this unit.

  • Submitted: Feb 15, 2018
  • Stayed: February 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Sorry the hot water was not on to the fullest. The thermostat was turned down. It is fine now. Thanks. Jim
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


  • 5 of 5

Jim and Ricki, thank you for your quick responses to our questions and helping us with the tv! We had an absolutely wonderful stay!

  • Submitted: Feb 7, 2018
  • Stayed: January 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


Helicopter Tours, Boogie Boarding, ATV Tours, Whale Watching


Rates & Availability

Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $99
Damage Deposit $100

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.

You might like these similar properties