Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Heated Pool, Steps to Beach & Free Trolley, 4 Bedrooms-Rent W Aqua Moon-Sleep 16

Bedrooms 4
Space 2,908 sq. ft.
Property type house
Minimum Stay 7 nights


About the property

8 Bedrooms & 8 Baths Walking Distance to the Beach & Free Trolley

Saffron Sun is a newly renovated 4 bedroom/4 bathroom vacation residence with a bright and sunny personality and can be combined with Aqua Moon next door for 8 bedrooms and 8 baths. Please see rates as the price for both properties is double what it is for one property!!

Saffron Sun has its own heated swimming pool with a large paver deck, private gardens and an outdoor shower! Just steps to the beach and the Free Trolley, this Italian style vacation residence has views of the surrounding island from the tower terrace and glimpses of the beach and the gulf!

Complete with elevator, DVD, 50' Flat screen TV in the living area and Flat screen TV's and phones in every bedroom along with high speed Wi-Fi Internet access. It is newly furnished with 2 King Masters, a Queen Guest and 2 Twins. The Dual system air conditioning allows you to adjust the temperature in the upper and middle sections of the house to your own comfort level.

The living area has Burnished Canadian maple wood flooring with a Queen Size Pull-Out and other comfy furnishings! Watch the large 50' flat screen cable LED TV, see movies on DVD & listen to a selection of cable music. Glass sliders lead out to the balcony with seating for 6 for your evening meal, that early morning cup of coffee, just relaxing or enjoying an 'al fresco' breakfast or lunch.

Relish the privacy of the 2nd balcony off of the 1st Master Suite or ascent to that perfect spot in the tower to enjoy a peak of the Beach and the Gulf or to enjoy an evening cocktail while catching one of the amazing sunsets that Anna Maria is famous for!

Saffron Sun's kitchen has solid maple wood cabinetry, creamy ceramic tile floor, smooth granite counter tops, stainless appliances and loads of storage space. The appliances include a ceramic top range, refrigerator/freezer, microwave and dishwasher. A second dining table allows for an 'eat-in' kitchen and is useful for serving breakfast or snacks for 4. The cabinets are fully equipped with dishes, pots, pans, silverware and small appliances so you can prepare anything from a light meal to a full evening dinner party. Bringing the groceries is easy, just use the elevator.

The separate laundry room has a high capacity washer and dryer, iron and ironing board.

Anna Maria Island Beach Café is just across the street on the Beach - they serve breakfast that you can eat with your feet in the sands - try their all you can eat pancakes with maple syrup and butter and a dish of fresh fruits or go for scrambled eggs, bacon and fries washed down with limitless cups of coffee. The trolley stops there so you can ride up and down the island free of charge. Use the outdoor shower when you get home to wash the sand off your toes or just to rinse off!

The island's grocery store is within walking distance and it sells terrific steaks and seafood, has a great delicatessen and the bakery is a must, try their White Mountain bread - it is delicious. Also nearby are small shops, a pharmacy, doctor and dentist!

Traveling with another family? Saffron Sun has an identical twin sister, Aqua Moon VRBO Listing #568232 which can be adjoined by opening the 8 foot gate between the 2 homes so you may enjoy the pool areas with your friends and family.

Please Note a month is based on 28 days!!



More Details

Member since: 2009
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
July 21, 2017


Holmes Beach House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
  • Guests provide their own meals
  • Housekeeper Optional
Floor Area:
  • 2908 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 16:00
  • /
  • Check-out: 10:00
  • Max. occupancy: 8
  • Min. age of primary renter: 25
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Non smoking only
  • Cancellation-Fees collected will NOT be returned unless the unit is re-rented for the same period. If re-rented all fees will be refunded minus $150.
  • Please include size & breed of animals for permission to bring them. $150 taxable pet fee per pet will apply.
Location Type:
  • Beach View ...
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Spa
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Elevator
  • Fireplace ...
  • Garage ...
  • Heating
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking ...
  • Telephone ...
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove
  • Toaster
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 10 people
  • 4 Bathrooms
  • Master - toilet , tub , shower
    2nd Master - toilet , tub , shower
    Gueen Guest - toilet , shower
    Twin Guest - toilet , shower
    Outdoor Shower by Pool - outdoor shower
  • All bathrooms are en-suite to bedrooms.
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • King Master w/Fireplace - 1 king , Fireplace and Large Tub plus Shower
    King Master - 1 king
    Queen Guest - 1 queen
    Twin Guest - 2 twin/ single
  • All bedrooms have En-suite bathrooms!
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Television ...
  • Toys ...
  • Balcony
  • Deck / Patio
  • Outdoor Grill ...
Pool / Spa:
  • Heated Pool
  • Private Pool ...
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • festivals
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • live theater
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • synagogues
  • theme parks
  • water parks
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • gambling casinos
  • horseback riding
  • miniature golf
  • outlet shopping
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • deepsea fishing
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hot air ballooning
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • paragliding
  • parasailing
  • pier fishing
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • sound/bay fishing
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • water tubing
  • wind-surfing


Excellent! 4.7/5 -
(18 traveler reviews)

Heated Pool, Steps to Beach & Free Trolley, 4 Bedrooms-Rent W Aqua Moon-Sleep 16
average rating of 4.6666665 based on 18 reviews

Fabulous holiday

  • 5 of 5

Had a wonderful 10 days. The house has everything you need and has plenty of room for larger groups. Close to the beach and supermarket and within walking distance of several restaurants. Free trolley bus means there's no need for a car if you want to go further afield.

  • Submitted: Jul 13, 2017
  • Stayed: Jun 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Helen and Family, Saffron Sun does have the perfect location for shopping and dining as well as having the beach right across the street. The free trolley is the way to get around the island! Free and you don’t have to worry about driving after a glass of wine with your evening meal. Most times we use the house the car sits in the driveway as we do walk or ride the trolley. There is also a “Work for Tips” bus called the Beach Monkey that you can call and they will pick you up at your door! Hope to see you again soon!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Beautiful home; well maintained

  • 5 of 5

We stayed in your beautiful home the first week in June and found the home to be spacious, well maintained and well equipped. We especially appreciated the well appointed kitchen. The weather was simply awful which had us spending much more time in the house than we had originally planned. There was plenty of room for all 7 of us -- no one got in anyone else's space. We would definitely recommend this home!

  • Submitted: Jun 26, 2017
  • Stayed: Jun 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Miriam, Thank you so much for taking the time to review Saffron Sun. We know your time is valuable and we appreciate it! I am so glad you enjoyed the home and had enough space for the whole family and you are right, the weather was terrible. I have lived her for many years and getting one full day of rain is unusual let alone 4 or 5 in a row. Hopefully when you return we can make up for the rain! Thanks again and come back to see us soon!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


  • 5 of 5

My wife and I are snowbirds from New York who spend winters in Bradenton. Every Easter we rent a house on Anna Maria Island and fly our children and grandkids to Florida for a family vacation at the shore.

Saffron Sun is by far the most pleasant experience we have had in our 10 years of doing this.

The house is superb in both in ambience and location. It has everything we could imagine and more. The pool is wnderful and we have all enjoyed it everyday. The owner and managaement company have provided everything for a most pleasant vacation. The beach across the street is magnificent and has good family entertainment as well as food and refreshments.

We have already booked it again for next year.

  • Submitted: Apr 12, 2017
  • Stayed: Apr 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: John and Family, How nice of you to share your vacation and fly the family to Florida! We are thrilled that you picked our home to make your family memories and doubly thrilled that you are returning!! So glad that Gulf Islands Vacation Rentals took such good care of you and as much as I would like to claim the praise for the ambience and décor at the home I again have to thank Ellie, Suzanne and Bob for that as well!! They are a full service management team and even shopped for all of the decorations and made sure everything was set up for our first rental when we bought the home! As always we appreciate your time for reviewing our property and as always, if there is anything you need on your next visit, you know who to contact! The best rental management team on the island…Gulf Islands Vacation Rentals.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Good location lacks in cleanliness and maintenance

  • 1 of 5

This property has a good location to the beach and retail stores. However cleanliness and general maintenance leave much to be desired. We waited for the 4pm check-in time to find a massive number of towels, sheets and a blanket jammed into the dryer. Since nothing was drying we pulled out the filter to found it packed full of lint, fire hazard!!! Mildew in the AC vent, fecal matter in the toilet of the MB and the kitchen ceiling fan had overhanging fuzz. One pool chaise backrest was broken and others had missing cross slats. The rental agent offered to send the 'cleaners' back at our time expense, we declined and preferred privacy. Unfortunately we couldn't leave during our planned vacation time with no where else to go. We have vacationed at AMI before and NEVER treated like this. Other previous locations were either not available at this time or not large enough for the (7) of us. This place needs some TLC before renting at full price to other unsuspecting renters.

Oh, the toddlers shoe behind the family room TV should be returned to its owner. This should give all a clue as to the lack of attention to detail here. Pictures also appear to be from long ago.

  • Submitted: Apr 5, 2017
  • Stayed: Mar 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: I am disappointed that you did not find our home to your liking. As our management team explained to you the final inspection had not been done on the home before you checked in as we did not get the opportunity to call you when it was ready as is the normal check-in procedure. Ellie did offer to send someone over immediately to address the issues you discovered on your check in but you refused due to your “time expense”. I can only apologize for the issues you encountered since we weren’t allowed to rectify the problem. We do appreciate you dropping off the lint from the dryer at our management teams office. I am not sure what you are referring to when you said you “were never treated like this?” We did make several offers to remedy your issues including offering a mid stay clean but again you declined. We do realize that the patio furniture was missing a couple of slats in the chairs and have purchased all new furniture for the exterior of the home. The photos are very representative of the home and by all other reviews most folks find the home “wonderful” and “best ever” but we have of course looked in to all the items you refered to.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Lake of The Ozarks, Missouri

Good location and wonderful house

  • 5 of 5

We had 1 week at the house, and wish we had more time there. Close to the beach, restaurants, and shopping. The house was large enough that no one felt crowded. Elevator was welcomed as one of the people in our group had back problems and was hard to use stairs, it really helped distributing luggage and groceries too. The pool area was nice and well landscaped. Would recommend this house.

  • Submitted: Mar 17, 2017
  • Stayed: Feb 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for taking the time in reviewing Saffron Sun, I’m glad you found our home comfortable for the whole group! The elevator does come in handy. We also enjoy the location of our home being walking distance to stores and restaurants and just 1 block to the beach. I can sometimes go a full week without ever taking the car out of the garage. It’s sometimes a difficult decision on where to watch the sunset, from the screened in lookout tower or on the beach with live entertainment. Please contact our management team next time you are planning to visit the island, I’m sure they’d love to hear back from you.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Family Vacation

  • 4 of 5

Nice house. Loved all the space! One of our party was not able to do steps, so the elevator was a must, and worked good for our needs! Great location from the beach ~ chairs, umbrella, etc. in the garage were a great plus! Pool is small, but is a pool!! Enjoyed the "Tower Deck"!

Would stay at this property again.

  • Submitted: Jan 24, 2017
  • Stayed: Jan 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Judy and Family, Thank you for taking the time to review Saffron Sun, I’m glad you enjoyed staying at our home. The elevator is good for people who have trouble with stairs and also for tired travelers with heavy luggage. We also enjoy having the beach just across the street with all the amenities, they serve a great breakfast and offer all you can pancakes! The pool is 12x22x5.5 is the largest allowed under the local setback ordinance. Watching the magnificent sunsets from the screened in tower deck is our absolute favorite thing to do! Please call Ellie, Suzanne and Bob next time you come to Anna Maria, we’d love to have you back!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


Nearest Airport
14 Miles
Tampa 50 miles or Sarasota/Bradenton
Nearest Barpub
0.1 Miles
Several in Walking Distance
Nearest Ferry
0.1 Miles
No Ferry but the Free Trolley is close!
Nearest Restaurant
0.1 Miles
Several in Walking Distance
Nearest Beach
0.1 Miles
Holmes Beach
Car: not necessary

Anna Maria Island is located on the Central West Coast of Florida nestled between the tropical blue waters of the Gulf of Mexico to the West and Tampa Bay to the North. Once a best –kept secret among local Floridians, it is now known as a vacation favorite among local, national and international travelers. From honeymooners to Hollywood film crews, youngsters to the young-at-heart, people from around the world have discovered what’s awaiting you – Your Piece of Paradise, 'An Island In The Sun'… The island consists of 3 cities, Bradenton Beach being the southernmost, Holmes Beach in the middle and Anna Maria City on the Northern tip. Each community has its own distinct character but all have that relaxed old Florida Charm with unique and charming shops and restaurants. Anna Maria Island has miles of sugar white sand beaches, sand dunes, sea oats and Australian Pines lying between the Gulf of Mexico and the Intercoastal Waterway. This destination is a natural choice for tropical vacationers looking for golf, tennis, water sports, shopping, plus many cultural and historical attractions. Located close to all the major attractions, yet far from the maddening crowds make the Gulf Island Beaches the ideal vacation spot. Enjoy a sunrise overlooking Tampa Bay and a picture-perfect Florida sunset all in a day… You need never leave the island to find fun and relaxation. Our island is only 7 miles long and no more than a few blocks wide which leaves you with sounds of waves and visions of the sunset in every location. Enjoy a day at the beach and watch the kids play in the sand. Walk along pristine beaches and dine in award-winning restaurants, Enjoy fresh grouper sandwiches on a pier and sipping martinis while enjoying live music. Go shopping in our specialty shops and boutiques all along the island. We even have a Free Trolley to take you where you want to go. The friendly environment and endless activities will keep you coming back for more. Hop aboard and experience island paradise! Aqua Moon is Walking Distance to Shops, Restaurants, Grocery Store, Drug Store and Liquor Store and steps to the Gulf of Mexico Beautiful White Sand Beaches!


Rates & Availability

Holmes Beach House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
August Special
Aug 12 2017 - Aug 31 2017
7 night minimum stay
Sep 1 2017 - Nov 17 2017
7 night minimum stay
Nov 18 2017 - Nov 24 2017
7 night minimum stay
Nov 25 2017 - Dec 22 2017
7 night minimum stay
Dec 23 2017 - Jan 5 2018
7 night minimum stay
Jan 6 2018 - Jan 31 2018
Changeover Day: Saturday
7 night minimum stay
High Season
Feb 1 2018 - Mar 31 2018
Changeover Day: Saturday
7 night minimum stay
Apr 1 2018 - Apr 30 2018
Changeover Day: Saturday
7 night minimum stay
May 1 2018 - May 31 2018
Changeover Day: Saturday
7 night minimum stay
Jun 1 2018 - Jul 21 2018
Changeover Day: Saturday
7 night minimum stay

Additional information about rental rates

Property Damage Protecti $49
Pet Fee $150 + Tax
Admin Fee $85 + Tax
Cleaning Fee $250 + Tax
Tax Rate 12.0%

Rates are for Saffron Sun. Double the price for combining the 2 homes!

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • Canceled bookings will not receive a refund
Contact Owner

You might like these similar properties