check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit

Family Friendly Wine Country Estate

Sleeps10
Bedrooms 4
Bathrooms3
Half Baths1
Property type estate
Minimum Stay 2 - 5 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the VRBO checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more

Overview


Details
Property
estate
Sleeps
10
Bedrooms
4
Bathrooms
3
Half Baths
1
Minimum Stay
2 - 5 nights

About the property

Beautiful Views, Landscaping And Activities To Last For Days.

If you can see yourself sitting by the pool drinking a glass of wine (in a plastic goblet of course) having the sun shine down on you while taking in the beautiful property, this place is for you. From the children's playground area,trampoline, to the pool, hot tub and Petanque Court - you will be in a home that is meant to entertain and delight you. The interior with 4 bedrooms, one with a bunk bed is roomy and large - all with their own bathrooms. You can have up to 9 people at the home in beds. If you want to have more, you can use the blow up mattress we also provide, but with beds we typically say 9 people comfortably. 2 Bedrooms have King Beds, the other one is a queen and the kids room is a full with a twin above. There is a play structure outside, along with an enclosed trampoline. Please note that this home is lived in half the year, so it is a family home with toys to play with, spices to be used by you, and we do have personal items put away. We Clear out the fridge and freezer and leave ample space for guests in the pantry, but we do leave most of the additional food in the cupboards. Please help yourself and just replace things if used. Please enjoy our home as it is your own, maybe sometimes better!! :) ....


Owner
Heather Hughes
Member since: 2015
Speaks: english, croatian
Response time:
Within a few days
Response rate:
80%
Calendar last updated:
November 9, 2016

About Heather Hughes

We are a family who spends our time between Marin and Healdsburg. We have fallen in love with the wine country and the more time we spend at our home the more we love it.

Heather Hughes purchased this estate in 2008

Why Heather Hughes chose Russian River

We built the home - love our layout and the flatness of the yard. We are still continually working on the home adding additional features. It is close to town, yet far enough away to feel country. We ride bikes to town all the time - one mile away - and a short short walk to a few tasting rooms in the area.

What makes this estate unique

Solar pool, the house maintains coolness due to the thick insulation - this is why we have never required AC, however, we may be putting in a unit this spring/summer. The hot tub is custom, so it is needed to be turned on and off when wanting to be used. The summer months the pool is typically around 85 degrees. We built a large modern firepit in the courtyard for enjoyment.

Guestbook comments from the owner

Hi, we just wanted to thank you again for a wonderful stay. You were so accommodating, and we really appreciate it. Your home is so lovely, we never wanted to leave. We look forward to coming again in the near future. Our family couldn't have been happier with our choice of staying there.

Thanks again!

Sarah
Dec 2016
  • 1 of 3

Reviews

Very Good! 4.1/5 -
(13 traveler reviews)

Family Friendly Wine Country Estate
average rating of 4.076923 based on 16 reviews
San Diego
5

More than I expected

  • 5 of 5

Upon arrival I was immediately taken in with the landscape. The home was so beautiful. I came with my girlfriends for my bachelorette weekend. We are in our early 40s, and found the house to be perfect for our group. The host was so kind and available for any and all questions we had during the time. There was ample dishes and pots and pans to cook with. The bedrooms were very clean and the bunk bed was so fun. I wish I was the child living there! The house is lived in half the year which was explained to us prior to arrival. The host made sure to clear out the closets so we could hang out things. The fridge was cleaned out and the bathrooms were spotless. We are looking forward to coming back next year.

  • Submitted: Nov 11, 2016
  • Stayed: Oct 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 4
5

What a blast - love this family home

  • 5 of 5

We brought our family for a quick getaway with my inlays. We have 2 teens and one child who is 6, and one that is one. I cannot speak better about this home. The owner is my sisters good friend, and my sister didn't event think to tell me how awesome it was. She just said, go - you will love it. Wow - we loved so much about it. It felt like home. I guess since they live there part of the year it made us feel really comfortable with having our children there. They left out toys for the kids to play with, and a highchair for our little guy, and even asked if we needed to use a stroller or playpen. The house was clean and beautifully decorated. I could tell the home was loved. We spent what time we could outside due to the weather, but that was really fun - there was a mini playground, trampoline, small bocce court, rope swing, and not to mention of course the hot tub (we didn't use the pool for obvious reasons). We spent the evenings in the courtyard with the fireplace that was just built- and it had beautiful lighting all around it.. This home is a family paradise, or adults of all ages - although I would say that more elderly people wouldn't appreciate it as much, as it is more of an entertaining home. We can't wait to go back in the summer and try out more fun things they are creating there. I highly recommend the owner and the home.

  • Submitted: Dec 6, 2016
  • Stayed: Nov 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
San Francisco
5

Loved my quick getaway!!!

  • 5 of 5

I honestly don't think there could be a more fun, cooler spot in healdsburg. The place was clean, the activities were endless, the host awesome. We brought our children and boy did they have the best time playing in the hot tub, and on the playground. This is A plus plus- especially like the host said, for families. the

  • Submitted: Nov 11, 2016
  • Stayed: Nov 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you Sherry!!! Your family is really really awesome. We loved hanging out with you guys and getting to know you more. Please come stay with us anytime! x H
Did you find this review helpful?
0 4
Lamesa, Texas
1

renter

  • 1 of 5

The house was suppose to sleep 10- however, the bunk bed was only accessible by a utility ladder- which is dangerous for older women to climb. Also, blow up mattress had a hole in it. When we showed up, the owners were packing up to leave because they live there- So- stuff was all over. It was VERY dirty and had several broken items: hot water handle in a bathroom, missing 1/2 of shower door, fire pit never worked, spider webs all over. When we left, we stripped the beds to find we were sleeping on horribly stained mattresses without mattress pads. Because of the condition of the property, we were afraid to use the hot tub for fear of disease. The owner told us that we could not be loud outside because of an expensive fine. And- the weirdest - if any neighbors came over, we were to tell them we were friends because they are not suppose to rent out the home. Because of the cost and photos provided, we expected a beautiful home- very disappointed and will be hesitant to use VRBO because of this--

  • Submitted: Nov 8, 2016
  • Stayed: Nov 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: I believe this is all coming from me requesting money back from the deposit due to a massive spilled red wine stain in the bedroom that was attempted to get out but they clearly made it worse. this is completely inaccurate on all accords. First of all I My ad clearly states it's a family home - I do live here half the time. I am allowed to Rent the house out on a limited basis which i do, -and I follow the guidelines. I would never say what this person said regarding being my friend, this is ubsurd. My house is always left immaculate, l have a wonderful housekeeper and I personally check it. There were to be 8 people- they changed it the day before to 10. I left 2 airmatresses- one brand new one in closet and the other out told them that as well. Bunk bed is clearly stated on my ad- I can't help it that the women are elderly- they booked the home. Shower door is modern- half glass opening. They arrived one hour early and I asked them to come back, instead they just pranced in. These women were arrogant and rude to me with a sense of entitlement, and showed up drunk. Outdoor fireplace was just built and I explained that- it rained all week so it wasn't going to work until dried out- explained that also. I checked in multiple times - below is our communication. Still can't get it lit- any suggestions? Also- can a few of us get the gym passes? Hi just got this. The rain might have clogged it as it was pouring rain all There might be a couple under the printer in that drawer. They say Parkpoint I just looked at the fire pit. It does have moisture- so - probably did get wet. Maybe it will dry up It usually does if the sun stays out. Maybe just keep trying it and lighting as well - Ok. Thanks. Enjoying being together!! Great!!! Super cute of you all knowing each other so long! :? How is everything going ? Perfect time- thank you Hearther we enjoy your house so much !!!!!!! Great!!! Love being here wish we could stay more! For checkout- just strip the beds and put the towels and sheets in a pile near the laundry room. The maid will be there tomorrow afternoon- and just have the dishes cleaned up please.. :) Perfect Slept in every bed - so lots of laundry. We seriously had the best time. Thanks again. We will definitely be coming back!! Lol. That's totally fine I'm glad you guys had a good time
Did you find this review helpful?
5 6
2

Great Location

  • 2 of 5

Great location, plenty of room, very nice host. One thing to keep in mind is this is a full time home, so lots of the owners' personal belongings, food, toiletries, etc. are all in the house. Has a different feel than a typical HomeAway rental. The host was very nice so I hate to disparage, but the house was not very clean. The hot tub had what looked like chunks of turkey floating in it, and the lack of cleanliness was prevalent throughout the house.

  • Submitted: Oct 27, 2016
  • Stayed: Oct 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Im sorry you felt that way Andrew. I make it very clear that the home is lived in during the school year... What you saw in the hot tub was foliage from the large oak tree. I had a talk with my housekeeper regarding not cutting corners, etc - Cheers and Happy Holidays!
Did you find this review helpful?
5 3
4

Friendly host, great pool, hot tub and location!!

  • 4 of 5

I recently stayed at the Hughes property for a wedding I was attending nearby. The location couldn't have been more perfect! Plus, the pool, fire pit, and the hot tub were HUGE bonuses! I visited the property with 3 couples and 2 other friends and the house fit us perfectly. We were able to relax by the pool in the day and come home to the hot tub in the evening, so relaxing! Also, worth noting that the host, Heather, was easily available and accessible.

The only con we had was that only 1-2 burners were working on the stove. Other than that, it was a fantastic stay!

  • Submitted: Oct 26, 2016
  • Stayed: Oct 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks Aly!! Those burners are now fixed !! :) xx Heather
Did you find this review helpful?
1 4

Map

Nearest Airport
5 Miles
Santa Rosa Airport

Photos

Rates & Availability

Healdsburg Estate Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
High Season
Mar 18 2017 - Nov 5 2017
2 night minimum stay
$1,300
From
$1,400
Fri,Sat,Sun
$7,000
$27,000
 
Notes: Rates are based on 9 guests; add $100 per night, per additional guest
 
Easter
Apr 14 2017 - Apr 17 2017
4 night minimum stay
$5,000
Flat fee
 
 
Memorial Weekend
May 26 2017 - May 29 2017
4 night minimum stay
$5,000
Flat fee
 
 
4th of july
Jul 1 2017 - Jul 5 2017
5 night minimum stay
$5,000
Flat fee
 
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
$1,200
From
$1,300
Fri,Sat,Sun
$7,000
$25,000
 

Additional information about rental rates

Pet Fee $50
Cleaning Fee $300
Property Damage Protection $99

You must agree to the VRBO damage protection of $99 in lieu of security deposit before arrival. Check in is at 2pm - check out is at noon. Some of the times I can be flexible - and I hope the same for you as well if we have other guests checking in.... Communication is key with our home. Please dont be shy to ask questions. As far as pets go - I am not allowing unless they are approved by me. We have many expensive landscaping items and furniture. Thanks for the understanding.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Cancelled bookings will not receive a refund
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Contact Me Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Healdsburg Estate Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • estate
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 3500 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Mountain View
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Spa
  • Sports & Activities
General:
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace ...
  • Fitness Room / Equipment ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking ...
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Room
  • seating for 8 people
Bathrooms:
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Bathroom 4 - toilet
    Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , shower
    Bathroom 3 - toilet , shower
  • Car, private chef, babysitter and massage therapist can all be arranged for an extra fee - as well as if you would like maid service daily.
Bedrooms:
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 10
  • Master Suite - 1 king , A large jetted tub and steam shower in this suite
    Bedroom 2 - 1 king , Bathroom attached - this room is separate from the others.
    Bedroom 4 - 1 double , 1 twin/ single , 1 bunk bed , Bunkbed with full bed below and twin top. kids room optional
    Bedroom 3 - 1 queen , We use this room as office and Bedroom
  • jack and jill bathroom with tub and shower between bedroom 3 and 4
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Music Library
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo ...
  • Television
  • Toys ...
  • Video Games
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Bicycles ...
  • Deck / Patio
  • Golf ...
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Tennis ...
  • Water Sports Gear
  • 3 bicycles
Suitability:
  • children welcome ...
  • pets considered ...
  • wheelchair accessible ...
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub ...
  • Private Pool ...
  • Sauna ...
Onsite Services:
  • Car Available
  • Chauffeur
  • Massage
  • Private Chef
Attractions:
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • festivals
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • playground
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • synagogues
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • gambling casinos
  • horseshoes
  • miniature golf
  • outlet shopping
  • paddle boating
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • shuffleboard
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cycling
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hot air ballooning
  • ice skating
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • pier fishing
  • racquetball
  • roller blading
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • water tubing
Notes:
Car, private chef, babysitter and massage therapist can all be arranged for an extra fee - as well as if you would like maid service daily.

Partner Offers