check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag

5 Bedroom 2 Bath On Lake Michigan On South Haven's North Side

Sleeps12
Bedrooms 5
Bathrooms2
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 2 - 7 nights

Overview


Details
Property
cottage
Sleeps
12
Bedrooms
5
Bathrooms
2
Minimum Stay
2 - 7 nights

Description

South Haven Cottage Rental Photos and Description

5 Bedroom 2 Bath On Lake Michigan On South Haven's North Side

Sunset beach house is located on Lake Michigan and is within walking distance of the quaint downtown area. The house itself consists of five bedrooms that will comfortably accommodate 10-12 people. One queen bed, three full beds, and four twin beds. Each bedroom is also equipped with dressers and closet space.

The house also consists of two bathrooms, a dining room, living room, sun porch, and kitchen. A washer and dryer are also available for your use. The dining room consists of a large dining table and chairs along with a bookshelf containing board games and a selection of books to accommodate your reading interests or family game night. The living room area is fully furnished and also includes a television, dvd player, and a selection of movie titles to be used at your leisure. The kitchen is fully equipped with a refrigerator, stove, microwave oven, dishwasher, coffeemaker, toaster, and cookware.

There is also a furnished patio in front of the house that includes a gas grill. On the beach side of the house, there is a community deck (shared with other renters of this property) that is also furnished and available to you. The beach itself is also private (shared by other renters) and at your disposal.

Bed linens and pillows will be provided, as well as kitchen linens. You will need to bring your own bath linens, paper goods, and toiletries.

Three of the five bedrooms have window air conditioner units along with fans in each room.

More Details
Suitability:
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed

Property Manager
Cara Montgomery
Member since: 2015
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within 2 days
Response rate:
90%
Calendar last updated:
November 2, 2016
Call Manager

About Cara Montgomery

Jason and I both grew up in South Haven and have great memories of the time spent on the shores of Sunset Beach House. The Cohen Family, who own the home, are great friends of ours who have moved and entrusted us to care for their beautiful home. In 1990, The Cohen's built six smaller cottages on their lakefront property and founded Sunset Cottages. Since then, the other cottages are now independently owned and the property is a shared association.

Why Cara Montgomery chose Southwest

Sunset Beach House is truly one of a kind. LOCATION, LOCATION, LOCATION! If you love spending your days on the beach, enjoy sitting on the deck in the shade overlooking the beach, or sitting at a bonfire on the beach at night, this home is perfect for you! You literally don't need to go anywhere your entire vacation!

What makes this cottage unique

There are very few rental homes located on lake Michigan that will accommodate larger families or smaller families who enjoy vacationing together. You will find charm,character, and plenty of room at sunset beach house.

Reviews

3.8/5 -
(4 traveler reviews)

5 Bedroom 2 Bath On Lake Michigan On South Haven's North Side
average rating of 3.75 based on 4 reviews
1

Very disappointing

  • 1 of 5

Our stay at this cottage was extremely disappointing and thankfully, brief. We had planned a week there and left after two very warm and unpleasant nights. We knew we were taking a gamble on a place with no air conditioning (though the six cottages in front of ours all seemed to have A/C). But if you have no air conditioning and you advertise a ceiling fan and a box fan in every bedroom, you better deliver. One bedroom never had a ceiling fan and another had a non-working ceiling fan. Yes, it was an especially warm week in South Haven, but this place really holds the heat and was stifling. The cottages in front seem to get the benefits of most of the lake breeze (this one is in the very back, which was unclear to us from the photos). They sent someone to install a new ceiling fan in one of the bedrooms, and he determined the ceiling was never wired for a fan. The electric/wiring seems very old and quite possibly unsafe.The power in half of the house went out when attempting to use a small hair dryer. This is most likely why the owners haven’t invested in window unit air conditioners-the whole place would need updated electric. Also, two of the beds in two different bedrooms had sand in the sheets when we arrived. Two of the bedrooms were very, very small.

The only upsides were: a nice private beach, South Haven is a fun town, and we were issued a full refund. The property manager asked us not to give them a bad review but future customers need to be warned about this place.

  • Submitted: Aug 9, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: We sincerely apologize that you were unhappy with your accommodations. From the moment you stepped foot on the property, you were unhappy with the fact that the home was warm at 3:00 pm on a summer afternoon in July. We advertised no air conditioning clearly on our website and you chose to book the property anyways. We did have someone there on a Saturday evening, the day you arrived, to replace the one ceiling fan that was not working properly. In addition, we did everything in our power to make you happy for the 3 days that you stayed on Lake Michigan at no cost prior to offering you a full refund to find alternate accommodations in hopes to make everyone in the situation happy. Clearly, this was not a good fit for your family. In the 12 years we have been renting this cottage, we have never offered anyone a refund to leave the property. This truly is a home that is valued and loved by families who return year after year. Best of luck to you finding a home on Lake Michigan that fits your needs in the future.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Family vacation

  • 4 of 5

Every year my husband and I find a place to rent for our adult kids and their families. This place was amazing. It had a full dining room and a big kitchen. 5 bedrooms- one had 4 twin beds in it. Fans in every room. We had a direct view of the sunset every night. Walking distance to South Haven. Bbq outside on patio. Neighbors were very friendly. Rented kayaks one day and the grand kids had a ball. Will be coming back here next year. This is the first place we found that fit us and the whole family like a glove!! Thank you soooo much. No WIFI. AS A GRANDPARENT IT WAS GREAT.....THE TEENAGERS ACTUALLY HAD TO TALK TO US. LOL

  • Submitted: Aug 5, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are so glad you had such a great time with your family! Looking forward to having you again next season!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Perfect Beach Vacation

  • 5 of 5

This small cottage on the beach was perfect for our family of 4. We were steps from the beach and a quick bike ride to town. We love it and will definitely be back!

  • Submitted: Aug 1, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are so glad you enjoyed your stay in our one bedroom cottage within close proximity to our five bedroom house! We too love the location...perfect!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Happy Place

  • 5 of 5

This is a wonderful spot for a family getaway on the beach. The house is very comfortable. The rental managers are wonderful and helpful. Great stay with extended family!

  • Submitted: Aug 1, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are so glad you enjoyed your stay!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Photos

Rates & Availability

South Haven Cottage Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Manager accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Off Season
May 1 2017 - May 29 2017
2 night minimum stay
$400
$2,000
 
 
Early Summer
May 30 2017 - Jun 16 2017
3 night minimum stay
$425
$2,300
 
 
Prime Summer
Jun 17 2017 - Sep 4 2017
7 night minimum stay
$3,200
 
 
Fall
Sep 5 2017 - Oct 31 2017
2 night minimum stay
$400
$2,000
 
 
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay
$460
$3,200
 

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $250

Please Note:

The Tenants understand that this is a shared property and runs as an association. All tenants shall behave in a civilized manner and shall be good neighbors respecting the rights of the surrounding property owners. The Tenants shall not create noise or disturbances likely to disturb or annoy the surrounding property owners. Creating a disturbance of the above nature shall be grounds for immediate termination of this agreement and Tenants shall then immediately vacate the premises. Quiet hour starts at 10 PM and outdoor noise should be kept to a minimum.

The Tenants understand that a portion of the property is shared with other renters of the property. The large deck overlooking the beach should not be “taken over” by any one unit. In addition, the private beach and fire pit on the beach are to be shared amongst all renters.

Stays less than one week are charged an additional cleaning fee.

Payment is accepted via check or credit card via PayPal. We prefer to have contact with our guests to answer all questions prior to booking.

Manager's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 7 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 14 days before arrival date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

South Haven Cottage Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cottage
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 2500 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Beach View
  • Beachfront
  • Lake View
  • Lakefront
  • Water View
  • Waterfront
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room
  • Parking ...
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 8 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , shower , utility sink, washer, dryer
Bedrooms:
  • 5 Bedrooms, Sleeps 12
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 2 - 1 double
    Bedroom 4 - 1 double , view of Lake Michigan
    Bedroom 3 - 1 double , view of Lake Michigan
    Bedroom 5 - 4 twin/ single
  • television/cable, dresser, closet, window a/c unit
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio
  • Outdoor Grill
Suitability:
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
Attractions:
  • churches
  • festivals
  • library
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • boating
  • horseback riding
  • shopping
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • sailing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing

Learn more about this vacation rental at the manager's website:

Partner Offers