Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Sunset Beachhouse: The Ultimate Little Gasparilla Beachfront Lifestyle!

Bedrooms 4
Space 1,400 sq. ft.
Property type house
Minimum Stay 6 - 7 nights


About the property

4 Bedroom Direct Gulf-Front Home

Leave your car and your cares at the marina because Little Gasparilla is accessible only by water taxi! That means our beaches are uncrowded and tourists and traffic are just a mainland memory. If you are looking for a quiet tropical island to relax and unplug, Little Gasparilla is your dream vacation spot. Our "nightlife" consists of giant sea turtles laying their eggs -- our only bar is the sand bar where you can find sand dollars and shells!

Sunset Beach house is a spacious and sunny four-bedroom home located directly on the Gulf of Mexico. It is has one of the most spacious gulf-front porches on the island, with both a large outdoor sunning porch, a covered porch for dining and a private porch upstairs. This home is perfect for extended family or a group of friends, with plenty of space to dine indoors or out, lots of sunning space for everyone and a casual, elegant style that is comfortable and family friendly. Please note that the porch is covered for protection from rain and sun, but currently is not screened.

You must notify us if you wish to bring or rent a boat. New regulations enacted by the state of Florida limit boats to 21 ft. at our dock.

The home is spacious and modern inside with an open kitchen, living and dining area, comfortable furnishings and a modern, well-equipped kitchen.

There are two queen bedrooms and a king size bedroom (with en suite bath) downstairs and a third queen upstairs in the "observatory" with some of the most spectacular views you will find on the island. The upstairs room does not have blinds so can be quite bright for those who like to sleep late in the mornings.

The home is well equipped with a large flat screen TV, complimentary wi-fi, all kitchen utensils, beach towels and beach chairs. We also include the services of our island concierge who will meet you at the dock and help transport luggage and groceries to the house for you. The home also offers a downstairs outdoor shower for rinsing off after coming from the beach. You have your own private boardwalk to the beach.


• You cannot drive your car to the island and the only access is via water taxi; there is no vehicle ferry.

• You must park your car at the marina at the mainland but it will be perfectly safe there; parking is $6 a day.

• The water taxi is $10 per person each way and he will drop you right at our dock

• All homes come with a grill.

• All homes come with beach chairs and an umbrella.

• You must bring all groceries to the island with you.

• There are no stores of any kind on the island, not even a convenience store.

• There is no need to bring drinking water; the water from the tap is safe and drinkable.

• There are first responders on the island and we have 911 service in case of an emergency.

• Golf carts are not necessary; the island is only 100-200 yards wide in most places and our concierge will meet you upon arrival to bring you to the house. But they are fun to go exploring.

• You can fish off the dock or the beach but non-Florida residents will need to purchase a fishing license.

• The beach is dog-friendly but dogs must be under your control, non-aggressive and most homes charge a pet fee

• This house has wi-fi but this is NOT the internet you are used to on the mainland. There is no unlimited data and wi-fi is NOT for entertainment. No Netflix, no skyping, no streaming music, no downloading videos, etc. Many people find the mobile hotspots on their smartphones are better alternatives.

More Details

Property Manager
Little Gasparilla Vacation Rentals
Member since: 2008
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
July 16, 2017

About Little Gasparilla Vacation Rentals

We have lived on the island for 30 years and we started renting our own home many years ago when we traveled. Then our neighbors asked us to handle rentals for them also -- and now we offer vacation rentals through our small family business Little Gasparilla Vacation Rentals. We offer cottages in a variety of price ranges and locations on the striking beachfront homes to cozy interior homes with lots of privacy. Our homes are painstakingly cared for, we try to keep them well-stocked, and we try to give each of our homes a very personal want you to feel like you are vacationing in a friend's home rather than a sterile "rental unit". We love the island and want you to have the best experience possible so you will love it as much as we do. So relax, kick off your flip flops, dig your toes in the sand and enjoy the island lifestyle!


Placida House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1400 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 3:00 PM / Check-out: 10:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 8
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • pets considered ...
  • non smoking only ...
Location Type:
  • Beachfront
  • Oceanfront
  • Waterfront
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace
  • Heating
  • Internet ...
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Dining Area
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , combination tub/shower , shower
  • En suite bathroom in the master; second full bath downstairs and an outside open air shower downstairs
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Bedroom 2 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 3 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 4 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 1 - 1 king
  • King master bedroom with en suite bath, two additional queen bedrooms on the main floor and a third queen bedroom upstairs in the "observatory".
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Balcony
  • Deck / Patio
  • Lanai / Gazebo
  • Outdoor Grill
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Onsite Services:
  • Concierge
  • churches
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • marina
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • paddle boating
  • photography
  • shelling
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • kayaking
  • pier fishing
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • sound/bay fishing
  • spelunking
  • surf fishing
  • swimming
  • wind-surfing


Excellent! 4.5/5 -
(25 traveler reviews)

Sunset Beachhouse: The Ultimate Little Gasparilla Beachfront Lifestyle!
average rating of 4.52 based on 25 reviews

Very nice.

  • 4 of 5

Location, excellent. Outdoor grill broken. Issues with plumbing. Tracey and my husband repaired. Tracey was very helpful. I felt the home could have been cleaner. Due to a.c. limits temperature felt warm at times. The dryer very slow at drying clothes. Liked the decor. Would definitely stay at home again.

  • Submitted: Jul 17, 2017
  • Stayed: Jul 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Sorry about the issues with the grill....but we did deliver a brand new grill the next day. We do suggest that the thermostat not be set too low (lower than 75) to avoid the unit freezing up. This home has floor to ceiling glass windows and in the heat of the summer, if you set the AC too low, the unit will be laboring constantly to maintain a low temperature. And the sink was draining a bit slow. Glad you would stay again! This is one of our most popular homes!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Very beautiful view

  • 4 of 5

Beautiful island house has a great view from upstairs. We where not able to sleep upstairs being it's not part of the main house and we have kids. Island life if very relaxed we enjoyed the house it was our second time in the house over. Thanks for sharing your house with our family.

  • Submitted: Jul 9, 2017
  • Stayed: Jun 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Wonderful weekend on the island

  • 5 of 5

This is an amazing house right on the beach, the rental manager is wonderful and answer all our questions,definitively we will come back soon.

Thanks Laurie for everything.

  • Submitted: May 29, 2017
  • Stayed: May 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

loved everything about our stay.

  • 5 of 5

You won't be disappointed.

  • Submitted: May 15, 2017
  • Stayed: May 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Beautiful Island

  • 4 of 5

This was our second vacation on Little Gasparilla Island. It is a beautiful slow paced place. Sunset Beach House was nice, with a few disappointments. The dishwasher was broken, and had been for a while. Most of the windows would not stay open and had to be propped up with cans or bottles. Screens were missing in 2 of the 4 bedrooms and the two patio doors in the kitchen and living room could not be opened and had no screens. In the summer if you had the a/c on all the time that might not be a problem, but we wanted to have open windows. Laurie Gaines was helpful and a great rental manager.

  • Submitted: Mar 29, 2017
  • Stayed: Mar 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We am sorry about the dishwasher being broken....a part was on backorder during your stay and-- as you can imagine on an island- there is not a handy hardware store down the street! The front porch is equipped with retractable screens that can be raised and lowered to provide a large screened outdoor lounging and dining area. However, some of the other windows do not have screens because people simply prefer to use the air conditioning most of the year.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Love the house and the Island.

  • 5 of 5

Love the house and the Island.

  • Submitted: Feb 3, 2017
  • Stayed: Jan 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


All services are available on the mainland. Access to the island is via water taxi which runs on demand during daylight hours. The water taxi requests a reservation one week in advance of arrival date.


Rates & Availability

Placida House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Manager accepts payment in:
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
Holiday 2017
Dec 20 2017 - Jan 2 2018
7 night minimum stay
My Standard Rate
6 night minimum stay
Notes: Rates are based on 6 guests; add $14 per night, per additional guest

Additional information about rental rates

Pet Fee $100
Refundable damage deposit $300
Cleaning $150
Tax Rate 12.0%

Holiday surcharge of $500 may be assessed; $300 reservation/security deposit required upon booking to hold date. 30-day cancellation notice required for stays of 1 week; 60-day cancellation for 2 weeks or more. Guests responsible for golf cart rental, mainland parking at the marina and water taxi charges. Pet fee of $100/pet may be assessed depending on size/breed.

Manager's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
Contact Manager