Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Sunset Beachhouse: The Ultimate Little Gasparilla Beachfront Lifestyle!

Sleeps8
Bedrooms 4
Bathrooms2
Space 1,400 sq. ft.
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 - 7 nights

Overview

About the property

4 Bedroom Direct Gulf-Front Home

Sunset Beach house is a spacious and sunny four-bedroom home located directly on the Gulf of Mexico. It is has one of the most spacious gulf-front porches on the island, with both a large outdoor sunning porch, a covered porch for dining and a private porch upstairs. This home is perfect for extended family or a group of friends, with plenty of space to dine indoors or out, lots of sunning space for everyone and a casual, elegant style that is comfortable and family friendly. Please note that the porch is covered for protection from rain and sun, but currently is not screened.

You must notify us if you wish to bring or rent a boat. New regulations enacted by the state of Florida limit boats to 21 ft. at our dock.

The home is spacious and modern inside with an open kitchen, living and dining area, comfortable furnishings and a modern, well-equipped kitchen.

There are two queen bedrooms and a king size bedroom (with en suite bath) downstairs and a third queen upstairs in the "observatory" with some of the most spectacular views you will find on the island. The upstairs room does not have blinds so can be quite bright for those who like to sleep late in the mornings.

The home is well equipped with a large flat screen TV, complimentary wi-fi, all kitchen utensils, beach towels and beach chairs. We also include the services of our island concierge who will meet you at the dock and help transport luggage and groceries to the house for you. The home also offers a downstairs outdoor shower for rinsing off after coming from the beach. You have your own private boardwalk to the beach.

LITTLE GASPARILLA FREQUENTLY ASKED QUESTIONS...PLEASE READ!

• You cannot drive your car to the island and the only access is via water taxi; there is no vehicle ferry.

• You must park your car at the marina at the mainland but it will be perfectly safe there; parking is $6 a day.

• The water taxi is $10 per person each way and he will drop you right at our dock

• All homes come with a grill.

• All homes come with beach chairs and an umbrella.

• You must bring all groceries to the island with you.

• There are no stores of any kind on the island, not even a convenience store.

• There is no need to bring drinking water; the water from the tap is safe and drinkable.

• There are first responders on the island and we have 911 service in case of an emergency.

• Golf carts are not necessary; the island is only 100-200 yards wide in most places and our concierge will meet you upon arrival to bring you to the house. But they are fun to go exploring.

• You can fish off the dock or the beach but non-Florida residents will need to purchase a fishing license.

• The beach is dog-friendly but dogs must be under your control, non-aggressive and most homes charge a pet fee

• This house has wi-fi but this is NOT the internet you are used to on the mainland. There is no unlimited data and wi-fi is NOT for entertainment. No Netflix, no skyping, no streaming music, no downloading videos, etc. Many people find the mobile hotspots on their smartphones are better alternatives.

More Details

Property Manager
Little Gasparilla Vacation Rentals
Member since: 2008
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
May 24, 2017

About Little Gasparilla Vacation Rentals

We have lived on the island for 30 years and we started renting our own home many years ago when we traveled. Then our neighbors asked us to handle rentals for them also -- and now we offer vacation rentals through our small family business Little Gasparilla Vacation Rentals. We offer cottages in a variety of price ranges and locations on the striking beachfront homes to cozy interior homes with lots of privacy. Our homes are painstakingly cared for, we try to keep them well-stocked, and we try to give each of our homes a very personal want you to feel like you are vacationing in a friend's home rather than a sterile "rental unit". We love the island and want you to have the best experience possible so you will love it as much as we do. So relax, kick off your flip flops, dig your toes in the sand and enjoy the island lifestyle!

Amenities

Placida House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1400 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 8
  • non smoking only ...
  • pets considered ...
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
Location Type:
  • Beachfront
  • Oceanfront
  • Waterfront
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Family
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
Dining:
  • Dining Area
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , combination tub/shower , shower
  • En suite bathroom in the master; second full bath downstairs and an outside open air shower downstairs
Bedrooms:
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Bedroom 2 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 3 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 4 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 1 - 1 king
  • King master bedroom with en suite bath, two additional queen bedrooms on the main floor and a third queen bedroom upstairs in the "observatory".
Entertainment:
  • Satellite / Cable
Outside:
  • Balcony
  • Deck / Patio
  • Lanai / Gazebo
  • Outdoor Grill
Suitability:
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Onsite Services:
  • Concierge
Attractions:
  • churches
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • marina
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • paddle boating
  • photography
  • shelling
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • kayaking
  • pier fishing
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • sound/bay fishing
  • spelunking
  • surf fishing
  • swimming
  • wind-surfing

Reviews

Excellent! 4.5/5 -
(21 traveler reviews)

Sunset Beachhouse: The Ultimate Little Gasparilla Beachfront Lifestyle!
average rating of 4.5238094 based on 21 reviews
Lexington,MI
4

Beautiful Island

  • 4 of 5

This was our second vacation on Little Gasparilla Island. It is a beautiful slow paced place. Sunset Beach House was nice, with a few disappointments. The dishwasher was broken, and had been for a while. Most of the windows would not stay open and had to be propped up with cans or bottles. Screens were missing in 2 of the 4 bedrooms and the two patio doors in the kitchen and living room could not be opened and had no screens. In the summer if you had the a/c on all the time that might not be a problem, but we wanted to have open windows. Laurie Gaines was helpful and a great rental manager.

  • Submitted: Mar 29, 2017
  • Stayed: Mar 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We am sorry about the dishwasher being broken....a part was on backorder during your stay and-- as you can imagine on an island- there is not a handy hardware store down the street! The front porch is equipped with retractable screens that can be raised and lowered to provide a large screened outdoor lounging and dining area. However, some of the other windows do not have screens because people simply prefer to use the air conditioning most of the year.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Love the house and the Island.

  • 5 of 5

Love the house and the Island.

  • Submitted: Feb 3, 2017
  • Stayed: Jan 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
townville sc
5

Didn't want to leave

  • 5 of 5

I honestly don't have anything negative to say about this rental. The house is very cozy and had enough linens, towels, chairs ect. ect. for our family of 8. The kitchen is well stocked for cooking and had the little "x-tras" you need but always forget to buy such as aluminum foil and paper towels. Bud and Laurie are amazing as well as the other homeowner's on the island. Everyone was quick to help and/or answer any questions that we had. We knew about the outside bugs but wasn't as prepared as we needed to be so make sure to bring ample amounts of bug spray and even some Benedryl. I would even suggest some oatmeal lotion as well. Hopefully, the screens on the outside porch will be in working order soon to relieve that issue. However, the bugs are a small price to pay in order to enjoy the wonderful paradise that awaits on LGI. We are already planning to come back next year. The only minor issue we had, which has nothing to do with the management nor the rental, was the boat taxi. Emmitt is very nice but the older guy is rude so beware. We love LGI!!

  • Submitted: Jul 26, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 1
5

Absolute paradise!

  • 5 of 5

This place is the definition of vacation! This was our second trip to Little Gasparilla-- and plan for there to be many more. The house is Beautiful, clean, spacious and comfortably fit 6 adults and 4 small children with no problem. Not to mention, it's just steps away from a gorgeous (and basically private) beach! There is nothing for you to do but relax and soak up the sun, making it an ideal getaway!

  • Submitted: Jul 20, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Paradise

  • 5 of 5

From the moment you arrive on Little Gasparilla Island you feel your stresses ease and time stand still. You can feel completely disconnected while the house DirectTV and WiFi keep you connected (great premium channel selection). Sunset House has amazing views, especially from the upstairs bedroom, and the telescope was a great touch. Our children are 4 and 1, and this was a perfect beach vacation for them. The water was calm and easy for them to swim. It's also easy to keep an eye on toddlers when you're the only people on the beach! The house also conveniently had a pack n play, and our airport car service had car seats, so we had to haul very little "kid stuff" with us through the airport. I would recommend renting this home, or any offered by Laurie & Buddy Gaines at Little Gasparilla Vacation Rentals!

  • Submitted: Jul 19, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Beautiful View

  • 4 of 5

We have previously stayed on the island back in 2007 and fell in love with the breathtaking views, hospitality of the locals, and overall experience. This time, we brought our 17 mo old daughter, and in-laws and a relative with us (6 adults and a baby total in the house). The house had STUNNING views. Literally you walk down the stairs onto the board walk and you are on the beach you can't beat it. The house had great features as well, retractable blinds in the living room/kitchen which were great to wind down at night. 2 full baths- great for so many people staying in the house and up dated amenities within the house. We ran into a few issue while staying there with appliances, but found fixes ourselves for it pretty fast. I will say the only two down falls to the house for us was it echoed so bad and there was no screened in porch area. It you opened/closed the front door it echoed through the entire house or closed cabinets in the kitchen or mainly anything in the main area (with out shutting slowly); woke the baby constantly. So, my only recommendation for anyone who has small children renting the house is BRING your sound machine! It was our life saver. AS for the porch, the "no see ums" ate us alive. So it was hard to enjoy the deck in the morning to drink coffee and watch the sunrise or at night to watch the sunset and sit outside to enjoy each others company.

Overall, we had a great stay. The owners and property manager are superb. They were hospitable and easily reached if we had any issues. We will be back again, and we will rent from them again as well!

  • Submitted: May 31, 2016
  • Stayed: May 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are glad that you decided to return to Little Gasparilla and glad that Sunset Beachhouse worked for your family. We have never had a complaint about the house echoing before...but there are wood floors throughout the house rather than carpeting which absorbs the sound more. As for noseeums, they are an unpleasant fact of life at certain times on the island....with or without a screened porch, because they come right through screens. We usually recommend Avon Skin So Soft which is a good repellant. There is another all natural product called Lewey's made from 100% natural oils (no DEET) that is good for noseeums as well. Hopefully they did not interfere with your enjoyment of the island too much!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

All services are available on the mainland. Access to the island is via water taxi which runs on demand during daylight hours. The water taxi requests a reservation one week in advance of arrival date.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Placida House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Manager accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Holiday
May 23 2017 - Jun 3 2017
3 night minimum stay
$425
$2,500
 
 
July 4th
Jun 29 2017 - Jul 7 2017
7 night minimum stay
$2,500
 
Notes: Rates are based on 6 guests; add $14 per night, per additional guest
 
Holiday 2017
Dec 20 2017 - Jan 2 2018
7 night minimum stay
$2,500
 
 
My Standard Rate
6 night minimum stay
$325
$2,200
 
Notes: Rates are based on 6 guests; add $14 per night, per additional guest

Additional information about rental rates

Pet Fee $100
Refundable damage deposit $300
Cleaning $150
Tax Rate 12.0%

Holiday surcharge of $500 may be assessed; $300 reservation/security deposit required upon booking to hold date. 30-day cancellation notice required for stays of 1 week; 60-day cancellation for 2 weeks or more. Guests responsible for golf cart rental, mainland parking at the marina and water taxi charges. Pet fee of $100/pet may be assessed depending on size/breed.

Manager's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.

Enter dates for accurate pricing

Send a Message Send a Message
Available
Unavailable

You might like these similar properties