Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call VRBO Booking Assistance: 888-829-7076
Book Online or call VRBO Booking Assistance: 888-829-7076

Near Haleakala National Park

Sleeps3
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms1
Half Baths1
Space 2,100 sq ft
Property type studio

Overview

About the property

2 Bedrooms; 1 upstairs with King bed, 1 down w/ single bed, 1.5 Private bath

The owners live in part of the house, but you have a private entrance and bathroom plus one or two bedrooms. Located at 2600 ft elevation, this is a Quiet neighborhood with great views to the ocean (both north and south shores) and the mountains (Haleakala and West Maui). 3 big decks provide a nice outdoor option to enjoy the view while having a continental breakfast (we provide) before heading out for the day.. Upstairs bedroom can be configured with 2 twin beds or one Kingsize. Main floor bedroom has one twin bed. The private bath is adjacent to the downstairs bedroom.

The property is centrally located as a great base-camp for access to all the incredible attractions available on Maui.

This is a bed & breakfast only; No kitchen or laundry or TV. However, you do have your own mini refrigerator and microwave.

WiFi is available

Continental breakfast consists of some variety of fresh fruit, pastry or muffins, etc. juice, coffee and tea.

We live in the other side of the house and are available to help you or answer questions.

Here are the House Rules:

• QUIET HOURS are from 9 PM every evening, including

weekends and until 8 AM every morning

• AMPLIFIED SOUND that can be heard beyond our property

boundary is not permitted

• VEHICLE PARKING allowed in designated parking stalls

only; not on the street

• NO PETS Except goldfish

• NO SMOKING inside or within 25' of open doors or

windows

• NO ILLEGAL ACTIVITIES

• NO DRUG OR ALCOHOL ABUSE

• NO UNREGISTERED VISITORS

• NO FIREWORKS or WEAPONS ALLOWED except those

legal and registered for hunting

• NO KITCHEN or LAUNDRY SERVICE. There is a

Laundromat located in the nearby Pukalani Shopping Center

More Details

Owner
Steve Grogan
Member since: 2016
Premier Partner

This VRBO partner has demonstrated and is committed to fast response times, the best rates, and a great guest experience.

Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
April 22, 2018

About Steve Grogan

Diane currently works for the County of Maui, Finance Department and is active in music playing piano/electronic keyboard and singing; also enjoys tennis and golf.

Steve is recently retired from the Maui Department of Parks and Recreation and now manages the Bed & Breakfast. He also is active in music, playing guitar and bass and singing. He is very active in tennis and racquetball

They are both from Cleveland, Ohio originally but moved to Maui on their honeymoon in 1978.

Steve Grogan purchased this studio in 2001

Why Steve Grogan chose Kula

We travel frequently and have enjoyed staying in bed and breakfast houses on numerous occasions. We have met many interesting people in our travels and now, we can continue to enjoy making new friends through hosting a bed and breakfast ourselves,

Plus, with no kids at home now, we have a lot extra space available

What makes this studio unique

We chose the location of our house based on having lived on Maui for many years. Here in Kula, we are not in the crowded tourist areas, but they are easily accessible. At our elevation of 2600 feet above sea level, the temperatures are very comfortable for us year round. We have great views and few neighbors. From our back yard, you can walk all the way to the top of Haleakala Volcano. You have to cross one road and climb a few cattle fences, but you cross thru only ranch land and National Park property ( I did it once, but it is steep).

Guestbook comments from the owner

We were very happy to host Shelly and Sam. They were the best. We would gladly have them visit again and highly recommend them to other hosts
Aug 2016
  • 1 of 1

Amenities

Kula Studio Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • studio
  • floor 2
Building Type:
  • house
Accommodation Type:
  • Bed & Breakfast
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 2100 sq ft
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 3:00 PM / Check-out: 11:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 3
  • children welcome
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Mountain View ...
  • Ocean View ...
Theme:
  • Away From It All
General:
  • Hair Dryer
  • Internet ...
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Towels Provided
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Microwave ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Toaster ...
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , On second floor loft
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 3
  • Bedroom 2 - 1 twin/ single , Regular bed on first floor
    Bedroom 3 - 1 sleep sofa /futon , Great room (see picture) has Futon , which lays out flat
    Bedroom 1 - 2 twin/ single
Suitability:
  • limited accessibility
Attractions:
  • arboretum
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • library
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • horseback riding
  • luaus
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • whale watching
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • paragliding
  • parasailing
  • racquetball
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
We provide a light carry-out breakfast for those guests visiting HALEAKALA VOLCANO for SUNRISE between 3 AM and 7 AM. Otherwise we provide no meal service. We do provide a mini-fridge, microwave and basic dinnerware in your room

Reviews

Wonderful! 4.8/5 -
(26 traveler reviews)

84% Complete
11% Complete
3% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
Near Haleakala National Park
average rating of 4.8076925 based on 27 reviews
Waimanalo,HI
5

Can’t wait to be back!

  • 5 of 5

Property and Host exceeded every expectation i had during my stay. The house itself is absolutely gorgeous! It’s very well maintained and extremely inviting. I truly think i took more pics of the house than anything else on my trip. The owners were just the sweetest and their demeanor made you feel at home. Would definitely stay here again on my next visit!!

  • Submitted: Nov 20, 2017
  • Stayed: November 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much. The feeling is mutual. You guys were the best guests ever. If you lived here, I am sure we would be getting together to do things as friends. Aloha
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Great place, wonderful hosts

  • 5 of 5

Our stay was great. The place is large and the views are wonderful. Steve and Diane were terrific hosts, very pleasant and knowledgeable about the Kula area. We would stay with them again.

  • Submitted: Apr 2, 2018
  • Stayed: March 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We enjoyed meeting you both and would be happy to serve you again anytime. Aloha
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Wonderful views!

  • 5 of 5

We have been to Maui before, but wanted to explore more of the upcountry. We were very please that we did. Our accommodations were perfect. Our hosts, Steve and Diane were top notch. Making sure we had everything we needed and gave us excellent recommendations on places to eat, etc. The place was clean and comfortable. Would definitely stay there again :)

  • Submitted: Feb 15, 2018
  • Stayed: February 2018
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: You guys were the best. We hope to see you again either here or there
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Very clean house and helpful couple

  • 5 of 5

Amazing bi- costal views from front of house, top of neighborhood location. Backyard was the slope of the volcano green pastures with cows!!!!!!! Peaceful and beautiful. Very clean and straightforward accommodations, owners friendly and helpful.

  • Submitted: Feb 5, 2018
  • Stayed: February 2018
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Wonderful experience

  • 5 of 5

Nice facilities like bedroom, living room, balcorny and kitchen.

Nice location near to Mt. HALEAKARA.

Warm and kind hospitality.

  • Submitted: Feb 5, 2018
  • Stayed: February 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Ohio
3

Very nice people, but...

  • 3 of 5

The hosts are very hospitable and kind. Also, very knowledgeable about the area, if you have any questions. The sleeping quarters have a wonderful view and are very private. However, the carpet was visibly dirty and the pillows needed to be replaced. Hopefully these details are attended to soon. Mahalo for the stay!

  • Submitted: Jan 22, 2018
  • Stayed: January 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi Melissa, thanks for the review. Regarding the carpet; a previous guest had spilled something (coffee). We had it cleaned, but there is still a color difference by a shade. However, it is Clean and regularly vacuumed. I could have back-charged the previous guest, but that seemed a little harsh for such a minor imperfection. Regarding the pillows; there was (and is) a pile of pillows and blankets next to the chest of drawers. If you did not see it, I wish you would have asked me. The pillows are all new and zipped into a sanitary liner. The cases are washed after every guest. Hope all is well for you and yours. Aloha, Steve
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

La Provence
French Restaurant
Kula Bistro
Family Restaurant
Maui Lavender Cafe
Cafe
joy's place LIVE!
Health Food Restaurant
Kojima's Sushi Bar & Cafe
Japanese Restaurant
Serpico's Restaurant
Italian Restaurant
Farmacy Health Bar Pukalani
Wei Wei Bar-B-Q Restaurant
Barbecue Restaurant
Pizza Fresh
Pizza Restaurant
Casanova Italian Restaurant and Deli
Italian Restaurant
Polli's Mexican Restaurant
Mexican Restaurant
Makawao Garden Cafe
Sandwich Shop
Habibi On Maui
Middle Eastern Restaurant
Makawao Sushi & Deli
Sushi Restaurant
Makawao Steak House
Steak House
Sip Me
Coffee Shop
Hale Kokomo
Kama Hele Cafe
Cafe
Grandma's Coffeehouse
Coffee Shop
The Wooden Crate At Lumeria Maui
Organic Restaurant
Haleakala Crater
Maui Kombucha
Vegan Restaurant
Colleen's At the Cannery
American Restaurant
Mediterranean Grill
Mediterranean Restaurant
Bailey's Café
Sala Dang Thai Kitchen (Formerly, Tuk Tuk Thai)
Thai Restaurant
Satrang
Indian Restaurant
Kings BBQ
Barbecue Restaurant
Brekkie Bowls
Health Food Restaurant
Veg Out
Vegetarian Restaurant
Nuka
Japanese Restaurant
Blue Moon Cafe
Cafe
Maui Tacos
Mexican Restaurant
Jamba Juice Pii'lani Village Shopping Center
Juice Shop
Ba-Le Sandwich Shop
Sandwich Shop
808 Grindz Cafe
Cafe
Cold Stone Creamery
Ice Cream Shop
Round Table Pizza
Pizza Restaurant
Island Fresh Café - Paia
Cafe
Eskimo Candy Inc
Seafood Restaurant
Tienda del Sol
Mexican Restaurant
Fabiani's Bakery and Pizzeria
Italian Restaurant
1054 Togoshi Sushi Restaurant
Sushi Restaurant
Isana Restaurant
Korean Restaurant
Shearwater Tavern
Gastropub
Maui Brick Oven
Gluten-Free Restaurant
Roasted Chiles
Mexican Restaurant
Antonio's Italian
Italian Restaurant
Piko Cafe
Coffee Shop
Fork and Salad Maui
Organic Restaurant
Nearest Airport
12.6 Miles
Kahului, Maui, Hawaii (OGG)
Nearest Ferry
35 Miles
Lahaina, HI
Nearest Golf
5 Miles
Pukalani Country Club
Nearest Train
38 Miles
Sugar Cane Train (tourist fun only)
Nearest Restaurant
2.4 Miles
Kula Bistro
Nearest Beach
13.6 Miles
Baldwin Beach Park (restrooms & showers)
Car: recommended

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning $35
Tax Rate 13.41%

Lovely loft bedroom with decks to the views of ocean and mountains.
At this mountain-side elevation (2600 ft), it can be cool at night, but rarely below 50 F. We have electric blankets if you like.
The bedroom and bathroom are exclusive for your use. There are several places to eat outdoors and in, but not in the bedroom.
There is a Maui Bus stop within walking distance ( eight tenths of a mile or a little over one kilometer),

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 7 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 14 days before arrival date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.

You might like these similar properties