Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled

One Bedroom / Sleeps 4 ON LAKE MICHIGAN In South Haven

Sleeps4
Bedrooms 1
Bathrooms1
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 2 - 3 nights

Overview

About the property

Sunset Cottage Is Located On South Haven's North Side

Sunset Cottage is the perfect place for a couple or for a small family. The cottage is located on the North Side and is within walking distance of the downtown area. The cottage is located on Lake Michigan and shares a private beach with other renters of the property. The cottage offers one bedroom, a bathroom, kitchen, and living room area with a pullout queen size sofa sleeper. The kitchen is fully equipped and just outside is a patio with all of your grilling necessities! If you enjoy spending your days and nights on the beach, this is the perfect place for you! Enjoy the sunshine during the day and a bonfire at night. July and August are primarily weekly rentals, Saturday to Saturday. We do offer shortened stays (3 night minimum) yet do require a cleaning fee for stays shorter than one week.


Property Manager
Cara Montgomery
Member since: 2015
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
August 18, 2017

About Cara Montgomery

Jason and I have been managing this property for ten years now! Great friends of ours own the cottage and live in Arizona. We both grew up in South Haven and love everything the small town has to offer.

Cara Montgomery purchased this cottage in 2007

Why Cara Montgomery chose Southwest

You really can't get much better than this! Privacy if you want it, but close enough to others if you want to make new friends. No driving or lugging your things down thousands of stairs to get to the beach, just a short jaunt up the sand to grab a beverage or use the restroom. Walk to town, stay on the beach all day and all night...

What makes this cottage unique

One of few properties located on Lake Michigan!

Amenities

South Haven Cottage Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cottage
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 4:00 PM / Check-out: 11:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 4
  • children welcome
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Beach View
  • Beachfront
  • Lake View
  • Lakefront
  • Water View
  • Waterfront
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Internet
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower
  • 1 bath
Bedrooms:
  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 4
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 double
    Bedroom 2 - 1 sleep sofa /futon
  • One bedroom with a pullout sofa sleeper in living room area.
Entertainment:
  • DVD Player
  • Television
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio
  • Golf
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill
Attractions:
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • festivals
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • boating
  • horseback riding
  • miniature golf
  • photography
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • roller blading
  • skiing
  • swimming
  • water tubing
  • wind-surfing

Reviews

Excellent! 4.6/5 -
(8 traveler reviews)

62% Complete
37% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
One Bedroom / Sleeps 4 ON LAKE MICHIGAN In South Haven
average rating of 4.625 based on 8 reviews
5

Great getaway to one of the most beautiful beaches in the country

  • 5 of 5

We had a great stay, would def come back. The cottage is quaint and had everything we needed. Meijer is located 1 mile away to stock up on groceries. Town is only 0.5 miles away. There is a great breakfast joint called Bundes, it's a bakery and they offer Starbucks brew which is only 0.4 miles away. The sunset are terrific, the unit is nice because even though it shares the patio and beach with all the other residents the grassy area seems like its meant for this unit which means you have it all to yourself. This was perfect for our 9 month old who needs some space to get around. The internet was down when we were there but it's being worked on, the owners were all over it it seemed. Overall a wonderful vacation!

  • Submitted: Jul 29, 2017
  • Stayed: Jul 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Adam and Carolyn, It was truly a pleasure meeting you and your beautiful little boy. Thank you for being so wonderful! Internet service has been changed and us up and running....hopefully for good! Until next time! Jason and Cara
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Perfect!

  • 5 of 5

Wonderful family vacation! Super cute cottage!

Managers Cara and Jason were outstanding!

  • Submitted: Jul 29, 2017
  • Stayed: Jul 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Farmington Hills, MI
4

Nice cottage

  • 4 of 5

Very nice, clean, small cottage. Walk to the beach is not far. The posting does describe internet access and cable tv, however, if this is a must have, be cautious. We did not have internet access the entire week--which made us use over our allotted data usage. We were told that Comcast was working in the area and was the cause of the disturbance. However, other tenants in the cluster of cottages stated that they too had Comcast with no issues. The owner also stated we would be given updates on the service daily, but we never received any updates. When asking the owner about this issue, she stated to me "I don't know what you want me to do. It's out of my hands." While she did offer a refund if we wanted to find another place to stay, we found this to be a bit frustrating in the way she reacted. It was not possible for us to find another place within a day! My husband and I both work remotely and needed the internet access that was advertised with this rental. We did enjoy our stay and found this to be a well equipped, clean cottage. We were inconvenienced in driving into town daily to a coffee shop for internet access though.

  • Submitted: Jul 18, 2017
  • Stayed: Jun 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your review! We are glad you enjoyed your stay amidst the Internet issue. I do sincerely apologize about the connection issues you experienced. As you are aware, I spent hours on the phone in regards to the connection issues for several consecutive days, hence the offer for the full refund for another rental site. We are however, looking into a different provider to avoid this issue in the future. Thank you for taking such great care of the cottage.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Cute house with nice front yard and great beach access.

  • 5 of 5

We enjoyed our stay here, and our kids loved the beach. The back deck made for a great reading spot and sunset viewing. Thanks!

  • Submitted: May 29, 2017
  • Stayed: May 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are so glad you enjoyed your stay! Hope to see you again in the near future!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Spring Valley, IL
5

Enjoyable!

  • 5 of 5

Perfect location for a relaxing weekend getaway! Cottage was clean and fully stocked w appliances. Easy access to private beach! In walking distance to downtown. A childhood friend and I met for a weekend getaway and we will be doing this every yr now!!!

  • Submitted: May 21, 2017
  • Stayed: May 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Very nice and great beach access!

  • 5 of 5

This property is close to everything in South Haven, you could walk if you wanted. The cottage is small, my family of three fit fine and the yard provided some place for my son to play. It's small but has everything you need and was very clean and recently updated when we arrived. We contacted the owners several times and always received a prompt response and were always very professional and nice. Yes, you do not have a lake view from within the cottage but about nine steps (I counted)out the front door and you have a nice view. The deck area has lots of space and tables for use. There was a great fire pit, wood and chairs we used and loved. The stretch of beach is perfect! We would return again for another weekend stay.

  • Submitted: May 18, 2017
  • Stayed: May 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are so very pleased that you enjoyed your stay! We would love to have you again! Thanks for taking such great care of the cottage!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Car: not necessary

Photos

Rates & Availability

South Haven Cottage Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Manager accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Prime Summer
Jun 16 2017 - Sep 4 2017
3 night minimum stay
$150
$1,000
 
 
Fall
Sep 5 2017 - Oct 31 2017
2 night minimum stay
$100
$500
 
 
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay
$150
 

Additional information about rental rates

Rates are subject to change. A cleaning fee is charged for stays shorter than one week.

Payment by check or via PayPal.

Manager's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 7 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 14 days before arrival date.
Available
Unavailable