About the property
- House1800 sq. ft.
- Half Baths1
- Minimum Stay0 - 5 nights
This Victorian-style home boasts a total of 5 bedrooms and 2.5 bathrooms. It will sleep up to 12 people, and is in the perfect waterfront location in downtown Sandpoint! Sand Creek is boatable, swimmable, and is part of the Sandpoint landscape. The home was built as a duplex, with an upper and a lower unit, both independent of each other. Each unit has its own full kitchen, dining area, living area, bedrooms, and bathrooms. Property includes boat moorage at the dock, outside deck, covered BBQ area, TV, internet, and dedicated laundry facilities in each of the units.
The Upper Unit has a total of 3 bedrooms and 1.5 bathrooms. Two of the bedrooms have a Queen-size bed, and the third has two Twin-size beds. Plus, there is a foldout sleeper sofa in the living room. A/C window unit on main level.
The Lower Unit has just recently been remodeled throughout the entire unit! Scope of recent work includes a completely new kitchen with stone countertops, new cabinets, and stainless steel appliances. This unit has a total of 2 bedrooms and 1 full bathroom. Featuring new furniture in all rooms, as well as wood flooring. One of the bedrooms has a Queen-size bed and the other bedroom has a Twin-over-Full bunkbed. There is also a pull-out sleeper sofa in the living area that is available for additional sleeping.
Watch the sun set over the mountains as you rest on the dock, or walk downtown to enjoy Sandpoint's nightlife -- either way, our North Third home is perfectly located. Situated just upstream from Sandpoint's City Beach, just two blocks from the hospital and downtown.
This property is rented as a whole, but you have the ability to rent just the Upper Unit by itself. Contact our office for pricing details.
Tourist Home Permit TH13-13
- Response rate:
- Response time:
- within a few days
- Calendar last updated:
- May 26, 2018
Old, smelly, spiderweb covered, highly disappointing
One unit of the home was updated, but smelled too bad to stay in. We stayed in the other unit sharing the bathroom. It was old, very dirty especially considering the substantial cleaning fee. It is obvious they are not spending the cleaning fee on cleaning. There was a 2 foot long cobweb over the dining room table, and the home itself was it disrepair. The house itself was not level, slanting floors, tiny rooms with large furniture made it difficult to get around, and peeling paint everywhere on the interior. The outside of the house was completely covered in spiderwebs in the dock had been severely neglected. Deck furniture was wobbly. The pictures of the water Drew us to this property, the photos do not show the train tracks with hourly freight train service that runs through the night, along with the highway right next to it. It was loud, the river it was overrun with weeds, swimming was not an option. Highly disappointing overall, we left early in want of a good night's sleep and a clean environment in which to eat and bathe.
Beware of hiddens costs
Our main objection to this place is not the home itself, but the management company. The description on the HomeAway site does not mention what they charge for cleaning and that they require either a very large damage deposit or pay an additional fee for damage insurance, that actually doesn't cover a lot of the things that are most likely to happen when renting the place. Homeaway will not allow me to say how much these things were in the review, but the cleaning fee was more than twice what I have ever paid before, and I do these kinds of rentals frequently, all over the world. When they quoted me an overall price that was about more than the rental price, I figured it was a normal damage deposit. I was not informed about the actual extra charges until after I had made a deposit and there would then be a substantial cancellation fee. When I complained about the exorbitant cleaning fee, I was told that they use a commercial service and that is what they charge. I wonder who's relative owns the cleaning service.
About the house itself, it did not work well for our nine person family gathering in the Winter. To get from the lower unit to the main upstairs unit you had to go outside in the cold and climb some icy steps. The upper unit had a great living and dining area for the large group, but the upstairs kitchen did not have enough prep area for large meals. The dinner plates were too big for the dishwasher to operate, so we had to wash them by hand. Interestingly, the downstairs kitchen was better for a large group, and the dishes fit in its dishwasher, but the dining and living area there wasn't big enough.
We have come to Sandpoint for a Winter gathering a couple of times now, but we will look for a different place next time.
Thank you for reviewing this home. We are surprised that you felt that there were hidden costs in your reservation. When you placed the booking the rate was very clear. With every vacation rental there is a rental rate and then the total which includes housekeeping, fees, and taxes. This total was communicated and this property was selected based on this price. The price never changed. Our confirmations detail the costs associated with the rental so everything is clear. We are very sorry that you felt that the cost breakdown for your booking was not clear, this is an important part of our booking process and we will take a deeper look into these communications. We manage many homes in the area and hope that you would consider using us with another property when you return to Sandpoint. Thank you.