Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Great family home, close to the city, surrounded by nature!

Bedrooms 5
Half Baths1
Space 3,300 sq. ft.
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 - 4 nights


About the property

Large comfortable family home, close to all-Many kid/family friendly features

If you would like to enjoy a perfect retreat, without the hassle of a trip to the Hampton's, or want the convenience of a great location, this is it! We have added the conveniences many families need while away from home. Full size crib, High chair, pack and play, a gated playroom on the main living areas and much more. Area playgrounds, kid friendly activities and dining establishments are all nearby. Any time of year, Glen Cove and the surrounding areas of Locust Valley, Sea Cliff, Bayville and Oyster Bay have long been a hide away for the rich and famous who know how to live, but want to remain low profile, and close to the city-The original playground of the rich and famous! Countless Hollywood films were and still are made here (Alfred Hitchcock's "North By Northwest", "Sabrina", and many many more,) The books"The Great Gatsby" by F. Scott Fitzgerald, and "The Gold Coast" by Nelson DeMille were written about the area.Our 4/5 bedroom home on large private property, boasting a sparkling 20x40 gunite pool (available during select summer months) the best of the good life! Gourmet chefs kitchen/fabulous family room. Master suite with walk in shower and over size tub...Formal dining room, expansive beautiful patio with built in BBQ surrounded by nature. Walk/bike to beaches, golf, tennis, and nature preserves. This special upscale community is home to some of New York's finest dining establishments, all nearby. As well as countless casual eateries and family style restaurants. Some of the most beautiful winding roads to drive, bike or walk anywhere. Commuter train or drive to NYC, under 1 hour. Enjoy all of the best life has to offer, without spending long hours commuting to the Hampton's. Come and see why those who can live anywhere, choose to live here, on the Gold Coast of Long Island..........NEW: We are now offering a daily POOL CLUB EXPERIENCE. If renting the whole house is too much commitment, please email me to discuss the possibility of using our beautiful pool, patio and other services on a daily basis, when available!

Member since: 2015
Speaks: english, Farsi
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
May 25, 2017

Why Owner/Manager chose Long Island

Rent the whole house, or if that is too much commitment, we have now added a daily POOL CLUB EXPERIENCE. If you are interested in using the pool, patio and other amenities, please message me here to discuss the details, and available dates....


Glen Cove House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 3300 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 8
  • Max. adults: 8
  • Min. age of primary renter: 28
  • Children welcome ...
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Pets considered ...
  • Non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Near The Ocean
  • Village
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Fireplace ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven ...
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 10 people
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Bathroom 3 - toilet
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , combination tub/shower , Double sink and vanity
    Bathroom 1 - toilet , tub , shower , Sit down/walk in rain shower/huge soaking tub-dbl vanity
  • 5 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Television ...
  • Toys ...
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Golf ...
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Tennis ...
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • limited accessibility
Pool / Spa:
  • Private Pool ...
Onsite Services:
  • Car Available
  • arboretum
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • festivals
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • synagogues
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • miniature golf
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cross country skiing
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • golf
  • golf privileges optional
  • roller blading
  • sailing
  • swimming
  • tennis
Check in is anytime after 3 pm. Check out by noon. No last minute added guests. Please contact me for any additional requests of questions that you may have. I will be happy to help! Any and all visitors must be authorized by owner in writing. All contact information will be required. Please no parties or gatherings. The home is for the peaceful enjoyment of our guests. Thank you!


Excellent! 4.6/5 -
(11 traveler reviews)

Great family home, close to the city, surrounded by nature!
average rating of 4.6363635 based on 11 reviews

The property is beautiful, we only left to buy groceries if that is any indication!

  • 5 of 5

The pool is fabulous and the kitchen/patio is such a great indoor/outdoor hangout combo that we spent all our time on the first floor snacking, playing board games and chatting. The rest of the house is spacious and lends itself to sneaking away for a nap or alone time without interruption or noise from downstairs. We had a wonderful time and Stacey was very accessible if we needed her, but not intrusive. She was very respectful of our privacy.

  • Submitted: Jul 9, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for the review! We could not ask for better guests, and hearing that you liked our home, makes it all the better! Thanks again!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Great Home, host and all the comforts of home and more!

  • 5 of 5

My wife and I have stayed several times at this home, and have fully enjoyed each time. Stacey goes out of her way to make sure we have everything we need. The home is immaculate, and extremely comfortable. Plenty of room for the kids to stretch out and play. Highly recommend!

  • Submitted: Feb 20, 2017
  • Stayed: Feb 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much! We always look forward to your visits, and having your lovely family in our home. Please come back soon!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

excellent house

  • 5 of 5

We loved the house. Four of us stayed there and we had plenty of room. The owner even brought us bagels! We hope to be back again next year. Thank you!

  • Submitted: Oct 20, 2016
  • Stayed: Oct 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much! It was such a pleasure having you and your lovely family in our home....Please come back and see us soon!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
scottsdale AZ

Hope to be back soon!

  • 5 of 5

My group consisted of long time friends and professional associates in town for a conference. We chose this house for its location near NYC and its size. It did not disappoint! In a very quiet area, we were all able to relax and unwind at the end of the day. The pool is backed to the woods, and yard offers a tranquil retreat. It was clean and had all the modern conveniences. Our host could not have been more pleasant, and made sure we were happy, then left us to enjoy our stay. Will definitely be back, next time we are in town!

  • Submitted: Sep 7, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Many thanks for your kind and thoughtful review! Its been more than a pleasure having your team here, and I sincerely hope that we have the opportunity to have you all again soon!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Had a great experience, hope to be back soon!

  • 5 of 5

I decided to rent this home last minute, and was so happy it was available! Very quiet, and relaxing, but pretty close to the city. The yard and pool are amazing, and we spent most of our time just taking in all the natural beauty, bbq-ing, swimming, and eating at local restaurants...Our host made a big effort to make sure we had everything we needed, and was available via phone for anything at all. Our family was so glad to be able to enjoy the last days of summer in this lovely home, and convenient location. We hope to be back again soon!

  • Submitted: Aug 17, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for the review! It was especially nice to have you all in our home...We likewise, look forward to seeing you again in the near future. All the best!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Best Part of the Trip...LEAVING! It was worth losing our money to enjoy our last week elsewhere!!

  • 1 of 5

I would give 0 stars if I could.

We were happy to leave this home before our rental agreement was up knowing we would lose our money for the week and our deposit. VRBO warned my wife not to leave the home without meeting the owner and having her sign off that everything looked ok, because in their experience in situations like this, we would not get our deposit back.They were right!

The home doesn't have a secured internet network so we got hacked; owner gave us a suggestion for protecting our devices AFTER THE FACT. BBQ had so much grease build up that our food caught fire the first time we used it; owner offered to bring a portable BBQ AFTER THE FACT. Black mold in a shower; owner came and cleaned AFTER MY WIFE COMPLAINED. Dishwasher broke, which the repairman said was quite old and should be replaced; owner didn't listen and had it repaired at a cost of almost $700! Insurance we purchased will not cover because it is considered wear and tear; owner said we will have to pay for it. How can someone charge for wear and tear? Answer: you can't, but she says she is going to take it out of our deposit. Funny thing is, we weren't running the dishwasher when it backed up; we came home to a puddle of water all over the floor. Owner said there was glass in the line, but no glass ever broke in the dishwasher during our stay.

The straw that broke the camel's back was the owner's intrusive behavior; she even walked into the home one day without anyone letting her in, which she later denied. There were also two occasions when service people came to the home without any notification. They were in unmarked white vans and not wearing any type of uniform, which was unnerving. One even came on a Sunday morning asking us where we were going when we informed him that we were on our way out.

This is an older home with a lot of existing damage such as patched holes in the walls, plaster coming off the walls, broken stone pavers on the patio, tiles falling off the shower walls (which the owner would later suggest we ripped off the wall even though my wife voiced her concern that they may fall off and hurt someone), broken pool ladder the owner admitted was a safety hazard but never fixed during our stay, a broken storm door the owner would later claim we ripped off the hinges the day we left, and more! So be prepared to possibly be blamed for things that break like we were.

Insurance is paying for a shed (aka pool cabana) window that was broken by accident.

  • Submitted: Aug 9, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: It is obvious that my home is of top quality, in looking at my other reviews, all 5 star. It is very unfortunate that this guest would try to extort money from honest hardworking hosts like myself. After spending plenty of time trying to make this guest happy, including several trips to address issues they were claiming, but were not true. It occurred to me, this guest wanted all their money back, and had no intention of paying for their stay, and were in fact trying to build a case to do so. Telling me, if I do not return the money, they would post a bad review. I will not be blackmailed. So I ask that anyone considering this rental, check back in a few days. Hopefully this review be removed by then. Though this experience has not been all that I hoped for, it has given me a greater appreciation for all of my other wonderful guests! For that, I am eternally grateful- My apologies for any inconvenience, and I look forward to having you in our home!
Did you find this review helpful?
2 2


Car: recommended


Rates & Availability

Glen Cove House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
Fourth of July
Jul 1 2017 - Jul 8 2017
4 night minimum stay
Notes: Rates are based on 5 guests; add $20 per night, per additional guest
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay
Notes: Rates are based on 5 guests; add $20 per night, per additional guest

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning fee stay/wk $200
Property Damage Protection $99
Pet Fee $20
Refundable damage deposit $1,000

Check in is after 3 pm, check out is by noon. Please, no last minute added guests. Any persons staying over night must be on the contract prior to arrival, and have the owners consent. Please, no parties or gatherings. Any visitors must be authorized in advance in writing. Full contact info will be required in writing of any visitors. The owner will make every reasonable effort to make the pool available during the summer months. Holiday periods may incur higher rates. Last minute bookings may incur a higher rate, and will discussed prior to booking. Thank you for your interest in renting our home!

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.

Enter dates for accurate pricing

Send a Message Send a Message

You might like these similar properties