Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

10% off summer rates Quick walk to beach! Island Home! Getaway! 3bed/2bath

Bedrooms 3
Space 1,200 sq. ft.
Property type house
Minimum Stay 6 nights


About the property

Clean, Comfortable, & Cute!

Welcome to Island Idyll on beautiful St. George Island! Enjoy an island getaway at Island Idyll. Only a short walking distance to the beautiful beaches of St. George Island from this home! Owners have timed it at an approximate 6 minute walk to the beach. By car or golf cart you are only a minute away from the 7th Street public beach access!

This whimsical St. George Island home sits you above the tree tops looking over the front deck. There is plenty of sunshine coming through the multiple windows in the living room. Colorfully decorated, this home's style is designed to make you smile and forget the cares of the world. The 3 Bedrooms, 2 bathrooms, and full size washer and dryer are all located on one level. The kitchen is fully stocked including: toaster, blender, mixer, measuring cups, bake ware, pots, pans, placemats, coasters, and more!

All TV's in the home are flat screens! YES! We have FREE Wi-Fi, & Cable at this home! Stereo in the living room! Upon arrival at the home you will find a booklet with all of the needed information to get you connected. There are also extra blankets, pillows, books and a few puzzles & games for your pleasure.

Outside of Island Idyll, on the back deck, you will find plenty of seating, including a picnic bench. Underneath the house, enjoy shaded space with a fish cleaning station and an outdoor shower. Fisher-men & women love it here! Children love to play in the sand under the home.

Tucked away behind lush greenery, this home's location really gives a private, personal feel to it. Interior location gives you a great price on St. George Island, while still being VERY close to the beach, within walking distance! We invite you to stay at Island Idyll- named for the experience it creates. noun: idyll- an extremely happy, peaceful, or picturesque episode or scene, typically an idealized or unsustainable one.

We look forward to you making Island Idyll a part of your St. George Island vacation memory.

As a bonus, you and your guest will receive a discount on all rentals from our friends at Jolly Roger Beach Shop. They have gas powered golf carts, kayaks, stand up paddle boards, bikes, beach chairs & umbrellas and much more. You will receive FREE delivery & pick-up on all rentals. They can also set you up with a fishing, shelling or pirate trip for the kids.

Sorry, no pets or smoking at this home, thank you for understanding! To see this homes location, check out the maps section of and click on satellite view. Call us for last minute specials and advanced booking discounts. Check in time is 4PM Eastern, Check out is 10:30 AM. Contact us for more information. You will need to send an inquiry to book and talk to someone over the phone to confirm your information submitted to VRBO. To book, we request 50% down up front via card over the phone or check by mail, the balance can be paid the week prior to check in. If the home is empty, you are welcome to set up an appointment to view it. Frequently asked questions can often be answered by reading the full description including the section on amenities and location. Can't find what you are looking for? Please call us for information about the home and St. George Island.

Thank you for peaking at Island Idyll on beautiful St. George Island!

More Details

Property Manager
Jerry Ison
Member since: 2012
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
July 19, 2017


Gulf Beaches House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1200 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 6
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome
  • pets not allowed ...
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Beach View
  • Beachfront
  • Ocean View
  • Oceanfront
  • Water View
  • Waterfront
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Tourist Attractions
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Free Wifi
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , combination tub/shower
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen , Master Bedroom.
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 3 - 1 double
  • Books
  • Television ...
  • Deck / Patio
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Onsite Services:
  • Chauffeur
  • Concierge
  • Massage
  • Private Chef
  • Staff
  • churches
  • health/beauty spa
  • playground
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • paddle boating
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • groceries
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • pier fishing
  • roller blading
  • sailing
  • snorkeling/diving
  • sound/bay fishing
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing
Concierge service available for a fee. You can add a golf cart, kayak, bike, stand up paddle board, or other rental item for a fee. By renting with us you will be receiving 15% off all rentals at our beach shop, the Jolly Roger Beach Shop.


4.2/5 -
(5 traveler reviews)

10% off summer rates Quick walk to beach! Island Home! Getaway! 3bed/2bath
average rating of 4.2 based on 5 reviews

Beautiful Beach, our first time, little updates needed

  • 2 of 5

These accommodations were fine with me and my boys. I was very impressed with the Island and its cleanliness; the house could use some upgrading. We repaired the screen door upon arrival. Not hard, but the spring had come off and it would not close properly. Mirrors and painting were hung by one name and would come off easily it knock by luggage.

Rooms were nice with their own TV when you needed some down time. Walk to the beach was easy; the drain in the master bathroom sink was not working and the hot and cold button kept coming off.

Perhaps some space could be more utilities under the deck; the swing was broken.

The dish washing detergent provided created a lot of soap bubbles that came out of the washer.

All and all it was fine, maybe pricey for some small inconveniences.

We would definitely come back to the Island, not sure about the east side.

  • Submitted: May 14, 2017
  • Stayed: May 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hello Robin, and thank you for your feedback of Island Idyll on beautiful St. George Island. We are so sorry there were things you did not like about this home. It is our goal for our customers to have a pleasant experience while staying at any home. We do our best to provide clear pictures and describe all homes accurately. Guest are told upon booking they may call, text, or email, 24/7 during their stay. Guest are also told this in their confirmation email, contract, during the confirmation call the week prior to check-in, and in the booklet at the house. Unfortunately, the staff at Beach Pros or Jolly Roger never received contact during your stay regarding any of the above issues. We are local, and here to help. Overall, we are happy you thought the accommodations were fitting for you and your sons. We are pleased you thought it was an easy walk to the beach, and we agree! As mentioned, Island Idyll is located on the West side of St. George Island. You may find the East end of the island to have less foot traffic. You can see the exact location of this home under the Maps & Location section of VRBO. We surely appreciate you staying at this home, and wish we could have been of more assistance during your stay. If you decide to stay with us again, we will be happy to offer you a repeat renter's discount. Please come back to visit us on beautiful St. George Island.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Cozy island getaway

  • 4 of 5

We overall enjoyed our stay and the management company worked with us and had great communication, especially when our trip was partially disrupted by Hurricane Hermine. St. George Island was great and Appalachicola is such a cute town. This house had great amenities (especially the kitchen) and was decorated with a cute beach theme. Most things were newer.

However, there are some things about this place that are outdated and it is clearly an older home. For instance, one of the beds is probably from the 70s and it is tiny...maybe 5 1/2 feet long. We also had issues with the water heater. Plus, it seemed odd to us that we as the vacationers had to be present for the maintenance guy or leave a key for him.

The other downfall is that you can't see the ocean. It's a treetop view and other homes, which sucks but only if you're really staying at the home instead of going to the beach or exploring the island. But the beach was just a short two blocks away.

  • Submitted: Sep 17, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hello, and thank you so much for reviewing Island Idyll. We surely appreciate your stay! Thank you for your kind comments on management. We agree, this is a short walk to the beach. It would be wonderful if this home had a beach view, but unfortunately it does not, and this is why we do not advertise or claim it does in the description- instead, it simply says treetop view. You can also see its location by clicking on maps before renting. Thank you for working with us during that hurricane, we know this unexpected weather was very inconvenient for our guest. All suggestions will be forwarded to the owners with great consideration. Owners do try to scale furniture to fit the size of the room as to not crowd it. Also, guest absolutely do not have to be present for maintenance to arrive. We have found most guests request & prefer to be at the home with workers inside- due to their belongings such as ipads, cameras, etc. being left inside. Either way is fine with us. Hot water elements are frequently coated with calcium from SGI water and go out. Maintenance did fix this issue during guest stay. This happened again the end of September and we did completely replace that part in full, the hot water heater is now good to go for Oct and beyond. Overall we hope you enjoyed your stay at this home on St. George Island. Don't forget your repeat renter's discount if you ever want to come back. Thanks so much!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

We loved this beautiful home. It was just minutes from the beach, very clean and nicely decorated.

  • 5 of 5

We would love to go back!! Beautiful home with deck overlooking the trees of St George Island. Beautiful decor, open and bright floor plan. My family.snf I enjoyed our stay here very much!!!

  • Submitted: Jun 24, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Island Idyll on St. George Island

  • 5 of 5

We rented this house for a family reunion. 2 couples (4 adults) stayed there. The layout was perfect for us. 1 master bedroom and bath (walk-in shower) on the left side and 2 bedrooms and 1 bath (tub with shower) on the right side with a large open living room, dining room (Large table with 6 chairs) and a convenient kitchen with an open counter. There is also a small washer and dryer for guest. Also the AC worked great. Under the house is a sink and place to spray the sand off. Also, it's only a 2 block walk to the beach.

  • Submitted: Jul 24, 2015
  • Stayed: Jul 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
3 1
Maryville, Tennessee

Worth the trip

  • 5 of 5

My children and I had a wonderful time at St. George Island. It was our first time and we will definitely go back. The home was beautifully decorated and had all amenities of home! It was only a short walk to the beach but the beach and views were worth it!! The home was secluded which made you feel as if you had the island to yourself. The outside shower was great for the kids to was off after a day in the sand. Overall it was a great experience for our first time to the island!

  • Submitted: Jun 17, 2015
  • Stayed: Jun 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0



Rates & Availability

Gulf Beaches House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Manager accepts payment in:
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
Summer High Season
May 25 2017 - Aug 1 2017
6 night minimum stay

Additional information about rental rates

Tax Rate 9.0%

Nov, Dec, Jan, & Feb monthly rate: $1,795 + 9% Florida state renter's tax

Manager's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
Contact Manager

You might like these similar properties