Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

2+BR cottage direct on private stretch of Hills Beach near Kennebunkport!!

Sleeps6
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms2
Space 1,000 sq. ft.
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 7 nights

Overview

About the property

Cottage on private beach directly on Hills Beach! Can't get any closer to water!

Great cozy cottage DIRECTLY on the private beach portion of beautiful Hills Beach. Gorgeous direct full views of the ocean, Saco Bay and Basket Island. Deck overlooking beach and just a few small steps right down onto the sand-you can't get any closer to the beach unless you are in a houseboat! Soft sand, gentle surf and current-safe and easy ocean play, walking and swimming for all. Main level has two bedrooms, a queen in one, full in the other. Also on main level is an open kitchen and dining area, dining table has seating for 6. One full bath and one half bath. Living room with full ocean view, including sliders that walk out onto your deck. Accessory room downstairs (basement level) with an additional queen bed in it. Also included is a side yard with a stone fire pit and gas grill. Parking in opposite side yard for up to two cars maximum. Stairs right at end of deck step right down onto sand of private beach, shared by only adjacent neighbors. Great beach for long walks, exploring islands (can walk to at low tides!), collecting sand dollars, fishing, swimming, kayaking, etc. Quiet and relaxing environment, a real little bit of heaven!

Preferred method of payment is by check. Please note that bedsheets, linens and towels are NOT provided. We suggest you bring your own or rent from a local service that delivers. Contact owner for more info. We do, however, provide pillows, bedspreads and some extra blankets.

More Details

Owner
Pete
Member since: 2015
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
September 19, 2017

What makes this cottage unique

One of few houses DIRECTLY on a PRIVATE beach!!

Map

Amenities

Biddeford Pool Cottage Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cottage
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1000 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 3:00 PM / Check-out: 11:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 6
  • children welcome
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Beachfront
  • Ocean View
  • Oceanfront
General:
  • Internet
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • PLEASE NOTE: Bed sheets, towels and linens not provided. We do have pillows, bedspreads and some extra blankets. Please bring your own or rent from a local service. Contact owner for more information.
Entertainment:
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Stereo
  • Television ...
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Attractions:
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • health/beauty spa
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • boating
  • miniature golf
  • outlet shopping
  • paddle boating
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • parasailing
  • pier fishing
  • sailing
  • skiing
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • water skiing
  • water tubing
  • wind-surfing

Reviews

4/5 -
(5 traveler reviews)

60% Complete
20% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
20% Complete
2+BR cottage direct on private stretch of Hills Beach near Kennebunkport!!
average rating of 4.0 based on 5 reviews
5

The 3 R's

  • 5 of 5

Our family of 6 arrived on a beautiful day in July. After we unpacked, putting everything in it's place, my husband and I immediately grabbed a drink and relaxed out on the deck while watching the kids playing in the water. After great nights' rest, I knew we hit the jackpot when I woke to a picture perfect sunrises. The week was full of rejuvenating experiences: eating the delicious food at the Bufflehead (yummo), going to a trampoline park, jet skiing out on the ocean(WHAT!). The most memorable though were right the at the house: the nightly fires, the clam digging and walking out to the island at low tide, and sitting on the deck watching the ocean scene and sunsets. Thank you a restful, relaxing, and rejuvenating vacation.

  • Submitted: Aug 8, 2017
  • Stayed: Jul 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks, it was a pleasure to have you! So glad your family enjoyed!!!
Did you find this review helpful?
1 1
4

Maine Beach House

  • 4 of 5

Beautiful location. This was an amazing trip and we absolutely loved the property. The only reason it's getting four stars is because after the trip was purchased, we were notified by the homeowner and told we needed to bring our own linens. Bed sheets, blankets, towels.... everything. Which of course we couldn't, because we live across the country. So we purchased everything when we got there, but then was unable to wash anything because the washer/dryer room wasn't available to us. Huge expensive inconvenience. We loved the location though.

  • Submitted: Sep 16, 2017
  • Stayed: Sep 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: We're glad you had a good time at our beach cottage. We're sorry you had confusion on the amenities. The listing does not offer washer and dryer on premises and does not offer linens and towels. We do provide bed spreads, pillows and some extra blankets though. Information had also been sent to you about your stay by us through VRBO. We had followed up to confirm you had received it but never heard back. In any instance we're glad you enjoyed the property and location so much.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Marlboro, MA
5

Great getaway!

  • 5 of 5

Fantastic getaway spot. Nice cottage with all your needs and a beautiful beach. Had a great time, looking forward to coming back!

  • Submitted: Aug 16, 2017
  • Stayed: Jul 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks for sharing! We are so glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back next year!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
1

Not happy with the roperty, the owner, or VRBO

  • 1 of 5

Not sure, what Jackie R. is describing, but hers was not our experience. My wife and I rented this property for us, our son, daughter-in-law, and 2 grandchildren based on the comments and photos presented in the listing. However, had we known the true condition of the property, we would have never rented. On arrival, it was immediately evident that house had not been cleaned. There was dust everywhere, rotted bananas in the refrigerator, and filth that accumulated in every window and behind each bed. The carpet in the living room was stained and filthy and the sink in the half-bath was spattered with blue paint. Beyond that, the house was listed as sleeping six in two bedrooms and an auxiliary room with a queen size bed. The musty odor in the auxiliary room prevented anyone from sleeping there and 2 people had to sleep on a borrowed air mattress on the living room floor. The screen to the sliding door to the left of the deck and the door on the right were virtually inoperable. On our first night there, I contacted the owner via 3 emails describing the conditions with attached photos, one in which I told him that that one of the doors to the deck would not close and his response the next day was “I'm sorry to hear about your disappointment with the cottage. …. Most of our renters find that it is the outside surroundings they are there for. Again, please try to enjoy your time at Hills Beach.” The fact is that yes, we did rent the house because of its location; however, that did not justify the conditions of the house. Perhaps a more responsible reply would have been that if he wasn’t able to himself, then he would have someone come to look at the property. After we left, I filed a formal complaint documenting even more problems with photographs with VRBO, and the company did nothing to address our concerns. The owner responded to the complaint that he was addressing the issues that I had raised and was changing some things on the listing. I waited a few weeks before posting this review, because I was exchanging emails with the owner. His responses did nothing more other than to explain how he was addressing the issues that I raised. My hope was that he would suggest a remedy to our problem. Yet he chose to address the issues for future renters. As a result of this experience and due to the fact that VRBO charges an additional fee to the renter and provides nothing in return, I will not be booking anything through that company again.

  • Submitted: Aug 14, 2017
  • Stayed: Jul 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are sorry that you were unhappy with your stay. We have received emails and communications from our guests before and after your stay that were nothing but positive, even re-bookings for next season. That said, as we had communicated to you previously, we have taken your feedback into consideration to improve our renters' experience. We have immediately replaced our cleaning service to a new one that seems to be doing a great job. We have repaired the slider doors (we are so close to the sand it does wear on them). We have not noted an odor downstairs, nor have any of our other guests. But we will monitor that nonetheless.There was no paint splattered in the sink, it needed some cosmetic re-surfacing but was clean. That said, the sink has been re-surfaced and looks like new. Again we have had many happy guests and will continue to monitor and improve when necessary.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Absolutely amazing!

  • 5 of 5

This was our first family vacation as a family of 4! It was absolutely perfect. The location to the beach was perfect, the low tides walk to the island was a blast. And we could sit on the deck every night watch the sunset have "cocktail hour" while the kids were unwinding for the evening right near us. The sunrise in the morning was exceptional! We can stop talking about how much our overall experience was perfect! The owners were also amazing in accommodating anything we needed. I would recommend this to everyone! We will be back!

  • Submitted: Sep 26, 2016
  • Stayed: Sep 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
4 1

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $80
Damage Deposit $200

No pets, firm policy.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.

You might like these similar properties