Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Waterfront Cottage Lake Ontario

Bedrooms 2
Space 1,200 sq. ft.
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 6 - 7 nights


About the property

2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 7

GREAT FOR FAMILY OR FISHERMEN - Cozy little cottage on Stony Point, very near Henderson Harbor. 2BR 1Ba - sleeps 5-7 on double bed in BR1, bunks in BR 2, couch (sleeps 1) and auto-inflatable mattress (sleeps 2) in living room. For 2nd couple privacy, optional sleep cabin at extra charge (inquire before renting), with electricity, sleeps 4 on trundle bed, bunks - with card table. Sun Room. Large dining area and glass front room overlooking the lake. Flat screen TV. Indoor/outdoor stereo. Kitchen with stove top and microwave, fridge, toaster, and view of the lake. Great swimming and kayaking. 10 minutes from Sackets Harbor, 5 minutes from private state beach or Henderson Harbor. Room for large boat parking and several cars. Very close to large state boat launch. Golf courses, restaurants nearby. Great neighbors. Free use of gas grill. Tissue, TP, bar soap provided. MUST rent Sunday to Sunday. NO third party rentals. U.S. cell phone contact only (no foreign phones). TWO dog maximum, no cats or other animals - no incontinent pets!

Owner / Property Manager
Member since: 2015
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within 2 days
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
March 1, 2018

About Owner / Property Manager

Symphony musician, educator and arts administrator

Owner / Property Manager purchased this cottage in 1991


Henderson Harbor Cottage Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cottage
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1200 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 3:00 PM
  • /
  • Check-out: 12:00 PM
  • Max. occupancy: 7
  • Children welcome
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Pets considered
  • Non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Lakefront
  • Fireplace ...
  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Wood Stove ...
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher ...
  • Kitchen ...
  • Toaster ...
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 7
  • DVD Player ...
  • Games ...
  • Music Library ...
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo ...
  • Television ...
  • Video Games ...
  • Video Library ...
  • wheelchair inaccessible
  • churches
  • library
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • horseback riding
  • luaus
  • outlet shopping
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • rafting
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • sound/bay fishing
  • swimming
  • water skiing
  • water tubing
  • wind-surfing


3.6/5 -
(5 traveler reviews)

60% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
20% Complete
20% Complete
Waterfront Cottage Lake Ontario
average rating of 3.6 based on 5 reviews

Very uncomfortable

  • 1 of 5

Beds are very uncomfortable. Serious water issues. Owner very uptight. Neighbors are snobs.

I had a gathering of 5 senior citizens, a couple in their thirties, two of us in our 50s and two young boys that spanned 12-8pm with my dogs (approved) present. This was a large gathering with unapproved dogs - not sure what is wrong with this size of a gathering but unless there are only two of you that will sit quietly and stare at the lake don't bother. I was also accused of breaking a chair that I nor my guests did anything but sit in. I had a small fire in a fire pit and was accused of having fireworks. I have stayed in other places in the Henderson area and never had any issue. A lot of much nicer, welcoming people to rent from. Seek them out.

  • Submitted: Sep 9, 2017
  • Stayed: August 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We're extremely sorry that this renter was dissatisfied. They emailed us after their stay to say that they had a great time and they would like to rent again. I replied politely that we would rather not, citing the reasons below. Their response was two bitter, letter-length emails and a similar public vrbo review.To set the record straight - We have never had a bed complaint before this. The water system was 100% functional during their stay. We were texted with their request to build a fire on our lakeside concrete pad. Our reply was absolutely not; buy a firepit if you must. They build a fire in a Hibachi on our next door neighbor's lawn. When we arrived after their stay, my next neighbor down (they were under her bedroom window) reported fireworks. They had also built a pen from our outdoor furniture and tree branches, in order that their dogs (theirs and their party guests) could play together. One of our living room vertical blinds was found jammed and not functional. The seats of two canvas lawn chairs were ripped out. The seat of a heavy, solid maple dining room chair was cracked down the middle. Their behavior and lifestyle was not compatible with our physical property. We suggest they rent a campsite or cabin in the future.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
North Grafton

Couldn't have asked for a more perfect spot on the lake!

  • 5 of 5

Everything and anything you could possibly need or want for your week on Lake Ontario; while we visit with our family...this place has it all! Owner is a pleasure to work with; will be renting again!

  • Submitted: Jul 9, 2017
  • Stayed: June 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Quiet escape

  • 5 of 5

Cooling lake breezes, mix of shade and sun, roomy cottage and property with south-facing view of Sawyer Bay on Lake Ontario for the best week of our summer!

  • Submitted: Jul 28, 2016
  • Stayed: July 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

A perfect week

  • 5 of 5

A great week!! Cottage very nice, a beautiful view of Lake Ontario Looking forward to next year.

  • Submitted: Jul 27, 2016
  • Stayed: July 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Schmutziges Cottage / Gute Seelage

  • 2 of 5

Wir haben das Haus äußerst schmutzig, staubig und muffig vorgefunden. In den Ecken lag der Schmutz der letzten Jahre. Das Haus bedarf dringendst einer kompletten und gründlichen Grundreinigung. Aufgrund dessen haben wir auch davon abgesehen zu kochen. Die Einrichtung war abgewohnt und alt. Die Raumaufteilung ist gut.

Die Lage am See war toll und ruhig und die Nachbarschaft hilfsbereit.

Die Kommunikation mit Larry war im Vofeld sehr gut. Leider haben wir ihn weder bei unserer Abreise, noch bei unserer Anreise persönlich kennengelernt, obwohl er zu unserer Abreise eingentlich vorbeikommen wollte, jedoch dann ohne Information nicht erschien. Auch bemühte er sich sofort die technischen Probleme (ausgefallene Wasserpumpe; dh. 36 Std. ohne Wasser aus dem Hahn) zu beheben.

Short Translation In English:

We found the house extremely dirty, dusty and musty. There was the dirt from the last years. The house urgently needs a complete and thorough basic cleaning. The house smells extremely musty.

The location on the lake was great and quiet and the neighborhood helpful.

Communication with Larry was very good in advance. But he didn`t come over on our arrival and on our departure, even if he informed us to come at the day of our departure. He immediately helped solving the problems with the water pump. It didn`t work for 36 hours, for this time, we had no water from the water tap.

  • Submitted: Oct 15, 2017
  • Stayed: August 2017
  • Source: Fewo Direkt, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We're sorry this renter was displeased a the condition of the cottage. Some arrive expecting a home; this is a seasonal camp. The water problem was caused by a storm on Lake Ontario that damaged the lake line during historic high water conditions. We called our local plumber the moment we knew, and it was fixed as soon as possible. It was extremely difficult communicating with this renter - we had to leave messages on another person's phone; their European phone would not accept our calls or messages, it seemed.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


Nearest Airport
60 Miles
Nearest Beach
3 Miles
Black Pond Beach Access
Car: necessary


Rates & Availability

Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Pet Fee $50
Property Damage Protection $59
2nd dog limit (no cats) $50

NO FIREWORKS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
• NO PARKING ON COTTAGE LAWN - park in driveway or on back lot only
• Bonfires limited to shoreline; will discuss upon arrival.
 Towels – bath, beach; picnic blanket
 Sheets: Double bed in master bedroom of main cottage; 2nd bedroom has bunk beds (twins); unheated sleep cabin has day bed with trundle (double bed sheets work best as they are just a tad larger than a regular twin) and bunk beds (twin).
 Pillows. Hygiene! Please bring your own.
 Bikes always good to bring.
 Good idea – freezer bags, sandwich bags, alum foil (Rubbermaid containers for leftovers in drawers as well).
 Water shoes or extra sneaks – helps when entering water to swim in front of camp. NO DIVING OR JUMPING OFF BOULDERS!!!
 First aid kit - BRING YOUR OWN
 Plastic cups, plates in event of picnic
 Large cooler if expect to travel & picnic

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • Canceled bookings will not receive a refund

You might like these similar properties