Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Lakeview Luxury Home Overlooking Grand Lake with NEW Hot Tub

Sleeps6
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms2
Space 2,300 sq. ft.
Property type house
Minimum Stay 1 - 4 nights

Overview

About the property

House, 3 Bedrooms + Loft, 2 Baths, (Sleeps 6)

Perfect for watching July 4th or New Year's fireworks right from the house, deck and hot tub! Our secluded tri-level home situated on 3 wooded acres is conveniently located right outside of downtown main street with unobstructed views of Grand Lake. This 2300 sq. ft. home, called 'The Treehouse' is nestled along side the mountain bordering the Rocky Mountain National Park.

Every room in this house has a view! There is a wrap-around deck with a 6-person hot tub overlooking the lake on the lower level. We have provided all the comforts of home with nice upscale mountain furnishings and beautiful art from many local artists.

All of our linens are of the finest quality including down pillows & comforters and bamboo sheets for all beds. The kitchen is fully equipped with everything you need to cook fabulous meals including spices, condiments, crock pot, blender, food processor...you name it.

We have high speed wireless internet, Dish satellite DVR's with premium movie and music channels, 5 flat screen TV's, and free long distance and games. We keep the house well stocked for convenience with toilet paper, paper towels, trash bags, tinfoil, tupperware, laundry soap, shampoo/conditioner, spices, condiments and cooking ingredients to name a few.

To get to the entrance of the Treehouse, you must walk up 2 flights of stairs to get to the front door which puts you at the middle level. Walking down 1 flight of stairs puts you at the lower living area with the gas fireplace and access to the wrap around deck outside with seating/table, a gas BBQ and 6-person hot tub.

The middle level contains the dining room/bar, sitting area, kitchen, washer/dryer and a king size master bedroom with full bath.

Up one flight of stairs is the loft which has a large sectional couch that can fold out to a queen size bed if needed, one king size room with balcony overlooking the lake, one queen size room with mountain view, and a shared large bathroom with a jacuzzi tub.

We are within 10 minutes walking distance (less than one mile) to the end of Portal Road where the boat launch/lake access area is and also access to miles of hiking trails into the Rocky Mountain National Forest. In the opposite direction, we are located within 10-15 minutes walking distance (also 1 mile) to downtown Grand Lake with access to many restaurants and shops. By car you are about 2 minutes away in either direction.

In the winter, the rate is $50 more to cover heating costs, daily snow plowing of driveway as necessary, check-in stair and deck snow removal.

Keywords: House

More Details

Owner
Louise Tower
Member since: 2000
Premier Partner

This VRBO partner has demonstrated and is committed to fast response times, the best rates, and a great traveler experience.

Speaks: english
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
November 21, 2017

About Louise Tower

My husband and his brother built this home originally in 1980. The property has been in their family since before either of them were born. Grand Lake was always a vacation spot growing up having owned and sold other properties.

We live in Hawaii and only go there for a change of seasons in the winter months, staying in our home on and off throughout the whole snowy season.

Louise Tower purchased this house in 1980

Why Louise Tower chose Grand Lake

This property was purchased in 1940 by parents and then built on in 1980. This home is mostly only rented for three months during the summer.

What makes this house unique

Solitude, peace and quiet. Cool weather, down home friendly folks who live there all year long.

Amenities

Grand Lake House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 2300 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 4:00 PM
  • /
  • Check-out: 11:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 6
  • Min. age of primary renter: 21
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Pets not allowed
  • Non smoking only
  • Please keep all doors and screens closed to keep out critters.
  • Please wash dishes and please remove trash prior to departure.
Location Type:
  • Lake View ...
  • Mountain View ...
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
General:
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Free Long Distance
  • Gas Fireplace ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer ...
  • Telephone ...
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wireless Internet ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Cooking Utensils ...
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven ...
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 8 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Master Bathroom / Main - toilet , combination tub/shower , Located on main floor, can be accessed w/o going in bedroom
    U/S Bathroom - toilet , combination tub/shower , jetted tub
  • 2
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Master bedroom overlooking lake - 1 king , On middle / main floor
    U/S King bedroom overlooking lake with porch - 1 king
    U/S mountain side queen - 1 queen
  • King size beds (2), Queen size Beds (1), Baby Cribs (1) This is a port-a-crib stored in the closet for infant use., Sleep Sofa or Futons (1)
Entertainment:
  • DVD Player
  • Games ...
  • Music Library ...
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Television ...
Outside:
  • Balcony ...
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Outdoor Grill
Suitability:
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub ...
  • jetted tub ...
Attractions:
  • library
  • live theater
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • boating
  • horseback riding
  • miniature golf
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • massage therapist
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hot air ballooning
  • hunting
  • jet skiing
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • rock climbing
  • sailing
  • swimming
  • water skiing
  • whitewater rafting
Notes:
We also use a water purification system on our well that makes the water taste great.

Reviews

Wonderful! 4.8/5 -
(35 traveler reviews)

85% Complete
11% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
2% Complete
Lakeview Luxury Home Overlooking Grand Lake with NEW Hot Tub
average rating of 4.7714286 based on 35 reviews
5

The home was beautiful with stunning viewsand everything we could ever need to be comfortable!

  • 5 of 5

We love it! It was very clean and so beautiful. I would love to come back and stay longer!

  • Submitted: Oct 11, 2017
  • Stayed: September 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

The tree house was a beautiful stay for our weekend in Colorado.

  • 5 of 5

This property provided everything we needed and then some. The home has a cozy feeling right as you walk in. Everything is up to date and beautiful. The hot tub was a fantastic luxury over looking a gorgeous view of Grand Lake. We did not adventure far from our cozy cabin because we didn't need to. A short distance up the road is Adams Falls which provided an amazing nature hike. This home provided the perfect weekend for relaxing and enjoying the great views Colorado has to offer. The owners have wonderful hospitality and the home was stocked beyond believe with whatever we needed! It was extremely helpful when we forgot a spice or condiment. This was definitely an unforgettable stay. We plan to revisit the tree house at Grand Lake someday.

  • Submitted: Sep 12, 2017
  • Stayed: September 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Maryland
5

The perfect location at the edge of the western entrance to Rocky Mountain National Park

  • 5 of 5

Beautiful hillside home overlooking Grand Lake; fabulous sunset views over the lake from the hot tub and the outside dining table on the large deck of the house.And once the sun set, millions upon millions of stars. With the telescope our son brought we saw Saturn and its rings and Jupiter and four of its moons all in a row. Brilliant star gazing indeed!

To be noted, this is one of the nicest hot tubs we have ever encountered in a rental property!

The home had plenty of space for dining, reading, games etc. A wonderfully equipped kitchen with condiments and spices galore.

Improvements: not much , more kitchen towels and better pot holders. Those using the upstairs bathroom need to very careful as it is very easy to slip getting in and out of the tub. Some well placed grab bars would be most helpful.

The owner and the property manager were responsive and helpful.

Also, this home is nicely located above the inviting , friendly small town of Grand Lake.

  • Submitted: Sep 5, 2017
  • Stayed: August 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Eaton, CO
1

Treehouse home management questionable

  • 1 of 5

Our stay in Grand Lake was actually great but unfortunately our experience with the caretaker and the owner was not. We arrived and checked into our VRBO at 4:00 p.m., the designated time. The home was not clean. Two of us spent 2 hours cleaning....vacuuming, wiping counter tops, scrubbing bathroom floors, shaking throw rugs, etc. Clearly, the 4.5 hours the caretaker claimed cleaning before our arrival must have occurred on another day or at another job. We were accused of using up supplies and new ones would need to be purchased. Thankfully, the home was very well stocked with cleaning supplies, which we hardly used much of. We were accused of asking for 12 bath towels....I had asked for 3 more as there were only 3. There was one kitchen towel; no washcloths. When I finally made contact with the correct caretaker as incorrect information was given to me, I simply shared my issue with arriving to an unclean home and hopefully she could get more help if needed. I am not a confrontational person and did not handle the problem in an attacking/angry manner. Her accusations to the owner were completely unfounded. The homeowner found little merit in my complaint and I understand it is one word against another. The owner also suggested that I might possibly be wanting a cleaning refund and that I should have taken pictures as proof, a lesson learned. I'm sure the caretaker is needing to protect her job. I waited to write a review as I was fearful that my damage deposit would not be refunded due to the caretaker reporting that we had damaged something. It was refunded. Definitely an unpleasant experience!

P.S. The vacuum stopped working and I thought it might be broken but after changing out the bag, it worked just fine.

  • Submitted: Aug 24, 2017
  • Stayed: August 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: 17 yrs on VRBO, this is the first negative for me. Not only did she get a full refund of her cleaning fee from complaints which lacked merit, but she also waited until we gave her a 5-star rating as a guest to turn around and give us a 1-star rating as an owner. That’s just injudicious. As a hiccup, she received an old contract with the old caretaker’s number on it. But all contact #’s had been updated in the home binder, on the HA app and other documents she received. I responded to her within 1 hr after she contacted me while I was traveling out of the country. By that time, the caretaker and property manager had already dealt with her complaints. The truth is, this was a back to back rental. Check-in times are strictly enforced as the caretaker needs the full 5 hrs to get the home cleaned before new renters check-in. The renter arrived EARLY plain and simple. She says she arrived at 4 pm which she DID NOT. I have phone calls and emails to prove it. She arrived while the caretaker went to the laundromat to pick up the laundry. She returned at 3 pm and found the renter and her daughter cleaning and doing stuff she had already done. The caretaker explained that check-in was not until 4 pm and that she was not finished cleaning but felt the renter was quite confrontational and insulting. The renters waited outside until she finished at 4 pm to re-enter. The caretaker did only leave 3 bath & 3 spa towels (that was my error as I told her only 3 adults were staying and forgot to include the 3 children) but she dropped off more towels that night. I only leave 1 kitchen towel as the house is stocked w/ many paper towels. I leave the house well stocked with everything for comfort and maintenance. Within the first hour of checking in, my property manager had talked to the renter about her complaints and graciously offered to just refund the cleaning fee in full and to enjoy the rest of their stay. There was various correspondence between myself, the property manager and the caretaker with this renter. The renter even complained about condiments and beer being stored in the fridge. We all agree that this renter was confrontational, a complainer that “exaggerated”, was never appreciative, and her complaints and emails contradicted each other as well as her timeline of events. I hope this 1-star rating says more about the person rating the accommodation than the accommodation itself and its management that strives to accommodate the very best.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Amazing and very luxurious home.

  • 5 of 5

We just spent the best 10 days ever here. The house was better than we could have ever expected and we literally wanted for nothing. The beds were extremely comfortable and all furnishings of a very high standard. Every utensil and appliance was available and a huge selection of crockery. The photos don't begin to show the beauty of this phenomenal property both internally and externally. We absolutely loved the hot tub and used it at least once a day. Fabulous location too. We couldn't be more positive about it. Thanks so much and we will definitely be back.

  • Submitted: Aug 13, 2017
  • Stayed: August 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Boulder, Colo.
5

Fun in the Treehouse

  • 5 of 5

Wow, what a nice place. We were near town, but not on top of all the congestion from tourists - after all, we were there peak season. The Treehouse has great views, was well provisioned with every drawer marked, and had plenty of space for our party of six to just chill out. We would definitely rent it again.

  • Submitted: Aug 9, 2017
  • Stayed: July 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Nearest Airport
127 Miles
Denver International Airport
Nearest Barpub
1 Miles
Several in town
Nearest Golf
3.7 Miles
Grand Lake Golf Course
Nearest Train
17.8 Miles
Granby Amtrak
Nearest Motorway
1.7 Miles
Hwy 34
Nearest Restaurant
1 Miles
Several in town
Nearest Ski
38 Miles
Winter Park / Mary Jane Resort
Car: necessary

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $400
One time clean out fee $200

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.