check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag

Fabulous Shelter Island home w huge pool, steps to private Beach

Sleeps6
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms2
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 3 - 7 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the VRBO checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more

Overview


Details
Property
cottage
Sleeps
6
Bedrooms
3
Bathrooms
2
Minimum Stay
3 - 7 nights

Description

Silver Beach Cottage Rental Photos and Description

Our fabulous summer home is a perfect beach house with everything you will need to have your best summer yet. Our home is a mid-century style with an open plan living and dining room with a galley kitchen, two bedrooms (the master bedroom with en-suite bath), two bathrooms, and a lofted third bedroom with seating area and study. We have two fireplaces, an outdoor shower, an enormous covered deck perfect for entertaining and outdoor dining with a hanging chair to boot. The pool is quite large, great for laps and pool parties. We are located steps away from our private neighborhood beach as well as a private boat landing on Crab Creek. The kitchen is stocked with everything you will need as we are avid chefs and entertainers, including a dishwasher. We are a family, so have a crib available if you need one. We also have a ping pong table, and a washer and dryer. **Please note that at the time of the pictures, our planting has not yet occurred this spring. You can expect greenery and flowers by the start of the summer**

Suitability:
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • children welcome
  • limited accessibility
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed

Property Manager
Property Manager
Member since: 2015
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a day
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
October 19, 2016

About The Owner

I am a Brooklyn based interior designer, wife and mother.

The Owner purchased this cottage in 2015

Why The Owner chose Shelter Island

We love this house! It's a wonderful spot that is incredibly private, quiet and so relaxing. Having a meal on the covered deck is my favorite thing in the world.

Reviews

Excellent! 4.7/5 -
(7 traveler reviews)

Fabulous Shelter Island home w huge pool, steps to private Beach
average rating of 4.714286 based on 7 reviews
5

Exactly as described, a piece of tranquility on a stunning island, the ultimate getaway - PERFECT!

  • 5 of 5

The property & House were even BETTER then we expected - the pictures don't even come close to doing this property justice.

It was in a stunning & quiet part of the island, right by a perfect, private little beach as well as a tranquil "pond-like" area where you can take a canoe out & experience something different. The pool is HUGE (about 60 feet long) The house had ALL the amenities one could wish for & more. Everything worked perfectly, awesome outdoor, hangout & barbecue area. There is even a Table tennis area that provided hours of fun.

Our Favorite part was the outdoor shower (Hot water included) We went with 3 generations of a family & it was perfect for each one, not a moan was heard from anyone the entire time, except when it came time to leave.

I could go on & on with how seriously happy we were with EVERYTHING! The Owner, Starrett, was ALWAYS just a text away to answer any questions we had & as she has a background in Interior Design, the aesthetics of the home were truly beautiful & very tasteful!

The only thing that nearly stopped us from giving this such a positive review was that we were hoping to keep this our little secret so it was available when we wanted it next!

Even our friends who have been coming to the island for years & are very informed said we had the Ultimate find! They were all jealous! Seriously, it's that good!

Starrett, thank you SO much for providing us with our own little oasis, a real home away from home, we will definitely be back!

  • Submitted: Aug 29, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Marc thank you for such a dynamite review, you are so kind! We are so happy you guys had such a great stay and truly appreciated our little haven, please come back anytime!!!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Off season too

  • 5 of 5

Great hosts and lovely shelter island home. We used it in the off season and enjoyed the leafy woods surrounding the property. The house is bright and modern with wonderful quirky features that make it fun at the same time it is warm and cozy. Beautiful furnishings and comfortable beds.. A keeper.

  • Submitted: Dec 2, 2015
  • Stayed: Nov 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are so happy you had a great stay, Linda! We hope to see you soon!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Excellent vaccation

  • 5 of 5

The house was perfect for our stay. Large attractive pool within walking distance to a lovely beach. The house was outfitted with everything for an enjoyable stay. Starrett was responsive to any questions.

  • Submitted: Sep 29, 2015
  • Stayed: Sep 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you Nancy, I am so glad you enjoyed your stay!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
3

Beautiful location and house but...

  • 3 of 5

A lovely house, beautiful location, amazing pool. One caution is that owner is somewhat finicky - kept half of the security for a broken lamp (totally fair) and to deep clean the sofa and chairs. Not the best for families with kids, who will inevitably be a bit messy. Kitchen also needs new appliances.

  • Submitted: Sep 8, 2015
  • Stayed: Jul 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Dear Hyo, I am sorry that you thought I was finicky for keeping actually just over a third of the deposit. I felt that it was fair as the deposit is to cover damages to my property, which you did indeed do. We have had many families with us now and have never had this problem (we also have a toddler). You broke a lamp and stained the entirety of the sofa and 5 out of 6 dining chairs with everything from pink juice to crusted sauce which did not come out after professional cleaning. We have since bought a new refrigerator, I am sorry it was not in advance of your stay. In addition to all of the above, you left rancid garbage all over our garage which has nothing to do with the deposit, however is very telling about the type of renter you are. I am surprised and disappointed that you would paint us as difficult in this situation considering the facts. Alas!
Did you find this review helpful?
1 1
5

Awesome Shelter Island Retreat!!

  • 5 of 5

My friends and I had an awesome week away. We were 3 couples and it was the perfect size. Starrett, the homeowner was extremely responsive and ensured that everything was ready for our vacation.

This house has everything you need. The pool is HUGE and it is just a short distance from the private beach. We had long days by the beach, and came back each night and grilled out at the house. There is also an outdoor pingpong table area which was REALLY fun.

The light in the house is incredible. The house was tucked away, so you really felt like you were away from it all.

We look forward to coming back again, we had such a great time !! Thank you Starrett !!

  • Submitted: Aug 10, 2015
  • Stayed: Jul 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: You are welcome! We are thrilled you had such a great time.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Brooklyn
5

Perfect Vacation Home

  • 5 of 5

What a pleasure it was for my husband and I to stay in this vacation home with a gorgeous pool! Great location. Would highly recommend it.

  • Submitted: Jul 19, 2015
  • Stayed: Jun 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for your positive review, we are so glad that you enjoyed your stay!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Photos

Rates & Availability

Silver Beach Cottage Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Manager accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Memorial weekend
May 26 2017 - May 29 2017
3 night minimum stay
$550
$3,500
 
 
June
Jun 1 2017 - Jun 30 2017
7 night minimum stay
$3,500
 
 
July
Jul 1 2017 - Jul 31 2017
7 night minimum stay
$4,200
 
 
August
Aug 1 2017 - Aug 31 2017
7 night minimum stay
$4,500
 
 
September
Sep 1 2017 - Sep 30 2017
3 night minimum stay
$500
$3,500
 
 
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay
$475
 

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $3,000
cleaning fee $150

We do not cover the gas bill for heating the swimming pool and we recommend NOT using the pool heater due to the size of the pool. It is very expensive. We require a refundable security deposit to cover the cost of the gas, should one decide to use the pool heater, as well as any accidental/excessive damages.

Manager's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Contact Me Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Silver Beach Cottage Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cottage
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 2000 sq. ft.
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Family
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wood Stove
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven ...
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 8 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Master bedroom - 1 king , very bright and cheery with en-suite bath
    Guest bedroom - 1 queen
    lofted bedroom - 1 queen
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Ping Pong Table
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
  • Toys
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill ...
Suitability:
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome
  • limited accessibility
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
Pool / Spa:
  • Private Pool

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties