This charming, ocean view 2 bedroom unit features 2 bedrooms (1 King & 2 Queens), a full kitchen, a living area, a game room with a pool table, a dining area, and 3 bath rooms. Recently updated and offering free Wi-Fi, this retro-feel home is the perfect way to enjoy classic Pismo Beach, CA. Located just minutes to downtown and the Pismo Beach Pier, this unit is centrally located for your memorable Pismo Beach vacation! This vacation rental is professionally managed and daily housekeeping service is available. Sleeps up to 9 people.
2 Bedroom / 3 Bath Ocean View Beach House With A Large Patio & Game Room
- english, spanish
- Calendar last updated:
- Dec 16, 2018
Check-in: 4:00 PM
Check-out: 11:00 AM
100% refund if canceled at least 14 days before arrival date. 50% refund if canceled at least 7 days before arrival date.
Overall this was a nice vacation. Pros: Front office staff was helpful and super nice, Beds were comfortable, Furnishings were nice, Spacious, Game-room was a plus and the view was AMAZING. Cons: Check in is at hotel lobby (this is not a stand alone property), there is no beach access, bathrooms and kitchen are severely outdated and need help. For the amount of money I paid, I would have expected better. The weekend was a success and all had a good time despite the properties short comings. My biggest complaint is that the manager of this property DOES NOT RETURN MESSAGES. Multiple questions asked prior to arrival and after arrival with zero communication from the owner... read the reviews for info because you are on your own!
My apologies for not replying sooner. The only two messages I received were on Thanksgiving morning at 7:49 am and again at 7:50 am and I was not in the office on Thanksgiving. I see you had an issue with an additional charge. There was never a charge, but a hold on your card for incidentals which should not have happened. Once you checked out your bank should have released the funds back to your card. I apologize for the inconvenience and I will pass along your kudo's to the staff.
Cute beach house with gorgeous views!
Please fix the beach access, it was a bummer to not be able to access the ocean in front of where we stayed.
Retro Beach House
The view is amazing and the beds were comfortable. Overall a good experience. Was disappointed the beach access stairs are no longer accessible. The beach is accessible through the hotel next door, about a 5 minute walk.
Great location to experience Pismo!
This was a perfect house and location for our trip! We had 8 people stay in this house (there are beds for 6 and then a sofa bed for the other 2), but it was perfect for our needs. A few quirks that we didn't know coming in but figured out were that this property actually belongs to a hotel. This differs from all the other rental homes I've stayed in! Check in is at the front lobby, there is a cleaning service, and when we ran out of paper towels/propane we just told the office and they came and fixed it for us! The only thing is the kitchen was less equipt with an assortment of cookware as we are used to with a rental house (like couldn't find measuring cups) but we made it work. Then it may appear that this property has direct Beach access off the property but it doesn't. The stairs leading down to the beach have been closed off. This wasn't a big deal, a very short walk 2 streets down led to beach access. This turned out to be a plus because there was less foot traffic past our rental! Lastly, by all accounts this rental gave an amazing view! From our back patio we got to see whales, dolphins and birds off the ocean. Overall would highly recommend this rental, just make sure you bring any special kitchen item yourself (measuring cups, large pots) because it may not be provided. But the front desk people were great, the view was great, and the house completely fit our needs!
Nice stay, however I wish some details were shared up front
The place was very nice. Furnishings are updated but the beach house is older (but charming mostly) and somethings don’t work as they should, but it did not interfere with the stay. The barbecue could be bigger especially since the house sleeps nine and the kitchen supplies could be better but we were creative and made it work. The site says it sleeps nine but the two pull out beds are not usable as the mattresses have hard springs coming through. We were lucky we brought two air mattresses. I say it sleeps six comfortably. With that being said it’s a little overpriced. View was beautiful, very relaxing. it would have been nice to know that this was part of the tides motel. That Information upfront would’ve been nice to know because if you have extras in your party they could also reserve one of the additional units. There is no direct beach access, as it looks like it was washed out by a storm possibly. If you walk just a block down you can gain access there. There was some trouble upon check-in beach house wasn’t ready (2-3hr delay) And this could have been conveyed when I called for early check in. They indicated that we could not have an early check-in but nothing about the fact that they were running so far behind. We had groceries which needed to be put up. They tried to accommodate us as much as possible. We also had to ask on a daily basis for trash to be emptied and fresh towels. There’s room for improvement, lots of potential, but overall we had a nice time.
Very inexperienced house management company
We reserved to stay at the beach house over 2 months in advance and paid in full all expenses including the pet fee, cleaning fee, and a refundable damage deposit. On the day of our check-in, the girl at the desk wanted to charge us the refundable damage deposit again. I explained to her that we had already paid all kinds of fees two months in advance and don’t feel comfortable with them charging another fee even if it was refundable. She then said that she won’t be able to give us the key to the property. Having driven over 4 hours to get to our destination which we were longingly waiting for, it was the last thing I wanted to hear. She said “you paid all those fees with VRBO and we are Tides Management company and our fees are different because you didn’t make your booking through us”. After a very rude argument, she finally spoke with her manager and they were able to enter a dummy credit card number in the system and was able to check us in. On the day we were checking out the lady at the front desk (different from the one who checked us in) said, “we cannot let you check out because you still owe us the entire amount for the duration of your stay". She basically said, "you didn’t book through us so in our system your payment does not appear and the system doesn’t have a valid credit card for you so I cannot charge this amount to check you out". I showed her our payment receipt from vrbo and showed that the entire amount had been deducted from my bank card over two months ago. She wouldn’t listen, finally, she got hold of the manager who said that we are good to go and the manager will show her how to process the transaction at their end. The lady apologized profusely but what an unpleasant mess! Also, over a week later, the management company still hadn’t refunded the damage deposit that was charged through vrbo. I had to request it personally and I finally saw the credit appear on my bank statement five days later. So renting this beach house turned out to be an operational nightmare for us. Therefore, we will not go there again. This was our first rental through vrbo and we are alarmed by the whole incident. The beach house was old and worn out and the bathroom in the bedroom with the two queen beds was dingy looking and had mold in the shower and bathtub corners. The views from the pool room and living room were magnificent. The house is definitely not as clean and new as it looks on the photos.
Thank you for your review. We are very sorry for the confusion of our staff. Yours was the first reservation with our new billing system, and it is true that we should have been more up to speed. Our rustic beach house is old, but we keep it in good condition and clean. We will re-inspect the area's you mentioned to make sure it is perfect for our next guest. If you have future plans for the Pismo Beach area again, we hope you will give us another chance to serve you.