check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag

3 Bedroom, 2 1/2 Bath, Private Heated Pool & Large Deep Water Dock, Fun Tiki Bar

Sleeps6
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms2
Half Baths1
Property type house
Minimum Stay 7 nights

Overview


Details
Property
house
Sleeps
6
Bedrooms
3
Bathrooms
2
Half Baths
1
Minimum Stay
7 nights

Description

Palm Island House Rental Photos and Description

Our Gulf Beach Is Pristine, With Shelling, Fishing, Or Just Relaxing.

Idle Hour is a charming single family home with three bedrooms, two and one half baths. The home has a private heated pool and large dock. Bring your boat - up to 30'. Catch your dinner right off your dock.The home has a large screened-in porch that overlooks the canal and pool. Enjoy the fun and colorful Tiki bar and a cool beverage that is located poolside. This is what Florida living is all about!!!

Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair inaccessible

Property Manager
Suzie Neyland
Member since: 2015
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
October 5, 2016

Reviews

2.8/5 -
(6 traveler reviews)

3 Bedroom, 2 1/2 Bath, Private Heated Pool & Large Deep Water Dock, Fun Tiki Bar
average rating of 2.8333333 based on 6 reviews
Belleville,IL
5

Wonderful Rental!!

  • 5 of 5

This was our second year visiting Idle Hour for vacation. Another wonderful trip! We visited the resort a few times for dinner and took daily trip for Ice Cream. Our girls had awesome birthday and even saw several dolphins following the water taxi. We plan to be back soon!

  • Submitted: Jul 21, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Lethbridge Alberta
1

Ok Home - Is not as advertised

  • 1 of 5

We booked this house for our family vacation February 2016. The home is advertised as 3 bedroom 2.5 bath but this is not true. The house is 2 bedroom 1.5 bath with a 3rd bedroom and bath under the house in the storm surge area. Access to this bedroom requires people to exit the house to have access to these areas. As we are a family with children this was extremely disconcerting to have one of our children not in the house with us at night. These details should have been disclosed in the advertising of the home. I would even venture that this bedroom are illegal under Florida state law. Very disappointed that these details were not properly disclosed in the advertisement.

  • Submitted: May 10, 2016
  • Stayed: Feb 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are sorry that you feel that the home was misrepresented. To clarify, our website states that one guest bedroom is "poolside" and that the half bath is "poolside", indicating that these are ground level. In total, there are three bedrooms, two full baths and one half bath at the home.
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0
Richmond, IN
4

Great outdoor space!

  • 4 of 5

My husband and I spent the month of April in this house and experienced the best vacation of our lives. We hosted several family members and friends during this time. Everyone thoroughly enjoyed the outside areas. The bar area and pool are perfect for relaxing, sunning and swimming. Many hours were spent fishing off the dock. We hardly ever went inside.

The layout of the house is convenient with a bathroom on every floor. Our kiddos didn't drip water through the house when swimming, and the bar frig was convenient for their drinks and snacks. Pool toys and beach towels and chairs are all provided.

While golf courses and other activities are all close by, the island offered more than enough to charm. The beach is less than five minutes from the house. The water was clear, warm and a gorgeous blue. Many shark teeth were found on the beach and the shelling was great! An Osprey nest was clearly visible from the top floor bedroom. We watched the parents carry fish to their babies all month long. Turtles, heron, and other seabirds are among the wildlife we saw.

The property manager and pool man were responsive, kind, and a delight to interact with.

  • Submitted: May 5, 2016
  • Stayed: Mar 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 1
Chicago
1

Totally true

  • 1 of 5

The above renter's review is 100% accurate and we have photos and emails to support the claims.

Considering all the issues we experienced, we were great renter's, even left the house in better condition than we found it.

When someone doesn't respond to the fact that there are cockroaches in the kitchen drawers, what more can u say?

  • Submitted: Apr 26, 2016
  • Stayed: Feb 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Consider the source. I'm done with these people!
Did you find this review helpful?
3 1
1

Idle Hour or Agony Hourr

  • 1 of 5

Just rented this home for 5 weeks, and, of all the homes that I have rented in the past 30 years, this one is the absolute worst. Please continue to read if you are contemplating renting this house.

1). Upon check in, we noticed that the cleaners had made one bed with a completely urine- stained mattress cover. After removing it, we discovered the the mattress was also stained with urine.

2). 80% of the lightbulbs were burnt out and, while a handy man did come and replace some of them, he never returned to replace all of them.

3). For a house that sleeps 6, there were: a). Only 2 pool chairs b). Only 6 bath towels c). Only 4 bath wash cloths d). No kitchen dish towels or rags and e). Not enough blankets for every bed. Again, after complaining to the property manager, these items were somewhat addressed.

4). The biggest issue was the lack of cleanliness ! The carpet areas were stained with pet urine, the couches in the living room were old and covered with stains. The couch upstairs was filthy and had several tears. The mattresses were old and dirty. The appliances were so old that the oven handle was completely rusted. The refrigerator door downstairs was covered in grime. The vents were caked with dust and filth.

5). COCKROACHES! With a week to go in our rental, we discovered cockroaches in they silverware drawers. We immediately informed the property manager who assured us that an exterminator would come out. 6 days later and no exterminator!

6). The Tv in the living room was the tiniest TV ever and, in addition, something was wrong with the internal speakers, which made the sound extremely tinny and difficult to hear.

This home was a true disappointment! While the property manager will tell you that it is one of the cheapest rentals on the island, that doesn't discount the fact that it was filthy and uncomfortable! In my opinion, the owner needs to put some money into a deep cleaning and new furniture/appliances.

On a positive note, the pool was very nice.

  • Submitted: Apr 6, 2016
  • Stayed: Feb 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Wow! Two new milestones in the ten plus years we have been renting our island house. The first being the recipient of the nastiest, most mean spirited and extremely exaggerated review we have ever seen, and secondly, the worst renters we have ever dealt with. I won't address the many issues raised at this time, due to the lengthy response it would require. We do, however, urge anyone who may have been influenced by the review to please contact our on-island Property Manager through VRBO. Simply explain that you are interested in hearing the non-fiction version of our miserable experience with this renter. One final note: Many of our renters are 2nd, 3rd, 4th, and some longer repeat guests. For some strange reason, they didn't seem to have noticed all of these horrifying problems. Consider that anyone can write just about anything they choose. That doesn't make it fact. Thanks to all who have taken the time to read this response.
Did you find this review helpful?
5 3
Belleville,IL
5

Best Kept Secret

  • 5 of 5

I love Palm island!. This was my second year visiting and I'll be back next summer if not sooner. Its a great place to sit back and relax. The scenery is wonderful as are the people!

  • Submitted: Jul 29, 2015
  • Stayed: Jul 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 3

Map

Nearest Airport
93 Miles
Tampa or Ft. Myers, FL
Nearest Barpub
2 Miles
Rum Bay Restaurant/On island
Nearest Ferry
2 Miles
Palm Island Transit
Nearest Motorway
2 Miles
775
Nearest Restaurant
2 Miles
Rum Bay Restaurant/On Island
Nearest Beach
1 Miles
Gulf of Mexico, Palm Island
Car: not necessary

Idle Hour is a charming single family home on Don Pedro/Palm Island. The island is only accessible by car ferry or personal boat. Enjoy your private heated pool, large dock for catching your dinner and a whimsical pool side Tiki bar. This is where you leave the rest of the world behind!

Photos

Rates & Availability

Palm Island House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Manager accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
My Standard Rate
7 night minimum stay
$1,595
 

Additional information about rental rates

Pet Fee $75
Departure Clean $217
Refundable damage deposit $500
Tax Rate 12.0%
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable
Calendar not updated in over 2 months and may not be available. Look for rentals with Request to Book or updated calendars.

Amenities

Palm Island House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Location Type:
  • Water View ...
  • Waterfront ...
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Telephone ...
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower , tub , shower , outdoor shower
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , combination tub/shower , shower
    Bathroom 3 - toilet
  • Master Bathroom-Full Bath With Shower Guest Bathroom-Full Bath with Tub and Shower One Half Bathroom-Poolside
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Master - 1 queen
    Guest - 1 double
    Guest-Poolside - 1 queen
  • Master Bedroom-Queen Bed Guest Bedroom-Double Guest Bedroom/Poolside-Queen
Entertainment:
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo
  • Television
Outside:
  • Boat ...
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Lanai / Gazebo ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Heated Pool
  • Private Pool ...
Attractions:
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • paddle boating
  • photography
  • shelling
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • massage therapist
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • kayaking
  • pier fishing
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • sound/bay fishing
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
Our little island is laid back, quiet, relaxing and where family memories are made!

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties