Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Amazing View Architectural- Great spaces for entertaining inside and out.

Sleeps8
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms3
Space 2,500 sq. ft.
Property type house
Minimum Stay 5 nights

Overview

About the property

3 bedrooms, 3 baths, bonus outdoor bedroom. Stunning views from all rooms.

The moment you view this stunning architectural home you will relax and be excited to enjoy all it offers. Designed for entertaining there are many open and large spaces, full of light with views from every room and a piano for music. Nestled in lush hills and a 10 minute walk to everything Hollywood offers- entertainment capitol, Runyon canyon hiking, Hollywood Bowl and Yamashiro restaurant (just a few doors away). Gorgeous views of mountains and red tiled roofs and all of the Hollywood Hills. Amazing home for entertaining. Stunning outdoor decks with seating for over 40 with Masters grill, outdoor bar , outdoor shower, spa and relaxing hammock and a outdoor meditation room. The Master bedroom feels like you are living in a luxury tree house. If you leave the shades up you will awake to the most beautiful sunrise over the mountains.


Owner
Michael Arden
Member since: 2015
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
September 15, 2017

About Michael Arden

A true Hollywood Native, born and raised. What I love about this homes location is it similar to many neighborhoods in the world full of friendly, caring neighbors and the place I can call home. Yet this location is just a half mile from amazing Hollywood life that has allowed many people from all over the world to come and live out their dreams.

Being a native I have always been around many industry people and celebs ( a few celebs lived in this house). However my love is architecture and I am an architectural photographer and part time home renovator. For the past 20 years I have also enjoyed being a professor at USC, teaching architectural photography in the Architecture department. Traveling is my number one passion aside from my kids and dogs.

Michael Arden purchased this house in 2000

Why Michael Arden chose Los Angeles County

This house was calling me every time I drove by it. Finally one day there was a for sell sign. It had gone up that morning and I bought it that day. I knew there was lots of love and joy in this house aside from it's beautiful architecture and location with serenity. bliss, and striking views. And all this only a 5-10 minute walk to the bustling Hollywood scene and the metro to take you to many other locals. The street in this hood are charming with lots of walkways that meander through magical places you would not otherwise have a chance to see. It is even possible to walk for 15 minutes on a path to the Hollywood Bowl for a magical night of music. You will also see lots of birds, squirrels, and sometimes deer.

What makes this house unique

Peace and Quiet. Great entertaining. Nature. Astounding Views. Walking distance to hundreds of restaurants, clubs, theaters, movies, the metro, walk of fame, Madame Trousseaux, the Magic Castle , Hollywood Bowl, Universal Studios (1 stop on the metro). Hollywood and Highland and much more.

Map

Nearest Airport
12 Miles
LAX and BUR
Nearest Barpub
0.5 Miles
Many
Nearest Golf
2.5 Miles
LA country Club
Nearest Train
1 Miles
Metro
Nearest Motorway
1 Miles
US101
Nearest Restaurant
300 Metres
Yamashiro
Nearest Ski
70 Miles
Baldy
Nearest Beach
10 Miles
Santa Monica
Car: recommended

Located in the amazing Hollywood Hills and yet walking less than 10 minutes to hundreds activities. entertainment. movies, theater,restaurants. metro and the famous Hollywood walk of fame.

Amenities

Hollywood Hills House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 2500 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 4:00 PM / Check-out: 11:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 8
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • pets considered
  • children welcome
  • smoking allowed ...
Location Type:
  • Downtown ...
  • Mountain View ...
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Fireplace ...
  • Garage ...
  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Dishwasher ...
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave ...
  • Oven ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster ...
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 10 people
Bathrooms:
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Bathroom 3 - toilet , shower
    Outside shower - outdoor shower
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , shower
  • The master and second bedroom have ensuite bathrooms. The master has a large bathtub with a stunning view of the old Hollywood Hill mansions in the distance. The third Bathroom is next to the third bedroom and also is used as the Powder room.
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 3 - 1 double
    Outside studio bedroom - 1 queen , Additional fee of $150/week for this separate bedroom.
  • This House has Three Bedrooms and Three Bathrooms plus an outdoor room that is an additional small bedroom with a queen bed and beautiful view and it's own private deck ($150/week surcharge). All bedrooms have beautiful views. The master has the feel of living in a tree with a view of the Hollywood hills and Griffith Observatory while laying in bed. The second bedroom has a small city view plus overlooks a beautiful fountain with hummingbirds. The third bedroom is the mid level and also has a view of the mountains and trees. All bedrooms have flat screenTV's with Dish network/Netflix. The master has wifi smart tv as well. The linens are all new hotel quality. Pillows are foam, down and down alternative.
Entertainment:
  • Books ...
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo ...
  • Television ...
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Lanai / Gazebo ...
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
Suitability:
  • wheelchair inaccessible ...
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub ...
Onsite Services:
  • Car Available
  • Massage
Attractions:
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • live theater
  • museums
  • playground
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • synagogues
  • theme parks
  • winery tours
  • zoo
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cycling
  • equestrian events
  • golf
  • hiking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • rock climbing
  • roller blading
  • swimming
  • tennis
Notes:
Lots of outdoor spaces including a tranquil meditation room, 3 fountains, a large outdoor bed on the upper deck to sunbath, hammock.

Reviews

Excellent! 4.6/5 -
(16 traveler reviews)

81% Complete
12% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
6% Complete
Amazing View Architectural- Great spaces for entertaining inside and out.
average rating of 4.625 based on 16 reviews
5

What a place👍

  • 5 of 5

This house has everything you need.

  • Submitted: Sep 8, 2017
  • Stayed: Aug 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Cypress, Texas
5

Great location

  • 5 of 5

This cool, comfortable house had everything we needed. Owners were responsive and friendly, and we loved hanging out on the terrace(s) enjoying the cool LA evenings.

The beds are comfortable and have upgraded linens, showers are big and have excellent pressure by California standards!

It's only a ten-minute walk down the hill to Walk of Fame and Chinese Theater, but the big attraction here was the excellent outside space and funky, modern vibe of the home. We would stay here again!

  • Submitted: Jun 9, 2017
  • Stayed: Jun 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Fabulous

  • 5 of 5

I cannot imagine anyone gIving less than 5 stars for this property. We loved the house. Everything was just perfect.

Very clean -not a single dog hair or dog smell as stated by another review.

It's even more fabulous than the photos in the website. The view is breathtaking. Especially from the deck beside the entrance.

Everything was in good working condition. The house is glamorous. Every painting, furniture, sculpture.... is a work of art.

Comfortable beds and pillows. Hot tub was used by the children and had fun.

Michael thought of everything to make our stay very comfortable and easy.

I think the only downside would be for people who have a hard time with stairs. But that's Hollywood hills....we, personally, did not find it a hindrance.

A little difficult to walk the hills especially for people who are not fit.

But really easy to use lyft or uber everywhere.

I very highly recommend this property for your Hollywood vacation. Every uber driver who picked us up told us how beautiful the house is. Even our pizza delivery had to take her phone out to take photos of the magnificent view from the entrance deck.

Best part is hanging out by the large deck during sunset. You won't see the sun setting. But you can see the sun sparkling on the hills and hitting the Griffith observatory white walls- like a jewel on top of the hills.

  • Submitted: May 15, 2017
  • Stayed: May 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Jean, It was a pleasure to have you and your friends as guest in my rental home. Thank you for leaving the home in great condition. And the treat you left form the Philippines was delicious.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Great location, wonderful view, beautiful home.

  • 5 of 5

Our host was very easy to deal with through the whole process and very quick to respond. He left us fresh flowers and goodies which was a sweet surprise. The home is extremely well equipped with everything you need. My kids loved all the different places to lounge and play as did the grown-ups. We would definitely come back and stay here again!

  • Submitted: Mar 21, 2017
  • Stayed: Mar 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Cumberland Head, New York
1

Pretty pictures do not convey reality

  • 1 of 5

I will preface this by saying I have rented houses all over the world...Europe, Caribbean, Canada, US. I've NEVER written a bad review! Sometimes things aren't perfect..but that's to be expected. I was excited to rent this house in LA, the pictures are so beautiful! Reality set in as I opened the front door and the odor of dog immediately came over me. The owner had left the door open for me so he was not there to witness our horrified reactions. As we started to move through the house, the odor was powerful. Anyone who has been around dogs knows what a smelly dog does to a house. The carpets on the stairs were filthy and the source of a lot of the smell. All the details are off in this house. Dirty, old, smelly, tired and worn is how I would describe it top to bottom. The cupboards and drawers in the kitchen were FILTHY! Dog hair, old crumbs, dog food, bugs....I found all in the drawers and cupboards. Every chair was gross...stains and stinky. The rug in the living room had CLEARLY been peed and pooped on recently as the clean up was not well done. There was a big dog poop in the back "yard" (which is turf by the way....and since dogs obviously pee and poo on it I would not go near it" The "meditation" room is nasty...dirty, dirty, dirty. The fireplace which is shown in pictures is not vented and dangerous. The owner did tell me how to turn it on but advised against it as it's not to code and "gas can leak into the house." Looks cool in the pictures! But you can't use it. The front door does not stay shut...literally flies open throughout the day unless you deadbolt it. The back deck furniture is tired and worn and filthy. The whole thing feels like a frat house...like a bunch of guys live there and they rent it out when they can but don't take care of ANY of the details. Before I posted this I asked for some remedy.....something! I didn't expect a full refund but I asked for the mandatory damage insurance to be refunded, the cleaning fee (this house was so UNCLEAN that I bought my owner cleaner and washed everything before using), and one night's rental. Not including the refundable damage deposit , I asked for a 20% refund of the total amount I paid which I thought was a reasonable request. So far, this owner has not offered me ANY remedy. This house ruined my vacation..I wanted to just leave and get a hotel room but I had invested so much I couldn't really afford to do that. Such a disappointment.

  • Submitted: Feb 7, 2017
  • Stayed: Jan 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: I was shocked, saddened and upset when I read this review.  After having over 100 people who have lodged at my home since I starting renting on VRBO in May of 2015, I have only once received less than 5 stars (and that was a 4-star review).  I stand behind the cleanliness, care and welcoming nature of my home.  I want your vacation to be as perfect as possible and I (or my two adult sons) are always available to help with any situation in the most professional manner. This renter did not communicate any of these concerns until after her stay was over when she demanded a refund. It is true she let herself in, but she neglected to mention I stopped by a few hours after her arrival to make sure everything was fine. At that time she asked how to use the fireplace and I showed her.  I made sure that she had my cell number and asked that she text me if any questions or concerns arose.  This review is false as well as unjustified given she never contacted me.  Our home has been published in an architectural interior design magazine and 80% of the furniture is less than 18 months old.  Beautiful artwork adorns the home.  If you enjoy views and playing on a beautiful grand Yamaha piano, then come and tickle these ivories.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 1
5

Great experience

  • 5 of 5

We have a great time spent in that villa

  • Submitted: Jan 9, 2017
  • Stayed: Dec 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $175
Pet Fee $100
Damage Insurance $99
Damage Deposit $500

50% refund within 30 days of rental.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 7 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 14 days before arrival date.