Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Great base to explore the mountains or to stay in and enjoy the company

Sleeps19
Bedrooms 4
Bathrooms3
Half Baths1
Space 2,600 sq ft
Property type house
Minimum Stay 1 - 2 nights

Overview

About the property

4 bedroom, 3.5 bath that sleeps 19. Perfect for family get togethers & retreats

When I started looking for a vacation home, I wanted a place that oozed relaxation and that was great for sharing with friends and family. I found it with this beautiful log cabin. I hope you will enjoy it as much as I do.

The main floor has large, open spaces ideal for gathering for large meals, games, long conversations and drinks in front of a roaring fire. The fully equipped kitchen is open to the main area so no one is left alone during meal prep time. The dining area has a large table that seats 10 plus a breakfast bar that seats another three people. The family room has a stone fireplace and overlooks a deck filled with rocking chairs, perfect for reading and relaxing. The deck overlooks the wooded back yard that ends at a small pond.

The lower level can be a separate living space. With a separate entrance, it is great for those who rise early or come in late. In addition to the bedroom space, there is a den with a kitchenette, including a coffee pot, microwave and a second full size refrigerator.

There is one bedroom and bathroom on each of the three levels plus a bunkroom that sleeps eight on the lower level. The loft also has two single beds in it.

When I said the home has everything you need, I mean it. Wi-Fi. Cable television in three rooms with a great channel lineup (including all the ESPN and children’s channels offered). Crock pot. Gas grill. Board games. Poker chips and poker table.

And did I mention that the home is easy to access? From the on-street parking, there is a level walk across a footbridge to the front door. No stairs! It means if you have a friend or family member with some mobility impairment, it is easy to visit and stay on the main level.

The cabin is centrally located so that it is convenient to essentials like grocery stores (two within 5 minutes) and restaurants as close as 5 minutes away. More importantly, it is a quick drive to all the fun activities the High Country has to offer. Ski Sugar is less than 10 minutes away and has all the winter fun you can handle - skiing, tubing and even ice skating. During warmer months you might want to explore Grandfather Mountain which is only 15 minutes away. It is home to a mile-high swinging bridge and a wildlife center. It is a short 20 minute drive to the Blue Ridge Parkway where there are a number of hiking trails for both novice and experienced hikers alike. Linville Falls is also worth a visit, only 20 minutes away from the cabin.

Of course, there's no need to ever leave the cabin. There are many weekends that I get up and just sit on the porch and enjoy the company of my friends and family.

More Details

Owner
Miranda Yeager
Member since: 2015
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
August 15, 2018

About Miranda Yeager

I grew up in rural Alabama with a family who valued land and the outdoors. I moved to North Carolina about 20 years ago and fell in love with the mountains. What a beautiful place to relax and unwind. I currently live in Cary, NC (just outside Raleigh) but enjoy my time at the cabin.

Miranda Yeager purchased this house in 2011

Why Miranda Yeager chose Sugar Mountain

I have worked from home for the last 18 years. That has many benefits but it also has some downsides. I find it difficult to separate my office from my house and relax when the work becomes stressful. I bought this cabin as a place to escape that hectic life. I wanted a place that was great to share with friends and had easy access to hiking and the other activities I enjoy in the mountains.

Amenities

Sugar Mountain House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Housekeeping:
  • Housekeeper Included
Floor Area:
  • 2600 sq ft
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 4:00 PM / Check-out: 10:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 19
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome ...
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace ...
  • Garage ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave ...
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster ...
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 13 people
Bathrooms:
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Bathroom 2 - toilet , combination tub/shower , shower , Upstairs
    Bathroom 3 - toilet , shower , Basement level
    Bathroom 4 - toilet , Main level
    Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower , Attached to master bedroom
  • Each floor has a full bath. An additional half bath is on the main floor.
Bedrooms:
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 19
  • Master - 1 king
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen , 1 twin/ single
    Bedroom 3 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 4 - 2 twin/ single , 6 bunk bed
    Bedroom 6 - 2 twin/ single , Loft that is exposed to family room below
    Bedroom 5 - 1 sleep sofa /futon , Sleeper sofa is in downstairs den
  • You'll find a master on the main level with a king bed. Upstairs is a bedroom with a queen and a single bed. The loft upstairs also has two twin beds. In the walk-out basement there is a queen bedroom, a sleeper sofa in the den and a bunkroom with 8 twin beds.
Entertainment:
  • DVD Player ...
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Television
  • Toys ...
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Ski & Snowboard ...
Suitability:
  • wheelchair accessible ...
Attractions:
  • festivals
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • fly fishing
  • hiking
  • ice skating
  • skiing
  • snowboarding
  • water tubing

Reviews

Wonderful! 4.9/5 -
(34 traveler reviews)

88% Complete
8% Complete
2% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
Great base to explore the mountains or to stay in and enjoy the company
average rating of 4.852941 based on 34 reviews
5

Great Place, Location, and Owner

  • 5 of 5

We maxed this house out in capacity and we were not the least bit crowded. Single digit temps and below zero wind chills and the house was warm and awesome. We skied at Beech mountain, built fires in the fireplace, and hung out. The owner was easy to deal with and has fantastic communication. Like I said earlier, we brought a lot of people and this house is laid out perfectly. A++

  • Submitted: Feb 5, 2018
  • Stayed: January 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: I'm so glad you had a great trip. I hope you will return soon.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Pleasant getaway

  • 5 of 5

We stayed at this cabin on a vacation with my wife's family and had a very nice time. The cabin was spacious, the bunk room was great for all the kids, the mornings were peaceful sitting on the back porch drinking coffee, the place was clean and well-maintained with everything we needed. While you are out from town, it was a short drive into town and all the amenities you could need plus close to great spots for hiking and awesome views around the area. The only issue we had was our code to get in the door didn't work, but Miranda was very quick to reply to my text and provide us a different code to gain access. Would definitely recommend and hope to return!

  • Submitted: Jul 7, 2018
  • Stayed: June 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Great place. Clean and spacious.

  • 5 of 5

Great place. Clean and spacious. Excellent location. Even caught a few fish in the pond. I hope to return there when there is some snow. I highly recommend this place.

  • Submitted: Jun 18, 2018
  • Stayed: June 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Very lovely Home. Lots of Room. Lots of shopping nearby.

  • 5 of 5

My stay was wonderful. Me and my family loved it there especially the kids. They had a nice time. Lots of room. We would definitely stay there again.

  • Submitted: May 29, 2018
  • Stayed: May 2018
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Beautiful and well laid out for large group.

  • 5 of 5

Very warm and inviting.

  • Submitted: Dec 27, 2017
  • Stayed: December 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Great house, fantastic location!

  • 4 of 5

We really enjoyed our week we spent here for Thanksgiving! The house is very well laid out and spacious. The kids loved the huge bunk room! The proximity of this house to Banner Elk, blowing Rock, Boone & Grandfather mountain was the best part! We did something different each day ... and hiked Linville Falls two times. You have to try Reid’s Cafe by the Lowe’s Food & Blowing Rock Brewery and Ale House. Both were fantastic. We got pizza one night from bella’s next to the Food Lion & it was amazing! The kitchen had pretty much everything we needed for cooking our meals (including a huge thanksgiving meal) but the pans/pots/spatulas, knives are all pretty beat up. Luckily my parents came a few days after us so I had them bring my big skillets and knife set. We made it work. Another concern was the lighting on the front of the house. It was impossible to see coming and going because the porch light was burnt out and the motion light wasn’t working. We found a flashlight and had our phone lights. Those few tiny things though wouldn’t deter us from staying here again. Miranda was great and quick to respond to us! Also, the WiFi was great!

  • Submitted: Nov 26, 2017
  • Stayed: November 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Meagan, I am glad you were able to spend Thanksgiving in the mountains with your family. I apologize for the worn out things in the kitchen. I haven't been up in a while but will certainly go shopping before I go up for New Years and replace the pots, pans and utensils. We did replace the bulbs since you visited and I will try to find a version that doesn't burn out as quickly. I hope to have you come see us again soon. Miranda
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Its convenient location makes your vacation stress free. While it is on a quiet street surrounded by mature trees, you’re only five minutes away from the grocery stores, a drug store and restaurants. Being in Sugar Mountain, it is of course easy to access the skiing, tubing and ice skating offered at Ski Sugar. It only takes about 10 minutes to drive into Banner Elk where there is an abundance of local food and frequent events in the park.

Looking for other adventures within a 30 minute drive? How about visiting the mile high swinging bridge and wildlife habitat at Grandfather Mountain? Or hiking at Bass Lake, the Boone Fork or Tanawha Trail, Trout Lake, Linville Falls or Rich Mountain?

Want to just go for a nice picnic? Try Julian Price Park on the Blue Ridge Parkway. Want to try your hand at fly fishing? There are great outfitters in nearby Foscoe to take you on the Watauga River. Looking for a true mountain experience? Don’t miss the original Mast General Store in Valle Crucis (particularly, don’t miss the candy annex down the road).

You’re a bit more adventurous, you say? Don’t forget to try your skills snow tubing at one of three local places. Or connect with a nearby outfitter to go whitewater rafting for the day (more than 30 minutes away). Or take it easy and tube down the river in Todd, NC.

It is an easy drive to Boone or Blowing Rock where you can find great dining, shopping, live music and entertainment for the kids (like Tweetsie Railroad).

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Property Damage Protection $59
Cleaning $200

Owner reserves the right to request a deposit in lieu of property damage protection.
Owner only accepts payment by credit card. No checks and no cashiers checks. If you do not have a credit card that will allow you to charge the deposit amount, do not request a reservation.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 14 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.

You might like these similar properties