Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Palm Springs / Palm Desert Poolside Guesthouse

Bedrooms 2
Space 1,100 sq. ft.
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 - 5 nights


About the property

2 bedroom, full kitchen & family room large, PRIVATE, poolside guesthouse

This guesthouse is an ideal, roomy, modern 1100 square foot 2 BR guesthouse capable of accommodating 6 adults with plenty of room for the kids. The unit has a new full kitchen with maple cabinets, granite counter-tops, a full size refrigerator and glass cook-top stove, outdoor grill, washer & dryer available for long-term guests, 70" high-def TV with 250 channel Dish network and extremely fast high-speed internet. During your stay you have the exclusive - private use of the Pool & Spa just steps from the front door. The large master suite a high quality king bed and the second bedroom has two full beds. Additional sleep options are a queen air mattress, a twin bed roll-away or a play-N-pak for the little one. Quite and secure with off-street parking for up to three vehicles, in the center of the Coachella Valley, 1/2 mile from the Indian Wells Tennis Gardens. Perfect for a weekend poolside fun in the sun, a family getaway or a stop on the way to Disneyland, Sea World & the ocean! Dog & Kid friendly!

LD (Larry) Hughes
Member since: 2015
Speaks: english, spanish
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
March 19, 2018

About LD (Larry) Hughes

My wife Marie works as the HR director for Coachella Valley Desert Rec and I am a 40 years retired general contractor. We live in the main house with a toy poodle, Hefner and two Shih Tzu, Reina and Frieda. Marie is a native Idahoan and I am a native Nebraskan that came together and built our little oasis in the desert. We enjoy good wine, good food and great company! We love to entertain and enjoy sharing our wonderful home with visitors from all over the world. Our motto: Live life with passion! - Be Kind!

LD (Larry) Hughes purchased this house in 2004

Why LD (Larry) Hughes chose Palm Desert

Located in center of the Coachella Valley the privacy of the Guesthouse, Pool and Spa are ideal for a weekend get-a-way, business stay or long-term winter lease.

To see additional Guest Reviews go to:

What makes this house unique

Even the five-star valley resorts cannot match the spacious rooms, comfortable beds, large bathroom with extra large walk-in shower and private toilet compartment. Whole house air-conditioning, large family room with dining table, double couch, 70" high-def TV with 200 channel Direct TV. Outside, just steps form the door you have the private use of the pool & spa, a private grill, lounge chairs and outdoor table. During the hot days of summer we add triangular shade-sails allowing you to get a break from the sun when using the pool & spa.

Guestbook comments from the owner

The house was amazing! A/C was on when we arrived, and the setting was really comfortable. Pictures don't do this place justice. It was very private as Larry had promised, and all the amenities were available. Larry was also easily reachable by cell and took us through out how to work everything when we had questions.
Aug 2015
  • 1 of 14


Palm Desert House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
  • Guests provide their own meals
  • Housekeeper Included
Floor Area:
  • 1100 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 3:00 PM / Check-out: 11:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 10
  • pets considered ...
  • Events Allowed
  • children welcome ...
  • non smoking only ...
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower , Extra large walk-in shower
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 10
  • Bedroom 3 - 1 baby crib , 2 sleep sofa /futon
    Bedroom 1 - 1 king , 1 sleep sofa /futon , Large with room for roll-away and/or play & pak
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen , 2 twin/ single
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Television ...
  • Bicycles
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Golf ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Tennis ...
  • 2 bicycles
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • wheelchair accessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Heated Pool
  • Hot Tub ...
  • Private Pool ...
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • festivals
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • museums
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • water parks
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • gambling casinos
  • outlet shopping
  • shopping
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • golf
  • swimming
  • tennis


Excellent! 4.3/5 -
(9 traveler reviews)

77% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
22% Complete
0% Complete
Palm Springs / Palm Desert Poolside Guesthouse
average rating of 4.3333335 based on 23 reviews
Seattle, WA

Not very pleasant.

  • 2 of 5

At the time of arrival the owner gave us the details of the house. It was very cold and stormy. The heating system( individual rooms, remote control, heat pump system) did not work , even the owner could not get it to work, it was set on automatic 72 F. The only thing we got was cold air. Managed with extra shirts and 2 heavy blankets. We only got cold air so we just stopped it. There is no heated pool, water was very cold even during the last warm 3 days. The hot tub temperature was set at 99F according to the owner. That is body temperatura, not a hot tub.. We could not find a washer and dryer. We called the owner and he told us that when we first came he forgot to unlock the door that leads to the laundry room . It took two phone calls to have it opened. Bed rooms, kitchen , bathroom facilites excellent. We were only 2, it certainly allows more people but I doubt 10 people particularly during meal hours as the house does not have a dish washer. The grill definitely needs cleaning, one of the burners did not work. The area is very quiet and all facilities a very short distance. The 4 dogs were very friendly. One night we had dinner outside close to the pool, the dogs joined us for the occasion and we enjoyed the company. Would not return.

Luis Wainstein

  • Submitted: Mar 15, 2018
  • Stayed: March 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Unfortunately, we cannot control the weather
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

It was perfect for our short but fun golf outing...

  • 5 of 5

The owners were great...incredibly responsive, friendly and nice. It was a very cool "guest house" set up with everything needed for a comfortable stay. We will definitely stay here again.


  • Submitted: Dec 30, 2017
  • Stayed: December 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Absolutely marvelous....

  • 5 of 5

This was an amazing time. No noise, no traffic, no hotel neighborhood atmosphere. The owners were so wonderful! The home was quaint and comfortable. Kid friendly and private. Laudry, cable, clean...who could ask for more. Thank you to the home owners. We will be returning!

  • Submitted: Aug 6, 2017
  • Stayed: August 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

A Little Piece of Paradise

  • 5 of 5

This was a one of a kind paradise. It was really awesome. I only wish we could of stayed longer. It was very homey and comfortable. Very quiet and private. I will be returning.

  • Submitted: Jun 1, 2017
  • Stayed: May 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Wonderful long weekend in a relaxing lovely place!

  • 5 of 5

We absolutely loved staying at the casita of LD and Marie. They are just the most lovely hosts who gave lots of tips and advice on the area and were just fun to chit chat with. We stayed 4 days with our 18 month old son and had a great time. The house is just perfect and we spent every evening in the hot tub. Don't hesitate to book a stay here!

  • Submitted: Apr 23, 2017
  • Stayed: April 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Great place with nice views of the mountains!

  • 5 of 5

Larry and Marie are wonderful! They were very accommodating to whatever we needed. The house is very nice in a pleasant community! Rooms are spacious and nicely decorated. Kitchen had most of the supplies we needed. The pool and spa were very enjoyable. We would highly recommend staying here!

  • Submitted: Apr 5, 2017
  • Stayed: March 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


Nearest Airport
22 Miles
Palm Springs - PSP - 30 min, Ontario ONT - 75 min
Car: recommended

10 minute walk to the Indian Wells Tennis Gardens




Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning $100 + Tax
Tax Rate 11.0%

This property is located in the City of Palm Desert. The City prohibits the use of sound devices outside, from 10 PM to 10 AM.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.