check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit

3BD, 2.5 BA mountain retreat with 270 degree views

Sleeps6
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms2
Half Baths1
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the VRBO checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more

Overview


Details
Property
house
Sleeps
6
Bedrooms
3
Bathrooms
2
Half Baths
1
Minimum Stay
3 nights

About the property

Newly renovated, unbelievable views of Hickory Nut Gorge to Mt Mitchell

Perched on a small side summit of Shumont Mountain, this property features unparalled views of Hickory Nut Gorge all the way to Mt. Mitchell. Even the pictures we have included here don't reflect the spectacular setting. On over 15 acres, Windsong allows you to enjoy the quiet solitude of the mountains, conveniently located just 10 minutes from many activities at Chimney Rock and Lake Lure Marina as well as 35 minutes from Asheville's many cultural attractions.

Built in 2000 and remodeled in 2015, this spot has been a special gathering place for our family, and we know you will want to return year after year to enjoy this mountain retreat.

On the main floor, you'll enter the dining area, featuring a floor-to-ceiling stone fireplace and cozy seating. The fully-stocked kitchen with stainless-steel appliances opens to the dining area so you can entertain while preparing your meals. The family room, and adjacent game room, are a perfect gathering place, complete with 65" flat screen TV. Curl up by the second fireplace and enjoy modern conveniences such as Netflix, wifi and DirectTV.

With a full-wall picture window looking out over all of Hickory Nut Gorge, the ground floor master bedroom suite boasts the best views of the property. Even the master bathroom has spectacular views over the gorge.

Along the entire length of the house is a covered porch with 180 degree views of the mountains.

Upstairs, you'll find two bedrooms with a full bath including bathtub/shower combination- one bedroom with a queen bed, the other with two twin beds.

The house includes full size washer and dryer.

More Details

Owner
Diane Haines
Member since: 2015
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
January 16, 2017

About Diane Haines

We grew up in nearby Rutherfordton and moved all across the United States, but still call the mountains of NC home. As kids, we spent summers at Lake Lure.

Diane Haines purchased this house in 2000

Why Diane Haines chose Blue Ridge Mountains

Although we live in other parts of the US, we consider the mountains of NC home. When we come back, we wanted a special place to enjoy the mountains and nearby Lake Lure/Asheville and other sights to share with our kids. While enjoying the serenity of a mountain retreat, you can reach Asheville in 30 mins and Lake Lure marina in 10 mins.

What makes this house unique

From the front porch, you have a 270 degree view of Hickory Nut Gorge to Mt Mitchell. You are within 10 mins of Lake Lure and 30 mins of Asheville.

Guestbook comments from the owner

It's gorgeous inside and the views are amazing!
Jul 2015
  • 1 of 1

Reviews

Exceptional! 5/5 -
(13 traveler reviews)

3BD, 2.5 BA mountain retreat with 270 degree views
average rating of 5.0 based on 14 reviews
Wilmington, nc
5

Amazing views!

  • 5 of 5

After years of vacationing in the NC mountains and staying in many rentals, we finally found the perfect one for our family! The view from this property is more amazing than the pictures depict! We so enjoyed waking up to the scenery out of the master bedroom window every morning! I almost didn't book because there wasn't king in the master but the views won me over. (Even though a king bed would have been perfect for us) Everything from furnishings to appliances are top of the line and the house was spotless. I was a little disappointed that neither fireplace was operational. I do love a cozy fire. The driveway is gravel and is steep but it wasn't a problem for us. My daughter's mustang handled it just fine! The owners were quick to respond and thought of everything. Can't wait to go back!

  • Submitted: Nov 21, 2016
  • Stayed: Oct 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks Maria. Look forward to having you back again. The fireplaces will be operational with the winter season this year, so you can cozy up to the fire next time you come!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Amazing hidden gem!

  • 5 of 5

This house was perfect for our girls weekend away. It held 6 adults and a baby with plenty of room where you could be alone or you could all sit down at the dinner table to eat or play games. The views are breathtaking from every point, even the amazing shower in the master. We didn't leave the house all weekend and watched the sunset over the mountains every evening from the point. The owners were very helpful in the entire process! All the ladies said this place is working coming back to over and over again. Thank you for sharing your beautiful home with us!

  • Submitted: Oct 23, 2016
  • Stayed: Oct 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for staying with us at Windsong. We hope to welcome you back again and again!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Miami, FL
5

Beautiful home in a great location

  • 5 of 5

We absolutely loved the home, property, and views. It is perfect in every way. The one concern was the gravel driveway. When reading the reviews, it didn't seem to be a big deal; but we had trouble getting up the hill in our SUV. I definitely recommend having a 4wd vehicle or something that can take the slippery slope. But overall, everything else was picture perfect! Very tasteful and well done. We would most definitely stay here again!

  • Submitted: Oct 18, 2016
  • Stayed: Oct 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks for staying with us at Windsong. The mountain driving does come with the view. We look forward to having you with us again!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Portsmouth, Virginia
5

Solitude - Mountain Breezes - Girlfriends Reunion

  • 5 of 5

Windsong was just what my friends and I wanted for our girls only getaway. This isolated mountain retreat was all, and more, than advertised. The views are extraordinary. We enjoyed the experience of literally having a cloud pass over us while we sat on the porch - great facial! The house is beautifully appointed. Great kitchen. There are plenty of separate spaces to enjoy together or alone. Be sure you've come up the mountain with supplies. Once you get there, you won't want to leave anytime soon. We went into town - Black Mountain - one day for shopping and lunch. We found we enjoyed the house so much that that was the only time we ventured out. Of the three of us, two were able to send and receive cell calls. In other words, depending on your carrier you may or may not have phone service. We used the Direct TV exactly once. Most of our time was spent on the porch watching the coming storms and enjoying the magnificent views. If you want to completely relax in solitude and enjoy the mountain breezes, Windsong is a perfect place for you. This place is a home. The owners show total pride of ownership. The little things from the fully stocked spice rack, the foils and wraps, the sumptuous bedding, to the carefully chosen liquid soaps in each bathroom, are what make this rental a relaxing destination. Wonderful memories! We hope to all go again as a trio and separately with our families.

  • Submitted: Aug 3, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are glad you enjoyed your stay with. Hope you return soon. (For any other visitors, please note the house does have great wifi.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Our summer vacation

  • 5 of 5

Windsong is an extremely nice home and the property owners were easy to work with. Communication via email was fast and thorough. There are a few things to note about the property. Please keep in mind that these are not negatives, but should be considered when reserving this home. First, come prepared for your stay. By this, I mean get groceries and any various household needs for your time in the home prior to arrival. The stores are not near by and the the house isn't overly stocked. This is not a criticism, we rented a house, not a a Marriott time share. The kitchen had everything we needed (other than a cake pan which was easily solved) however we did needed Kleenex, laundry detergent, clothes hangers, etc. Keep in mind that the store is 30 minutes away on a very rural and winding road. The bedrooms upstairs can be warm during the summer and currently do not have dressers. (Hence the need for hangers). The beds were very clean and comfortable.

The driveway can not be understated as steep. Once you get the hang of it, no problems, but it is gravel and takes some momentum to navigate. All appliances worked perfectly, air conditioning for the main level, hot water, tv, grill, washer/dryer, dishwasher, refrigerator and especially the wi-fi. Darts and fooseball were a big hit in the garage.

Views from the house are amazing and the property is extremely quiet. If you are looking for some quiet time away this is your spot. The drive to Asheville wasn't too bad, just take your time on the windy roads. Lake Lure and Chinmney Rock are close and fun day trips. Not a lot of great dining in the immediate area, but enough restaurants to break up dinners at the house. Overall this property is in a beautiful location that is perfect for a quiet get away. We stayed for 12 days and had a great family vacation.

  • Submitted: Jul 4, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Glad you enjoyed our stay with us! Look forward to hosting you again.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Pinehurst, NC
5

Amazing views, a great place to stay!

  • 5 of 5

We were awed by the amazing views at this home! Even during cloudy conditions we enjoyed sitting on the porch to admire the surroundings. We truly did feel like we were isolated and away from everything, but were within minutes of shops and restaurants in Chimney Rock and Lake Lure. The home was clean, beautifully decorated, and offered all the amenities you could ask for while vacationing. The master bed was comfortable and the room featured big picture windows showcasing the views. We also enjoyed the rainfall shower head in the luxury stone shower that had its own window for viewing the mountains. There was great cell service at the house, and we were also able to use the provided Wi-Fi. For rainy evenings, there were games and a very large TV with DirecTV and Netflix. We highly recommend Windsong for couples and families looking to stay in western NC, and we look forward to staying here again in the future.

  • Submitted: May 8, 2016
  • Stayed: Apr 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Glad you enjoyed your stay with us! Look forward to hosting you again!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Nearest Airport
30 Miles
Asheville, NC
Nearest Golf
20 Miles
Rumbling Bald Resort
Nearest Motorway
3 Miles
Highway 74
Nearest Restaurant
3 Miles
Esmeralda Inn
Nearest Beach
5 Miles
Lake Lure, NC
Car: necessary

Photos

Rates & Availability

Black Mountain House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
Winter (Dec - Mar)
Dec 1 2016 - Mar 31 2017
3 night minimum stay
$250
$1,450
$3,900
 
 
Spring (Apr - May)
Apr 1 2017 - May 31 2017
3 night minimum stay
$275
$1,600
$4,300
 
 
Peak 2017 (June - Nov)
Jun 1 2017 - Nov 30 2017
3 night minimum stay
$300
$1,750
$4,700
 
 
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay
$250
$1,450
$3,900
 

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $300
Cleaning fee (required) $150 + Tax
Tax Rate 11.0%

Payment options: pay by check, e-check (bank to bank transfer), or credit card.

note: Family members on adjacent property in case of emergency.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Contact Me Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Black Mountain House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Housekeeping:
  • Housekeeper Included
Floor Area:
  • 2200 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Mountain View ...
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Spa
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace
  • Garage
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Telephone ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 8 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Master bath - toilet , shower
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , combination tub/shower , tub
    Bathroom 3 - toilet , Half bath on ground floor
  • Master bath: attached to master bedroom on ground floor. Bathroom 2: on second floor with tub/shower. Shared with bedroom 2 and 3. Bathroom 3: half bath on ground floor.
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Bedroom 2 - 1 queen , 2nd floor
    Master bedroom - 1 queen , Ground floor. Master bath en suite.
    Bedroom 3 - 2 twin/ single , 2nd floor.
  • Master bedroom: queen bed, on ground floor, master bathroom attached with shower. Bedroom 2: queen bed on second floor, separate bathroom with bathtub/shower. Bedroom 3: 2 twin beds on second floor, shares separate bathroom with bedroom 2
Entertainment:
  • Game Room
  • Games
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo ...
  • Television
Outside:
  • Boat ...
  • Deck / Patio
  • Golf ...
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Tennis ...
Suitability:
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Attractions:
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • festivals
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • live theater
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • horseback riding
  • horseshoes
  • miniature golf
  • outlet shopping
  • paddle boating
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • golf privileges optional
  • hiking
  • hot air ballooning
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • pier fishing
  • rafting
  • rock climbing
  • sailing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • water tubing

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties