Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Family and Pet Friendly

Sleeps6
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms2
Space 1,100 sq. ft.
Property type cabin
Minimum Stay 3 nights

Overview

About the property

Cozy 3 Bedroom 2 bath Mountain Cabin

Come relax in our charming 3/2 cabin that is nestled on the mountainside with all the amenities of home! Fully furnished with all you will need to enjoy the beauty and excitement that the mountains have to offer. Cabin features a large wrap around porch with lower deck and fire pit, mountain stream below, wood burning fireplace, central air, and centrally located to all outdoor mountain activities. Bedrooms include two singles and set of bunk beds in one bedroom, and queen beds in both the upstairs master and other downstairs bedroom. We have outside gas and Weber charcoal grills for your grilling preference as well as large picnic table on deck to enjoy your outdoor dining.


Owner
Jack and Sheila Ullrich
Member since: 2015
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a day
Response rate:
80%
Calendar last updated:
July 17, 2017

About Jack and Sheila Ullrich

Originally from Chicago and Kentucky, we met and married in Naples, FL and have been married for 24 years. We have raised our 4 children in Naples, and they have grown up vacationing at our cabin.

Jack and Sheila Ullrich purchased this cabin in 1996

Why Jack and Sheila Ullrich chose Smoky Mountains

After many years of vacationing in the surrounding area, we purchased the cabin when our 4 children were small. We have created many lasting memories over the last 12 years with our family and friends, and enjoy sharing our place with others when we are not able to use it.

What makes this cabin unique

Our cabin is close to many of our favorite outdoor activities, including boating and tubing on Fontana Lake, whitewater rafting on the Nantahala River, hiking on the Appalachian Trail, exploring the waterfalls at Deep Creek in Bryson City, mountain biking at Tsali, and just relaxing at the cabin while building fires inside and out, roasting hot dogs and smores, sitting on the front porch swing enjoying the hummingbirds feed and reading a good book, listening to the babbling creek that runs through the property, and soaking up the peaceful feel of the surroundings.

Amenities

Robbinsville Cabin Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cabin
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1100 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 6
  • pets considered ...
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Rural
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Sports & Activities
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster ...
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , combination tub/shower
  • Bathroom downstairs is located between the two downstairs bedrooms. It features a full size walk in shower. Second bathroom is located upstairs off the master bedroom and features a full size tub and shower. Towels are provided and hairdryer available.
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen , Master bedroom located upstairs off loft with private bath
    Bedroom 3 - 1 queen , Located on first floor
    Bedroom 2 - 2 twin/ single , 1 bunk bed , Located downstairs has set of bunkbeds and two single beds
Entertainment:
  • Books ...
  • DVD Player
  • Game Room ...
  • Games ...
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Attractions:
  • marina
Leisure Activities:
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • horseback riding
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • rafting
  • water skiing
  • water tubing
  • whitewater rafting

Reviews

Excellent! 4.7/5 -
(30 traveler reviews)

Family and Pet Friendly
average rating of 4.6666665 based on 30 reviews
5

Super inviting and comfy cabin!

  • 5 of 5

The owners were awesome to deal with and the cabin came equipt with anything you could think of! We'll def be back!

  • Submitted: Apr 5, 2017
  • Stayed: Mar 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Great rustic cabin!

  • 4 of 5

This is a wonderful, wonderful rustic cabin that is both charming and comfortable. We spent two weeks here with two boys (11 and 9) and have no complaints about the cabin itself. The Ullrichs take great care of the property, and the love is evident everywhere. We had many a pleasant nights sitting by the firepit telling stories, roasting hot dogs and marshmallows, and just being away from it all. Just a wonderful rustic cabin in the woods.

One thing to note, though it should be obvious. This is a country cabin. If you need superfast and super reliable internet access, I wouldn't recommend this part of the country for you. Cell phone reception is going to be spotty at best. But for getting away from it all, that's actually a plus.

The only reason for not going 5 stars has little to do with the cabin itself, but with the surrounding area. We thought that there would be more to do, like hiking, mountain biking, water activities, etc., just from the cabin itself or close by. That is not the case. The trailheads, lakes, streams, etc. are all relatively far away (~30 min drive). If you're hiking this section of the Appalchian Trail, that trailhead is closer, but it's still a drive. So keep that in mind if you're thinking of doing a lot of outdoor activities in Joyce Kilmer or Nantahala.

Second, Graham County where Robbinsville is located, is a dry county. We didn't know that coming in. :) So make sure to pick up wine, beer, liquor, whatever on your way in.

Otherwise, enjoy yourselves in privacy, a great cabin with wonderful charming rooms, and a outdoor living space that will become the focus of your stay.

PS: The water is the best I've ever had. Just turn on the tap -- it'll taste just like expensive bottled water.

  • Submitted: Jul 17, 2017
  • Stayed: Jun 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Bridgeport , Illinois
2

Not happy at all with the stay ....

  • 2 of 5

The cabin was not real clean .. And there are no mats in the shower or tub ... My mother slipped and fell due to a very slick shower floor.... We also did not have gas for the grill ... And couldn't get into the cabin when we got there . We were given the wrong code for the door ..... I am not the kinda of person that does these kind of reviews but I was very disappointed ... Especially for the price we had to pay to stay there .....

  • Submitted: May 31, 2017
  • Stayed: May 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We go to great lengths to ensure that are guests have a great experience, and we are sorry that you did not. To address the issues, our cabin is professionally cleaned and our housecleaner takes great pride in her work - she was quite upset when she learned of these comments. However, even before this review, she informed us that the guests left our home in a horrible condition - trash left in the unit, cigarette ashes and butts dropped everywhere, cabin smelling of smoke, and an animal onsite - all requiring 2 extra hours to clean. Prior to their stay, we sent the guests an email with our new door code, but they either did not receive it, or did not take note of the change - we apologize for that. We provide everything from linens to dishes, to towels to floor mats - not sure how the mats were missed in the cabinet, but again, we can only apologize for the inconvenience. They were correct regarding the gas for the grill - they called us on a Sunday evening when the tank emptied, at which time we tried to reach our local housekeeper (who was not home). We immediately called our guests back, apologized for the inconvenience, and informed them that we would not be able to refill the tank until the next day, but directed them to a local convenience store just up the road that provided tank refills (for which we would gladly reimburse them the cost). Apparently they chose not to make the exchange. We suppose that this review will go both ways - these guests will choose not stay with us again, nor will we ever allow them to. In our 15 years of providing vacation housing, this is the first instance where our guests were so unhappy, and our housekeeper so disgusted with the way our unit was left. We are truly sorrow for the unsatisfactory experience.
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
Fort Wayne, IN
4

Delightful cabin

  • 4 of 5

We had a wonderful time at Sawyer's Den. It's a comfortable and pleasant place to stay, in a lovely setting. It's a short trip from Fontana Village for anyone attending events there, and it's far more economical if you're sharing the cabin. Since we were there for a car event, we appreciated that there's a hose with water in the parking area. The one beef is that the wifi was nearly unusable. We had to restart it hourly, and that's a problem when you're staying somewhere with no cell service. But they're responsive folks, so I'm sure they'll handle that once they read this review.

  • Submitted: May 15, 2017
  • Stayed: May 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks for the comments - we're sorry that the wifi was not working properly during your stay. We had the system rebooted and it is working well again. Thanks again for your response, and thanks for taking care of our place! Jack & Sheila
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
4

Peaceful place

  • 4 of 5

Great place to stay for people who enjoy calm and scenic area. Everything is there and very clean.

The only problem we had was that the wrong door code was provided. We had to try different combinations during 20 minutes to finally had some luck and find the good one.

  • Submitted: Apr 30, 2017
  • Stayed: Apr 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Great time! Perfectly located between Fontana Dam and NOC.

  • 5 of 5

We had an awesome time! We all spent the first night at the cabin... very fun. Beds were really comfortable and the cabin had everything we needed. The next morning my wife and 11-yr old daughter dropped my 14-yr old son and I off at NOC for our AT hike to Fontana Dam. Meanwhile, my wife and daughter spent time at the cabin, day hiking with our two Shih Tzus, gem mining, visiting the Stecoah Arts Center... really enjoyed themselves! Three days later, they pick us up at Fontana Dam... great backpacking trip on the AT! Perfect backpacking weather. Then all of us spent a night together at the cabin. My wife really enjoyed the porch swing. We all had a great spring break! Thank you so much for sharing your cabin with us.

  • Submitted: Apr 2, 2017
  • Stayed: Mar 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Nearest Airport
62 Miles
Knoxville
Nearest Motorway
1 Miles
28
Car: necessary

Our cabin is tucked away and yet conveniently located to all of the areas activities such hiking the Appalachian Trail, whitewater rafting on the Nantahala or Cheoah, horseback riding, boating, fishing, scenic drives. An easy and scenic drive will have you in Cherokee, Bryson City or The Smoky Mountains in less than 45 minutes.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Robbinsville Cabin Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay
$135
$775
$1,800
 

Additional information about rental rates

Pet Fee $40 + Tax
Refundable damage deposit $100
Property Damage Protection $59
Tax Rate 10.0%

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
Contact Owner
Available
Unavailable

You might like these similar properties