Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Upscale, chic duplex 1 block from beach & close to everything!

Sleeps6
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms2
Space 937 sq. ft.
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 - 3 nights

Overview

About the property

House, 3 Bedrooms, 2 Baths, Sleeps 6

Prepare yourself for the vacation of a lifetime at this gorgeous Newport Beach home. Perfect for a family vacation or friend weekend getaway (up to six guests), this home has three bedrooms and is just one block from the beach.

Centrally located in the heart of Newport Beach peninsula, this duplex gives you the chance to skip the car rides and walk to everything including restaurants, prime beach spots, and exciting attractions.

A granite countertop bar attached to the kitchen with three black barstools welcomes you to this lovely home. The kitchen has everything you'll need including an oven, fridge, microwave, dishwasher, and coffeemaker.

The dining table seats up to four and is just adjacent to the grey sectional, which faces the flatscreen TV atop a beautiful gas fireplace. Head out to the balcony through the sliding glass door and relax in the comfortable chairs.

Down the hall are three bedrooms and two full bathrooms. One bathroom is attached to the master bedroom, which has a king-size bed and flatscreen TV. The other two bedrooms each have a queen-size bed.

This home conveniently comes with a Blu-ray player, cable, and WiFi. A coin-operated washer and dryer are located in the shared garage. (If you're traveling with a larger group, you might like to consider renting both halves of this duplex together - please call us at Vacasa for more details!)

Feel free to rent a couple bikes and take a ride along the path just feet from your door. Tasty eateries, bars, and the hopping nightlife are just a few blocks away on 21st Street, and Balboa Fun Park is close at hand and offers pier rides, food, and shopping. And just two miles down to the end of the peninsula is The Wedge, said to be the best place for skimboarding, surfing, and more.

Modern, elegant, and ideally located, this home is the best spot for your beach getaway.

More Details

Property Manager
Vacasa, CA - Orange County Office
-
Member since: 2001
Premier Partner

This VRBO partner has demonstrated and is committed to fast response times, the best rates, and a great traveler experience.

Speaks: english, french, german, spanish, portuguese, italian
Manager indicates their response time is:
Within an hour
Calendar last updated:
January 19, 2018

Amenities

Balboa Peninsula House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Floor Area:
  • 937 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 4:00 PM
  • /
  • Check-out: 11:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 6
  • Max. adults: 6
  • Min. age of primary renter: 21
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Pets not allowed
  • Non smoking only
General:
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace
  • Garage
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Parking ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • DVD Player ...
  • Games
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Balcony

Reviews

Good! 3.8/5 -
(41 traveler reviews)

41% Complete
29% Complete
4% Complete
17% Complete
7% Complete
Upscale, chic duplex 1 block from beach & close to everything!
average rating of 3.804878 based on 41 reviews
Memphis, TN
2

Great Location - Adequate Accomodations - Terrible Local Service

  • 2 of 5

We arrived at this Vacasa unit at about 5 pm and it was totally dark, no lights in the stairwell or at the door and the key pad would not work. It is a rear alley entrance and w no light at night upon arrival it was very spooky. There was a standing pail of water in the dark stairwell that I stepped into in the dark and ruined my shoe and pants. Because we could not get into the unit we reached out to the two local contacts and neither were unresponsive to vm or txt. The vacasa operations person in OR was trying to be helpful locating the local people who were not responsive. Eventually the people in OR figured out that 1) the key code had been changed earlier; 2) the code was then written down incorrectly; 3) the instructions for the "back up key" were incorrect; 4) the back up key was in a different location than what was listed in their file. This was an extremely frustrating and poor beginning to vaca and in addition to being exasperated and wet, we were late joining our guests for our dinner reservations. Very bad first impression and poor service.

The apt itself is basically as described in appearance. The location is one block from the beach and one to bay. The location is stellar. The wifi and tvs work fine. Some features of the apt are a little quirky. Not all cabinet doors close properly; the Master bath is very small with poor use of space. The backflow for tub was off and left an open hole for insects. The MBR bath is very small and when the water is turned on in the 2nd bath it sounds like a train and drowns out the tv in the MBR. Closing the MBR bedroom and bathroom doors helped. The unit sits over a 3 bay, 6 car garage and is very poorly insulated. We could hear conversations and all other activities in the in the alley and when the garage doors were moving it was loud enough to wake us up in MBR. There are steep steps from garage alley to unit with insecure railing, making it questionable for elderly or those with unsteady gait. The outdoor space is wysiwyg; no more. The wood railing is rotting and the “deck” is very poorly appointed. It would be better to get rid of the red chair and put two smaller chairs there w small table. Despite pics and attempts at upgrades this is not a very inviting space and has some rough edges. As another review noted, the carpet is stained, buckling and warn. There are many small issues like this that show there is little attention to details and leave the impression that it is a neglected rental

  • Submitted: Dec 1, 2017
  • Stayed: November 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are very sorry to see this guest did not better enjoy their visit. We have addressed the check-in situation so it should not be an issues for future guests, and the property manager will discuss the other comments with the owner. Thank you!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
2

Great Location - Adequate Accomodations - Terrible Local Service

  • 2 of 5

We arrived at this Vacasa unit at about 5 pm and it was totally dark, no lights in the stairwell or at the door and the key pad would not work. It is a rear alley entrance and w no light at night upon arrival it was very spooky. There was a standing pail of water in the dark stairwell that I stepped into in the dark and ruined my shoe and pants. Because we could not get into the unit we reached out to the two local contacts and neither were unresponsive to vm or txt. The vacasa operations person in OR was trying to be helpful locating the local people who were not responsive. Eventually the people in OR figured out that 1) the key code had been changed earlier; 2) the code was then written down incorrectly; 3) the instructions for the &quot;back up key&quot; were incorrect; 4) the back up key was in a different location than what was listed in their file. This was an extremely frustrating and poor beginning to vaca and in addition to being exasperated and wet, we were late joining our guests for our dinner reservations. Very bad first impression and poor service.<br />

The apt itself is basically as described in appearance. The location is one block from the beach and one to bay. The location is stellar. The wifi and tvs work fine. Some features of the apt are a little quirky. Not all cabinet doors close properly; the Master bath is very small with poor use of space. The backflow for tub was off and left an open hole for insects. The MBR bath is very small and when the water is turned on in the 2nd bath it sounds like a train and drowns out the tv in the MBR. Closing the MBR bedroom and bathroom doors helped. The unit sits over a 3 bay, 6 car garage and is very poorly insulated. We could hear conversations and all other activities in the in the alley and when the garage doors were moving it was loud enough to wake us up in MBR. There are steep steps from garage alley to unit with insecure railing, making it questionable for elderly or those with unsteady gait. The outdoor space is wysiwyg; no more. The wood railing is rotting and the “deck” is very poorly appointed. It would be better to get rid of the red chair and put two smaller chairs there w small table. Despite pics and attempts at upgrades this is not a very inviting space and has some rough edges. As another review noted, the carpet is stained, buckling and warn. There are many small issues like this that show there is little attention to details and leave the impression that it is a neglected rental. And speaking of neglected, we never did hear back from either of the local contacts. Definitely not for the discerning traveler.<br />

  • Submitted: Nov 30, 2017
  • Stayed: November 2017
  • Source: Vacasa
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
2

Good location, poor care for property

  • 2 of 5

Location was wonderful, one block from the beach. Bathrooms and kitchen were updated. However, when we walked in, we were overwhelmed with the strong scent of chemical deodorizing sprays.

We were told to take out fans and start moving the air to clear it. Imagine our disgust when we discovered the fans were full of dust and were filthy.

As the days went on, more issues became apparent:

1. No lights in either outdoor stairwells making it dangerous to climb stairs at night;

2. Coffee maker did not work;

3. Dishwasher panel did not function properly;

4. The carpeting was runned down and stained;

5. Middle bedroom needs a a serious repainting;

6. A couple of the off-white hand towels in first bathroom had stains;

7. No blender.

Next time, we will do better research to find an apartment that meets our expectations.

  • Submitted: Aug 15, 2017
  • Stayed: August 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
2

Great location, property needs better maintenance

  • 2 of 5

Great location and nice upgrades on baths and kitchen. The fans in the closets that we used were dirty and full of dust. Lights in outdoor entrances did not work, no blender, coffee maker broken, dishwasher panel did not function properly, carpeting stained, etc.

would not stay here again.

  • Submitted: Aug 15, 2017
  • Stayed: August 2017
  • Source: Vacasa
Owner's Response: We are sorry to see this guest was dissatisfied with their stay. We wish we had been notified of these inconveniences so we could have assisted the guest. We inspected the coffee maker, dishwasher, and outdoor lights and found all to be working correctly. We would have been able to troubleshoot these items with the guests had they contacted us. The fans and carpets will be cleaned during our fall deep cleans. Thank you!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
2

904 A W Balboa-disappointment

  • 2 of 5

Maybe okay for winter rental. Parking is tight!

  • Submitted: Aug 9, 2017
  • Stayed: August 2017
  • Source: Vacasa
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Nasty

  • 5 of 5

Do not rent this property until it is improved. !

  • Submitted: Aug 3, 2017
  • Stayed: July 2017
  • Source: Vacasa
Owner's Response: We are sorry to read this and will look into what improvements this guest might suggest. Thanks!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 1

Map

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Notes

  • Major Credit Cards Accepted. Taxes and fees are not included. Rates and availability calendars may change until time of booking.

You might like these similar properties