Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Close to Asheville, Chimney Rock and Tryon International Esquestrian Center

Bedrooms 2
Space 1,000 sq ft
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 nights


About the property

2/1 with Mountain & Lake Views - boating, swimming, hiking, etc

For pictures and more information, please email me so that I can provide our website address.

Welcome to Lake Lure House located on Lake Lure - voted one of the most beautiful lakes in the world. We enjoy panoramic views of the lake and colorful Bald Mountain from almost every room. This location is less than 5 minutes from the beach, restaurants, and spa of downtown Lake Lure. You will pass our boat dock first if you take a ride on the Lake Lure Showboat that will entertain you with local stories and folk lore including a visit to the famous Dirty Dancing movie location - straight across the lake from our dock!

Nestled in the mountains, Lake Lure House is rustic with an open 1000sf floor plan which includes the living room, dining room and kitchen in one central room. There are five sets of historic french doors that open onto the wrap-around porch. It has two bedrooms - each with a queen size bed, a sectional sofa, and one bathroom. The accommodations are best suited for 4 guests.. The partially-screened porch is a wonderful place to enjoy morning coffee in the rocking chairs or an afternoon picnic. We have a fully functional kitchen with a dining table and bar seating. Feel free to keep your boat in the boathouse - 8' (opening) x 20' or tie up to the 30' by 20' dock. There is a washer and dryer in the laundry room on the lower level.

We offer free wireless internet, television, limited local cable, Apple TV and Netflix. **Unfortunately, cable is very limited due to our location at the end of the street.

**NOTE: The front door is located at street level, but the back porch elevation is more than 25'. Young children should not be allowed on the back or side porches without adult supervision.

We specialize in weekend and weekly reservations. However, we offer monthly reservations but require additional housekeeping fees and a larger refundable security deposit.


PayPal payment and signed rental documents are required to secure your rental dates.

The keyless entry code will be provided when reservation is complete.

-- Complete the PayPal payment by using the provided PayPal Invoice.

-- Sign and return reservation documents attached to discussion thread or PayPal Invoice.

Return via:

A. PDF file at the VRBO/HomeAway discussion email thread;

B. Fax or

C. Email to the address provided on the contact.

BOOKING through VRBO/HomeAway will require two separate payments:

1. The service fee to VRBO

2. PayPal rental payment to Lake Lure House Vacation Rental - Invoice provided when Guest's email available.

Please note that choosing to BOOK with VRBO/HomeAway and paying the service fee does not constitute a reservation, reserve your dates or make PayPal rental payments.

Policies and Agreements

- 100% refund for cancellations more than 60 days before check-in date

- 50% refund for cancellations more than 30 days before check-in date


For pictures and more information, please email me so that I can provide our website address.

Thank you for your consideration.


Lake Lure House


More Details

Staci Cole
Member since: 2011
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
August 20, 2018


Lake Lure House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1000 sq ft
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 4:00 PM
  • /
  • Check-out: 11:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 4
  • Min. age of primary renter: 25
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Pets not allowed
  • Non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Lake View
  • Lakefront
  • Mountain View
  • Water View
  • Waterfront
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet ...
  • Linens Provided
  • Parking ...
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Microwave
  • Oven ...
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 -
  • Stand-up shower stall only
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 4
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Television
  • Boat ...
  • Deck / Patio
  • Golf ...
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Tennis ...
  • Water Sports Gear ...
  • autumn foliage
  • marina
  • restaurants
  • waterfalls
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • golf
  • hiking
  • swimming
First house by boat from downtown Lake Lure Less than 5 minutes by car from downtown Lake Lure PET FREE Partially-screened wrap-around porch Two Bedrooms Sleeps 4 1 Bathroom - standup shower only Dining for 6 comfortably - Bar seating for 3 Fully functional kitchen Coffee Maker Wireless Access - T.V. with basic channels, Netflix Solid hardwoord floors Central Air-conditioning and heating Washer / Dryer Covered Boathouse - 8' x 20' Oversized Dock/deck - 20' x 30' High chair and Baby Play yard Due to owner and guest allergies - NO PETS PLEASE!


Very Good! 4.2/5 -
(17 traveler reviews)

47% Complete
35% Complete
11% Complete
0% Complete
5% Complete
Close to Asheville, Chimney Rock and Tryon International Esquestrian Center
average rating of 4.1764708 based on 17 reviews

beautiful view, lovely home!

  • 5 of 5

We had a wonderful weekend at Lake Lure House - the house was comfortable and had everything we needed. We loved enjoying the beautiful views from the dock. Can't wait to stay again!

  • Submitted: Jul 9, 2017
  • Stayed: July 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Beautiful views!!

  • 3 of 5

Because it literally poured for the first three days. We had no idea how beautiful I was!!! Lake Lure is a great spot. We were in the area to visit family so not at the house much.

  • Submitted: Aug 8, 2018
  • Stayed: July 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hello Linda, I know that rained-out vacations are a bummer. But, rain in the mountains is my favorite. I love to sit on the covered porch. The rain in the trees and pinging on the roof creates a special kind of music. I hope you enjoyed the time with your family and will stay with us again on your next visit.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Nice little getaway!

  • 4 of 5

My family of four enjoyed our mini-vacation at Lake Lure House. The house was clean and well-stocked. The view from the dock was breathtaking. My daughters enjoyed jumping off the dock. The house is just minutes from Chimney Rock State Park. Hiking to the waterfall there was the highlight of our trip. My youngest daughter enjoyed the gem mining and my oldest liked checking out all the shops in Chimney Rock village. We enjoyed a delicious dinner at Larkins on the Lake.

  • Submitted: Aug 1, 2018
  • Stayed: July 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hello Julie, I am glad you and you family enjoyed Chimney Rock and Lake Lure. The view at Chimney Rock is amazing, isn't it, and worth the hike. I hope you all will visit again soon. There are so many other trail, waterfalls and scenic views to discover.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Not quite what we expected..but Lake Lure was nice

  • 3 of 5

I understand my review might sound like a person with "First World" problems but considering the price we had higher expectations.

It was fairly clean except for the trash that was in the garbage can without a bag that we had to deal with upon arrival.

There was no house phone there and wondered what someone would do in case of an emergency.

We had Verizon wireless and our signal did not work there.

We eventually figured out that we could use our phones with the wifi but it was hit or miss.

There were no instructions on where the wifi password was on anything, but we figured it out. We would have called but our phones didn't work.

The bathroom was very small. We are not large people by any means and the shower felt like a phone booth and was difficult to move around in. The house is dated and decorated as such.

The biggest disappointment was the distance and number of stairs to get to the water. The pictures and description didn't have any indication of this. That would have been a reason for us not to book since I have problems with my legs from a previous injury and surgery. 136 steps to the dock ! . 80 ft descent. That's about 11 flights of stairs...I did the math.

Once down on the dock it was pleasant for sure. But it was like going on a hike if you forgot something. I wish this was in the description and a major reason for the 3 stars as waterfront and access was an important factor.

The distance to town was great and it was a quiet location.

Beds were not very comfortable and very squeaky.

The neighbor has a camera out the window facing the house. That was a little weird.

It was an anniversary weekend and I went for the "you get what you pay for" idea and ultimately felt that it was overpriced for what it was. So my disappointment was directly correlated to my expectation.

We quickly got over it and had a great time regardless. It was humorous to take a shower as the shower head kept falling down , the shower light didn't work, and the hot and cold water were reversed.

But I feel like I should have shopped around a little more before deciding on this rental especially for a 15th Anniversary weekend.

Overall we had a great weekend .We spent more time away from the house and had some great meals at the local restaurants, nice walks along the park, and rented a pontoon boat on Sunday from some great folks at Lake Lure Adventure Club, The weather was perfect. I think we'll make it another 15 years Ha !

  • Submitted: Aug 1, 2018
  • Stayed: July 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Gus, we spoke with you in person while you were visiting. You made it clear that you were having a wonderful time on your anniversary and that everything was great. We could easily have addressed the questions you mentioned. Shame on you for returning our kindness with such a scathing review.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

we absolutely loved our time at Lake Lure!

  • 4 of 5

My husband and our two children had very short ( only 2 nights) time at Lake Lure but we absolutely loved it and already looking when we can come back to this beautiful area. The cabin was nice and had everything we needed but the most appealing was the dock with a stunning views of the mountains. We were able to rent a kayak for 24 houres from Lake Lure Adventure Company that delivered it to the dock and picked it up when we were done.This company also helped us to arrange a morning fishing trip for my husband and son with a professional and very knowledgeable fisherman that was also able to pick them up from our dock. My men enjoyed bass fishing and learned a lot about Lake Lure and fresh water fishing.While they were gone I was able to spend time at Lake Lure town ( 2 minutes away from the property) with our doughter. We went to explore Morse Park, Flowering Bridge and played at a small playground. The whole time I was thinking that I was in some little town in Switzerland. The views and the landscapes around Lake Lure are just stunning. In the evenings we were enjoying our time on the dock as well by just watching the boats go by, jumping off the dock, swimming and kayaking until sun went down. Chimney Rock State Park is a must see if you are in the area and Chimney Rock Village ( 5 minutes away from the property) has lots of cute stores and restaurants. Overall we loved our stay at this location just prepare to clime the stairs up and down to the dock ( it is probably 3 stories high and not suitable for very yang children and older people).

  • Submitted: Jul 25, 2018
  • Stayed: July 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Maximum Total Dissapointment

  • 1 of 5

My family and I were totally shocked and disappointed by the level of dust on the porch screened area as soon as we pulled in the driveway. Dry, unswept leaves on the dock ( NOTHING like the pictures that the owner provided on VRBO website and her private website) The seating area around the screened porch and the two chairs( of course dirty and carelessly thrown ) were so dirty. Not a place where you could enjoy breakfast or really anything. We came prepared with air bed from home , sheets, towels , knowing that we needed one extra bed for my mom and the owner agreed so the size of the cabin was NOT an issue.

The two chairs that you see on the dock? Thrown in their boat house upside down where we were disgusted by the garbage over there in the water. You know you have people coming that payed for this place! We just could not believe it! The owner told us that her husband cleaned the house and the place outside but everything looked like nobody did any cleaning for a very long time . We would not use the boat house anyway but NOTHING was pleasant, charming or welcoming about this place . Dirty trash bin by the ENTRANCE could not be called as a charming , welcoming thing. For the owner that’s nothing along with all the other things, we booked 2 days before checking in and of course, she would not refund the money. The shower door you could not see through , the two small bath rugs so dirty , stepped on ... just a total disappointment.

What was even more unpleasant was the heavy smell inside the cottage even with the AC working . We found dirt in one of the drawers in one of the bedrooms. We LEFT RIGHT AWAY, reporting to the owner that we were unhappy. We found a smaller cottage ( because the owner thinks that we left because of the size of the cabin ) clean, welcoming where we could finally enjoy our stay. The new place would refund your money if you find any dirty, uncleaned areas . That’s professionalism ! I would DEFINITELY not return and would not recommend this Lake Lure cottage to ANY of my friends. We visit North Carolina almost every year and always found clean , welcoming cabins but not this time.

Always ask for cleanliness policy beforehand, even though the majority of places has it in their contract agreements... not this one . I sent the money, all was good, the owner responded to my emails until I raised all these issues.She said this place is ours until check out and she would not return our money.

  • Submitted: Jul 14, 2018
  • Stayed: July 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Paradise, even if just to me! • Laura did not stay at our property; she over-booked and chose the other property. • Guest cancelled reservation on day of arrival (Fourth of July holiday week) and demanded full refund. • Owner made exceptions for extra guest with no additional charge and still honored weekly discount during the holiday. (Laura intended to have her elderly mother visiting from Romania sleep on an air mattress for 7 nights.) • Her review is simply retribution for cancelling her reservation on day of arrival and not being offered a full refund. Our home is a modest 1000 SF mountain cabin on Lake Lure in the Blue Ridge Mountains. It is rustic and modest, clean and charming. This setting is for anyone who loves clean mountain air, appreciates nature, enjoys lazy vacations and doesn’t sweat the small stuff. As with many houses in the mountains, the leaves fall like rain all year long. We offer our cabin to our guests to experience the beauty of the mountains, lake and woods. When I stay at my little mountain house, I never want to leave.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


Nearest Beach
4 Miles
Lake Lure Beach
Car: necessary
Other Activities:

Top Thing to do in City:

* Lake Lure Showboat and Boating.

* Rocky Broad River - River Walk.

* Chimney Rock Park.

* Golf.

* Biltmore in Ashville.

Top Thing to do in Budget:

* Visit Waterfalls.

* Biking, Swimming, & Kayaking.

* Lake Lure Beach.

* Hiking.

* Downtown Hendersonville & Asheville.

Top Thing to do in Family:

* Blue Ridge Parkway.

* Horseback Riding.

* White Water Rafting.

* Gem Mining.

* Bike or moped rentals.

Lake Lure Golf, Fairfield Mountains Golf, Asheville Municipal Golf

Lake Lure Boating and Fishing - Guests responsible for licenses

Lake Lure Showboat

Lake Lure Inn and Spa

Lake Lure beach, dining, shopping

Chimney Rock National Park

Chimney Rock - shopping and dinning

Scenic river and waterfall sites

Blue Ridge Parkway Drive

Pisgah National Forest

The Biltmore in Ashville, NC

Limitless outdoor hiking

White-water rafting

Horseback riding


Rates & Availability

Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $75
Refundable Damage Deposit $150

Holiday Rates-check for minimum night requirements

Nightly Rate: $200- $200 - 2 night min.
Weekly Rate: $1250-$1250
Monthly Rate: $3000-$3000

Additional Fees
$75.00 - weekly house keeping - 2 weeks+
$500.00 - Refundable Security deposit - 2 weeks+ rentals

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.