Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call VRBO Booking Assistance: 888-829-7076
Book Online or call VRBO Booking Assistance: 888-829-7076

3BR Custom, Handmade Log Home Backing US Forest Land - 5 Mins to Heavenly

Bedrooms 3
Half Baths1
Space 2,410 sq. ft.
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 - 5 nights


About the property

3 Bedrooms, 2.5 Baths, Sleeps 10

It’s not often you come across a true custom log home, built by hand with signature touches inside and out. This 3-bedroom, 2.5-bathroom log home in the coveted Montgomery Estates community is one of them—and it’s among the best in South Lake Tahoe.

Commanding bear artwork hangs above a custom stone fireplace that’s a true showpiece in the vaulted Great Room. The bear theme continues to the ironwork front door, with impressive detailing that photos don’t quite capture.

Even better, our vacation rental’s property backs up to mile after mile of open US Forest Land. Hiking and biking trails are at your doorstep! When you return from an active day, sink into the 6-jet bathtub in the master bedroom, which faces this stretch of wild, natural beauty.

Heavenly Mountain Ski Resort is just a five-minute drive away, and the lake and downtown casinos are just ten-minutes away.

The cavernous master bedroom has wood beam ceilings and a dreamy king-sized bed. This master suite is made even more indulgent by the en-suite bath with the jetted tub we mentioned above…PLUS a stand-up shower and double vanity. The two guest bedrooms include one with a full-sized bed (and a TV) and one with two twin-sized beds.

While you’re here, enjoy your protected natural surroundings from the large back deck or the rustic front porch. Your location in the Montgomery Estates makes it easy to explore all of South Lake Tahoe, which features some of America’s tastiest restaurants AND its best outdoor adventures, all in one place!

In response to South Lake Tahoe County's ordinance on short term rentals, we are operating under STVR License #2066. As per the ordinance, this vacation rental cannot be used for any type of parties, including weddings and receptions. Maximum allowable City occupancy is 10 people and 4 cars; over occupancy will be subject to City citation/fine. Please note that we have a strict NO PARTY policy; failure to comply will result in eviction.

The TurnKey Advantage

Our property is TurnKey Rental Certified. All photos, amenities, calendar, and rates are 100% accurate. We supply shampoo, soaps, paper products, and hotel-quality towels and linens to all our guests.

And we make it easy to stay with us! Drive straight to your rental and access the rental with a unique lock code that we give only to you. If early check-ins or late checkouts are possible, we will let you know.

When you book, we will send you our mobile app with directions, lock code, and instructions. We’re available 24 hours a day with live help.

All Turn Key Vacation Rentals follow local and state tax rules. Each reservation includes applicable taxes, a cleaning fee, and a Property Damage Protection insurance policy.

More Details

Property Manager
TurnKey Vacation Rentals
Speaks: english
Manager indicates their response time is:
Within an hour
Calendar last updated:
September 24, 2017



Montgomery Estates House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Floor Area:
  • 2410 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 10
  • pets considered
  • non smoking only
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace
  • Hair Dryer
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wood Stove
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator
  • Toaster
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 10
  • 1 King bed, 3 Twin beds, 1 Sofa Bed bed, 1 Bunk bed, 1 Full bed
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Balcony
  • Deck / Patio
  • cinemas
  • museums
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • golf


3.8/5 -
(4 traveler reviews)

25% Complete
50% Complete
0% Complete
25% Complete
0% Complete
3BR Custom, Handmade Log Home Backing US Forest Land - 5 Mins to Heavenly
average rating of 3.75 based on 4 reviews
Los Gatos, CA

Good but....

  • 2 of 5

This is a tough one for me because I wanted to love it, but there were some things I REALLY did not like. I'll go through both the pros and cons.

Pros: Great Location, so much so that we are now considering buying in that housing area. Turnkey was great to work with and allowed both early check in and late check out, radiant heating, the floors were GREAT. Fence in the back yard was great for our dog.


Upkeep on the driveway....there was literally 5" of accumulated ice. We drove up to pull into the garage and when I got out to put in the garage door code, my AWD SUV started sliding back down the driveway into the street. We were lucky to avoid the trash container and any cars on the road. Because the only way to enter the house was through the garage, that meant walking over the ice to get anywhere. We went to the hardware store to buy a small pick then spent HOURS chipping out a walking path up the driveway so my family could safely walk from the garage to the street without slipping and hurting themselves.

Lighting, there were tons of light switches that seemed to turn on nothing and the lighting in the kitchen was really bad.

Unknown wiring. It seems like the house is still in process....there were a number of places where wires stick out of the ceiling where it looks like lights are supposed to go at some point in the future. The most alarming....two wires extending from the ceiling above the shower in the master bath! It was the only large shower, and it was scary to have two wires hanging above us when taking a shower.

Other small nits....remote for garage door did not work, the Wifi went out after 2 days and we could never re-connect, the bedding seemed old and dusty. The sheets were fine, but the blankets were scary. Because the master shower is open, water gets everywhere so it was a mess to clean up every night

  • Submitted: Feb 22, 2016
  • Stayed: Feb 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi Dave, thanks for the kind words and helpful feedback. We sincerely apologize for the inconvenience for the driveway, lighting, etc. We have spoken to our crew who clears the snow and ice to make sure this doesn't happen again. We are also performing all the other maintenance items you mentioned. You were great guests and we hope you'll consider us in the future. -The TurnKey VR Team
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0

pretty place!

  • 4 of 5

Rating Details:

The property manager was more than helpful.

The vacation rental was very clean.

I was more than happy with the location.

I was more than satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.

Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:

the place is great! clean and comfortable. I wish there's a hot tub thou. We are all jealous looking at the neighbour's hot tub at their patio. Also we had a hard time locking the key back to the lock box. But other than that, it was a nice place

  • Submitted: Sep 8, 2015
  • Stayed: Sep 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi Rini, thanks for the kind words and helpful feedback. You were great guests and we look forward to hearing from you again soon! -The TurnKey VR Team
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Nice home that any family would enjoy! Clean and well furnished

  • 4 of 5

This was a very nice house, well planned with more than enough space for 10+ members., It was very well furnished, great response time from customer service, great location (5 miles radius) close to pretty much everything you'd want to do. Adult would enjoy and the Kids would have so much fun with the wood behind the house. It's for sure a fun place to stay and is now in my favorites for the future. Hope everyone has a similar experience.

  • Submitted: Sep 3, 2015
  • Stayed: Aug 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We’re thrilled to hear you enjoyed your vacation with TurnKey. You were an excellent guest, and we would love to have you back when it’s time for your next getaway! – The TurnKey Team
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Excellent house

  • 5 of 5

Rating Details:

The property manager was very helpful.

The vacation rental was spotless.

I was very happy with the location.

I was very satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.

Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:

We arrived to a spotless house in a great location. Plenty of room for two families and the rooms were well laid out. Nice open plan downstairs with plenty of space. Very short drive to South Tahoe beach and restaurants. I would very much recommend this house.

  • Submitted: Jul 17, 2015
  • Stayed: Jul 2015
  • Source: TurnKey Vacation Rentals
Owner's Response: Thank you for staying with us and we always appreciate hearing from our guests. Great to to hear the families enjoyed their stay and that you found plenty of space in the home. We hope we can welcome you back for a future stay ~ TurnKey VR
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


Rates & Availability

Taxes and fees are additional


  • All TurnKey Vacation Rentals follow local and state tax rules. City and state taxes will be added to all reservation rates. Each reservation also requires a cleaning fee, and the standard Property Damage Protection policy.