Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Astonishing ocean views from the living room!

Sleeps14
Bedrooms 6
Bathrooms3
Space 2,400 sq. ft.
Property type house
Minimum Stay 4 - 7 nights

Overview

About the property

6 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, 50 Yards to Beach

Astonishing ocean views from the living room! Enjoy this very comfortable home that has the real Old Nags Head beach feel. 6 bedrooms (Q/Q/Q/Q/Bunk/Bunk) Sleep 12 to 14. 50 Yards to Beach. You will enjoy a peaceful atmosphere, with miles of uncrowded beach to hunt for seashells. After a day at the beach with your family imagine yourself enjoying some added relaxation gazing at the night sky from your Hot tub. In only a short drive you can arrive at the Bodie Island Lighthouse or on Roanoke Island to visit the NC Aquarium, the Lost Colony Outdoor Drama and the Elizabethan Gardens. The world-famous Wright Brothers National Memorial for Aviation is 15 minutes drive away. All the wonderful restaurants, shopping and activities of the Outer Banks is just a short drive away. Above all, the Outer Banks have the longest stretches of natural uninhabited beaches on the east coast, right in front of this house, beautiful nature for you and your entire family to enjoy.


Owner
Ming Ya
Member since: 2015
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few days
Response rate:
60%
Calendar last updated:
September 11, 2017

Map

Nearest Airport
60 Miles
Norfolk
Nearest Barpub
0.5 Miles
@ Outer Banks Fishing Pier
Nearest Ferry
20 Miles
Ocracoke Island Ferry
Nearest Golf
4 Miles
Nags Head Golf Course
Nearest Motorway
1.5 Miles
State Highway 12
Nearest Restaurant
3 Miles
Owen's
Nearest Beach
50 Metres
Nags Head
Car: recommended

In only a short drive you can arrive at the Bodie Island Lighthouse, the NC Aquarium, the Lost Colony Outdoor Drama, the Elizabethan Gardens and the Roanoke Island Festival Park. The world-famous Wright Brothers National Memorial for Aviation is 15 minutes drive away. All the wonderful restaurants, shopping and activities of the Outer Banks is just a short drive away. Above all, the Outer Banks have the longest stretches of natural uninhabited beaches on the east coast, right in front of this house, beautiful nature for you and your entire family to enjoy.

Amenities

South Nags Head House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 2400 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 14
  • Events Allowed
  • children welcome
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Beach View
  • Ocean View
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Sports & Activities
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Telephone
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 14 people
Bathrooms:
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , shower
    Bathroom 3 - toilet , shower
Bedrooms:
  • 6 Bedrooms, Sleeps 14
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 3 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 4 - 2 bunk bed
    Bedroom 5 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 6 - 2 bunk bed
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • Games
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • Video Games
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub ...
Attractions:
  • botanical garden
  • festivals
  • live theater
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • theme parks
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • horseback riding
  • miniature golf
  • outlet shopping
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • pier fishing
  • sailing
  • sound/bay fishing
  • surfing
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
There is an outdoor shower located in the back of the parking area. Trash Cans are located on the street side.

Reviews

3.4/5 -
(9 traveler reviews)

22% Complete
44% Complete
0% Complete
22% Complete
11% Complete
Astonishing ocean views from the living room!
average rating of 3.4444444 based on 9 reviews
1

Renter Beware !!

  • 1 of 5

June 3rd -10th 2017. 8 adults arriving. Let me say that our group visits Nags Head every spring for a great week together. This home is misrepresented in Home Away photos!! Astonishing ocean view is not there!! Gas and charcoal grills rusted and unusable ! Deck furniture worn and dangerous. We used our beach chairs. Property had not been cleaned on arrival. Contacted owners who sent 2 crews. Entry was at 5.15? A.C. did not cool properly and kept throwing breaker. Repairman on Monday? WiFi password written on refrigerator freezer door in marker had been partially wiped off. Contacted owner by phone they did not know it? Gave me a number to WiFi provider? Meanwhile trying to stay comfortable decided to open windows for a nice ocean breeze. Many windows no screens, no handles to open with, many with construction screws in openers closed altogether? A.C. repairman said owners had been informed two weeks prior to our visit that the unit had to be replaced? Downstairs bathroom door hanging on 1 hinge? Garage and parking area piles of broken furniture old garden hoses and trash? Kitchen outlets did not work and not ground fault? Dishwasher rusty unusable? Had to find the breaker for the range to turn it on? Microwave and coffee pot on a roll away cart in the dining room? Main floor bathroom toilet kept running? Lift lid and reset every flush? TV's in living room and every bedroom all were unhooked and nonworking upon arrival. Finally after many attempts got living room and one bedroom to work? The 6th and the 7th cool and rainy days in the 60's . On the 7th Watching t.v. and playing cards a burning smell from the floor vents. Turned off a.c. breakers and called fire department. Fire department checked it out . Had to unhook the unit from outside! No working smoke detectors in lower level? Service that night to replace batteries actually went to homeowners oceanfront home in front of ours to retrieve additional battery?( That oceanfront home IS your view from this house.) Would never recommend this property. I spent half of my week on the phone with owners or waiting for repairmen. After weeks and numerous conversations about our dissatisfaction the owners did refund $1000.00 .

  • Submitted: Jul 19, 2017
  • Stayed: Jun 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
4

We had a nice stay! Great location, chill time.

  • 4 of 5

A low stress environment in S. Nags Head, the house was relaxing with a great common room to share with friends and family. Bumper pool, hot tub and the beach just yards away made for a memorable time. Close enough to Bodie, Dune Burger, grocery and spa, but far enough away from the traffic you see in Duck. The kids took an afternoon to go to Hatteras and four wheel down south further. Walking to fishing pier and night time music. Was a good get away.

  • Submitted: Sep 13, 2016
  • Stayed: Sep 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 1
2

Not clean

  • 2 of 5

The only reason I am giving this a two star instead of a one star is because of the owners. They were very responsive and friendly. The house is in need of some major upgrades. Here are the issues:

1. Black mold in one of the bathrooms. The wall paper was peeling away and that’s how we discovered it. One of the people in our party was having asthma issues and had to leave because of this. The owner stated he would be removing the drywall and fixing the issue as soon as we left. This is in the upstairs bathroom off of the southwest bedroom.

2. The listing states there are 4 queen size beds. At least one of these beds is a full size. NOT a queen size as stated. I did not check the other three.

3. House was filthy. Owner and maid said the person before us trashed the place. This could have been the case. Regardless it felt very gross.

4. Bathrooms smelled like urine.

5. Flies everywhere.

6. Areas around the house and carport are surrounded by trash from previous renovations.

7. There is not really a beach view from the house. It is blocked by the house in front of it.

We did receive a very small refund due to the mold. The bunkbeds were also broken when we arrived and the owners drove into town to replace one of them.

  • Submitted: Aug 1, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Sorry about your bad experience. We did have the bathrooms walls and floors replaced altogether to address the issues, and replaced kitchen supplies. The other issues are more or less a cleaning issue, which we hope to amend by doubling the cleaning efforts.
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
Washington DC
4

Great value for the money! Would repeat!

  • 4 of 5

We had a great time at this beach house, there were a few glitches, but overall it is a great location and very group/family friendly.

Pros:

1 minute walk to the beach. Location, location, location!

Large deck with lots of seating.

Hot Tub!

The large Great Room with lots of windows, was full of cozy chairs and couches, the most comfortable beach Great Room I've been in.

The Bar in the Great Room!

The Manager/Owner was very accessible and responsive. She sent a Hot Tub service company out and cleaners out right a way to solve our problems.

Lots of parking.

The Cons:

The previous renters had a dog with lots of long white hair that was everywhere. The owner sent the cleaners out right away to help with that but there is still white hair on all the furniture throughout the Great Room.

The Kitchen could have more utensils and knives.

The dishes were all very dirty and needed to be re-washed.

The bunk bed frames were broken on the bottom beds which caused them to sag, and needed to be supported with books!

The windows in the Great Room were so dirty that you could not see clearly through them. I spent my first morning washing all the windows so the view could be appreciated. It made a huge difference.

All in all we had a great time, and really enjoyed the place. It was a great value for the price, and the owner was very responsive. We would stay here again.

  • Submitted: Jul 23, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 2
2

Confused about the ocean view

  • 2 of 5

We enjoyed our week at Nags Head but were disappointed in the location of the home. It was situated directly behind another home. The view from our deck was this other beachfront home, not the beach. The rental photos led me to believe we were the house with the beach view which was the most important aspect I was looking for in a rental house. It was a little sad to spend the money we did on a home without a good view. It had a nice big open living space and we enjoyed the bar and bumper pool table. The beds were quite uncomfortable and I ended up sleeping on the couch many nights. The appliances in the kitchen were dated and didn't work well. We liked the area and enjoyed our drives to Duck and Hattaras. The home was close to big chain grocery stores and Lowes which was nice when we had to buy a new grill plate in order to grill out. For what we wanted in a vacation home this was not a good fit and would not rent again.

  • Submitted: Jul 19, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0
4

Great

  • 4 of 5

The house was amazing and the walk to the beach was so short and easy. The only downfall was a house directly between us and the ocean that we had to pass to get to the water and that obscured our view of the beach

  • Submitted: Jun 21, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 2

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Damage Insurance $99

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 90 days before arrival date.