check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag

Gorgeous Ocean View, 4 BR, 2BA Cottage, Hot Tub

Sleeps8
Bedrooms 4
Bathrooms2
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 7 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the VRBO checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more

Overview


Details
Property
cottage
Sleeps
8
Bedrooms
4
Bathrooms
2
Minimum Stay
7 nights

Description

Rodanthe Cottage Rental Photos and Description

Pastime is back! For those of you who have enjoyed Pastime before, we would love to have you come enjoy our cottage again. If you haven’t visited in the past, you will find an adorable “beachy” cottage where you can absorb the beautiful views of the ocean from the comfort of the living room or the spacious wrap around porch. We are located next to the Chicamacomico Life-Saving Station and though not considered ocean front, we have an unobstructed view of the ocean. The beach is only steps away making this cottage very convenient. If you love surfing, fishing, kitesurfing, or just hanging at the beach, you’ve found your dream vacation here! Enjoy relaxing in our hot tub after a long day at the beach while you listen to the crashing waves or feasting on seafood at the picnic table on the spacious deck equipped with Adirondack chairs and benches. Enjoy the frequent sightings of dolphins, pelicans, and cute little sandpipers. The living room has a flat screen t.v. and plenty of comfortable seating. The Captain’s Quarters has a double bed and t.v. with a connecting bathroom to another bedroom with 2 twin beds. On the opposite side of the house, there is a bedroom with a double bed, and the fourth bedroom, also equipped with a t.v., has bunk beds with a double on bottom, a single on top, and a trundle bed. The second bathroom is conveniently situated in between these rooms. The kitchen is fully equipped and has a square high top table that seats 10 people. Also, there is a closed in outdoor shower with hot and cold water.

You’re just a short drive from Hatteras Lighthouse, Pea Island National Wildlife Refuge, the Graveyard of the Atlantic Museum, small villages of Avon, Buxton, Waves, Frisco and Salvo. There is no shortage of wonderful restaurants in the area. You’re just a short walk from Liberty Gas Station and the Rodanthe Surf Shop. In addition, Okracoke Island is just a Ferry Ride away.

SUNDAY to SUNDAY rental only.

FREE Wireless Internet access for this property (computer not provided, bring your tablet and or laptop).

FULL CONCIERGE SERVICE: Grocery shopping, dinner delivery, in-home catering and chef services, party planning, activities planning, mid-stay cleaning available through our Property Management Company, Shore Details.

PROPERTY DAMAGE PROTECTION: No security deposit is collected. Over years of renting our property, we have found guests prefer to pay a Property Damage Protection fee ($59) which covers all accidental damages to the vacation rental up to $1,500.

More Details
Suitability:
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
  • wheelchair inaccessible

Owner
Melissa Lynn
Member since: 2015
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
August 2, 2016
Call Owner

About Melissa Lynn

After 24 years in the Army, our family retired in Smithfield, VA and fell in love with Hatteras Island. We've always dreamed of owning a house at the beach and feel very blessed to have found the perfect beach cottage. Our kids (Marlee, Regan, and Josh) have taken up surfing and surf fishing while their parents kick back under an umbrella on the beach. Our little Jack Russell Terrier, Scamper, loves to chase balls and swim with the kids. We've enjoyed exploring the sights, taking walks on the beach (day or night), and enjoying family meals on the deck.

Melissa Lynn purchased this cottage in 2010

Why Melissa Lynn chose Hatteras Island

We LOVE Rodanthe!!! This part of the island is the perfect getaway especially for those who love surfing, kiteboarding, etc. You're a short drive from the tourist attractions in busier locations, but Hatteras Island offers a more laid back, relaxing atmosphere.

What makes this cottage unique

This cottage offers a "beachy" décor in every room. There's a surf style room for the boys, a more feminine décor for the girls, and two rooms nautically decorated for anyone. We have 4 adirondack loungers, 2 high top Adirondack chairs, benches, and a picnic table on the wrap around deck for our guests to enjoy.

Reviews

Excellent! 4.4/5 -
(9 traveler reviews)

Gorgeous Ocean View, 4 BR, 2BA Cottage, Hot Tub
average rating of 4.4444447 based on 9 reviews
3

Cottage was ideally located to view the ocean, hear the waves and walk the beach.

  • 3 of 5

Cottage was ideally located. Cottage was clean and photos represent the cottage accurately. However, we noticed that screens on the windows were either torn or missing altogether, so no opening of windows to hear the ocean. We also noticed rotten wood trim on the outside of cottage, chipped ceiling in living room and bathrooms. The living room furniture was very uncomfortable for sitting. All of the appliances work, but the refrigerator handles were filthy looking. Overall the cottage was functional, but not kept up.

  • Submitted: Sep 21, 2016
  • Stayed: Sep 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Awesome location with a perfect view of the beach

  • 5 of 5

After visiting all the villages of the OBX, we found Rodanthe to be the ideal location. Super quick access to the beach (fantastic shelling) at this property and less busy than other places. Plenty of restaurants and beach rental locations nearby. We loved having fires in the beach and watching the stars which are quite vibrant with the little amount of light pollution. We kayaked at the Audubon Preseve in Duck and Hang glided in Kitty Hawk. The ferry to Ocracoke island was quite a wait and the island itself was just ok in our opinion. Hit up Blue Moon cafe, the Black Pelican, and Leonardo's (specifically, for great pizza). Great sleeping accommodations for the 7 of us and we had extra bed space. Awesome and memorable trip!!!

  • Submitted: Aug 29, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Perfect place to stay!! Cute, cute house with a great view.

  • 5 of 5

Loved it-would stay again and again!

  • Submitted: Aug 7, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Millersville, MD
2

Would not rent again - house needs major maintenance - safety issues - two stars ONLY for the beach

  • 2 of 5

I have rented on the Outer Banks for the past 30 yrs & have never experienced a rental like this. I do want to be clear: I don't believe that anything was grossly misstated, but in my opinion, & that of the other family who stayed with us, the cost of this rental is incredibly high for the condition of the house. I truly understand what sand, salt water & wind can do to a beach home, but proper & timely maintenance is important in order to safely rent a home & charge the rates that this owner has selected.

First of all, our experience was tainted 9 days out from our stay when the owner contacted us and said the hot tub would not be available during our stay; it had been fixed twice recently, and would have to be replaced. I was rather disappointed that it could not be replaced in that we decided to book Pastime because of this amenity. The owner only offered a $100 credit, which I thought was incredibly low considering other homes without a hot tub, with a house located in similar proximity to the beach, were going for far less.

I don't have enough space to go into detail, but here is a laundry list of items which were problematic in the house:

-Rusty nails and weathered wood on deck: two rusty nails broke off on flip flops (thank goodness we had shoes on!) & multiple splinters from sitting at wooden table

-Water damage to outside of house near slider, "leaking" through to inside wall: tried to plug vacuum cleaner in (that's another story!) where outlet was & major sparks flew out

-Outside light switch had open wiring: could not turn on some of the lights outside due to a light switch that was open & had visible wiring sticking out

-Many window screens broken: couldn't open windows for the ocean breeze

-Flooring in kitchen broken: some of the flooring in the kitchen had taken on water & was swollen and raised & in dire need of replacement

-Flooring in twin bedroom: "dead spot" in bedroom near bathroom made you "sink" when you walked on it

-Leak under kitchen sink: stored our paper products under there, and they became waterlogged & ruined

-BRING YOUR OWN ICE: no icemaker! For 8 people staying at a beach home for a week, 5 ice trays makes ice making interesting!

-THE MOST UNCOMFORTABLE DOUBLE BEDS IN THE WORLD: the four adults DREADED going to sleep in these beds each night!

-Fairly dirty throughout, but that was less important than safety.

The beach, on the other hand, was beautiful and spectacular; the two stars are for that.

  • Submitted: Aug 2, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: I really wish I had known that there were issues while these renters were staying. (Outside of the hot tub which we told the renters about in advance) We strive to stay on top of any problems and address issues that we are made aware of on the same day if possible. If the renter doesn't call us or Shore Details, then we can't address the issue. We do not live in the Outer Banks so we can't check between each and every renter. We rely on housekeeping and renters to let us know if there are issues which typically works out well. The company that we use to clean, Shore Details, is amazing and does an excellent job cleaning, and it's unfortunate that they were slighted for their outstanding work. As for the hot tub, that was unfortunate timing, and I really hate that we couldn't have it replaced (because it has a crack in it that cannot be repaired) in time. We will always try to provide the best for our renters.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Over too soon...

  • 5 of 5

House was very clean and well maintained. The hot tub on the deck was the big sell for my wife and I--very relaxing at the end of the day to be able to soak and look out at the ocean. We already are looking forward to coming again. Thanks!

  • Submitted: Sep 9, 2015
  • Stayed: Aug 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 1
5

OBX Family Vaca

  • 5 of 5

Just wonderful, classy yet simple decorated house, short walk to beach, perfect one level, hot tub maintained regularly, used regularly, very clean, Melissa answered ALL my questions and the maintenance man came immediately for minor details! The view was spectacular. We WILL be back. I thank Melissa and her husband for sharing and opening her wonderful spot with us and others. :) :) Are you kidding, 10 Stars!!!!

  • Submitted: Sep 3, 2015
  • Stayed: Aug 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0

Map

Car: necessary

Photos

Rates & Availability

Rodanthe Cottage Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Emerald
Apr 30 2017 - May 13 2017
Changeover Day: Sunday
7 night minimum stay
$1,250
 
 
Silver
May 14 2017 - Jun 3 2017
Changeover Day: Sunday
7 night minimum stay
$1,750
 
 
Gold
Jun 4 2017 - Jun 24 2017
Changeover Day: Sunday
7 night minimum stay
$2,450
 
 
Platinum
Jun 25 2017 - Aug 5 2017
Changeover Day: Sunday
7 night minimum stay
$2,650
 
 
Gold
Aug 6 2017 - Aug 12 2017
7 night minimum stay
$2,450
 
 
Silver
Aug 13 2017 - Sep 9 2017
7 night minimum stay
$1,750
 
 
Sapphire
Sep 10 2017 - Sep 30 2017
7 night minimum stay
$1,150
 

Additional information about rental rates

Pet Fee $100 + Tax
Property Damage Protection $59
Tax Rate 12.75%

Cancellation Policy available by contacting owner when booking.
SUNDAY TO SUNDAY RENTAL

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Contact Me Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Rodanthe Cottage Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cottage
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1500 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Beach View
  • Ocean View
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 8 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 2 - toilet , shower
    Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower , Jack and Jill between the Captains Quarters and the Girls Rm
    Outside Shower - shower , Enclosed shower stall with hot and cold water
Bedrooms:
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 double
    Bedroom 2 - 2 twin/ single
    Bedroom 3 - 1 bunk bed , Double on bottom, Single on top, and trundle bed underneath
    Bedroom 4 - 1 double
Entertainment:
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television
Outside:
  • Boat ...
  • Deck / Patio
  • Outdoor Grill
Suitability:
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub
Onsite Services:
  • Concierge
  • Private Chef
Attractions:
  • festivals
  • marina
  • museums
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • parasailing
  • pier fishing
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • sound/bay fishing
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • wind-surfing

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties