check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit

Lakeside Lodge with Rock Fireplace

Sleeps8
Bedrooms 5
Bathrooms1
Half Baths1
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 7 nights

Overview


Details
Property
cottage
Sleeps
8
Bedrooms
5
Bathrooms
1
Half Baths
1
Minimum Stay
7 nights

About the property

6 Bedrooms, 1.5 Baths, inches from the shore

Surrounded by mature trees and right on the shore of Silver Lake, this 100 year old New England Summer Home will take you away from the stresses of the modern world. The walls are covered in original knotty-pine. A hand built stone fireplace warms the living room. An upstairs sundeck overlooks the lake and is perfect for small gatherings. The larger screened in lower porch offers easy access to the private dock. The modernized kitchen includes a dishwasher and microwave.

There are three bedrooms on the main floor. The master bedroom has a full bed and overlooks the lake. The "kids" bedroom has two twin beds. The "side porch" has a full bed and views from three sides.

Downstairs, there are three bedrooms. The "dockside" room has a full bed and is so close to the lake that it sounds like it is floating. The "play room" has two twin beds, and the "bunk" room has a twin bed.

Both bathrooms are on the main floor. The full bath is accessed from the master and "kids" bedrooms. The half bath is located just off the entrance hall.

The furniture is pure New England and includes a horse hair sofa, ten-top dining room table, and an antique piano.

There are two televisions in the house - one in the master bedroom and one in the "dockside" room.

The cottage is located ten minutes from downtown Harrisville, a mill town that seems untouched by time. It is also convenient to Dublin, Peterborough, and Keene. If you can pull yourself away from the lake, New England's historic spots are all within a short day-trip drive.

More Details

Owner
Brad Lewis
Member since: 2011
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within 2 days
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
January 19, 2017

Reviews

4.2/5 -
(5 traveler reviews)

Lakeside Lodge with Rock Fireplace
average rating of 4.2 based on 5 reviews
5

Perfect Autumn Color

  • 5 of 5

The cottage is charming. The views across the lake are spectacular. We used the fireplace and the wood stove and caught up on some reading. Loved it!

  • Submitted: Oct 18, 2015
  • Stayed: Sep 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

A true lake cottage!!

  • 5 of 5

As soon as we walked in the front door we could see the lake! Every room has a view. This

cottage is full of antique charm. Silver Lake is beautiful and crystal clear. The water is naturally soft which we found amazing! We couldn't be happier with our experience. It was truly an authentic walk back in time. The cottage has Wi-Fi which is great. Although we elected to turn off our devices and enjoy our time together. My family and I will definitely be renting this cottage again.

If you're seeking modern amenities with granite countertops this would not be the cottage for you. If you're seeking tranquility and exploring the outdoors--look no further :)

** The local general store (in the town of Harrisville) was so quaint. It is a MUST see!

  • Submitted: Oct 6, 2015
  • Stayed: Sep 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you. We are so glad you enjoyed the cottage.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 1
5

Our Family Spot for 30 Years

  • 5 of 5

I have been going to this cottage for over 30 years. We love it! The lake is the best around, and we have many friends there. Sally is easy to work with, and she allows us to bring our dogs. I love this cottage.

  • Submitted: Oct 6, 2015
  • Stayed: Jun 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: You and the pups are always welcome, Todd! Thank you.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

June 2015 in New Hampshire, Silver Lake

  • 5 of 5

My family has known people in the Monadnock region for generations. We used to have a cottage in Nelson. I wanted my family to experience what I had, growing up...an unchanged environment, where modern conveniences aren't easily accessible. Sally's lake cottage was ideal. Simply charming, old world, and virtually unchanged. A stunning view of the lake was icing on the cake. Funny how regular life from just a few decades ago, almost seems like camping today. My kids separated from games and cell phones, and we grew as a family. Thank you Sally for everything. The house was clean, with the occasional local chipmunk and spider...a new experience for the kids. We grew closer to nature as well. Swimming was a several times a day event. Crystal clear water. A genuine retreat. My soul is re-centered.

  • Submitted: Oct 6, 2015
  • Stayed: May 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: I so agree about the soft water. I describe it as my "spa time" each year. My skin gets softer and my hair gets shinier. Always glad to have you come back to the cottage.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
1

Silver Lake, Summer 2015

  • 1 of 5

After our normal rental was sold we were excited to get back on the lake in this new property. However, we were terribly disappointed with the house. The kitchen was in awful shape, all of the appliances are very old. The refrigerator could not keep our food cold so we ended up throwing out several items. It also smelled as if something had died in the ceiling or floor. Because of the smell it was packed with flies, so bad that you couldn't even enter the kitchen mid-day when the temp was at its highest. The rest of the house was filled with old, uncomfortable furniture and everything was dusty. There were cobwebs in every corner. We had to clean all of the outdoor furniture and there was a big pile of cigarette butts on the dock that we had to clear away. After our stay I wrote the property manager about our experience and the fact that I was unhappy about paying the substantial cleaning fee (almost 25% of the entire rental cost). His response did not include an apology of any sort, just that if I was unhappy I should have contacted him immediately and because I waited until after our stay my request to have the cleaning fee returned was 'unreasonable'. The only redeeming quality of this house is the upper deck which we spent the majority of our time. Unfortunately I would not recommend this property to anyone, even those looking for an authentic 'lakehouse' experience.

  • Submitted: Sep 25, 2015
  • Stayed: Aug 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: This was the first season we advertised this property on VRBO, and we had three new bookings that all loved the cottage. Two of them are already asking about next summer. We have rented it for years to the same tenants, who also love it and find it charming. It was once the boat-house to the large main house on the hill, and is filled with antiques. I think this tenant would enjoy a more modern house - perhaps built mid-century or later. We did not hear from this tenant until after they had returned home from their vacation. All of the housekeeping issues the tenant had with our cottage would have immediately been addressed if she had either contacted me or the maid. Both of our phone numbers are clearly listed in the guest booklet, along with instructions to contact us immediately if the house is not found in a clean condition. This cottage is clearly pictured and described in our posting. We want everyone who stays in our cottage to have a magical time on Silver Lake.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Map

Nearest Airport
51 Miles
Manchester - Boston Regional Airport
Car: necessary

The cottage is located on a spectacular, natural spring fed lake. When you decide to tear yourself away from swimming, fishing, and socializing, you will find charming New England villages in every direction, including Harrisville with its general store, yarn mill, "floating" library, and amazing scenery. Nearby Dublin, NH is home to the world famous "Yankee Magazine", as well as antique shops, and art studious. A little further down the road is Peterborough, often credited as the basis for Thornton Wilder's "Our Town". You can easily take short day trips to The Yankee Candle Factory in Deerfield, MA; Simon Pierce Studios in Quechee, VT; Outlet shops and lobster shacks in Kittery, ME; Saint-Gaudens National Historic site in Cornish, NH; antique stores and seafood restaurants in Gloucester, MA; Freedom Trail and museums in Boston, MA. More modern conveniences can be found in Keene (about 20 minutes from the cottage) where there are supermarkets, chain restaurants, movie theatres, and Supercenters.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Harrisville Cottage Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
Summer 2017
Jun 1 2017 - Sep 4 2017
7 night minimum stay
$1,800
$6,800
 
 
Fall 2017
Sep 5 2017 - Oct 15 2017
7 night minimum stay
$1,500
$5,600
 
 
My Standard Rate
7 night minimum stay
$1,500
$5,600
 

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $500
Cleaning and Prep $300

50%, plus deposit and fees due at time of booking. Balance due no later than 2 weeks prior to check-in.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 7 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 14 days before arrival date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Harrisville Cottage Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cottage
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 2100 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Lake View ...
  • Lakefront ...
  • Mountain View
  • Rural
  • Village ...
  • Water View
  • Waterfront
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Fireplace ...
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wood Stove ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 10 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower , On Main Level - Access from Master and Childrens Bedrooms
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , On Main Level - Access from Front Hall
Bedrooms:
  • 5 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Master - 1 double , On Main Level
    Childrens Bedroom - 2 twin/ single , On Main Level
    Side Porch - 1 double , On Main Level - Views from three sides
    Dockside Room - 1 double , On Lower Level
    Play Room - 2 twin/ single , On Lower Level
    Bunk Room - 1 twin/ single , On Lower Level
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television ...
Outside:
  • Balcony
  • Deck / Patio
  • Outdoor Grill
Suitability:
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered ...
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Attractions:
  • churches
  • festivals
  • library
  • museums
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • laundromat
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties